We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

The Spencer Hotel and Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 170: English reviews
Croton-On-Hudson, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room, Lillian Hellman, a "Jr Suite" was just a small drab room with barely walking space, tiny bathroom with bar for a closet, no dresser, freezing temp. with sealed shut windows. Food fair at best. Not worth the price. Hotel charming and good location.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank phillypieS
SpencerHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Hi PhillypieS, We do apologize for the experience you encountered. We would of loved to make your experience better while you were staying with us. Thanks! More 

Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
HOTEL’S FAVORITE REVIEW
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

The Spencer is a quaint Victoria-era hotel on the beautiful grounds of the Chautauqua Institution. The surroundings are fabulous and very near the lake! Staying there is like being in someone's home and you are always welcome! Bob, the GM went above and beyond for our group, and helped me plan events. We are a wine group, and he arranged... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JDin2015
About Hotel's Favorite Review
The Hotel’s Favorite Review is a recent traveler review pinned as a favorite by this property’s owner or manager.
Houston
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay at the Spencer for the second year inaro really wanted for nothing. The meals were taken car of (for the most part) quite adequatly, not excellent but quite good. The place was clean and well cared for and most special requests were lovingly handled.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 604philipr
SpencerHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Hi 604philipr, Thanks so much for the kind words and good review. We hope to see you again in the near future! Take care! More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Let me start by saying that the people who own this hotel are the sweetest, nicest couple with the sweetest, most well behaved dog and they did attempt to resolve some of our issues. However, be aware of a few things in considering this location: The rooms are tiny. I don't know how they make the rooms look so big... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Colette3890
SpencerHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Hi Colette3890, Thanks for the kind words! Hannah is the best dog! We do apologize for the menu mistakes. We strive to be considered a "green" hotel, but understand your concerns with the towels. We will take all your recommendations into consideration hoping you will give us another chance! Take care More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Charming but extremely small rooms. the food was sub par and lacked imagination and flavor. They were feeding us as cheaply as possible. The chance to meet the dine with other guests was a plus. The staff was not well trained or very helpful. Overall a disappointment.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
SpencerHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Hi Nancy R, We appreciate the comments and strive to provide a great experience. We are sorry you were disappointed. We hope you will consider staying with us again. Take care. More 

huntley, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this property has kept is turn of the century charm. out room was comfortable but on the small side as it housed a king size bed. a queen bed would have been more suited to the room size. on the downside the plumbing could have used some updating as the shower temperature was hard to adjust and ran very slow.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert R
SpencerHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Hi Robert R, Thanks for taking the time to review The Spencer Hotel & Spa. We do apologize for the bed size, and room plumbing, and temperatures. We hope to see you in the future. Take care More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed here and immediately regretted the 2,000 we spent for the week when we saw our room. It only had a bath tub, was small, old, and in need of renovations. We opted to have the meals at the hotel since they were included and ate chicken 3 of the 5 nights we stayed. we found... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Edward8909
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

This past weekend,my husband and I took a belated honeymoon to Chautauqua. It was his first time there and I had never stayed in the institute. The location of the hotel was wonderful and the hotel was clean and well decorated. However our room was in need of serious updates especially the bathroom. It was incredibly small and only had... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Kara B
Medina, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

After losing my wonderful Shihtzu , Bob, my heart was completely broken. My husband got on the computer and found the Spencer Hotel, where we spent saturday night. Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner, a lovely lady who was very sweet and kind. I noticed a dog toy on the floor and asked if there was a small... More 

Helpful?
Thank cowboyhoss
SpencerHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Cecilia and David Warsack, Thanks so much for the kind words! Hannah is the absolute best! We are so glad you had a pleasant experience. We can't wait to see you again! Take care More 

Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2016

We arrived Friday evening with the friendliest greeting from staff. They gave us a complimentary bottle of wine, a tour of the hotel and because it was our first visit to Chautauqua, they told us all the local attractions we could check out. It was great! We stayed in the Isak Dinesen room, which had an african safari theme. Everything... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank R and R E
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chautauqua
2.2 mi away
Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center
15.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Findley Lake
17.1 mi away
The Inn at the Peak
The Inn at the Peak
#1 of 1 in Clymer
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jamestown
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jamestown
13.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Jamestown
Comfort Inn Jamestown
#2 of 6 in Jamestown
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Spencer Hotel & Spa is best described as 'more captivating than opening your favorite story-book.' Amidst our enchanting literary themed rooms and the private sanctuary of our spa, find yourself transported to a bygone place and time. Time spent in our steam sauna, a soak in our whirlpool tubs, and a week of pampering services leaves every one feeling as though they have gathered new strength. Each of the 24 guest rooms and suites were hand-decorated by local artists to honor the lives and works of famous authors. Each room has a select library of thoughtfully-chosen books and musical selections to further convey the tone of each writer's life and times. All of the rooms have central air conditioning and heat, cable television, free Wi-Fi, monogrammed robes, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, and Gilchriest and Soames bath amenities. Most of the rooms are outfitted with King beds and have brand new mattresses. Some of the rooms have desks, arm chairs, sofa beds, direct porch access and whirlpool/Jacuzzi tubs with European handheld showers. An elevator services all four floors. Steamboat Gothic porches grace the front of the hotel, and are appointed with Victorian sofas, chairs and rockers that overlook the famous Chautauqua Amphitheater. A gourmet savory or sweet breakfast is served each morning with fresh fruit in the Peacock Dining Room and luxurious massage services and a cedar sauna are available for guests to indulge in.The Spencer offers cozy areas that are perfect for playing a board game, curling up with a good book, or engaging in conversation. In the Monet Parlor a movie projector and screen are also available for use. Packages and specials are available for guests from Couples Renewal Weekends to Gourmet Dinners, Ladies Pampering and Wine Touring.The Spencer Hotel is the perfect place for small weddings, receptions, book-clubs, reunions, business retreats and more. Group packages can be custom built for your next event. During the 9 week Chautauqua Institution Season gate and parking passes are required for guests staying at The Spencer and need to be arranged through Chautauqua Institution. The Spencer Hotel rents by the week during these 9 weeks and provides guests with dinner Monday - Friday in addition to the gourmet breakfast that is offered year-round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Spencer Hotel and Spa

Address: 25 Palestine Ave, Chautauqua, NY 14722-2536
Location: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Chautauqua
Price Range: $212 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Spencer Hotel and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your The Spencer Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer Hotel Chautauqua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay