The Sagamore Resort

Traveler (1243)
Panorama of the Governor's Room King at The Sagamore Resort
360
Panoramas (16)
Rm 244
Room & Suite (439)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 2 resorts in Bolton Landing
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
3.9
Value
3.2
The Sagamore Resort is a luxury escape on Lake George with more than 140 years of history. With award-winning waterfront dining, immersive outdoor activities, and an 18-hole Donald Ross-designed golf course, this gem in the heart of the Adirondack mountains is an ideal year-round destination.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Hiking
Mini golf
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Fishing
Table tennis
Video game console
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Languages Spoken
English
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,382 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The Sagamore Resort captivates guests with its blend of historical charm and picturesque views, though opinions on its atmosphere vary, with some areas appearing outdated. While the amenities generally receive high marks for their variety and comfort, inconsistencies in service and cleanliness have been noted. The room quality, which some guests find lacking given the premium prices, has prompted discussions regarding the overall value of staying at the resort. Despite the grandeur, a number of travelers question whether the experience justifies the expense.
Atmosphere
Rustic
Rooms
Dated
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Top-notch
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
2,382Reviews97Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,025
  • 553
  • 346
  • 267
  • 191
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
mrskb_13 wrote a review Jun 2020
New York171 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 3 nights in one of the premium lower level lodges. We booked when there were a lot of restrictions for Covid, knowing many things wouldn't be open. However, right before our arrival many of the restrictions were lifted and the resort was fully booked. This made it seem very crowded during these times. Most people wore masks inside the buildings. The pool seemed very crowded so we stuck with the lake. I was cautious of the room as there were many bad reviews but I was pleasantly surprised. It was perfect for our family of 5. We weren't sure if restaurants would be open, plus we have food allergies, so we brought all our food with us which we prepared in the room. We were creative with our food choices as there is only two burners, a microwave and no oven. There is a good supermarket very close to the resort. The room was clean and well maintained. There were a few spiders though. The bathroom was very large but it would be helpful to make it a bit smaller and add a half bath., especially with a family of 5. The grounds are beautiful. They could use some additional staff to help clean up the outdoor space during the day. As one previous poster mentioned people do not clean up after themselves and there wasn't enough staff to clean up in a timely manner. We rented a boat for a day which kept us out on the lake and away from the crowds which was great. My kids (11-15) thought the rec center was too crowded and smelled. Maybe prior to Covid they would have loved it but now they are very conscious of crowds. Plus no one was wearing masks inside. We would definitely return though.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GeneralManager02, General Manager at The Sagamore Resort
Responded Jun 27, 2020
Dear mrskb_13, Thank you for staying with us and for the helpful review! I was pleased that you found the suite to your liking. Great for families for sure! We are seeing that many families are doing just what you did, which is come prepared and plan for a day out on the lake! We do have a beautiful location but it is so much nicer with a dedicated staff and great guests! Thank you and I wish you the best, Tom Guay
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
monkeydragon11 wrote a review Aug 2021
New York City, New York46 contributions64 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
After shelling out $900 for a room for one night, I was expecting a bit of luxury.
We didn’t find it anywhere.
On the plus side, the hotel location on Lake George is magnificent. You never get tired of the views.
The buildings and grounds are well maintained,
Our hotel room was a broom closet and the barhroom was tiny byond belief, half the size of what you would get at a Hilton Garden, Marriott Courtyard or a Fairfield Inn at a third of the price. The room was clean but the insulation was dreadful. We could listen to the conversations in the rooms next to ours and the footsteps from the room above us.
The water pressure in the shower was little better than what you would get from a drinking fountain.
Dinner one night at Pavillion. Service was terrible. The tables are outside, so unless the waiters are quick moving, the food is cold on arrival. Our waiter never got out of first gear, so the mediocre food was horrible.
Dinner one night at La Bella Vita. Service was decent and food was ok, but no wow factor, given the prices.
Tea and cake at Caldwell’s. Service and food were acceptable.
Golf at The Sagamore course. Staff were very pleasant and helpful but the course was underwhelming given the $170 per person price tag.
So have to give this resort a “one and done” rating. We will never return and wave off both friends and family who had inquired about the quality of the hotel.
If their room rates were $400, we would have probably accepted what we got, but at $900 we felt cheated.
The hotel has the location and the basic hardware to create a world class resort, but poor management does not inspect or tolerates the shoddy performance of many of the restaurant staff.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thomas Guay, General Manager at The Sagamore Resort
Responded Aug 19, 2021
Dear monkeydragon11, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent time spent with us. No excuses, your experience is your experience. I wish that we had the opportunity to make your stay better while you were with us. If you want to discuss further please know that I would welcome it and be very appreciative of all your comments. Thank you again and I wish you the best, Tom Guay
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
Fairport Travelers wrote a review Sep 2021
Fairport, New York704 contributions311 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First off, I agree with many of the recent reviews that the location, grounds, views are indeed spectacular but for the price you pay to stay here you definitely don't get what you pay for. I decided to splurge and literally thought I got the best suite in the hotel, the Governor's Suite, which is billed as having "the best views of the lake of any room in the main hotel". Ok fine, it had ok views of the pools and THEN the lake but I after venturing around the property there are definitely other rooms with much superior views (rooms 149 and 150 come to mind, plus the suites with the outdoor patios right above the Italian restaurant. For $1500 a night you'd think the suite would have a patio, nope. One thing that REALLY sticks in my craw is the their alleged rule that you cannot reserve chairs the pools and then walk away for very long. I saw families EVERY morning put towels on 4, 5, 6 chairs and they were hardly used ALL DAY. They clearly do not enforce this rule. Staff was helpful. Valet guys were great. Had a great meal at the Italian restaurant, kids enjoyed the rec center, very easy short walk to the village.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thomas Guay, General Manager at The Sagamore Resort
Responded Oct 2, 2021
Dear Chris C, I thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review. I was pleased to read that our staff were helpful and I know the Valet Guys will appreciate your kind words. I was also happy that the kids had fun at the Rec and thank you for mentioning the meal at our Italian restaurant La Bella Vita! I am a little surprised that you commented negatively on the view from your Governor's suite. We only have 6 of those suites in the main hotel and all the views are really great. You can see the entire front of the resort plus the lake and mountains on the east shore. In all cases they equal those of 149/150. We do try very hard to state our pool policies and enforce them. We can only hope that our guests respect our policies and their fellow guests. In closing, thank you for choosing us and we hope you return! Sincerely, Tom Guay
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matthieu wrote a review Aug 2020
New York City, New York1 contribution2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The Sagamore is a beautiful place: the setting near Lake George is fantastic and the outdoor grounds are very well maintained would it be the garden or the pool area. So much potential for this location.
That being said the overall experience is extremely poor: the rooms are completely outdated, the food is ok at best (the pavillion) and, most importantly, the quality of service by most of the staff is appalling. Some staff members are helpful, some others are plainly rude. The poor quality of service is driven by a willingness to milk the cash cow and limit expenses to the bare minimum.

The lodge room we stayed in seemed not to have been renovated in more than 30 years. Very basic and unappealing furniture. The bathroom was OK but tiny. The situation is made worse when no housecleaning is provided “because of covid”. We were told that if any need we could call the front desk. Unfortunately, when we did, we were told that no housekeeping could be provided. Only new towels and garbage bags could be delivered at our door.... I am still waiting for the requested garbage bags ! You basically have no way to get your room cleaned, in a time of COVID...

Food provided in the restaurants is very basic and the Pavillion, while it enjoys great views, has a very limited menu. The shrimp and scallop pasta specialty is unimpressive and heavy. The belvita provided better options.

The service level is not to the level of such an establishment. Some of the hosts were rude. We always felt we were the ones bothering those who were supposed to assist us. At 9:30PM, sitting on an outdoor porch, ordering a dessert, we were told that this person’s service was over so we should go to the bar and order “TO GO”. Another time we were told there was no seating available without being looked in the eye. Another time we were told we could not sit in the large dining room in the middle of a storm, being left with so many people in close proximity in the main hall of the hotel. Each of those individually could happen, but the frequency of this shows a pattern and the attitude of the general manager answering comments on Trip Advisor is not surprising: not taking any responsibility and not willing to learn.

Finally, while we understand COVID is not an easy time, like other travellers, I consider the Sagamore is not taking this threat seriously. No improvement has been made to the traffic in the building or on the grounds to avoid “traffic jams”. Opening a couple of gates would simply improve some flows of clients. Management asks you to respect 50% capacity in the pool: what is 50% capacity ? No signage (unless you find the one official signage) will tell you how many people are allowed then in the pool. Of course no lifeguard on duty and no enforcement.

A fantastic potential for this beautiful place but not right now with this type of attitude, service and cost-cutting focus.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thomas Guay, General Manager at The Sagamore Resort
Responded Aug 22, 2020
Dear matthieuc671, It is disheartening to hear that our guests feel that we are not taking this threat seriously. Nothing could be further from the truth. Everything we are doing has Covid precautions in mind. We are not cleaning rooms during the stay (industry standard right now) for the protection of our guests and housekeepers who would be in multiple other guest rooms a day increasing the risk of exposure. Our outdoor pool is permitted for 209 occupants. It has never been over 80 at one time this entire summer. We do monitor it and are on top of it. We do have a lifeguard in the deep swimming area where it is a requirement. I have no idea what you are talking about with the gates. You make it sound like there are lines at the gates which I have never seen. And, the gates must be kept closed per NYS DOH code with a pool. All this aside, it seems as if there was nothing we could do right for you. I know our groundskeeper and his team will be happy to see your comments about their work. In closing, we value all our guests and their opinions. I hope when this pandemic ends that you will give us another try, Sincerely, Tom Guay
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
michael wrote a review Jul 2020
Larchmont, New York1 contribution3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
we just came back from a long weekend at the Sagamore.

First, to the people that are complaining about COVID, stay home if you are that paranoid. did you really think that traveling during peak season to a resort was going to be "safe"?

To the hotel: disappointing.

1. You can't charge $500+/night and ask people to clean their own rooms
2. there should be an adult only swimming section. While i have three kids, its ridiculous that there is only 1200 sqft or so of lake swimming.
3. agreed with another reviewer: what does the resort fee cover? there are no amenities? is that a towel fee? a fee for the Morgan boat ride? technically i am not even sure the Sagamore is a "resort" verse a "hotel".
4. the pool situation was a disaster.
a. top resorts seat people at their chairs. do you know why? so that people don't come down at 7am and take NINE chairs and reserve them. i watched this happen each morning as i swam laps right at 7. before 730 nearly all of the chairs were taken. by 5 people......
b. the bell hop literally wheeled down a large speaker for a guest to blast his own music. its almost hard to believe that a hotel would allow a guest to blast his own music and do nothing about it. two full days went on until someone said something.
5. the rooms are outdated and if you are down in the 4 through 6 sections quite a long (and uphill) walk to the resort.
6. invest in a landscaper willing to trim hedges and weed.
7. clean that rec center. it smelled like 5,000 people were locked in it for a month without deodorant
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tom Guay, General Manager at The Sagamore Resort
Responded Jul 9, 2020
Dear msfairwe, Yours review was obviously concerning to us. Since you stayed with us our new policy is that guests must be present and cannot reserve chairs ahead of time. We even have a form that we now present at check in for a signature which states "wear a mask" and " you cannot reserve pool chairs". We hope this helps and we will monitor. When I heard about the large speaker at the pool I immediately went down and told the guest that it was not allowed. Our bellman were just trying to please and now know our position. We always get great reviews for our landscaping and they do weed each and every day. I am proud of the work they do and their dedication and hard work is recognized. In closing, I understand that there are opportunities for us and I am confident that each and every day will be better than the next. The Sagamore is an amazing property with an amazing staff and I am confident that many of our guests appreciate the fact that we are open, and doing our very best. Sincerely, Tom Guay
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynne Schultz wrote a review Oct 2020
westchester8 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the condos, and as a previous guest said, the hallways to such are in dire need of upgrading. What I was most particularly upset about was the lack of COVID enforcement. Guests in the lobby (not drinking or eating) were maskless. The hotel staff was speaking to them about more logs in the fireplace and never asked them to put their mask on.

We were there during early COVID and the outside dining was spread out and felt safe. As the hotel began booking to capacity, the tables were unsafely spaced together. A waiter came to take our order with a shield and no mask, which is absolutely not condoned for safety. We left. We didn't even bother with the pool -

And yes, no housekeeping and yet the $30 resort fee? How about a trade off for amenities?

I get this is a tough time, but don't choose booking to capacity, ignoring guests that are not complying, and overcrowding for the dollar sign. I expect more from such an elegant and respected hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: I would avoid the Hermitage - not worth the price.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thomas Guay, General Manager at The Sagamore Resort
Responded Oct 31, 2020
Dear liv2sel, I am sorry that you felt that our COVID measures fell short. Everything we did in the early stages of this pandemic are still in place and now even more. I know your experience may have been different the second time with us but we are actually seeing more and more guests complying. We try to be responsive but also recognize guests rights as well. We are a business and as such operate as one but we are not just going after the dollar sign as you indicated. Our goal is to be here for those that choose to travel and try and offer an experience where guests can get away and have choices. I thank you for returning to us and hope that you visit us again. Sincerely, Tom Guay
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lori o wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
As if checking into a room with human hair in the sink were not enough, the entire staff (minus Ella, Barbara, Nick, Mike, and Kenile) were totally lost in a fog. The food was inedible, the salmon doubled as a hockey puck (twice), the salad despite multiple requests for no dressing came swimming in oil, and shrimp cocktail was grilled in lighter fluid, twice. The pool was a covid 19 Petri dish, lake front over run with the sound track of bend it like Beckham, booming, and there was not a face mask in sight.paying $3,000 for 3 nights should at least come with cleaning service, (not), fresh towels (not), and a minimal view (parking lot). It took over an hour to get coffee only to come back to my lounge chair with a nasty note that I left my bag unattended for 45 minutes. For a coffee! Bring back foreign workers, the kids working here are incapable of understanding service culture. A beautiful site destroyed by inefficiency and ineptitude. There is no excuse for this behavior.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tom Guay, General Manager at The Sagamore Resort
Responded Jul 9, 2020
Dear 624lorio, I agree no excuse. But if you think for a minute that things are normal for us you are mistaken. We have a dedicated team that is trying very hard to meet all guidelines and expectations. It is hard enough but then get reviews such as yours really deflates the team. In addition, to then state to bring back foreign workers is also a shot not needed right now. We truly value each guest and try extremely hard to be of service. Believe it of not your comments are helpful. I thank you for staying with us, taking the time to write your review and for recognizing the efforts of a few members of our team. Sincerely and respectfully, Tom Guay
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alscoffee wrote a review Feb 2020
New York3 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Always wanted to spend a weekend at the Sagamore hotel and after speaking with another couple of family members and friends we decided to book a birthday celebration weekend. BIG mistake. We had 4 rooms booked (four couples) for arrival on Friday and departing on Sunday. The friday of the trip there was snow in the forcast for the Lake George area. Now we all know that there is nothing we can do about the weather and nor can the Sagamore control the weather but their response to the storm was very poor. Upon arrival we checked in with out any issues until we went to our rooms. The rooms were very cold and when we turned the heat on in the rooms,the heat did not work in any of the rooms.After reporting the issue to the desk we were told they would have their maintenance crew come and look at it.Now after reading one of your reviews I see that we were not the only ones that had that problem and it has happened before. You would think they would check out the rooms before the guest arrive. While the maintenance crew was checking out the rooms we all decided to go for lunch at one of the restaurants on site. Well because the the storm they a small staff on hand so it took us almost 20 min to get served our drinks and when they came to the table some of them wer mixed wrong because they did not have a bartender on duty so somebody was behind the bar who did know what they were doing. After lunch the maintenance crew told us that the heat was fixed ( they had to flip a switch?? really?) sounds good but as they were talking to us the hotel lost power because of the storm. well the power never came on and the hotel only has generators for the restaurant and a few light in the lobby.If the weather was ok we would have left then ,but we were stuck for the night. We all were forced to spend the night in rooms that did not have heat and temps ouside only hitting 1 degree. The hotels response was we can give you a flashlight to use in the rooms.We were not offered extra balankets at the time but found out the next morning that you had to ask for a blanket. The following morning we informed the desk that we could not stay another night and they offered to refund our money for the second night and refund 20%from our first night. That did not make us happy but at that point we just wanted get out of there ASAP. We could not us any of the facilities or ammenities the hotel offered for the night we stayed and had to sit in the lobby to stay warm as long as possible. I understand that the hotel could not control the weather but we all feel that a Hotel like the Sagamore could have had a better response for their guest.Any hotel or company can be a top rated company when things are going ok but it is how you respond to issues that seperate the OK hotels from the great hotels and the Sagamore was very poor. I will never go back or recommend the Sagamore to any of my friends or family.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GeneralManager02, General Manager at The Sagamore Resort
Responded Feb 27, 2020
Dear alscoffee, I am truly sorry that your stay went sideways with the storms and no power and you had a horrible experience. In your review you say that you "understand" which is reassuring but then you become very critical of us and our response and reaction to the storms over the weekend. All weekend long we experienced road closures, extreme weather and very low temps. This undoubtedly proved to be a very difficult weekend for our guests and associates alike. Some area residents, including our associates went a week without power. We tried very hard to be responsive, candid and upfront with our guests. Immediately following the power outage we sent a text to every guest that we had a mobile phone number to. Throughout the weekend we provided blankets, flashlights, glow sticks and had coffee and water stations in the lobby. Each room has additional blankets and had you asked us for more we certainly would have provided them for you. We upgraded every room in the lodges to suites with fireplaces. Our engineers went to each suite and changed the timer so the fireplaces would stay on through the night. We did not charge guests for the nights they left early and did not stay with us. We tried our best to accommodate every request, all while being in constant communication with the local power company to get updates that we would pass along. It was not an easy weekend for anyone, and we believe we did a fair job given the circumstances. Our generators power crucial infrastructure. I wish that we could have a generator that would power our entire facility. The sagamore is like a small village with over 30 buildings throughout and unfortunately that is something we do not have. My response is an attempt to show you that we are a dedicated team, many of which drove hours out of their way to get to work, and put in countless hours to try and provide comfort to our guests. It is never easy to be of service and for that I apologize. It is amazing to me that given the circumstances of the weekend you would not give us an inch. I am sorry that you will not recommend us or return and that is unfortunate, because we have an amazing resort with a great team that is waiting to be of service. Respectfully, Tom Guay
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
laura o wrote a review Oct 2020
3 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I thought it was great . We are 28 and 31 years old, and we didn’t feel bored even though restaurants were closed because of COVID or just seasonal. Chris at front desk was very pleasant and made our check-in experience a great one! I was a bit hesitant at first because of COVID and knowing that housekeeping was not happening daily but we were told that at any time they would come in and clean if needed we just needed to be out of the room. We stayed at the lodges not the main hotel room which was pretty quiet and rooms were actually pretty clean. Reviews here stated that the main hotel room is loud and with many kids so I recommend the lodge if you want the opposite of that and it was much cheaper , honestly I would come back to lodge anyway it is a nice separation from what’s going on in the main hotel anyway.

