We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chateau Country Inn

Save
39621 State Route 12, Clayton, NY 13624-2117
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (1)
Room & Suite (33)
Dining (1)

About

#3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clayton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Chateau is a Country Inn located in Clayton NY on the shore of the St. Lawrence River and Seaway in the 1000 Islands. You'll enjoy great views of the majestic St Lawrence River and magnificent sunsets. Under new management, our rooms were renovated during the winter of 2016/2017! The Chateau offers four themed rooms with private bath and a suite with bedroom, small kitchen, eating area, living room and deck. All rooms have use off a full kitchen, family room and screened porch. Continental Breakfast served each morning for overnight guests. Stay two for more nights and receive two free Boat Tours on Clayton Island Tours. Dockage is available on the property with prior arrangement. The Chateau welcomes children and is a smoke free environment. We can help you arrange, Boat Tours with Clayton Island Tours, Spa Packages, Fishing Charters, Scuba Guides, Kayak Rentals, and Boat Charters for groups. The Clayton Country Golf Club, two marinas, and The Clipper Inn Restaurant are all located within 1/2 mile of the Chateau. We are also situated within a mile of the Clayton Downtown Business District with three Museums and The Clayton Opera house. Spend the afternoon strolling through unique shops and art galleries along the waterfront. Don't miss the opportunity to learn about Clayton's rich history with a tour of the Antique Boat Museum, Thousand Islands Museum and The Thousand Islands Arts Center. The Clayton Opera House also presents outstanding performances throughout the summer season. Also located on the property is Clayton Island Tours, with scheduled daily departures to Boldt Castle and 2 Nation Tour, Rock Island Lighthouse State Park on a Glass Bottom Boat, 2 Nation Tour through US and Canadian Waters (No Passport Required), Sunday Socials on the St. Lawrence, Wednesday Night Sunset Cruises, Special Event Cruises among the Islands of the St. Lawrence River, and Tour Boats are available for any Group Charter.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
19Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 7
  • 6
  • 2
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The Chateau Country Inn: Our room was a nice, simple, clean and neat room. Wish the bed was a bit softer, but it was ok. The entire floor is on one heat zone, but being an HVAC guy, I found a way to regulate the temp in our room....there was a gas valve being used as a water shut off on the radiators. Cut it to about halfway and presto! No longer in the heat of Hades. The toilet....now, there's a fun story. It must have been originally intended for Ernie Keebler and the elves at the cookie factory in the hollow tree. Members of The Lollipop Guild must have installed it. Seriously, I think it's a kiddie potty. Fat middle-aged dudes shouldn't have to require a backup camera to use it....Even my own personal short person, the lovely Miss G, said it was too short. And if it's too short for G, it's too short. The inn is, overall, a nice quiet place, and I'd probably come back if I was in the area. It could use a little exterior face-lifting to improve the curb appeal, but the interiors are pleasant and neat and clean. The folks who own the inn also own the tour boats, and if you stay 2 nights you get free tour tickets. Not bad. They made a reservation for us at a nice local place for dinner, and their recommendation was an excellent one. It's hard to find this place after dark, as the road is not lit (nor is the small sign in front),so prepare to drive past it and come back.
Read more
Response from David K, Owner at The Chateau Country Inn
Responded Oct 28, 2019
Thank you for the great review and for choosing to stay with us! We are actually working on the front now! It all takes time and yes, we do have a plan! Now you have us wondering about the Ernie Keebler and the elves room! Thank you again, we do hope you will visit again.
Read more
I stayed here in August with a friend of mine for a girls weekend and enjoyed our stay so much; I wanted to bring my husband for our anniversary. We both enjoyed our weekend. It was quiet and the room and bedding were clean and comfortable. We were looking for different places to visit and Beth took the time to look up festivities in the area. The free boat tour is a great added bonus. During the summer months there are a few to choose from so each time can be something different. We are definitely staying again.
Read more
Response from David K, Owner at The Chateau Country Inn
Responded Oct 28, 2019
Thank you for the great review and for choosing to stay with a second time! We look forward to welcoming you again!
Read more
When you travel to the Thousand Islands in New York State, you get to appreciate a way of life that isn't just found anywhere. Staying at the Chateau Country Inn is a great choice. Nicely appointed rooms (5) all with baths, sharing a common kitchen, dining and porch. We were there with a crew that booked all the rooms and we had a wonderful time. Stay for two nights and take advantage of the free ride on the Island Boat Tour . There are other larger tour boats but Island Tours have craft that take you to places in the islands that you can't see from the bigger tour boats.
Read more
Response from David K, Owner at The Chateau Country Inn
Responded Aug 12, 2019
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Chateau Country Inn and for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We enjoy our guests and yes, the Thousand Islands region offers a way of life not found just anywhere. We call it "River Time"....relax, enjoy the beauty of the area and river and enjoy spending time with friends.
Read more
Arrived to find that the air conditioning in the room had not been turned on prior to our arrival. There was a heat wave going on, so the room felt like a sauna! Also, there is no air conditioning in any of the common areas (Living room, kitchen, etc.) so that felt like a constant sauna. The toilet in our room would not flush properly, They fixed it in a timely manner. Our beds were never made during our stay. There was no shampoo, or lotion in our room upon arrival, just a little bar of soap. The "continental breakfast" consisted of 1 packaged muffin per guest, along with some single serve cereal, and yogurt. There were small cans of juice in the fridge.We also had to ask for fresh towels, as the maid seemed adverse to entering the rooms. Over all, pretty disappointed.
Read more
Response from David K, Owner at The Chateau Country Inn
Responded Jul 30, 2019
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay with the us. As you mentioned there was a heat wave going on and air conditioning in the common areas is usually not necessary. We are pleased that the issue with the toilet was corrected in a timely manner. We do serve a continental breakfast with muffins/yogurt/hot and cold single serve cereal/milk/juice/fruit/coffee/tea/creamer. Our housekeeper is available to make up guests rooms upon request, however we do not enter guests rooms without permission out of respect and privacy. All rooms are supplied with multiple sets of towels and we happily supply additional as requested.
Read more
I stayed there with my 2 kids (7 and 11) during October break. The place is in the outside might not look as cute at it was in the inside. Phenomenal kitchen, super cute living room to have breakfast there. We loved the view. Well priced, walking distance to dinning restaurant
Read more
Response from David K, Owner at The Chateau Country Inn
Responded Mar 17, 2019
Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkClayton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Chateau Country Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Chateau Country Inn?
Nearby attractions include Antique Boat Museum (1.1 miles), 1000 Islands River Rat Cheese (1.0 miles), and Wellesley Island (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Chateau Country Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Chateau Country Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Chateau Country Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Chateau Country Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Chateau Country Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Clipper Inn, Koffee Kove Restaurant, and Wood Boat Brewery.
Is The Chateau Country Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Clayton.
Are there any historical sites close to The Chateau Country Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cornwall Brothers Store & Museum (9.9 miles), Gananoque Clock Tower (7.5 miles), and Gananoque Town Hall (7.7 miles).