We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp

Certificate of Excellence
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
See the most recent reviews
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed June 12, 2016

I'll start by saying my eyes welled up when we hugged everyone goodbye after 3 incredible days at Selinda. We did not want to leave! The people here radiate warm & kindness. The manager, Noxy, was a joy. I'll miss our conversations over dinner & cocktails. Our guide, OB, was the best. His breadth of knowledge on every animal &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CLEgene
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp, responded to this review

Hello, Would like to thank you so very much for such a great review. We are so happy that you felt at home and had such a memorable holiday. Your home here in Selinda still gets the lion and hippo calls at night. OB sends his regards and hopes to see you soon. The camp is as warm and happy...

Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Reviewed June 6, 2016

My husband and I had a great time at Selinda camp. But instead writing about all the wonderful things which are plenty I also have some critical notes. I can't agree with people who praise guide Stanley that high. Our experience was not so good. I'm sure he is a good tracker but during our stay he didn't find e.g....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Louisa F
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank you for your review, we take all the feedback seriously and will move to improve and be a stronger team. We hope to see you back again soon. Selinda is looking very green and we are getting the nightly visits from the hippos. The loan mix of the lechwee and water-buck is still roaming the area and...

Hallandale Beach, Florida
Reviewed May 23, 2016

After a scenic 45 minute flight from Maun, my wife and I arrived at the Selinda airstrip and were greeted by Spike, our guide for the next few days. The drive to Selinda Camp took about 45 minutes and provided us the opportunity to get to know Spike and enjoy the Delta scenery and wildlife. Upon arrival at the camp,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp, responded to this review

Warm greetings from Selinda, Thank you so much for this amazing review. We appreciate the kind words and are ecstatic that you had such a wonderful time at our camp. The wild dogs are doing well, and we hope that you come back again to see them hunt. The Selinda pride is thriving and the cubs are getting a little...

Canterbury, Kent
Reviewed May 22, 2016

Selinda Camp was our third and final stop in Botswana and it certainly didn't disappoint on any level. We arrived by Mack Air and warmly welcomed by Justine and her team. Our accommodation was wonderful with every home comfort, including a bath as well as a shower. We could even use the hairdryer supplied as their generator was adequate. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nandpfenn
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for the wonderful review. Your kind words mean the world to us and we are so glad that you had such a fantastic time while you were here. Selinda is as green as ever and we are hoping for some more water in the spillway. Justine and Donald as well as the whole Selinda team wish you...

Zug, Switzerland
Reviewed May 18, 2016

We stayed three nights at the Selinda camp and thorouly enjoyed it. The staff are very friendly and cater to all your wishes. You get a beautiful tent with all the luxery needed. Only phone and internet is rarely available but also not needed and relaxing. The tent has a large bedroom area with partially bathroom area within the tent....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katherinelee
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp, responded to this review

Hey there, We are so elated that you had such a great time in Selinda. Your kind words mean the world to us and we appreciate that you took the time to write a review. The hippos and elephant are still abundant and multiplying. Selinda is as green as ever and we are hoping for some more water in the...

Reviewed April 27, 2016 via mobile

Our guide Stanley absolutely made our holiday he was fantastic. We told him we were desperate to see leopards so he took us off and tracked them carefully for 3 hours and then there they were. It was spectacular. Stanley would always let us know what our options were to maximise our chances of seeing various things and we'd pick...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart A
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp, responded to this review

Hi Stuart, Thank you very much for the wonderful review on Trip Advisor. The leopard and its baby cubs are growing stronger everyday. As winter advances the spillway is green and lush. Stanley sends his regards and continues to watch over the beautiful animals in Selinda. We hope to see you back here again soon. Under the beautiful Selinda Sky....

