We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Zarafa Camp

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Zarafa Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 111: English reviews
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

OK...many camps are pretty nice but not many are as special as Zarafa. It's small with only 4 tents and hence you feel like a VIP. The good news is that's exactly how you're treated. The management and staff couldn't be nicer. The food (thank you Pierre) is among the best we've eaten in Africa. The "tent" is enormous and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joefish925
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was the last of our 9 stop safari tour across South Africa & Botswana! When Yellow Zebra Safaris made up this itinerary, they told us they were saving the best for last. All 8 previous camps were perfect & amazing so we were excited when we got to Zarafa! This place was amazing. We had so much interactions with... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShanghaiArnie
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I had a wonderful time at Zarafa. First and foremost, the location and the wildlife were mind-blowing. We even had our "own" elephant hanging around the tent for much of our visit. I want to give a special shout-out to our guide Obie, who was the perfect guide for bird-watchers like us. He also took the two... More 

Helpful?
Thank CarlainMusicCity
clinton NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our stay thoroughly exceeded our expectations! We saw everything we could possibly imagine, wildlife-wise. Endangered wild dogs, young lion cubs feeding, an attempted lion hunt of water buffalo, several leopards, breakfast in the bush with elephants, and sundowners with hippos and loping red lechwe. The camp itself is beautiful and thoughtfully set up. The staff is attentive and the food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Skilife1111
Abington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

Luxury in one of the most remote camps in Botswana. Very few humans and incredibly rich animal life. Guide was amazingly knowledgeable. Food by Chef Pierre was five star quality. Staff did everything imaginable for comfort and enjoyment. If there is a better wildlife camp, I would truly like to hear about it. Botswana must be one of the most... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank redhoarse
GreatPlainsConserve, Manager at Zarafa Camp, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Zarafa Camp. We are a luxury camp in the 320 000 acre Selinda Reserve, where wildlife is left in a natural state and we merely enjoy their company by observing. We pride ourselves in making our guests' stay unforgettable in every way, this includes exquisite cuisine, prepared by our Executive Chef... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

We recently spent 2 nights at Zarafa (May 2016) for our honeymoon. The camp exceeded every expectation and we had had very high expectations for it in the first place. I work for a tour operator and specialise in African safari lodges so have been to a great many and Zarafa was without a doubt the finest I have ever... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eliza W
GreatPlainsConserve, Manager at Zarafa Camp, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with others! It was great to host you on your honeymoon and we are delighted that you had such a wonderful visit. The Zibidianja Lagoon in front of camp attracts a multitude of wildlife as you have mentioned, so there is always some activity in and around the camp. We offer each... More 

San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

This gem of a property was our first safari stop and did not disappoint. The food was great and the staff very accommodating, our guide Obie was fantastic, he got us into perfect position as the sun was rising to watch mama leopard move her babies to a new den. We saw the all the usual animals, but our guide... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
GreatPlainsConserve, Manager at Zarafa Camp, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with others. It sounds like you had some incredible game viewing - Aardvark! Wow! There is a lot of animal activity around Zarafa Camp, due to the location and permanent water source of the lagoon in front of camp. On the occasion that guests skip an activity to... More 

New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016

Zarafa is a fabulous experience. This place is well run, staff most accommodating. Accomadations and staff are lovely. It was truly what we thought Africa would be. Game drives and guides are wonderful. Though not as polished as some of the S. African resorts this place is truly special ! The delta is magnificent and the game sightings are awesome.

Helpful?
Thank Mamaski912
GreatPlainsConserve, Manager at Zarafa Camp, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your review, we appreciate the kind words. We are delighted that you experienced your stay as a true, authentic African safari as this is the feel we hope to create. The entire camp is built in such a way to minimise the footprint, and if it had to be removed it would be as... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016 via mobile

To be kind I would say that like buying a wedding dress you just know which one feels right- sadly for me Zerafa didn't feel right so I haven't given it 5 stars although it had many 5 star components My husband & I stayed for 4nights at the end of March The schedule was really good- going straight out... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisaloolah
GreatPlainsConserve, Front Office Manager at Zarafa Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all our reviews seriously and we are truly sorry to hear that you felt Zarafa was not a good fit for you. We have had a late summer this year, compounded by the drought conditions Southern Africa is experiencing has resulted in slightly higher than normal temperatures . We apologise that you found... More 

Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016 via mobile

To start - if you are traveling around this time of year, the weather is very pleasant (check zoover.com for details in the Delta) - cool in the morning (so fleece jacket definitely needed in a moving vehicle in the early morning hours). The camp is well equipped with essentials like insect repellent and ponchos for the rain, so no... More 

Helpful?
Thank painthorsegirl
GreatPlainsConserve, Manager at Zarafa Camp, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with others. You have written a wonderfully detailed review which will be helpful to many. April is our Autumn so the mornings are chilly but the days are lovely and warm. There are two tents on either side of the main area, all are the same design and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okavango Delta
55.5 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#6 of 26 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
20.9 mi away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#21 of 73 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.0 mi away
Machaba Camp
Machaba Camp
#1 of 26 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#34 of 73 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
147.1 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Zarafa evokes a sense of luxurious old-style safari with spaciousness and 21st-century eco-consciousness. About Zarafa CampEach of Zarafa's four sumptuous tents with generous veranda is positioned under cool, shady trees, fronting onto the idyllic Zibadianja Lagoon. The spacious bedroom has a lounge, en-suite bathroom with copper bath, indoor as well as outdoor shower, copper heater for cosy winters as well as its own private pool for summer. The main area, similarly furnished, evokes traditional safari ambiance. Lounge and dining facilities may be enjoyed under canvas or on the full-length shaded deck. The camp is run completely on solar heating and power.Environment and WildlifeThe Selinda Concession is dominated by a vast grassy floodplain interspersed with slightly elevated palm islands and aromatic sage bushes. Resident wildlife includes red lechwe, kudu, tsessebe, giraffe, warthog and steenbok. Top predators are lion and spotted hyaena, as well as cheetah, wild dog, side-striped jackal, serval and even aardwolf. Elephant, buffalo, wildebeest and zebra are other herbivores seen throughout the year, complemented with varied bird life.Experiencing Zarafa CampDay and night game drives in custom-built 4x4 vehiclesGuided nature walks (on request)Canoeing and house boat for private dining, evening or day trips into the lagoon and onto the riverCatch-and-release fishing (seasonal) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Zarafa Camp

Address: | Selinda Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Price Range: $1,239 - $1,799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Zarafa Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zarafa Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Zarafa Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay