We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western University Inn

Cancelon$104*
View Deal
GreenLeadersBronze level
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$154*
$104*
Great Deal
$129*
$129*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western University Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 97: English reviews
Start your review of Best Western University Inn
 Click to rate
Levittown, New York
Reviewed today NEWvia mobile

I have used this hotel for 4 years now. My son went to one of the colleges in the area. I have seen some reviews that want to make this hotel seem like a small hotel in a small town. It's not! The area has a lot of thing to do, you just have to look around. Now for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teresa d
Cold Brook, New York
HOTEL’S FAVORITE REVIEW
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

Ok limited hotels in the area so went to BW again and was impressed. Spent time in pool hot tub sauna all very clean and modern. Very comfy beds. Great staff. Not the cheapest and paid more than should have but minimal competition in that area allows higher room rates. Enjoyed stay. Will stay here again as ten minutes to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnS1026
About Hotel's Favorite Review
Ashlyn P, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your review on TripAdvisor! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Clarkson University. Ashlyn Pulvermiller

Woodford, Virginia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this hotel in the past, and the change it went through for renovation was incredible. We loved the bed. It was very comfortable. The staff was very gracious and professional. We highly recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice clean accommodations, very comfortable beds, staff warm, friendly & extremely helpful. Restaurant had a beautiful view of golf course, food was delicious, perfect temperature & presentation, portions were generous. Location was in the center of everything and parking was never a problem. Checkin & checkout fast and easy. Highly recommend

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cindy546
Canton, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was very nice, the rooms were clean. The hotel staff was very friendly. We were a bit disappointed with the WiFi-which was nonexistent along with the cell phone service. We swam in the pool which was nice and warm, also very clean. Good hotel for the $$$$

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 828trevorl
Ashlyn P, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor! We do apologize about the internet connections but we are glad you enjoyed your stay none the less! We hope to see you again soon. Ashlyn Pulvermiller

Canastota, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called this hotel after the one we had booked was far below our expectations. Wendi was very pleasant, understood our situation and went above to secure us a room. The pool and hot tub were a treat after a long drive. They went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. Will stay again in the future,...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 980carolynl
Ashlyn P, Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing our survey regarding your recent stay at our property, and for a wonderful review! Your satisfaction is very important to us and we value your feedback. Your survey responses will serve as a resource to point out the areas where we need to improve, and how we are able to deliver a superior experience for you...

new york
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It really isn't the guests fault that you know you are having a lunch party of over 20 people but don't staff for it ? Sorry slow service doesn't make for happy lunch crowd Maybe you need to limit the menu or staff more help

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kkit
Ashlyn P, Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future....

Ballston Spa, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very nice hotel. Clean rooms, courteous staff and very convenient for visiting SLU. A little pricey, but you are paying for premium location adjacent to SLU. Popcorn in the lounge is a nice treat. Overall a nice place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdeguardi
Slingerlands, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When staying in this part of New York you cannot find a nicer hotel. If you like golf it is on their site. They have a great restaurant and bar. Indoor pool and gym facilities. Plenty of places to ear nearby and any services you would need.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
Ashlyn P, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review

Michael S, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor! We are so glad to hear that you were able to access everything you needed during your stay. We hope to see you again soon! Ashlyn Pulvermiller

Greenland
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We live in NC and just made our first trip to a Canton, NY - lovely historic town in the North Country. Our 2 night stay at BW University Inn was great and we would definitely stay here again. The hotel is clean, attractive and well maintained. Staff are kind, helpful and professional. The rooms are quite nice. We had...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelprep
Ashlyn P, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor! It's so nice to hear how you enjoyed your visit. We hope that you get the chance to try our food during your next stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Ashlyn Pulvermiller

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canton
0.6 mi away
University Suites Hotel
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Potsdam
Hampton Inn Potsdam
#1 of 5 in Potsdam
314 reviews
9.4 mi away
Clarkson Inn
Clarkson Inn
#2 of 5 in Potsdam
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Potsdam Inn
Potsdam Inn
#3 of 5 in Potsdam
51 reviews
19.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gran-View
Quality Inn Gran-View
#1 of 5 in Ogdensburg
122 reviews
24.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 7 in Massena
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy all of the four seasons in the beautiful North Country here at the BEST WESTERN University Inn of Canton, NY. With easy access off of Route 11, this 99 room property is surrounded by a championship golf course and groomed cross country ski trails. An indoor pool, whirlpool, saunas, and state of the art exercise facility compliment the tastefully appointed rooms. With an on-site restaurant, relaxing lounge, business center, and high-speed wireless Internet, it is the perfect destination for those traveling on business or leisure. Our friendly staff, personalized service and meeting spaces make this an ideal location for any special event.Whether you are planning a meeting, banquet, conference or wedding, the BEST WESTERN University Inn is here to serve you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western University Inn

Address: 90 E Main St, Route 11, Canton, NY 13617
Location: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Canton
Price Range: $119 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western University Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus University Inn Canton Hotel Canton
Best Western Olean
Olean Best Western
Best Western Canton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Best Western University Inn staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Cobourg, Canada
Cobourg, Canada
New Jersey
11 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western University Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a 2nd floor room if you do not wish to take the stairs or elevator.”
11PandaF, Apr 5, 2017 | Read review
“Golf Course View”
WDWCM87, Jul 25, 2016 | Read review
“Largest rooms seem to be on back corridor”
carolinespencer, Jun 6, 2016 | Read review
“Sorry...no suggestions!”
gw1630, May 31, 2016 | Read review
“One where you can't hear the DJ party”
nancyjom2016, Apr 2, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Cancelon
$104* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com$129
Travelocity$129
HotelQuickly$154
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates