We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clinton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 75: English reviews
Clinton, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The owner is a wonderful person and runs this quest house with her husband. It is quiet with period furniture in the rooms with updated bathrooms. Breakfast is served family style. It reminds us of visiting Clinton in an earlier friendly age. Never had a a bad experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rgcompson
Clinton, New York
Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

When our kids and grandkids come for the holidays, we give up our room and stay at the Artful Lodger. We have found that works the best, the kids and grand kids have a great time together and when we're tired we go, have quiet, restful sleep and a great breakfast. Everyone wins! Dick & Joan Compson

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rgcompson
TakeFive0, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It's always good to see you!

Reviewed September 30, 2015

My husband and I needed to get away from the crazy life of parents with teenagers. We knew right where to go - The Artful Lodger!! Susan and Tim have created an atmosphere that provides rest and relaxation the entire stay. The room was large and extremely comfortable, the entire home decorated beautifully and the breakfast soufflé was beyond words....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon O
TakeFive0, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We really enjoyed talking to you. Enjoy your teenagers! Susan and Tim

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed September 28, 2015

We had another wonderful weekend in Clinton, NY and our accommodations were perfect. I wish we had more time to enjoy the house but the weather was gorgeous we were outside the entire weekend. Our room was clean, quiet, and very charming. The Swetland's are kind hosts who do a wonderful job at taking care of their guests. Our breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MyOpinion1000
TakeFive0, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you! We enjoyed meeting you, and hope to see you again soon. Tim and Susan

Altoona, Iowa
Reviewed September 1, 2015

On the square in Clinton New York lies a hidden gem!! This B&B is owned and operated by a couple whose culinary delights and whose wonderful smiles make each and every day a great day. This big old home has the high ceilings, wide staircases you would expect from a mansion built over 100 years ago sits on the city...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale S
TakeFive0, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed meeting you and your family, and look forward to your next visit. Tim and Susan

Boston
Reviewed August 23, 2015

The inn is pretty, clean, warm, friendly, and the breakfast was perfect! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to all my friends and family! It's location, right across the green in the pretty town of Clinton, near the cute shots and restaurants, it perfect. Enjoy!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
TakeFive0, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.

new york city
Reviewed August 22, 2015

We recently returned to The Artful Lidger for our third visit, timed to coordinate with the popular Madison Bouckeville Antiques Show. Susan and Tim were as cordial and helpful as ever, and the facilities remained immaculate and tasteful. Anyone who feels that the hosts are not sufficiently friendly has perhaps never had the dubious pleasure of an innkeeper's sharing his...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roober
TakeFive0, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much, we look forward to seeing you again next summer!

New York
Reviewed August 11, 2015

We arrived late on a Friday night for a one-night stay. The door opened with the key code and we had the place to ourselves, as if we were ambling into someone's warm and well-appointed home, fruit on the kitchen counter and all. Beds were comfortable and room was large although bathroom tiny, with sink in the bedroom. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shari L
TakeFive0, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing a review. We hope to see you again soon.

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed August 7, 2015

Totally agree with the previous "poor" ratings. Felt like we were intruders asking for special service. We arrived at breakfast on time, ordered fruit parfaits, and waited 25 minutes. No food. We had an appointment to keep and asked for something to go, which they said they couldn't do. So we left without a breakfast and without an apology. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AroundTheWorld802015
TakeFive0, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We're sorry you had a bad experience. We hope the rest of your journey was smooth sailing.

Irvington, New York
Reviewed June 10, 2015

A frequent visitor to Clinton NY because of my affiliation with Hamilton College, I have stayed at a number of places, on and off campus. The Artful Lodger is a relatively new B&B, but it feels as settled and comfortable as an old shoe, but not as worn. The rooms are spacious and decorated with old American furniture and local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ABSeaperson
TakeFive0, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts. We hope to see you again soon.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
8.3 mi away
Hotel Utica
Hotel Utica
#8 of 13 in Utica
37 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
479 reviews
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn
8.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In Clinton's Historic District, this 5 room B&B showcases the work of regional artists. One mile from Hamilton College. Private baths, air conditioning, free wireless internet, and full breakfast included in room rate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7 East Park Row, Clinton, NY 13323
Location: United States > New York > Clinton
Price Range: $109 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The ground-floor Scollard and upstairs Kirkland and Clinton rooms all look out over the picturesque village square.”
 of 5 bubbles ABSeaperson, Jun 10, 2015 | Read review
“There is a tiny bit of street noise. If you're a light sleeper, choose a room in the back of the house.”
 of 5 bubbles espang, May 2, 2015 | Read review
“We loved the "king" room with a view of the village square. There are complementary earplugs if you are a light sleeper but we didn't need them!”
 of 5 bubbles deborahb236, Jun 1, 2014 | Read review
“The large room with the king bed was outstanding.”
 of 5 bubbles 407AmyC44, Apr 29, 2014 | Read review
“We stayed in the Kirkland room. It was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles 2ndChance40, Dec 30, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question