We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
close by the Khumaga Entrance Gate, Makgadikgadi Pans National Park Botswana
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (72)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (14)

About

#6 of 10 Specialty lodging in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Boteti River Camp provides an excellent base from which to explore the picturesque region while offering comfortable accommodation, lively and warm hosting, wholesome meals, and a stunning viewpoint over the surrounding wilderness. We have 7 en-suite chalets and 8 campsites with water access and shared ablutions. Whether savouring our kitchen’s homestyle flavours, enjoying refreshments at the colourful bar, relaxing by the swimming-pool, or simply lazing around the lounge on the viewing deck, you are made to feel at home from the moment you step in.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Pool
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Laundry service

Location

Full view
Contact
close by the Khumaga Entrance Gate, Makgadikgadi Pans National Park Botswana
Getting there
Sir Seretse Khama Intl Airport296 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
116Reviews0Q+A13Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 57
  • 39
  • 12
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Directions on the internet are terrible - it is actually quite easy to find! The main issue that needs to be changed is the light bulbs. The dining room is so dingy you can hardly see the food and the light bulbs everywhere attract large numbers of moths, which land in your food and in your bathroom.
Read more
The best thing about Boteti are the guide (Degree) and the staff! Botswana is in the middle of a drought, so there is no water in the Boteti River, so that was disappointing. The room/cabin I had was adequate. There is no wifi, which is pretty stressful when you're traveling solo. Food = okay; hot food was never really hot and cold foods were usually warm which wasn't very appetizing. But...the staff were amazing which made up for a lot.
Read more
Response from BushWaysBotswana, Public Relations Manager at Boteti River Camp
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear BJA213, thank you for your words, they are appreciated. We are glad to hear that you were happy with our team here at Boteti River Camp. You are right, this year was a difficult one for the people of Botswana and the animals as well in regards to low water levels but we are looking very positiv into the coming months, as good rains are a very promising sign. Regarding the food we will definitely have a look into this and of course apologies for it. As regards wifi, this is not something we offer at our camps, and we are sorry that you were not made aware of this at the time of your booking. Thank you and best regards, Bush Ways Botswana
Read more
Our stay on the campsite was ok, the boteti river had no water, so we probably missed a big part of the attraction of the location. The worst part: I booked the stay three month in advance and payed via WorldRemit. I got a confirmation twice that the money arrived on there bank account from my bank but they keep on telling me that they didn’t get a payment. Therefore I had to pay a second time the day I arrived and I’m still waiting for a solution.
Read more
Response from BushWaysBotswana, Public Relations Manager at Boteti River Camp
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Julia, Even though the Boteti River is quite dry and it has been a difficult year for the people and animals of Botswana we are convinced that you don't miss out on anything while travelling the Boteti region as the waterholes that remained back still attracts many many animals like elephants, zebras, hippos and lots more. However we are very positive that with the good rainfalls at the moment we are looking into a very good year. We are sorry to see that you found it necessary to post this review here on this platform. As advised in our emails to you directly your payment that you have made prior to your arrival in camp was in BWP. To pay into a USD account the payment has to be made in USD and not in BWP, this being the reason that your payment bounced back and you having to pay again while in camp. Unfortunately we haven't heard back from you since we have sent you several emails and advised that we are happy to refund if we get the money into our account. We are sure you understand that we can only refund you if you can send us through a proof of payment from your bank. As said above we are always happy to refund guests and correct a mistake if we made one. Thanks, Bush Ways Botswana
Read more
Boteti River Camp is the perfect place to start a safari in Botswana, because it it only a 1,5h-drive from Maun. We spent the whole three christmas-days 2019 in the Boteti River Camp and we really enjoyed it. Great service, great food, comfortable huts and a beautiful viewing platform with fatnastic view to the Boteti River and the animals there. And not to forget a nice pool to cool down a bit, after the game-drive. Especially the kids loved it!!! The place is also great for families with small kids, because it is surrounded by a fence. The Camp is close to the entrance of the Makgadikgadi-Pans-Nationalpark, where we have seen lots of animals. During our first game rive we have seen more than hundreds of elefants playing and drinking in the Boteti River, or what is left of him. We had also three lions on our second day. Landscape ist also very exiting!!!
Read more
Boteti river camp recently took over Tiaans camp. The DBB rates have increased times 4,and the service offered has not. Accommodation is still pretty basic, and the set menu for dinner is disappointing. We were served chicken, which was undercooked and had to be sent back to the kitchen, the dessert was a malva pudding which was certainly not fresh. When it was still Tiaans the camp provided reasonable value for money
Read more
Response from BushWaysBotswana, Public Relations Manager at Boteti River Camp
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear pieerk, thank you for your review and your honest words. However we would like to clarify that after taking over Tiaan's Camp we have done quite some work on the camp and it has a very fresh and new look now which we are very proud of. Our prices though are still very competitive for this area. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with the food during your stay and can assure you that the food we offer is always freshly made for all the guests. We make it a point to train our chefs annually to always have a great standard assured. Best regards, Bush Ways Lodges
Read more
Previous
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Tiaan's Camp
LOCATION
BotswanaCentral DistrictMakgadikgadi Pans National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Boteti River Camp
What are some of the property amenities at Boteti River Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Boteti River Camp?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Boteti River Camp?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Boteti River Camp?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.