We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
90 E Main St, Canton, NY 13617
Hotel direct offer!Get up to 20,000 Bonus Points!
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
BestWestern.com
Orbitz.com
Algotels
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (34)
Room & Suite (48)
Videos (3)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Canton
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Located in Canton,NY, the Best Western University Inn is sure to provide a peaceful and comforting home away from home for any traveler. Each Best Western hotel provides free internet access, giving guests the opportunity to check emails and surf the web, all from the comforts of their room or the business center. With cleanliness and value being our top priority, we ensure a restful and productive stay. On top of that, our superior customer service will ensure that we meet all your needs and go beyond your expectations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Skiing
Patio
Kids stay free
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Steam room
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Get up to 20,000 Bonus Points!
270Reviews5Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 151
  • 68
  • 27
  • 10
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
jnammirati wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
I have stayed at the Best Western a bunch of times in the past 10 years and it's always a great experience. It's clean and comfortable with an incredibly accomodating and friendly staff. I highly recommend staying here.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dorothy Derfler, General Manager at Best Western University Inn
Responded Nov 30, 2022
Dear @jnammirati, Thank you for choosing Best Western as a location for your stay and for this positive feedback. We appreciate all our guests and their suggestions regarding our property, that is what helps us to become better and better. We hope you will be back and see us again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deb D wrote a review Aug 2021
Walpole, New Hampshire112 contributions27 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
The staff was great. - greeted everyone that came thru the lobby - cleaning staff was also very helpful . We ate in the hotel restaurant for dinner twice and breakfast twice . The staff in the restaurant was also top notch . The food was very good and the portions were great . The only thing that we would like to see is the beds lower - the girls said there are some lower but most of them are very high . They are VERY comfortable and we slept great but we had to climb into it . So if you need something slow you need to request it .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The rooms in the back have a view of the golf course
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dorothy Derfler, General Manager at Best Western University Inn
Responded Aug 2, 2021
Thank you Deb for taking the time to write a very kind review! We are happy to hear that our team met your standards, and that you truly enjoyed your stay! We hope that we will be able to visit with you in the near future.. Until then, please take care. Wendi Guest Service Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
matthewcole99 wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Very disorganized front desk. There is a long walk to the pool. Rooms very small and and the housekeeping was woefully inadequate. The shower was difficult to adjust the temp and the shower head was very sub stansard
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dorothy Derfler, General Manager at Best Western University Inn
Responded Nov 28, 2022
Dear Matthew Cole, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay. It is through our guest's feedback that we can find areas to improve our services. I apologize that the online company you book through did not provide us with all the information regarding your reservation. On behalf of our entire team I also want to apologize for not exceeding your expectations regarding bathrooms, our design team is working on improving that soon. I hope you will stay with us again so we may earn your high regard. If there is anything I can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
samcos99 wrote a review Oct 2022
I checked the Best Western website an hour before my arrival and there were rooms available. When I got to the front desk I was told in an unapologetic way that "We are totally booked for the night". I said, well I just checked the website an hour ago and there were rooms available, the not so nice woman working the front desk again said in a no so nice tone that "I said we were booked for the night". So I went across the street to the Fairfield Inn. Nice place, I'll review that as well. I did however return to the Worst Western's restaurant for dinner..... Dont bother, not much better than the front desk. Service was good, food mediocre. Oh by the way... while I was waiting for my meal, I checked their website again to see if there were rooms available and there were. I just started a job where I travel often for work and the Best Western chain just got crossed off my list unfortunately. Looked like a nice place. I guess I'll stick with Marriott.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Book ahead of time. Front desk staff has no personality and don't deal with walk ins
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dorothy Derfler, General Manager at Best Western University Inn
Responded Oct 23, 2022
On behalf of the entire team, first and foremost I want to apologize for this whole situation. It was a very busy weekend for our hotel and restaurant but it shouldn't be an excuse for treating our potential guests in such a way. The hotel was actually sold out for Friday and Saturday night, that's true, but what probably happened when you tried to check with us directly is that we had an opening which immediately was booked online. Unfortunately it takes a little bit of time for our system to process new bookings especially if they were made online (or through a third party) within last 10-15 minutes. I'm very sorry that our FD agent didn't explain you properly what might happen or at least took your contact information to let you know when a room opens. I hope you will except my apology for this situation and you will give us a chance to earn your loyalty. If there is anything I can do for you regarding this situation or in the future please do not hesitate to reach out to me. Guest Service Manager BEST WESTERN UNIVERSITY INN Irina Smith
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Riley Q wrote a review Oct 2022
Cockroaches everywhere in the room, and when I went and asked to be in a different room they told me “I’m sorry but I doubt there cockroaches” then I proceeded to show them a video I took and they still didn’t do anything about it and told me that I can’t be put into a new room. Awful customer service would never come here again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: STAY AWAY!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dorothy Derfler, General Manager at Best Western University Inn
Responded Oct 17, 2022
Dear Mr. Quinn, We are taking very seriously all our guest's reviews so our team wants to apologize for the created inconvenience. After your check out we did inspect your room and found a couple of fall stink bugs but not cockroaches for sure. We do apologize for this unpleasant experience for you. We would love to move you to a different room for that night but since the hotel was sold out unfortunately we could not accommodate another room for you. We did find our fault in all what happened and thank you for letting us know about this incident so we could fix this issue before other guests came in. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 315-386-8522. Sincerely, Irina Smith Guest Service Manager Best Western University Inn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Holli B wrote a review Oct 2022
Colchester, United States3 contributions
I reserved a room for myself and upon arrival, I was told that when I gave my credit card info to reserve the room, I paid for it so I couldn't get the AAA discount. I was told that in order to do so, I should've called to reserve the room and that it was too bad because AAA offers great rewards. In the morning, I went down to breakfast, which was included. Well, the only thing available were Danishes, which I know aren't fresh. But, I could certainly utilize the restaurant and pay for my breakfast. I will never stay here again which is too bad because of it's close proximity to St. Lawrence. I would rather skip an overnight and drive the 2 1/2 hours back home!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dorothy Derfler, General Manager at Best Western University Inn
Responded Oct 13, 2022
Dear Holli On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. I also want to apologize for our Front Desk representative who probably did not explain to you properly the advantages of the rate you had, it was an advanced purchase and those rates always lower than the AAA rate on the day of arrival. Regarding breakfast, unfortunately our hotel doesn't have continental breakfast and neither the rate you had nor AAA includes that. The only type of breakfast we could provide you was the complimentary grab and go. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 315-386-8522. Sincerely, Irina Smith Guest Service Manager Best Western University Inn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackie M wrote a review Aug 2022
Central Square, New York24 contributions11 helpful votes
I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. We were in the area for a wedding. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. I utilized the pool as well as the hot tub. The food was delicious in the hotel restaurant as well as reasonably priced. The housekeeping was outstanding, and our balcony room was very spacious. I was impressed at how well everything was done especially since I was told that the hotel was sold out for the weekend! Great work, everyone!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
aintmsbhaven wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
This place has a fitness center with working equipment. It has a Pool, sauna and jacuzzi. It is close to all the local colleges and right in town, by all the stores. It is in walking distance to grocery stores and fast food.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
steveg602022 wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
I thought the room and facilities were clean, and the staff friendly. I'd go there again. Check-in was quick and easy. The front desk took ownership of the facility The restaurant food was good. Servers were friendly. Service could be a little quicker. I think they were short-staffed, but who isn't? Overall a very positive experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dorothy Derfler, General Manager at Best Western University Inn
Responded Aug 15, 2022
Thank you Steve for taking the time to share such kind reviews at the Best Western in Canton NY. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tk10022 wrote a review Aug 2022
Brooklyn, New York1 contribution
Great place to stay. The staff is very friendly. They got a bar and laundry room. Everything is nearby the restaurants, universities, other towns, golf courses and the U.S/Canadian border. They got local farmers market in the town as well.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dorothy Derfler, General Manager at Best Western University Inn
Responded Aug 15, 2022
Thank you for your review Touqeer. We love our Town of Canton NY and happy you had a great experience while here. Looking forward to your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$145 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western plus university inn canton hotel canton, best western olean, olean best western, best western canton
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkSt. Lawrence CountyCanton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEST WESTERN UNIVERSITY INN $131 ($̶1̶7̶1̶) - Prices & Hotel Reviews - Canton, NY

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western University Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western University Inn?
Nearby attractions include Traditional Arts in Upstate New York/TAUNY (1.0 miles), The Hoot Owl (0.9 miles), and Parkers Real Maple (1.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western University Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western University Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western University Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western University Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western University Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include 1844 House, Sergi's Pizza, and Little Italy Restaurant And Pizzeria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western University Inn?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Best Western University Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is Best Western University Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.