Thornhill, Canada
Reviewed April 15, 2016

9th STOP: Selinda Reserve, Ngamiland West, Botswana. My wife and I spent 4 nights in Lodge #8 at Selinda Camp. Following a road trip from Zambia’s Tongabezi Lodge to Kazalunga, a water taxi trip across the Zambezi, clearing Botswana immigration, another road trip to Kasane Airport, a 50 minutes 5-seater bush plane flight and a 45 minutes’ bush drive in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zippy22
GreatPlainsConserve, Manager at Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, we always love hearing from our guests, but we are even more chuffed that you chose us to be part of your epic southern Africa trip and that you share our opinion of how special Selinda really is. With our beautiful views of the spillway we are eagerly...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed March 29, 2016

Our three night stay at Selinda was our 3rd and final safari in Botswana, and the best! The "tents" are very luxurious by any standards (and considering they are in a very remote location) and the entire camp is 5-star. But what makes Selinda so special is the staff, with Moxie at the helm. One gets the sense that it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SEATTLE258
GreatPlainsConserve, Manager at Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp, responded to this review

Great to hear from you and thank you for your wonderful review! We are incredibly happy to hear that you felt at home in our home as this is exactly what we aim for here at Selinda. The concession is lovely and green at the moment with stands of tall grass and endless blue skies, a pretty good backdrop for...

New York
Reviewed February 22, 2016

From the minute we arrived you could tell that everyone that worked there loved their job...it spilled over into our experience...the lodge its self is beautiful and everything you got was at a high level..especially the service

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emjaytx
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your lovely trip advisor review. We are so happy that you had such a wonderful experience here and the staff all send their regards. Please come back soon to our little haven that is Selinda. Warm Selinda Greetings Noxy & The Selinda Team

Moorpark, California
Reviewed February 19, 2016 via mobile

We had just come from 2 other safari camps in Botswana and everyone was talking about how incredible the wild dogs are. We had never seen or heard much about these endangered animals prior but now all we wanted to do was see wild dogs! Our guide, OB, told us that wild dogs are rare sightings since their numbers are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KassandraBrooks
GreatPlainsConserve, General Manager at Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp, responded to this review

Hi there...... Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so happy that you had such a great time watching the wild dog pack with OB. Dereck and Beverly Joubert were happy to have met with you while you were here. The lion pride is as strong as ever and the recent rains have made Selinda cool and...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

171 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (160)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:26
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okavango Delta
62.3 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
44 reviews
65.9 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#18 of 70 in Okavango Delta
69 reviews
17.2 mi away
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Jackalberry Tented Camp
Jackalberry Tented Camp
#2 of 2 in Sangwali
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#34 of 70 in Okavango Delta
112 reviews
75.5 mi away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#24 of 70 in Okavango Delta
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Selinda Camp looks out onto the Selinda Spillway, a unique seasonal waterway that links the Okavango Delta with the wildlife-rich floodplains of the Linyanti marshes. Selinda Camp's nine spacious tents (including a family unit) are tucked away into the natural vegetation with wonderful views of palm-studded floodplains. Each tent has an en-suite bathroom and veranda. The main area is attractive, cool and under thatch and comprises dining, lounge and bar areas with spectacular views. Set apart from the main area is the photo and art gallery next to the camp's 500-bottle wine cellar, open-air deck, plunge pool and traditional campfire area. The Selinda Spillway winds its way through the Selinda Reserve and forms a magnet for the wildlife of the region. The area is thus an all-year-round wildlife viewing destination with large concentrations of elephant, buffalo, antelope, lechwe, giraffe, zebra, kudu, cheetah, wild dog, lion and leopard, with excellent birding of over 300 species in both the marshes and the dry country. Morning and afternoon-into-night game drives in custom-built 4x4 Land Cruisers with Guided nature walks, boating and seasonal fly-fishing ... more   less 

Additional Information about Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp

Address: Selinda Spillway | Selinda Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Price Range: $1,869 - $3,367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selinda Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“They are all good”
IanLee2015, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Views from your porch, as well as the lodge, are wonderful!”
divegirlelaine, Sep 23, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are equally wonderful”
JKLS333, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are great!!”
ShanghaiArnie, Jul 23, 2016 | Read review
“Overlooking the spillway.”
randys145, May 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Check these sites for availability
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Expedia.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates