We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Brewster Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Brewster Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 103: English reviews
Hamilton, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our latest dinner here, on a Thursday in early August, had us on the patio, outside, on a wonderful sunny evening. We arrived without a reservation, but luckily were seated right away. Like every time we come, the food was special, the service professional, and the setting, spectacular. Don't make our mistake, call ahead for a reservation, but do buy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
163 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I have stayed at the Brewster many times over the years and each time we stay the place seems more aged. We don't have an issue with maintaining the charm of an old inn. We have a problem with the rundown feel of the place. Carpets are dirty, wallpaper peeling,little electric plugs for charging, really old whirlpool... More 

Helpful?
Thank StephHorn
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, we truly appreciate it whether good or bad. We are a bit surprised to hear that you felt everything was aged. Room 4, the room you stayed in is one of the most highly requested rooms. It just got a brand new mattress (2016), new wallpaper (2015), new carpet (2015), new HVAC (2015),... More 

NJ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

We arrived for a 5:30 dinner on a beautiful summer Saturday evening. There are 3 choices for seating; indoors, a large patio with an awning which overlooks the lake, or patio tables set on the lawn which is close to the dock and the lake. We chose the lawn tables and it was a perfect evening. The scenery, the food,... More 

Helpful?
Thank dosacquas
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words! So glad you had a great dinner and if the coffee is ever luke warm, just let us know and we will brew another pot immediately! And yes, the outdoor bar is fabulous this summer! You don't need reservations, you can just show up any time... it's open 7 days per week, 4pm onward, weather... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

Fantastic service. The property is lovely. Bed was comfortable. Hoping for a Jacuzzi room next trip. The town is really nice as well. Great lake front views also. The restaurant was quite delicious as well.

Helpful?
Thank Brendan B
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! Appreciate the kind words! Also, (wink, wink) we do some great room discounts in the winter -- and those jacuzzi rooms are pretty fabulous! Look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

New Hartford, NY
Level Contributor
197 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

I'm writing about the restaurant. Parking lot loaded. Huge number of outdoor diners. We ate inside. Kind of stuffy atmosphere here. Very extensive and eclectic menu. Prices moderate...$122 for four people with a drink for each. We shared one dessert. Waitstaff seemed tired of saying the same thing over and over again. But the food was worth all this...Excellent and... More 

Helpful?
Thank NYBob6
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback. So sorry that you felt the atmosphere was stuffy, we do have 4 different indoor dining rooms to choose from and 3 outdoor areas for seating -- so another seating area might do the trick for you. So glad you enjoyed your dinner -- look forward to seeing you again sometime... More 

Level Contributor
136 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

Took off early for a dinner and had a drink at the bar before our 5 pm seating outside. Our drinks at the bar were awesome. We were seated promptly at 5 and Kelly our server was great. I ordered a smoked salmon appetizer and the wife French onion soup And sea bass. Half portion. Everything was was spot on.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ATMGUY63
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Spot on - thanks so much! So glad you had a chance to come early and enjoy a drink ahead of time. You'll have to try the outdoor bar sometime -- it's so fun! Cool cocktails too! Thanks for mentioning that you had a great night with Kelly. She has been with us for 30 years -- we are so... More 

Irondequoit, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

We were in carriage house #24. Large well appointed room. The road was close by but the well built structure didn't allow any noise to disturb us. Staff was efficient and helpful without being intrusive. The grounds are on the lake with a beautiful view of the entire lake. The provided breakfast was self service waffles, bagels, juice, yogurt etc.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phototrip2011
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words! Would love to have you stay with us again! More 

Sauquoit, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was excellent. My husband had a beef dish and I ad the Brewster inn shrimp scampi. Our dessert was fabulous. Our only disappointment was the cost of the soda. We were charged for each soda. I had a glass of wine which was very good. $3.50 per soda seems a bit excessive given... More 

Helpful?
Thank joakakaren
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the kind words! More 

Pittsford, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

While the property was historical and the views were scenic, I thought the $200 room would offer a modicum of luxury, or at least some quiet. We sat on the balcony at night and were annoyed with the sounds of a bug zapper nearby. At 6 am the kitchen below our room came to life and we heard every thud,... More 

Helpful?
Thank globe_dancer16
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

So sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay. I wonder if another room might have been a better option for you. If you would like to discuss, please don't hesitate to email caitlin at info@thebrewsterinn.com. More 

West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

We sat outside on patio with beautiful view of lake. We were group of 10 and everything ran smoothly. We started with Bloody Mary's, Mimosa's and coffee. We ordered the made to order Eggs Benedict they were excellent brought to the table direct from kitchen. They were cooked perfectly and hollendaise sauce was very creamy and tasty. At the buffet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Besos43
Caitlin G, Manager at The Brewster Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and feedback. We take great pride in our Sunday brunches, as well as our wonderful outdoor seating area. There is no better way to end the weekend and kick off a busy work week than to enjoy a beautiful brunch right on the lake. We hope to see you back at our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (42)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cazenovia
10.6 mi away
Craftsman Inn
Craftsman Inn
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cazenovia
18.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
15.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Syracuse - Carrier Circle
13.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dewitt (Syracuse)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As the only hotel on Cazenovia Lake, The Brewster Inn is a historic mansion, built in 1890 as the summer home of Standard Oil Financier, Benjamin Brewster. Overnight guests choose from rooms in either the main house or the adjacent carriage house, many rooms of which were renovated in 2015. All rooms and suites have private baths, television, and HVAC. Some rooms even feature jacuzzis, fireplaces, sun porches, private decks and lakeviews. The inn also offers a DiRona Award Winning Restaurant and a Wine Spectator Awarded wine cellar on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Brewster Inn

Address: 6 Ledyard Ave, Cazenovia, NY 13035-1209
Location: United States > New York > Cazenovia
Price Range: $117 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brewster Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Brewster Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brewster Hotel Cazenovia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay