We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
39621 State Route 12, Clayton, NY 13624-2117
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (1)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (1)

About

#3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clayton
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
3.0
Service
3.1
Value
3.6
The Chateau is a Country Inn located in Clayton NY on the shore of the St. Lawrence River in the 1000 Islands. You'll enjoy great views of the majestic St Lawrence River and magnificent sunsets. The Chateau offers four river themed rooms with private baths and flat screen cable tv. Our 5th room, the St. Lawrence Suite is located on the third floor and features a bedroom, bath, small kitchen, eating area, living room and deck. All rooms have use off a full kitchen, family room (with cable tv) and screened porch (shared only with other guests.) Continental Breakfast served each morning for overnight guests. Stay two for more nights and receive two free Boat Tours on Clayton Island Tours. The Chateau welcomes children and is a smoke free environment. We can help you arrange, Boat Tours with Clayton Island Tours, Spa Packages, Fishing Charters, Scuba Guides, Kayak Rentals, and Boat Charters for groups. Spend the afternoon strolling through unique shops and art galleries along the waterfront. Don't miss the opportunity to learn about Clayton's rich history with a tour of the Antique Boat Museum, Thousand Islands Museum and The Thousand Islands Arts Center. The Clayton Opera House also presents outstanding performances throughout the summer season. Also located on the property is Clayton Island Tours, with scheduled daily departures to Boldt Castle, Rock Island Lighthouse State Park on a Glass Bottom Boat, Sunset Cruises, and more!.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
19Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 7
  • 6
  • 2
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
hacrat wrote a review Oct 2019
Gloversville, New York5 contributions4 helpful votes
The Chateau Country Inn: Our room was a nice, simple, clean and neat room. Wish the bed was a bit softer, but it was ok. The entire floor is on one heat zone, but being an HVAC guy, I found a way to regulate the temp in our room....there was a gas valve being used as a water shut off on the radiators. Cut it to about halfway and presto! No longer in the heat of Hades. The toilet....now, there's a fun story. It must have been originally intended for Ernie Keebler and the elves at the cookie factory in the hollow tree. Members of The Lollipop Guild must have installed it. Seriously, I think it's a kiddie potty. Fat middle-aged dudes shouldn't have to require a backup camera to use it....Even my own personal short person, the lovely Miss G, said it was too short. And if it's too short for G, it's too short. The inn is, overall, a nice quiet place, and I'd probably come back if I was in the area. It could use a little exterior face-lifting to improve the curb appeal, but the interiors are pleasant and neat and clean. The folks who own the inn also own the tour boats, and if you stay 2 nights you get free tour tickets. Not bad. They made a reservation for us at a nice local place for dinner, and their recommendation was an excellent one. It's hard to find this place after dark, as the road is not lit (nor is the small sign in front),so prepare to drive past it and come back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David K, Owner at Chateau Country Inn
Responded Oct 29, 2019
Thank you for the great review and for choosing to stay with us! We are actually working on the front now! It all takes time and yes, we do have a plan! Now you have us wondering about the Ernie Keebler and the elves room! Thank you again, we do hope you will visit again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
P&W Rochester wrote a review Oct 2019
7 contributions4 helpful votes
I stayed here in August with a friend of mine for a girls weekend and enjoyed our stay so much; I wanted to bring my husband for our anniversary. We both enjoyed our weekend. It was quiet and the room and bedding were clean and comfortable. We were looking for different places to visit and Beth took the time to look up festivities in the area. The free boat tour is a great added bonus. During the summer months there are a few to choose from so each time can be something different. We are definitely staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from David K, Owner at Chateau Country Inn
Responded Oct 29, 2019
Thank you for the great review and for choosing to stay with a second time! We look forward to welcoming you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ford K wrote a review Aug 2019
Lodi, New York78 contributions8 helpful votes
When you travel to the Thousand Islands in New York State, you get to appreciate a way of life that isn't just found anywhere. Staying at the Chateau Country Inn is a great choice. Nicely appointed rooms (5) all with baths, sharing a common kitchen, dining and porch. We were there with a crew that booked all the rooms and we had a wonderful time. Stay for two nights and take advantage of the free ride on the Island Boat Tour . There are other larger tour boats but Island Tours have craft that take you to places in the islands that you can't see from the bigger tour boats.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a small refrigerator, ask for one of them.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David K, Owner at Chateau Country Inn
Responded Aug 13, 2019
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Chateau Country Inn and for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We enjoy our guests and yes, the Thousand Islands region offers a way of life not found just anywhere. We call it "River Time"....relax, enjoy the beauty of the area and river and enjoy spending time with friends.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bill S. wrote a review Jul 2019
Ballston Spa, New York1 contribution
Arrived to find that the air conditioning in the room had not been turned on prior to our arrival. There was a heat wave going on, so the room felt like a sauna! Also, there is no air conditioning in any of the common areas (Living room, kitchen, etc.) so that felt like a constant sauna. The toilet in our room would not flush properly, They fixed it in a timely manner. Our beds were never made during our stay. There was no shampoo, or lotion in our room upon arrival, just a little bar of soap. The "continental breakfast" consisted of 1 packaged muffin per guest, along with some single serve cereal, and yogurt. There were small cans of juice in the fridge.We also had to ask for fresh towels, as the maid seemed adverse to entering the rooms. Over all, pretty disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David K, Owner at Chateau Country Inn
Responded Jul 31, 2019
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay with the us. As you mentioned there was a heat wave going on and air conditioning in the common areas is usually not necessary. We are pleased that the issue with the toilet was corrected in a timely manner. We do serve a continental breakfast with muffins/yogurt/hot and cold single serve cereal/milk/juice/fruit/coffee/tea/creamer. Our housekeeper is available to make up guests rooms upon request, however we do not enter guests rooms without permission out of respect and privacy. All rooms are supplied with multiple sets of towels and we happily supply additional as requested.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rebeca R wrote a review Nov 2018
Buffalo, New York3 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed there with my 2 kids (7 and 11) during October break. The place is in the outside might not look as cute at it was in the inside. Phenomenal kitchen, super cute living room to have breakfast there. We loved the view. Well priced, walking distance to dinning restaurant
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David K, Owner at Chateau Country Inn
Responded Mar 18, 2019
Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JOHNe893 wrote a review Sep 2018
Baldwinsville, New York56 contributions70 helpful votes
We have stayed at several different places in the area over the last few years from simple small B&B's to 4 star hotel. We wanted a simple one night place to sleep and chose the Boathouse room here for a very reasonable price on a holiday weekend. Having never stayed here we naturally read the Trip Advisor reviews and although mixed...we booked it. DON'T look at the older reviews!....Our room and the other 2 we looked in were all very clean and well appointed. Our bed was a nice firm king size and the bath and shower were great. This is a B&B and the little kitchen and adjoining screen porch or living room were comfortable and clean. Breakfast offers muffins oj cereal fruit yogurt coffee etc. The outside still needs some "spiffing up" and the owners who greeted us on the way in and out have plans to continue to renovate..I think we found our go to spot in Clayton!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David K, Owner at Chateau Country Inn
Responded Mar 18, 2019
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write this wonderful review!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JBoops wrote a review Jul 2018
Lockport, New York44 contributions27 helpful votes
Husband and I stayed there 3 nights the week of July 23. We booked it because of the location, right on the water. We were very happily surprised when we got there and saw how clean and updated the rooms were. We spent alot of time at night sitting on the screened in porch overlooking the water, rained alot that week. The price was right, we will definitely be staying there again.!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David K, Owner at Chateau Country Inn
Responded Jul 30, 2018
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate the great review and look forward to welcoming you back again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
slynns1056 wrote a review Jul 2018
Rochester, New York1 contribution
We recently stayed at this quaint bed and breakfast type place. We stayed in The Lighthouse room and our 2 daughters stayed across the hall in the Nautical room. Both rooms were very nicely decorated, the place was clean and the staff was so helpful! We loved Mindy and Beth who both went out of their way to make sure the 4 of us were comfortable and had everything we needed. The shared screened porch was lovely for watching the boats go by and the incredible sunsets. We plan to go back again next month!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from David K, Owner at Chateau Country Inn
Responded Jul 15, 2018
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for writing this wonderful review. We also appreciate Mindy and Beth and hope you will stay with us again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GAquiltR wrote a review Jan 2018
Clayton GA39 contributions12 helpful votes
We stayed 4 nights over the Christmas parade week-end. The room was well-appointed & very comfortable, & a bonus we didn't know about beforehand: breakfast was included! So this made the reasonable rate even more attractive. The accommodations also included a sitting room w large TV & a self-service kitchen just for guests. We will go back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from David K, Owner at Chateau Country Inn
Responded May 21, 2018
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
happybicyclist wrote a review Sep 2017
Floral City, Florida8 contributions11 helpful votes
There was no one to greet you or to take a phone call when we arrived. We spoke to a worker who called the owner regarding a breakfast question we had. We were assured that the food truck would be open at our desired leave time and it wasn't. Really a food truck for breakfast? ?? It had no tv. The windows were wide open on a very cool day. We didn't realize it immediately and had turned up the heat. It's located on a busy road. I would not recommend this place for the price. Odd ownership....
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't chose.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkClayton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHATEAU COUNTRY INN - Guest house Reviews (Clayton, NY)

Frequently Asked Questions about Chateau Country Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Chateau Country Inn?
Nearby attractions include Antique Boat Museum (1.1 miles), 1000 Islands River Rat Cheese (1.0 miles), and Wellesley Island (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Chateau Country Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Chateau Country Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Chateau Country Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Chateau Country Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chateau Country Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Koffee Kove Restaurant, Clipper Inn, and Bella's.
Is Chateau Country Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Clayton.
Are there any historical sites close to Chateau Country Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cornwall Brothers Store Museum (9.9 miles), Gananoque Clock Tower (7.5 miles), and Gananoque Town Hall (7.7 miles).