We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kittatinny Campgrounds

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barryville
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kittatinny Campgrounds
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Kittatinny Campgrounds
See the most recent reviews
Showing 76: English reviews
Matawan, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed August 25, 2014

this is my 2nd time staying here but have not been in a while, last time was a weekday, much better during the week, we went Aug 22-24th weekend. 1st we needed 3 sites together and got 331-333 we lucked out, this site was nice no one behind us or on the side, so pretty much had a huge site...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debra N
Kittatinny C, Manager at Kittatinny Campgrounds, responded to this review

Thank You for your review, we value all our guests’ feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your second visit with us. We are glad that you had a good time at your camp sites and enjoyed your trip on the Delaware River. We are aware that the campground bath houses are high traffic areas. We do have housekeeping...

Concord, Massachusetts
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I have never written such a bad review before and felt the need to do so.. This place could has so much going for it, only to have who ever is running it drive it into the ground. They need to hire someone to organize their business. For the positive feed back.... the river is fun, and quite enjoyable. It's...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank timncher
Kittatinny C, Manager at Kittatinny Campgrounds, responded to this review

Thank You for your review, we value all our guests’ feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time on the Delaware River. We assure you this is not a typical Kittatinny experience. We are currently looking at options to increase the speed and efficiency of our camping and activity check in procedures as well as campground store merchandise...

pittsfield, MA
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This campground has Porta-Potties located throughout the property, understandable as it is on a river, but there is no hand-washing station located at the potties or outside of them. Not even a hand sanitizer dispenser was provided. As a former public health nurse, I think that this is possibly in violation of state health codes, and I plan on reporting...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mary-jane s
Kittatinny C, Manager at Kittatinny Campgrounds, responded to this review

Thank You for your review, we value all our guests’ feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your dual racing zip line rides, our zip staff and the guidance they provided you. We apologize for your wait time in line to sign up for your activity and assure you we are currently looking at options to increase the speed...

Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Reviewed July 28, 2014

You will never know what to expect for a camp ground until you go and see one. On the website the place looks pretty good. However, reality was pretty quite far from perfect when we settled in the camp grounds. The site itself varied in sizes and shapes. If you have not been here before, you will not know the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank R6Ken
Kittatinny C, Manager at Kittatinny Campgrounds, responded to this review

Thank You for your review, we value all our guests’ feedback. We are glad to hear you had enjoyable experiences with our staff. We are pleased to hear you found our outdoor adventures on the Delaware River conveniently located on the same property as the campground you stayed at. We are happy to offer an array of activities all on...

New York City, New York
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I had called to book a campsite two weeks in advance for my family and a friend's family as well. I was charged a deposit equal to the first of two night's stay for two campsites. Unfortunately, we found out 7 days before our trip that our friends would not be able to make it due to an unfortunate family...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M L
Kittatinny C, Manager at Kittatinny Campgrounds, responded to this review

Thank You for your review, we value all our guests’ feedback. The deposit amount required to reserve a campsite is always 50% of the total stay. The staff member was correct in requiring you to leave a deposit equal to the first of a two night’s stay for two campsites. Our camping cancellation policy is stated at reservation time and...

Massapequa, New York
Reviewed July 20, 2014

First let me say that i read all the reviews, good and bad before booking. I was looking for a camping experience with my son before he went to college this fall. The campgrounds were what i expected based on my camping experiences as a child. The bathrooms were old but fairly clean and the sites were a little to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 2372ja
Kittatinny C, Manager at Kittatinny Campgrounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we value all our guests’ feedback. We are glad you found our outdoor adventures on the Delaware River conveniently located on the same property as the campground you stayed at. We are able to offer an array of activities from one property, which seems to be a major plus when deciding on a place to...

Reviewed July 1, 2014

I go camping with my family and I also enjoy trips with friends - adults - This place is wonderful for families. t is quiet at night for great sleeping nestled in wooded sites, in nature, with beautiful trees. They provide fire rings, free hot showers bathrooms, and water at the site as well. We even had an outlet at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank juk2010
Kittatinny C, Manager at Kittatinny Campgrounds, responded to this review

Thank You for your review, we value all our guests’ feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the campground in the 200’s section. We agree wooded sites, nature and beautiful trees with no ability to Facebook is what it’s really all about! Please feel free to email us at info@kittatinny.com directly, we hope to see you...

Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

I visited this site recently and it was one of my best camping experiences. I Was Hesitant to visit this site after reading the reviews. The campsite was clean, the bath houses very clean. The staff was friendly. And the staff at the zip line went above and beyond to assist us. I was very impressed. The view was amazing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kesha y
Kittatinny C, Manager at Kittatinny Campgrounds, responded to this review

Thank You for your review, we value all our guests’ feedback. We are glad you choose us, enjoyed your first trip here and found our facilities impressive. Our staff strives to make every zip line ride a memorable experience, we are happy to hear you found them especially helpful. The views that our Dual Racing Ziplines offer are truly one...

New York
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We hauled and then set up our own camps in the wild. Regular shower and bathroom - with hot water. Rafting, zip line, BBQ, trekking... and the even have their very own waterfall. We are looking forward to going there next year too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VilTry1ce
Kittatinny C, Manager at Kittatinny Campgrounds, responded to this review

Thank You for your review, we value all our guests’ feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your second visit and all the amenities our campground and adventure center has to offer. Hope to see you next year for a third visit! Please feel free to email us at info@kittatinny.com directly if you need anything.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Have been here two years running and going to keep the tradition alive this year as well. Typically rent a group site far away from everyone else, and travel with 20+ people. The grounds are clean, and they are very willing to let us have fun without intervention. The water river is amazing, but bring your water socks or your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris R
Kittatinny C, Manager at Kittatinny Campgrounds, responded to this review

Thank You for your review, we value all our guests’ feedback. We are happy to hear you and your friends enjoyed your third visit to our group campsites. We agree, wear something protective on your feet! The Delaware River is amazing in many ways. Hope to see you next year for a fourth visit! Please feel free to email us...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barryville
2.4 mi away
Catskill Mountains Resort
Catskill Mountains Resort
#2 of 5 in Barryville
33 reviews
7.5 mi away
Woodloch Pines Resort
17.6 mi away
Lake Wanoka Resort
Lake Wanoka Resort
#1 of 4 in Honesdale
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Stickett Inn
Stickett Inn
#3 of 5 in Barryville
15 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
11.3 mi away
Ledges Hotel
Ledges Hotel
#3 of 8 in Hawley
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kittatinny Campground has 350 campsites on 250 acres in both beautiful wooded and open grass settings. Located in Barryville, New York, it is the premier campground along the scenic upper Delaware River in the Catskill Mountains offering prime (Delaware River front and Beaver Brook) or wooded sites. A beautiful trout stream winding through an enchanted forest of hemlock and oak provides inviting brookside camping in addition to our open, grass-covered sites bordering the Delaware River. Join us around the warm glow of a campfire for an evening under the stars after a day of relaxed fishing or exciting whitewater rafting. Kittatinny Canoes offers daily trips for experienced and novice paddlers. Raft, canoe, kayak, tube, calmwater and whitewater we have something for everyone, regardless of your experience level! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kittatinny Campgrounds

Address: 3854 State Route 97, Barryville, NY 12719-5929
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Barryville
Number of rooms: 350
Also Known As:
Barryville Base And Kittatinny Campgrounds Hotel Barryville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kittatinny Campgrounds staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Book in advance, get your paperwork done early, travel in June when the river is typically higher and the crowds are typically smaller.”
 of 5 bubbles dancD8462FS, Sep 22, 2014 | Read review
“Be prepared for all sorts of add-on charges to rent the campsite.”
 of 5 bubbles mjsack1, Aug 4, 2014 | Read review
“Sites in the 200's are beautful.”
 of 5 bubbles juk2010, Jul 1, 2014 | Read review
“If your looking for a quiet site choose the 500's.”
 of 5 bubbles DamienD607, Jul 28, 2013 | Read review
“If you do decide to camp here (I wouldn't), be persistent in making sure that you are placed in a "quiet" area. When I complained to the manager (nice guy), he said that there is an area where the "experienced" campers are placed. I have no idea where that is, but I figure it was much more quiet than our spot.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnO960, Aug 28, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question