We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Golden Sands Resort on Lake George

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 242: English reviews
Start your review of Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
 Click to rate
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed February 3, 2017

At the last minute I decided to attend Americade and got on my bike and went for a ride. When I got to Lake George there were lots of bikers but there were also lots of hotels with rooms to rent. Most of the hotels had jacked their prices up for the annual biker weekend. Golden Sands was one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jorgy1347
GoldenSandsResort, Owner at Golden Sands Resort on Lake George, responded to this review

Dear Americader, Thank you for your positive, accurate review on TripAdvisor. We strive to offer fair-market priced rooms consistent with our local accommodations' market, and appreciate your taking the time to advise others that we offer a little more service for a little less room cost! We look forward to your return to the Lake George region! Sincerely, Golden Sands...

Malvern, Pennsylvania
Reviewed November 1, 2016

We took our small fishing boat to LAKE GEORGE Monday - Friday. Our. first time visiting. Diamond Point locaiton was perfect, away from the hustle and bustle of "DOWN TOWN" but close enough to get there for dinner and activities. FREE KYAKS A BONUS and beautiful clean manicured private beach. No dock access.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wjershky
Somerset, New Jersey
Reviewed September 13, 2016

This is a small motel on the lake and that is the best that can be said about it. It is extremely old and run down and I may say in desperate need of maintenance. Room was very dirty with disgusting stains on the carpet. The linens, as many others mentioned are old, warn out and just very bad quality,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ray1023
GoldenSandsResort, Owner at Golden Sands Resort on Lake George, responded to this review

The above Review was posted by a repeat customer of many years who became so difficult and entitled that we advised him and his family they are no longer welcome here at Golden Sands. He, and we do not name him, advised us he would post such a false, malicious, unfair and inaccurate review certainly different from his true experience,...

Meriden, Connecticut
Reviewed September 9, 2016

Just loved this place! We stayed in a lakeside unit & it was definitely worth the price! Being able to sit outside & see the lake anytime of the day or night was a plus! The beach is very private & the grounds are immaculate! Can't wait to return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CTbeachlover
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

This is a small hotel, about 4 miles north of the lake George village, right on the beach. Small room but clean, grounds clean, beach very small but with chairs and a fire pit. We stayed away all day, so it was perfect for us. I have to say that the only big issue for me was the extremely poor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mirmotta
Reviewed September 2, 2016

This place reminded of us a family camp that was around for decades. Our room had the main bedroom and a porch room that overlooked the lake. The location can't be beat. Sorry to say that the cleanliness was not up to par and everything seemed so worn out. The rugs looked dirty. Make sure you bring your own bath...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joyousjourney2
Valatie, New York
Reviewed August 27, 2016

When I give a 5 star review, I don't mean this is equal to the W Hotel in Times Square. Things to consider: It's Lake George, not the Hamptons, we were not forced into a three-night minimum at the height of the season, the place is right on the lake with a beautiful beach and free kayaks, the rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brigid O
Reviewed August 22, 2016

I have been coming here for years and the place and the management never disappoints! Clean rooms, nice staff and easy access to a sand beach and a very relaxing location. Also very handicap friendly. The view is one of the best on the lake. Bob and his team make us feel welcome every year! I brought new friends up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joyce H
Long Branch, New Jersey
Reviewed August 11, 2016

My husband and I wanted a few days away and Golden Sands was a perfect choice for what we were looking for. Bob was extremely accommodating from the very beginning as I am currently 6 months pregnant. He accepted our gift certificate from BedandBreakfast.com without issue and was very easy to deal with! We had a great unit upstairs lakeside...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kardenell
Flushing, New York
Reviewed August 11, 2016

A couple of friend's and I stayed here last weekend. The rooms were clean, air-conditioned, and decently sized. The lake was awesome, very short walk from the rooms not on the lake side. They had free kayaks available and a fire pit. The location was perfect, 10 mins from town, and the staff was very nice. We want to make...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cdire18
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

125 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Point
4.1 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.1 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#14 of 87 in Lake George
265 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lake Motel
Lake Motel
#5 of 87 in Lake George
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
#4 of 9 in Diamond Point
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George is a "Family Atmosphere" lakeside resort motel offering comfortable 1 and 2 room accommodations on our private wide natural sand beach and shallow swimming area. We're located at the widest part of Lake George with spectacular 15 mile views, lakeside rooms, Free kayaks, Free Wi-Fi, private beach, dock, fridges, microwaves, playgrounds, ping-pong, b-ball, BBQ and picnic areas, lakeside fire pit, we're on Lake George trolley line, close to Lake George Village, and close to all restaurants and attractions! We're fun for the entire family! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golden Sands Resort on Lake George

Address: 3654 Lake Shore Drive, P.O. Box 11, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Price Range: $133 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Sands Resort on Lake George 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Golden Sands Resort on Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Resort On Lake George Hotel Diamond Point
Golden Sands Resort On Lake George NY - Diamond Point
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Golden Sands Resort on Lake George staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Rye Brook, New York
7 months ago
7 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Golden Sands Resort on Lake George staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“spend the extra $10 and get a room down by the lake, nice view and a whole lot quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles jorgy1347, Feb 3, 2017 | Read review
“Lakeside room is a must!”
 of 5 bubbles CTbeachlover, Sep 9, 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you request lake view or lake front”
 of 5 bubbles Joyousjourney2, Sep 2, 2016 | Read review
“Number 18 looks like the best room. Check to see where WiFi is strongest.”
 of 5 bubbles brigido962, Aug 27, 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a room by the lake, you wont be disappointed.”
 of 5 bubbles 653joyceh, Aug 22, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question