We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center

Save
356 Villa Roma Rd, Callicoon, NY 12723-6816
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Official Hotel Site
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (400)
Room & Suite (124)
Dining (24)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center is proud to announce that we have just received the Fodor’s Choice 2010 Award. The Awards are given to the "best of the best," in hotel/resort destinations providing remarkable experiences in price range, destination, or category.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bowling
Game room
Babysitting
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Golf course
Hiking
Horseback riding
Raquetball
Ski rentals
Ski school
Skiing
Tennis court
Canoeing offsite
Entertainment staff
Fishing
Table tennis
Water park offsite
Waterslide
Nightclub / DJ
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Spa
Foot massage
Full body massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Seating area
Separate living room
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
1,254Reviews59Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 512
  • 319
  • 177
  • 118
  • 128
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The the build was beautiful! My room was very nice and well kept. The food was delicious and staff was very nice and hospitality! The layout was a little confusing but after the first run around we got it! See ya next year!!!
Read more
My organization has held our annual retreat at the Villa Roma for years now. Every time, we are impressed with the high level of service our group is granted. The dining staff especially goes above and beyond to make sure all of our needs are met, even going out of their way to ensure those with dietary restrictions have an amazing meal.
Read more
Spent my summers in the Catskills (Nevele) back in the 70’s and 80’s and it was like taking a time machine back to when i was 17. We traveled for the weekend with a family of five to make 9 total and the trip went off without a hitch. Yes the hotel and its facilities are a bit dated but what would you expect traveling to a hotel that was built in 1944 ?? Our room was was ok (two bedroom suite one bathroom main building) The food was ok. The activities were ok (plenty to chose from). We made the best of what we had to work with and laughed and had fun the entire weekend. Just came back from Cap Juluca Anguilla and have Wynmara Turks and Caicos booked for February so my standards of travel are pretty high. Know what to expect and be open minded. For a winter weekend with friends and family to get together and have fun i would definitely go back.
Read more
Response from Adam J, Director of Sales at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Responded Jan 1, 2020
Thank you for staying with us and I'm glad we brought back memories of your youth. We hope you decide to stay with us again
Read more
Well We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite and the rooms were less then sub par. When we arrived into out room the sound of construction in the room directly to us was completely unbearable the front desk called and we were told that there was no way for them to confirm that work was taken place in that unit(My response to them was to send someone up to the room and confirm...Amazing), the TV in the so called living room did not work. maintenance was called in and we were told that they can not fix it and that was the last we heard from them. The arcade should be named Arkaik 1/3 of the games were broken and the remaining were games that required you to put money in and get tickets for a prize (I will not even attempt to describe what the prizes were and what amount of tickets you needed to win a prize that you would be excited about...) As for the dinning the food was fresh but for the cost of the package it was not what I would describe a 5 course meal, Fruit cup as appetizer, cup of soup, a plate of salad to share (All leafy with a few ut tomatoes and cucumbers) main course was a nice portion (One night was Boneless short rib or Chicken cutlet Parm and the second night was Prime rip or Ravioli. Did I mention that we had 8PM reservation and we received a call at 7:45 telling us that the kitchen will be closing at 8pm...WHAT THE HECK! so the second night we made sure that we got to our 8pm reservation at 7:30 so we would not get a call telling us that if we are not there at 8pm the doors will close on us. Desert not a big selection, Ice Cream or a piece of cake... Breakfast was included but do not ask for a Cheese Omelet because they do not have that on the breakfast menu nor will they make any exceptions.... The working staff were nice, the bartender was extremely nice, if it was not for a few guest that were amazingly talented and entertaining at the bar the night time would have been a bust.. The comedian the first night was somewhat entertaining but the second night was a 2 man team and one of the 2 did not show up NOT FUNNY... The sad part of this trip is the name that has been around for years Villa Roma will need to move into this century if they want to call itself a resort. O did I mention that the entire Salon was out sick with the flu, (BIG hand written sign on the door.. very Professional) In your survey you ask about amenities. indoor play area for kids. did they have table tennis, pool table well the quick answer would be YES BUT, the indoor play area was a bouncy house that looked like it was never cleaned the table tennis tables were dilapidated and so were the pool table, you hit the ball and the ball rolled to the other end because it was not level.. I also need to mentioned when you wanted a pool stick or balls to play pool and or paddle for table tennis you needed to give the person in the wooden broken down shack $5 dollars per item you wanted to use, real ghetto feel to the place.. I felt that the amount of money that we were charge was not worth it, 2 nights family of 5 $2,500 ($250 per person per day each) I stayed in 5 star resorts with 100% all inclusive with amenities and things to do to occupy the day on the property other then Bingo, name that tune or Eye Brow shaping... Sad for a Iconic name Like Villa Roma But when we asked others that have been there what was there take the response bay all was "Don't expect much" Well that was a understatement. As one of the last of the old time resorts of the years have passed you may not be far behind The Nevele Grand Hotel that was once a icon to the Catskills...
Read more
Response from paulvilla, vp at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Responded Jan 4, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We're very sorry that you were disappointed in your stay. If I may, I would like to respond to some of your issues. There was a renovation ongoing in the room next to yours. However, as soon as management was informed, they took immediate steps to cease the work for the remainder of your stay. There certainly is no excuse for our maintenance staff not to follow up on your TV issue and we will implement procedures to insure that this does not happen again. The same is true for the arcade, which, unfortunately is provided by an outside contractor over which we have little control. On the menu side, there were certainly other items on both the Friday and Saturday night menus that you fail to mention. On both Fri and Sat, there were alternatives to the fruit cup appetizer. For the soup course, there were also alternative pasta options including penne ala vodka and linguini with marinara or white clam sauce. As for entrees, each night offered 4 options including Shrimp Scampi, Chicken Marsala and Broiled Salmon in addition to the items you note. Again, each night offered 2 desserts in addition to ice cream, sherbet and sugar free options. Again, we apologize for the call you received regarding the time of your dinner reservation. That should not have occurred and the Dining Room manager has been advised how inappropriate her action was. On the entertainment side, again, we were not advised by the comedy duo that one of the scheduled performers was going to be replaced. Had we known that, we certainly would have replaced the show for that evening. On the salon side, it is a one person operation and unfortunately the stylist did have the flu and could not work. We have dispatched our maintenance staff to address the equipment issues that you report in the game room and again apologize if they were not in top condition. But "ghetto", really?? In addition to Bingo and name that tune, Villa Roma offers a fitness center, racquetball, bowling, indoor funland with bounce houses, and rockwall, tubing, skiing, arts and crafts, children's shows and more all included in your package. Sorry you did not participate in these facilities. Lastly, it's surprising that you were able to ask other guests their opinion of the resort. If they didn't expect much, why do they return year after year. Again, we're sorry that you did not enjoy your time here, and we will address any of the problems you encountered so that future guest experiences will improve.
Read more
Just returned from this place. It's DATED, with sporting equipment from the 1960s and rooms that have stained curtains and tiny refrigerators (no microwaves). Video games and a pool table were "out of order". It took 2 HOURS to get a meal in The Garden Room! The bowling alley was again, old, and the ski chalet had one run "not working" while the tubing was a small hill. Outside of the front staff, all of the other employees were drab and unfriendly. Save your money and don't go here.
Read more
Response from paulvilla, vp at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Responded Dec 29, 2019
We're sorry you were disappointed in your stay. We will certainly use your comments to improve those areas you mention.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$216 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
villa roma hotel callicoon, hotel roma
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkCatskill RegionCallicoon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
198
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Which popular attractions are close to Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center?
Nearby attractions include Callicoon Theater (4.3 miles), Stone Arch Bridge Historical Park (1.5 miles), and Marty’s Lounge (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tavern on Main, Peppino's, and Ted's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.