We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western University Inn

Save
Share
90 E Main St Route 11, Canton, NY 13617-1452
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!$25 Gift Card Promotion
Expedia.com
Booking.com
FindHotel
$145
$118
View deal
SAVE $27
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Lol.travel$145
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (21)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (9)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 02/16/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 02/16/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Canton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Enjoy all of the four seasons in the beautiful North Country here at the BEST WESTERN University Inn of Canton, NY. With easy access off of Route 11, this 98 room property is surrounded by a championship golf course and groomed cross country ski trails. An indoor pool, whirlpool, saunas, and state of the art exercise facility compliment the tastefully appointed rooms. With an on-site restaurant, relaxing lounge, business center, and high-speed wireless Internet, it is the perfect destination for those traveling on business or leisure. Our friendly staff, personalized service and meeting spaces make this an ideal location for any special event.Whether you are planning a meeting, banquet, conference or wedding, the BEST WESTERN University Inn is here to serve you.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Skiing
Patio
Kids stay free
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:$25 Gift Card Promotion
233Reviews5Q+A8Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 127
  • 64
  • 25
  • 7
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
alp222018 wrote a review Apr 2021
22 contributions18 helpful votes
Clean close to school and good food! Nice staff and comfortable beds and very quiet. A great stay and we will be back. Wendi is terrific managing the hotel with efficiency and kindness. Really the whole staff goes above and beyond!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Dorothy Derfler, General Manager at Best Western University Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for a very kind review! We are happy to hear that our entire team exceeded your guest service expectations, and we enjoyed visiting with you and your family throughout the years! We hope to see you and your family in the near future.. Please take care.. Respectfully Yours, Wendi, Guest Service Manager
Read more
arblackz wrote a review Dec 2020
New York City, New York26 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
I’ve stayed at this Best Western in the past and it’s still just as wonderful as before. They have the best staff with the warmest hearts! Not to mention the best cookies at check in. It’s easy to make a reservation and you can actually speak with someone at the hotel regarding any questions or concerns. How do I go about buying one of their beds and pillows? It’s the most comfortable bed I’ve slept in! I had the best sleep in a long while after a long road trip. Why should you stay here? They have all the amenities you need and overlooking a golf course. It’s just a wonderful place to get away and unwind!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Dorothy Derfler, General Manager at Best Western University Inn
Responded Dec 15, 2020
Thank you for your great review - It is always a pleasure to visit with you while you are in our area! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and had a peaceful rest. It is the goal of our entire team to provide each guest with an exceptional stay, and I will be sure to pass your scores and kind comments to the rest of the team. We look forward to visiting with you in the near future! Gratefully, Wendi, Guest Service Manager
Read more
hendersonfamily170 wrote a review Apr 2021
Tonawanda NY13 contributions7 helpful votes
The hotel was clean and updated. The pool and restaurant were available and the grab and go breakfast was better then most hotels. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the area and made us feel comfortable and welcomed. I would recommend this property and hope to visit the area again. But what is the story of the decorative toilets on Main Street?
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Dorothy Derfler, General Manager at Best Western University Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review and recommendation! It was our pleasure to visit with you and your family. We appreciate your choice to stay with us, and we hope that we have a chance to visit with you all in the near future.. Respectfully Yours, Wendi Guest Service Manager
Read more
tposnick wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
Wendy at the Canton NY location, was amazing. My stay was a last minute plan & with my dog. With all the Covid regulations going on, they made sure they kept it safe for everyone. While I was there, there was a snow storm and what was nice is that my daughter and I didn’t have to leave the building, because they had a pub or restaurant that you could go to.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Dorothy Derfler, General Manager at Best Western University Inn
Responded Feb 19, 2021
Thank you Tami for your very kind review! It is the goal of our entire team to ensure that you have a comfortable stay, and we very much enjoyed visiting with you while you were in our area. We are looking forward to your next visit up here! Until then, please take care! Respectfully yours, Wendi Guest Service Manager
Read more
davidvenn2020 wrote a review Nov 2020
Phoenix, Arizona1 contribution
Bar/Restaurant closes at 9 and no bar now. Meals way too expensive. Without that amenity, this hotel has lost its advantage. Also, a fire alarm at 9 a.m. That's a horrible and arbitrary way to treat guests.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Dorothy Derfler, General Manager at Best Western University Inn
Responded Nov 23, 2020
Thank you for your feedback, David. We sincerely appreciate your suggestions as we are continuosly looking to improve our property and guest services. We apologize for not meeting your standards, however, we are following set guidelines that have been put in place by New York State to keep our guests safe. We hope to have another oppportunity to provide you with the high level of guest service that you deserve. All The Best, Wendi, Guest Service Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$125 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western plus university inn canton hotel canton, best western olean, olean best western, best western canton
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkSt. Lawrence CountyCanton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western University Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western University Inn?
Nearby attractions include Traditional Arts in Upstate New York/TAUNY (1.0 miles), The Hoot Owl (0.9 miles), and Parkers Real Maple (1.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western University Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western University Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western University Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western University Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western University Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include 1844 House, Sergi's Pizza, and Busters.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western University Inn?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Best Western University Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is Best Western University Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.