Servers were for the most part friendly and attentive , the younger guy at hostess in bella vita for breakfast saw we weren’t being waited on and took the initiative to ask if we were okay . I thought that was nice given that they were so busy. May need more help for bartenders , seemed to be overwhelmed at times. Spa was okay, I wouldn’t go back only because most of the amenities can’t be opened because of COVID.

In all we thought it was wonderful :)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thomas Guay, General Manager at The Sagamore Resort
Responded Oct 24, 2020
Dear X7789KOlaurao, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the nice review! I appreciate when our guests recognize our staff by name. It always makes their day and mine too! We can't wait to get the spa back open fully. Right now we are restricted on capacity and our lounge and wet areas are closed which is a bummer. We'll work on the bartenders, so again thank you for the review and we look forward to your return! Sincerely, Tom Guay
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Confused D wrote a review Sep 2020
New York City, New York26 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an excellent stay at the Sagamore for our 5 year anniversary trip. Originally we had intended to go to Banff but had decided against flying given the current situation with the pandemic so picked a location closer to home.

Pros: The grounds and views were spectacular. The property is fairly large and it’s on a small island. The resort has a dock area and a man made beach area to lie around. You get amazing views of the ocean. They have a boat that brings guests around the lake for an hour that was really cute (first come first served). Sundays and Monday’s are better than Saturdays and the 10am slot is less crowded. We came with our 2 young toddlers and the staff was more than nice and accommodating to our family.

They required masks to be worn in public places and staff was on hand to remind people politely.

Our room was nice we had lake view but we had a first floor room which was good as we were close to everything but we would see people right outside.

They have a large red center and daily bon fire that’s good for families

Cons
The food was decent but not great. We had buffet breakfast included in our stay but the buffet was not great so ordering a la carte may be better.
Distance is far from Lake George village but we liked that it was quieter and less crowded.
We checked out both the infinite pool and indoor pool. Both heated but since it’s semi outside there was leaves and other things in the pool so I think they could’ve done a better job keeping it clean.

Overall had a lovely time and since we went in Sep, it was a bit chilly the week we went but we had a few nice days and rented our own boat to drive around the lake too.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thomas Guay, General Manager at The Sagamore Resort
Responded Sep 26, 2020
Dear confusedd, Thank you for spending your 5th anniversary with us! So nice to read that you had an excellent stay! Your review was comprehensive and I appreciated the pros and cons. It was a very windy and chilly weekend and like you many guests did not venture out to the pools. As I write this one week later it is close to 80 and sunny and the pools are quite busy! Welcome to the weather in the north country! In closing thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Sagamore soon! Sincerely, Tom Guay
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer Y asked a question Apr 2023
9 contributions5 helpful votes
What are the indoor pool hours?
Answer from Thomas Guay
Bolton Landing, New York
Hello, Our indoor pool and hot tub hours are 7am to 10pm. Thank you!
S7777P asked a question May 2022
Branford, Connecticut96 contributions42 helpful votes
When were the rooms last renovated?
Jeanne T asked a question Oct 2021
Somers, New York1 contribution1 helpful vote
Is breakfast included in the room rates?
Answer from Wayne G
Grapevine, Texas213 contributions135 helpful votes
No
Answer from Gene R J
Silver Spring, Maryland9,115 contributions994 helpful votes
Please check with the hotel, this kind of information changes frequently.
Margarita P wrote a tip Mar 2024
Smithtown, New York3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely check out the breakfast buffet, the nature trail and the rec room."
Read full review
Dawn H wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely check out the activities offered by the resort and plan accordingly. There is a lot to do."
Read full review
Deborah K wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid The Sagamore."
Read full review
Sarah C wrote a tip Dec 2023
1 contribution3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rooms are so run down and smell awful. Like old urine. "
Read full review
crussell wrote a tip Nov 2023
Rockport, ME15 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Short rib, pretzel and bread pudding at Mr. Brown’s. Spa treatments and the new Salt Room. Family photos in the lobby."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bolton Landing area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
the sagamore hotel bolton landing, sagamore hotel bolton landing, sagamore bolton landing
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkBolton Landing
NUMBER OF ROOMS
350
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SAGAMORE RESORT - Updated Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about The Sagamore Resort
Which popular attractions are close to The Sagamore Resort?
Nearby attractions include Rogers Memorial Park (0.4 miles), Indian Tepee Gift Shop (0.5 miles), and Bolton Historical Museum (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Sagamore Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Sagamore Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Sagamore Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Sagamore Resort?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Sagamore Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Bella Vita - The Sagamore Resort, The Pavilion, and Cate's Italian Garden.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Sagamore Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Sagamore Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Bolton Landing.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Sagamore Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Sagamore Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Sagamore Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Bolton Landing HotelsBolton Landing Hotel DealsHotels near The Sagamore Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars