We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Harbor Rose

Show Prices
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Harbor Rose
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 33: English reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2016

My best friend and I researched B&B's outside of New York for a quiet Christmas (December 2012) and we came across The Harbor Rose. Speaking with Deidre before arriving she was so accommodating and offered for us to join her for Christmas dinner. Arriving she organised transport from the station to the the B&B. It is such a beautiful place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
TheHarborRose, Owner at The Harbor Rose, responded to this review

Cassandra and Caroline - Of course I remember you! It was lovely to host you both and I'm so glad you felt at home with us. - We now offer a full hot organic breakfast and offer several unique packages and additional services for our guests to enjoy. We are always implementing upgrades . Thanks for recommending us to your...

Reviewed December 11, 2016

I stayed for 1 week in the garden room for a business trip and overall it was a great experience. There was a very pleasant atmosphere and every effort was made to make my stay at the Garden Rose comfortable. Everything was clean, the breakfast was great and it Deirdre and Stephan are great hosts. After my stay I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas V
TheHarborRose, Manager at The Harbor Rose, responded to this review

Thomas, We certainly enjoyed hosting you and I appreciated the intellectual conversations we had every morning. If you return to the area, we most certainly would love to have you return. Good luck with your future endeavors, I know you can make a significant impact in your field of study. Warmest Regards, Stephen M

New York City, New York
Reviewed October 26, 2016

First and foremost, Dierdre and her staff member, Stephan, could not have been more welcoming and accommodating. They were very thoughtful when we got into town late because of city traffic. Dierdre made dinner for us which was excellent, and Stephan welcomed us and gave us a tour and ideas for what to do in the area. Dierdre cooks a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dandunn
TheHarborRose, Owner at The Harbor Rose, responded to this review

It was delightful to host you! Thank you for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed breakfast and dinner - we do our best to make our guests feel at home. We are ambassadors to the area and enjoy making recommendations of places to see and explore in the neighborhood - we look forwrd to hosting you again -...

Reviewed July 27, 2016

When I booked this room, I did know it would be small but the selling point was a private porch adjoining the room. The room itself had been part of the porch and a slider was put in the middle to make it a room. This slider does not go up to the ceiling which means it is near impossible...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank I3688KIbarbaram
TheHarborRose, Owner at The Harbor Rose, responded to this review

We appreciate your sharing your experience. Although we strive to meet or exceed our guest expectations - sometimes we are not a good fit. Thank you for appreciating the quality linens we provide, we have never had a guest mention a squeaky bed frame before – and I ordered a new one the day you mentioned it to me however...

New York City, New York
Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

Because this is a public review, I feel it's responsible to stay as unbiased as possible, but it's difficult. I spent a truly touching and life-altering time at Harbor Rose with Deirdre, Zara, Stephen and Salomon, and I am so grateful to them and to the universe (God) for such an encounter. Deirdre is not only a splendid and gracious...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alexandra C
TheHarborRose, Owner at The Harbor Rose, responded to this review

Alexandra - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others in this review. The Harbor Rose is a unique B&B. It is not only a place to visit, rest and call home but also a peaceful space providing an opportunity for a nourishing experience of mind, body, and spirit. It was a pleasure to visit and...

Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

The Harbor Rose was a wonderful find for me. The Inn was beautiful. Very clean and welcoming Deirdre, the inn keeper, and her staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. They made us feel right at home. There is no organized breakfast, but there is an abundance of fresh fruit, yogurt and bakery items. Unlimited beer wine coffee and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale Newman P
TheHarborRose, Owner at The Harbor Rose, responded to this review

Dale - We appreciate your taking the time to write a review . We are delighted that you felt right at home. We strive for all our guests to be comfortable and relaxed in our clean elegant peacefully welcoming residence. Glad you enjoyed our 24-hour self-serve breakfast & beverage bar. We look forward to hosting you again soon! - Best...

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed May 31, 2016

When making a reservation at the Harbor Rose BEWARE of the extraordinarily punitive cancellation policy. My wife made a reservation for three nights several months in advance of our planned trip. FOUR MONTHS before we were scheduled to arrive, our plans unfortunately had to change. When my wife called to cancel the reservation, we were told that we still would...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Craig E
TheHarborRose, Owner at The Harbor Rose, responded to this review

We appreciate your review and bringing attention to our cancellation policy. It is common that our guests plan their travel well in advance. We always review the policy with potential guests and provide a link to inexpensive trip insurance in our confirmation email. The max coverage is available if you purchase the insurance within 10 -21 days of your initial...

Chatham, New York
Reviewed January 16, 2016

I was seeking a lovely place by the water and not too far from the event i was attending on New Year's Eve. It claims to be a 'conscious, green environment', and the only evidence of that was the yogurt and water 'help-yourself' supply in the small fridge that acts as the second 'B' of the Bed and Breakfast. Although...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank moniquethecritique
TheHarborRose, Owner at The Harbor Rose, responded to this review

In summary, everything was as expected, myself and the staff invested hours of time looking after you like a family member, cared for you when you were sick, brought beverages and went to the drug store on your behalf, and offered organic homemade soup. You stayed an extra night, all at no charge -and yet you were disappointed? Deirdre

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed October 25, 2015

We chose The Harbor Rose as a place to stay for our wedding night. We found this inn online after searching for a cute bed and breakfast out on Long Island, since our wedding was out there. The Harbor Rose exceeded our expectations. The owner, Deirdre and her daughter were so helpful when we first got there. Her daughter even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Josh F
TheHarborRose, Owner at The Harbor Rose, responded to this review

Josh and Stacce, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. The local area is a special blend of history, natural beauty and high quality life style services merchants and restaurants. This appeals to those with an appreciation of this unique blend. We strive to meet or exceed the expectations of each of our guests....

Stratford, Connecticut
Reviewed September 1, 2015

Felt right at home. Amenities laid out conveniently. Common rooms decorated tastefully in period style. Dierdre is wonderful host who has a done a fantastic job restoring this former rectory. Convenient to attractions of Oyster Bay and Huntington. Will return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greg C
TheHarborRose, Owner at The Harbor Rose, responded to this review

Greg – Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you felt right at home and appreciate what we have to offer. We love sharing our historic home and our unique historic neighborhood – We look forward to your next visit! Peace – Deirdre

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cold Spring Harbor
2.3 mi away
Oheka Castle
Oheka Castle
#1 of 3 in Huntington
208 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Woodbury Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Chalet Inn & Suites
Chalet Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Centerport
55 reviews
7.7 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa
Viana Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Westbury
643 reviews
8.9 mi away
Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Harbor Rose, a historic home built in 1846 and served as the rectory to St. John’s Church until 1936. The Harbor Rose is located in the heart of Cold Spring Harbor featuring water views and is adjacent to State Hiking Trails.We consistently deliver a unique lodging experience, in a peaceful, eco-friendly resort setting, where our guests are greeted with warmth, appreciated, and treated better than family! We only ask that you communicate your desires and we will do our best to assist in every way. The entire house features several sitting areas to relax and enjoy. You will often find the Innkeeper in the Kitchen after 9:00 pm and if you arrive late, you may be offered an organic vegan bowl of soup and/or a seasonal salad.We are located at the western edge of Historic Cold Spring Harbor Village and less than 1 mile from Huntington Village (voted Best Village on Long Island 5 years running), featuring 87 restaurants, mostly owned by chefs! Abundant unique retail, live entertainment venues including the Paramount Theater, many historic sites, parks, beaches, rich in history, and waterfront venues. Walk to the Cold Spring Harbor Labs, St Johns Historic Church, several nature conservatories, and the Cold Spring Harbor Fish Hatchery. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Harbor Rose

Address: 253 Harbor Rd, Cold Spring Harbor, Huntington, NY 11724-1505
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Huntington > Cold Spring Harbor
Price Range: $177 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbor Rose 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Harbor Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Harbor Rose staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I would stay on the top floor if possible because I assume there is less noise”
 of 5 bubbles dandunn, Oct 26, 2016 | Read review
“Don't rent Garden Room and be sure you know in detail the bathroom situation.”
 of 5 bubbles I3688KIbarbaram, Jul 27, 2016 | Read review
“i think there may be one en-suite room, take it! (but up some stairs)”
 of 5 bubbles moniquethecritique, Jan 16, 2016 | Read review
“We really liked the Victorian Room.”
 of 5 bubbles joshf115, Oct 25, 2015 | Read review
“Garden room 1st floor simpler decor larger windows overlooking patio. Upstairs rooms historically appointed.”
 of 5 bubbles 753gregc, Sep 1, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay