We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Maidstone

207 Main St, East Hampton, NY 11937-2723
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (75)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (151)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 inns in East Hampton
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
3.9
Service
3.9
Value
2.9
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Gift shop
Newspaper
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Safe
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Swedish
191Reviews1Q+A33Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 81
  • 36
  • 15
  • 31
  • 28
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Camper31280158415 wrote a review Sep 2023
1 contribution
I have stayed here about 6 times a year for 3 years. The place has been taken over and was hoping for better management. My room -998 a night - was so noisy with noise from the yard and the restaurant. I always book a room far from the noise but they don’t do that anymore. Management said they were booked and maybe they are but no explanation about why I could not choose a room 2 months ago. Again the place is fine but for this price point I expect better management. I don’t think it’s worth the money and they aren’t very caring about customers summary: Management still sub par and care about money not customers
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: ask for a room that is away from main desk
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annie Palmer, General Manager at The Maidstone
Responded Sep 12, 2023
Dear Camper31280158415 - thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry the noise was such an issue for you. As discussed while you were here, we were completely sold out and were unable to move your room. Had you requested a room far from the noise when you made the booking we would have done our absolute best to confirm that. You mentioned that the previous owners only allowed dogs in certain rooms and as you know, that is no longer our policy. You were expecting certain rooms but again we have no historical data and were unaware of your preferences. We sincerely apologize again, and please do give us a heads up next time you book if there is a specific location you would like to be booked in. -The Maidstone
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Frank wrote a review Aug 2023
Esplugues de Llobregat, Spain8 contributions4 helpful votes
For $1000 per night, you can get: -Access to a minuscule room by a very difficult and dangerously staircase. -No minibar/ No slippers/ Very small closet with 2 hangers, without shelves or drawers. -Very old bathroom/ Plastic curtain at the uncomfortable bathtub. Regarding the very poor breakfast: -No eggs, toasts, or espresso. Friendly staff, but sometimes unskilled. THE WORST VALUE FOR MONEY HOTEL l HAVE EVER STAYED IN,
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Annie Palmer, General Manager at The Maidstone
Responded Sep 12, 2023
Dear Freedom - Thank you for your feedback, we apologize that you were unhappy with your room and with the breakfast selection. Rooms will be undergoing a renovation this winter, so those issues will be addressed. We state in our confirmations that we provide complimentary continental breakfast which includes bagels from the best shop in town as well as coffee from Hamptons Coffee. We will make note for our future offerings with your requests. We do hope to welcome you back soon. The Maidstone
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ronit L wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hotel claims to offer unparalleled luxury and hospitality: absolute rubbish. The triple room was neither comfortable or elegant, service was terrible and the nightly rate of over 2k- offensive! AVOID.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Anne G wrote a review Jul 2023
Washington DC, District of Columbia3 contributions
We had an absolutely wonderful stay. The hotel is under new management and they are doing a great job! The staff very accommodating and friendly. They are also very dog friendly a must for us. Everything was terrific from the Continental breakfast complete with fresh berries and Goldbergs bagels that were often warm when they arrived, to the bikes and beach umbrellas and chairs. we also loved sitting on the front lawn watching the world go by having coffee, reading the papers or having a cocktail.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annie Palmer, General Manager at The Maidstone
Responded Sep 12, 2023
Dear 870anneg - Thank you so much for the positive feedback! We are thrilled to hear you had a great stay and we hope to welcome you back soon! The Maidstone
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Amanda B wrote a review Jun 2023
1 contribution4 helpful votes
One of the worst hotels I have stayed at so far in the Hamptons. The rooms look absolutely nothing like they show online. I felt completely tricked. My luggage could barely fit in the room. It is a small shoebox of a room. People yelling downstairs till past 11:30pm and it sounds like they are in the room with you. The AC BARELY works. The rooms are so hot you will not sleep. This is the first time I felt compelled to write a review. I would never recommend this hotel to any one.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Annie Palmer, General Manager at The Maidstone
Responded Sep 12, 2023
Dear amandabJ85DD - Thank you for your feedback, we are so sorry to hear you had such a bad experience. I do believe you must have seen some of the previous photos which we are addressing having removed, however it has taken some time to do that. In terms of the AC, we did come to your room and show you how to turn it on and confirmed it worked, we apologize you had issues with that as well. We do hope to welcome you back and will make sure you have a more positive experience. The Maidstone
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alexa M wrote a review Jun 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Unfortunately, I had to cancel my two day stay 24 hours before my reservation and the manager was super generous allowing me to have a two day credit that I can use in the future waving the cancelation policy which states, I need to cancel 21 days prior or no refund. When I asked my friends where I should stay in East Hampton they all recommended this hotel and I look forward to saying here in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Annie Palmer, General Manager at The Maidstone
Responded Sep 12, 2023
Dear 843alexam - Thank you so much for writing your review, we look forward to welcoming you soon. -The Maidstone
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
RobbedPerson :( wrote a review Oct 2022
Cape Town Central, South Africa6 contributions2 helpful votes
The Maidstone is a tired property devoid of any atmosphere and amenities. I stayed one night in the smaller room for $500+ a night. The room was small as expected but the carpet was filthy and the decor tatty. There is no staff at the hotel in the evenings so there is no atmosphere or hospitality. The hotel sits on a very busy road so if you are at the front it is so noisy. The room is worth max $200 a night. Not 500!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
rebf2016 wrote a review Oct 2022
Greenwich, Connecticut4 contributions
What a treat to stay at the Maidstone while we were at a golf tournament. The place is gorgeous and so inviting with so many little spots to sit and have coffee, tea or wine. The staff was so professional and we loved the decor!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
brooklyntraveler1304 wrote a review Sep 2022
Brooklyn, New York1 contribution2 helpful votes
I hope you like black mold! And wet rotting sheet rock, and an empty minibar, and no service, and insulting little free soap samples instead of soap. For the highest prices you’ve ever paid. Stay anywhere else. Seriously. I’m not being cute or hyperbolic when I say next time I’d pick Motel 6
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
louislondonuk wrote a review Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
Avoid this outrageously overpriced, tired mess of a hotel! So bad that we finally just left a day early, giving up our $1,500-a-night for that last night. The room itself was filthy and tired. Bathroom broken down with toilet hissing in middle of the night. We lived out of our bags because there were four hangers in the closet and only one functional drawer. Room cleaning did not happen until we complained at 3:00 one day and then 4:00 the next day. Evening room service was suspended. No toilet paper replenishment, we had to use the tissue box. It needs a physical renovation and new management.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the East Hampton area.
PRICE RANGE
$684 - $1,132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
c/o the maidstone hotel east hampton
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkLong IslandHamptonsEast Hampton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE MAIDSTONE - Prices & Inn Reviews (East Hampton, Hamptons, NY)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Maidstone
Which popular attractions are close to The Maidstone?
Nearby attractions include Main Beach (0.5 miles), Guild Hall (0.2 miles), and Bookhampton (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Maidstone?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Maidstone?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Maidstone?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Maidstone?
Conveniently located restaurants include 1770 House Restaurant, Rowdy Hall, and The Palm - East Hampton.
Is The Maidstone located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of East Hampton.
Are pets allowed at The Maidstone?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Maidstone?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Swedish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Maidstone?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mary Croot Manson (0.4 miles) and Mill (1.0 miles).