The Lake House On Canandaigua

The Lake House On Canandaigua

Traveler (275)
Close up of Suite Fireplace
Room & Suite (38)
Rose Tavern Dining Room
Dining (17)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#2 of 10 hotels in Canandaigua
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
3.9
Value
3.3
Located in the heart of New York’s Finger Lakes region, guests of The Lake House will enjoy lakefront access, impeccably designed guestrooms, many featuring spacious, private balconies, plus world-class dining, cocktail lounges, and an artisan coffee shop. A myriad of on-site amenities await you including a full-service luxury spa complete with a picturesque sauna garden, heated lakefront pool, year-round hot tub, private daybeds, and boating activities in summer. Looking to explore? Nearby, downtown Canandaigua features historic Main Street’s shopping district, and the surrounding region offers charming local wineries and breweries, and Bristol Mountain ski resort in winter has over 1,200 vertical feet drops. Book your idyllic upstate New York getaway today and let us welcome you to the lake life.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Boating
Kids stay free
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Game room
Hiking
Ski rentals
Ski school
Skiing
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Aerobics
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Solarium
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English

Location

770 S Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-2215
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 65 out of 100
65
Greater Rochester International Airport
26.2 mi
See all flights
Tompkins County Airport
49.3 mi
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles239 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in Canandaigua, The Lake House On Canandaigua comes highly recommended for its serene ambiance and artfully decorated spaces that offer stunning views, according to guests. While the hotel's service is generally regarded as professional and warm, some guests have encountered inconsistencies. The rooms, although comfortable, have received mixed reviews concerning noise and occasional service issues. Though praised for its cleanliness by some, others have noted room upkeep could be improved. Travelers are divided on the value, with many feeling the cost does not align with the amenities offered.
Atmosphere
Serene
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Mixed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveler reviews and learn more about how the site works.
239Reviews8Q+A47Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 150
  • 32
  • 28
  • 14
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Escape80865 wrote a review Mar 2021
Watertown, New York
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just returned from a one night stay for a family wedding and I cannot stop raving about this place. The hotel is more beautiful than the pictures show and the staff so helpful and friendly. They have not overlooked any detail in their presentation - champagne upon arrival, complete luggage service, personalized COVID safety packs with masks and sanitizer. The rooms each had an Nespresso, stocked mini bar, plush robes, full size toiletries and 2 full water decanters. Our waterfront balcony overlooked the lake and I was able to enjoy the geese and sunrise with a cup of coffee in our own adirondack chairs. Their trendy but calming lobby and library looked right out of a coastal magazine. My only regret is that we couldn’t stay longer !! I guarantee my husband and I will return this summer and bring our girls for the pool and lakeside bar / restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mandy Hagadorn, Marketing at The Lake House On Canandaigua
Responded Mar 8, 2021
Hello Escape80865! Thank you for your amazing review about your stay with us at The Lake House. We can't wait for you and your husband's return this summer. Sincerely, The Lake House
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer S wrote a review Sep 2020
Cleveland, Ohio
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Let me start by saying the resort is lovely and has a lot of potential. We enjoyed our stay and will consider returning some day.
The view from the lake facing rooms is beautiful and the rooms are bright. The Adirondack chairs on the balconies and the lake front are nice to relax in for sure.

There seems to be some inconsistencies in the service between what I am reading in other reviews and what we experienced. We were not greeted with Prosecco (as someone else mentioned they were) although was our 30th wedding anniversary, and our check in was actually a bit chaotic as there was confusion by the staff on an activity we had signed up for for our first evening at the resort.
In terms of the room, unfortunately after just a few weeks of being open there are already stains on the light upholstered chairs and canvas bench at the foot of the bed. Hoping they realize this early on and upgrade the furniture pieces so at least they don’t show stains and even better if they could be cleaned.
We had LOTS of issues with miscommunication during the stay, from meal ordering and reservations to activities and finally housekeeping. Hoping this is just due to lots of new staff and will get better as they get their processes down.
I am a bit frustrated as I left a jacket behind in the room and called the next day and left 2 messages with still no reply. I also emailed these comments to the general manager, as I wanted to share these privately, but did not receive a reply. Then realized I would want to see an honest review if I was going to plan for a big weekend at this resort, so expectations could be in check, so decided to share.

I do think this resort has a lot of potential once it is up and fully open with both restaurants and the spa and once staff has been there longer and had more training.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mandy Hagadorn, Marketing at The Lake House On Canandaigua
Responded Sep 18, 2020
Hi jennifersH9159FC, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at The Lake House. I am sorry to hear about the problems you experienced during your stay. Would you please forward your email sent to our General Manager to Mandy Hagadorn, mhagadorn@lakehousecdga.com so I can ensure a prompt response from him? Sincerely, The Lake House on Canandaigua
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
holleys383 wrote a review May 2021
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My sisters and I spent 4 days at this hotel. There were many nice features, including the location & views, the pool, some aspects of the room such as the towels, beds, and shower. It was also very clean and the staff was very nice. There were, however, many issues that did not give us the feeling of a luxury experience.

Our toilet didn't flush (although it was quickly fixed), one of the coffee cups in our room was dirty when we checked in, the roman shades on the veranda door did not provide privacy or block the light, when we used the hotel's hairdryer it blew the lights in out bathroom, there is only 1 towel rack in the bathroom, there was no mirror in the room except the one in the closet (which was difficult to get to because it was very close to one of the beds), and the coffee pods were not labeled. There was no information in the room about the hotel, such as dining hours, room service availability, or amenities available (we discovered that the spa, the saunas and the casual restaurant were not open). To add to our aggravation, we found out (with no warning) that exactly at the checkout time of 11:00 am, our room keys were turned off so we couldn't get back into the building or into our room to get the last of our belongings at 11:01. This should be posted somewhere very noticeable in the rooms since 6 other groups of guests we saw were also surprised (and locked out).

Our biggest disappointment, however, was the restaurant. We had dinner there one night of our stay and the food was terrible. It was fairly expensive and the menu was generally pretentious, and they brag about their farm to table methods, but the chef(s) cannot cook. Two of us had duck breast, which was cooked to death and very chewy. Another had a scallop dish which included 5 tasteless scallops, and 1 had a roasted cauliflower side that was not cauliflower, and an inedible salad which was full of stems. 1 sister had a pork dish she said was good, and the desserts we shared were very good. Also, our waiter was very attentive. We ate elsewhere the rest of our stay, as there are many good restaurants in Canandaigua.

I would normally not write such a critical review, but for the prices The Lake House charges, and their advertising themselves as a luxury resort, there are too many shortfalls to ignore. I have traveled all over the world, and this was not luxury. The property has a lot of potential, but needs a lot of work to live up to their claims.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mandy Hagadorn, Marketing at The Lake House On Canandaigua
Responded May 27, 2021
Hi holleys383, We are sorry to hear about your stay with us at The Lake House - we would love to discuss this further and earn back your business. Please email us at experiences@lakehousecdga.com to continue the conversation. Sincerely, The Lake House
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joan R wrote a review Oct 2020
New York City, New York
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I went to the Lake House with my family and took 3 rooms. I brought my dog and stayed in a dog friendly room, The room was filthy - old dog toy under the bed and black dog hair everywhere. I am allergic to dogs and had to use my emergency inhaler every day. (My dog is hypoallergenic and they did write off the dog stay fees.) Staff didn't where masks properly and allowed guests to walk around without masks. We wanted to fish. There were only 2 rods (5 of us) and they weren't set up properly. While I don't need anyone to open a door for me the evening doorman stood by the reception desk. Staff didn't say hello or offer to assist. While the rooms look lovely there were several things broken which is ridiculous since the hotel opened a month before we got there. There is significant construction going on site which we were never informed of. Loved the area and had a wonderful time but the hotel needs a manager. I just read other reviews. I think the lost jacket was in my room closet since that had not been cleaned out when I checked in. There was jacket from a previous guest and dirty bathrobe.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon Dewar, General Manager at The Lake House On Canandaigua
Responded Oct 27, 2020
Hello Joan, My name is Simon Dewar, I am the General Manager of The Lake House on Canandaigua. I'm incredibly sorry to hear about the service and amenity shortfalls you experienced during your stay with us. I've discussed your comments with all departments held responsible for providing outstanding service and accommodations for all guests - they have not fallen on deaf ears. It is feedback like yours that allows us to improve for future guest satisfaction and I'm hoping you would consider returning to The Lake House on Canandaigua. I'd be happy to discuss this in greater detail with you, please email us at info@lakehousecdga.com. I hope to hear from you soon. Sincerely, Simon Dewar
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stetsoninc wrote a review Jul 2021
Mamaroneck, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Lake House is a total ground up replacement of the prior facilities build in 1970. The location, pool, fire pits, views, bedding, and decor are top notch and well above any alternative in the FLX area. What is still coming along is staffing to match the high standards that the management is looking to achieve. In particular the on premise dining is hampered by staff shortages resulting in a range of experience from terrific to lack luster. There are many nearby dining options that should be considered while the property is addressing the situation. The two hour pontoon boat tour is a must do. We took it at noon time and brought sandwiches and beer along (you can also swim off the boat so bring a bathing suit). There were a few families there, but in my view it is mostly an adult destination. We stayed in a Lakeview King room (221) located in the main house on the 2nd floor. The suites are very large and a good choice if available and in your price range. I have included in the photos a floor plan for the main house and would recommend rooms in the center of the building as they are a bit larger than the room we had towards the end of building. We really like the short walk from from the lakefront up one flight of stairs to our room. There are also many non-lakeview rooms in the main house to choose from.

Other notes: there are 4 EV charging slots at no charge, welcome sparkling wine and we had a good time planing the on-site games
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: King/ Suite Lake View rooms in the main house
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claire Wysokowski, Marketing at The Lake House On Canandaigua
Responded Jul 26, 2021
Hello Stetsoninc, Thank you for the detailed and 5 Star review of your stay with us! We hope you stay with us again in the near future. The Lake House
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shermyanne wrote a review Jul 2021
La Quinta, California
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been looking forward to the Lake House opening as an upscale hotel was needed on Canandaigua Lake. We decided to spend two nights there (Sunday and Monday) and we’re pleased by the design but decidedly disappointed by the service.

The decor throughout was “Lake House” with rooms mostly white. This was pleasing to us, even though our “lakefront” room looked only at a boat channel. The room itself was comfortable and well equipped, except for the chairs which were painful to sit in. There were Adirondack chairs on the balcony which looked great but proved to be very difficult to get up from.

Main difficulty here is the service. Combined with the problems in the hospitality industry and the fact that the hotel had to fully staff during the pandemic, the picture is not pretty. If staying there on nights when the Rose Tavern is closed (Sunday through Tuesday), only dining choice is the overtaxed Sand Bar. This is a boater hangout and difficult to get into, even as a room renter.

The service in general is average at best, disappointing for a room costing far more than any other available rooms in Canandaigua. While this may be due to market conditions, there are reports that the staff is being pushed too hard and service workers are being shorted economically. A hotel like the Lake House should be a happy place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claire Wysokowski, Marketing at The Lake House On Canandaigua
Responded Jul 13, 2021
Hello Shermyanne, Thank you for sharing your review and your understanding about our current staffing shortage. Our team members are doing the best we can to provide the standard of service all our guests deserve. We hope you return when staffing levels return to normal and we can earn your business back. The Lake House
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Heather S wrote a review May 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Poor experience all around. Booked a one night getaway for a birthday celebration. Was expecting a luxurious stay, given the Ritz Carlton level price tag, however, our visit was anything but.

We were unable to enjoy our lake view, which I paid extra for, because this hotel is unfinished so we were surrounded by loud construction. What should have been a relaxing, peaceful, quiet birthday getaway was instead a headache filled with bandsaw, hammering, power washing, lawn mowing, and construction workers playing music and smoking cigarettes. Not once was I notified of the construction before nor during my stay and when I requested a room change, I was denied. It would've been more relaxing staying at home.

The amenities such as the saunas and spa are not yet open. The website does not reflect this.

The Rose Tavern advertises on their website menus that all dishes can be made gluten-free. This is a lie. They cannot make all dishes gf. They have gluten-free bread available for breakfast but they refuse to serve it for dinner, even when we asked.

Speaking of breakfast, the room service we ordered was delivered on time but the omelette was ice cold. Our dish of berries had mold in it.

I expressed our unpleasant stay to the manager and a $100 credit was offered. Nothing more. He said the staff dropped the ball when it came to communication. So a $300 night turned into a $200 night. How they get off charging $300 a night for an unfinished hotel, I do not know. This stay was not worth anywhere close to $200. We would've had a much more enjoyable birthday staying in our quiet home without construction sounds. Had the hotel communicated that there would be construction ongoing, we would've saved the $200 and not stayed at the Lake House.

Given my experience and as a frequent traveler, I am confident in saying the Lake House does not command the premium price tag it charges. I would not recommend this hotel to travelers seeking luxury.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claire Wysokowski, Marketing at The Lake House On Canandaigua
Responded Sep 28, 2022
Hello Heather, Thank you for your candid review. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and we assure you these are not our standards. We hope you give us a chnace to earn to earn your business and welcome you back to The Lake House as our special guest.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carrie R wrote a review Dec 2020
Schenectady, New York
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I want to give this 10+ stars... unbelievable stay here in December. My husband and I booked one night just to explore Canandaigua Lake and the areas (delicious) wineries and breweries. The Lakehouse was decadent- sparkling wine upon arrival, gorgeous lobby and guest rooms, and unbeatable views of the lake. The little touches in the room did not go unnoticed..awesome espresso maker, masks and hand sanitizer and cute water decanters. There also was what appeared to be a seltzer dispenser outside our room which we didn’t discover until we were leaving but was very cool! The staff was SO accommodating and friendly. Everyone made us feel right at home. It was such a spontaneous trip we didn’t plan properly (didn’t bring swimwear to use the large hot tub) but we wandered the grounds and enjoyed the outdoor fire pits and holiday decorations. Next time we would also get drinks at the Sand Bar and have dinner at the Rose Tavern (we had reservations at Nolan’s- also wonderful!) Everything was very walkable (a mile from center of town, so if you’re active like we are it’s no problem getting around). All I can say is we cannot wait to return. It was just what we needed to lift our spirits and keep us travel-dreaming into the future.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mandy Hagadorn, Marketing at The Lake House On Canandaigua
Responded Dec 14, 2020
Hi CarrieR870, Thank you for such an incredible review. We can't wait to have you visit us again! Sincerely, The Lake House
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kathymommy wrote a review Oct 2020
New York City, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is in a beautiful location overlooking the lake. The hotel has wonderful amenities and the staff was fantastic. They truly want your stay to be wonderful. The rooms are super comfortable with waterworks bath fixtures, soft fluffy towels and a Nespresso that is restocked every day. Food is delicious and yoga facing the water is breathtaking. Highly recommend watching the sunset in an Adirondack chair by a fire pit or on the porch if you are facing the lake. Many thanks to Simon and Mike for taking care of every detail. Cannot wait to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mandy Hagadorn, Marketing at The Lake House On Canandaigua
Responded Oct 6, 2020
Hello kathymommy, Thank you for your 5 star review! We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, The Lake House
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chrissy M wrote a review Mar 2021
Syracuse, New York
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at The Lake House on Canandaigua for a weekend getaway to celebrate my husband’s birthday in March. The staff that checked us in were stellar and really made us feel welcomed to the hotel. We originally booked a lake view room in the Cottage building but were upgraded to a lake view room in the main building. Views from our room on the second floor were perfect and the Adirondack chairs on the balcony were great to relax in! There was a birthday treat for my husband already in the room when we first arrived and it was delicious. We loved the room and the beds were some of the most comfortable hotel beds we’ve slept in. We didn’t eat at the Rose Tavern as they were pretty booked with reservations for the night, but we grabbed some drinks and food from the Sandbar. The drinks were well made and we had a beautiful night to drink them by the lake. There are a lot of chairs and fire pits around the property to enjoy the lake. Other great spots nearby that we enjoyed: we grabbed lunch at Nolan’s next door before we checked in which was great and less than a mile down the road, we visited Frequentum Brewery. Great beers, cider, and some wine options too. Definitely walkable when the weather is warmer. I will definitely be recommending this hotel to others and hope to come back in the summer months to enjoy all the lakeside activities!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mandy Hagadorn, Marketing at The Lake House On Canandaigua
Responded Mar 15, 2021
Hi 953chrissyf, Thank you for a wonderful review - we are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We can't wait to have you visit us again. Sincerely, The Lake House
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from cathy b
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania45 contributions6 helpful votes
Not connected but very close. Short walkway to main building.
Answer from aztempe
Tempe, AZ121 contributions74 helpful votes
The rooms had an airy summery feel but there were cozy bathrobes provided. The common areas of the hotel provide fire pits and the library was especially cozy with a fireplace.
Answer from Chris P
Fayetteville, New York5 contributions
No, they do not, they are thick Mattress-based sofas that are between twin and double bed width. One teenager or adult can sleep comfortably on them (two young children can fit also).
Answer from Matt M
Rochester, New York191 contributions147 helpful votes
0 Votes Mid-April for our stay. Did not take wine tours. Am sure it can be arranged as many of the wineries in the area have year-round tasting rooms open to the public.
Liz L asked a question Apr 2021
cleveland, ohio77 contributions35 helpful votes
What is the difference between cottage rooms and rooms in the main inn?
Answer from kathynunansherman
Alfred, New York15 contributions31 helpful votes
The main building has the best rooms directly facing the lake. The cottage rooms have lake views but are not as good.
Nancy S wrote a tip Apr 2024
Boston, Massachusetts333 contributions172 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had Room 323. It had a wonderful deck and a fireplace. "
Read full review
Gi L wrote a tip Apr 2024
New York, United States1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"The restaurant, Nolan, by the entrance of the hotel is very good. Book/make reservations for dinner if you plan to dine there"
Read full review
Tim A wrote a tip Feb 2024
Bradford, Pennsylvania49 contributions38 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Restaurant books up - be sure to call ahead "
Read full review
joemQ8216GV wrote a tip Oct 2023
10 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find another hotel "
Read full review
Tim A wrote a tip Sep 2023
Bradford, Pennsylvania49 contributions38 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The property is well maintained and the architecture is great too - large property with warm & cozy feel "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Canandaigua area.
PRICE RANGE
$413 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Inn On The Lake
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkFinger LakesCanandaigua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
124
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE LAKE HOUSE ON CANANDAIGUA - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The Lake House On Canandaigua
Which popular attractions are close to The Lake House On Canandaigua?
Nearby attractions include Canandaigua Lake State Marine Park (0.2 miles) and Jose & Willy's (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Lake House On Canandaigua?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Lake House On Canandaigua?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Lake House On Canandaigua?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lake House On Canandaigua?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Lake House On Canandaigua?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nolan's on Canandaigua Lake, Macri's Deli & Cafe, and New York Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Lake House On Canandaigua?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Lake House On Canandaigua have airport transportation?
Yes, The Lake House On Canandaigua offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Lake House On Canandaigua located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the center of Canandaigua.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Lake House On Canandaigua?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Lake House On Canandaigua?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Canandaigua HotelsCanandaigua Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CanandaiguaHotels near The Lake House On Canandaigua
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars