We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sea Star Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sea Star Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 138: English reviews
Start your review of Sea Star Lodge
 Click to rate
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Modern bedrooms designed to give great views of sea and coastline. Very comfortable with silent air conditioning. Staff, particularly Elonique very helpful and made all our bookings at local restaurants for lunch & dinner during the 2 nights we stayed here. Breakfasts were excellent with good choice of everything you could wish for. Particularly notable was the eggs benedict presented...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
seastar1, Manager at Sea Star Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Peter Thank you very much for your kind words about our Lodge and your stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you had a satisfactory time and enjoyed our services. We wish to welcome you back in the near future. Safe travels. Kind Regards Ellenique - Sea Star Lodge Manageress

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 11, 2017 via mobile

I was recently lucky enough to stay in this hidden gem!! My dad had booked us in here for the evening of my birthday and as a little congratulations present as we had just got engaged... I am so glad we come across this place and we stayed here. -the staff were lovely and friendly and couldn't do anymore for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank char100290
seastar1, Manager at Sea Star Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sea Star Guest Thank you so much for your kind words of praise about our Lodge. We are so pleased to hear that you had a great time with us and that you were fully satisfied. It was lovely to host you. We hope to see you in the near future again. Kind Regards Managaress - Ellenique

Reviewed February 3, 2017

Spent 2 nights of our honeymoon in the smallest room with just about space to open a suitcase. The room needs a lot of work - stains on the wall and ceiling, shower door not closing properly, window blinds partially broken. Very loud with people coming up and down the stairs, dog hairs everywhere including on serviettes at breakfast and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darren F
seastar1, Manager at Sea Star Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Darren Thank you for taking the time to write your honest review of Sea Star Lodge. I have taken your feelings into account and I deeply apologize that we are not up to your standard. I know it is a bit too late, however we are doing something about your response and we are aware of the maintenance that...

Reviewed January 25, 2017 via mobile

Great friendly host. Breakfast was adequate and our room was great (honeymoon suite), although the toilet was a bit loose. Overall the building needs some attention. We had a great experience and will certainly stay there again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MAXIMVS M
seastar1, Manager at Sea Star Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sea Star Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our Lodge. It pleases me to hear that you had a pleasurable stay. Regarding the maintenance side, i am aware of the things that needs to be replaces, we are currently in the process of revamping up the place. We hope to welcome...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed November 30, 2016 via mobile

Wow is all I can say about this wonderful lodge. I stayed in the rooftop rooms and the view from our private balcony was breathtaking. The service was excellent and the staff is very accommodating and friendly. They have the two cutest dogs that love cuddles. I had a weekend away with my fiancé and the stay really made it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cubbles1
seastar1, Manager at Sea Star Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sea Star Guest Thank you for your kind words regarding our lodge, service and experience. We feel so rewarded with your review. Enjoy your holiday further Kind Regards Sea Star Management

Bellville, South Africa
Reviewed November 22, 2016

After our stay at Sea Star Rocks, it was easy to choose one of the sister venues when looking for a holiday destination. I took my wife to Sea Star Lodge for a lo-o-o-o-ng weekend this time. Just the setting was worth the trip. We overlooked the tranquil, massive bay in the little village of De Kelders. It was all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colin007liebenberg
seastar1, Manager at Sea Star Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sea Star Guest. Thank you for writing such a lovely review. I am pleased to hear that you had such a memorable experience at Sea Star Lodge. I truly hope to see you sometime in the near future. Take care and Sea Star Lodge wishes you a wonderful New Year ahead. Kind Regards Sea Star Lodge

Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewed October 20, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I spent two days at sea star lodge in de kelders. It is a amall place with only five rooms located almost directly at the sea and you have a beauftiful view on the bay. All rooms had a balcony to the sea and you could even watch the whales and dolphins from the lodge. We stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadine_Ha85
seastar1, Manager at Sea Star Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sea Star Guest Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Sea Star Team really appreciates it. It is lovely to see that not just myself enjoys the beautiful scenery from the lodge. It pleases me to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future....

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed October 16, 2016

I strongly recommend Sea Star Lodge, it is so beautiful. We stayed in one of the room upstairs and had the chance to see whales from our balcony!!! The staff is so welcoming, we felt at home and met very lovely people during the yummy breakfast. Thank you for a beautiful time we will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte_Ber
seastar1, Manager at Sea Star Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sea Star Guest Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It truly makes my heart smile to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future. I wish you all the best and a great New Year ahead of you. Kind Regards Sea Star Team

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 23, 2016

At first glance the property looks inviting. However, noise is a problem (between rooms and the staircase which has people pounding up and down outside your door). Balcony isn't at all private. Notwithstanding the hefty price tag for a noisy room, be prepared that the bottled water isn't complimentary.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank soc13415
Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

We chose to stay here on a recommendation from a friend and the only thing that disappointed was the noise from a few children on the first night but that aside Candice was the most spectacular host 10/10, her restaurant recommendations were quality, she was very knowledgable and would book anything you asked for with directions to the location. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren D
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

144 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (126)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
0.9 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 30 in Gansbaai
593 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.5 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#4 of 30 in Gansbaai
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sea Star Cliff
Sea Star Cliff
#1 of 2 in De Kelders
85 reviews
1.9 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#6 of 30 in Gansbaai
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 30 in Gansbaai
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated directly at the Walker Bay facing the Atlantic Ocean and the coastline of Hermanus you'll find this small exclusive lodge. At this place luxury ambiance meets genuine warmth and here you'll experience the wonders of nature in their full glory. Whether you are looking for adrenalin and decide to go on a shark cage diving trip to discover the Great White Sharks or if you decide to savour the local wines at the estates in the nearby Stanford Valley - our friendly staff would be glad to assist you with information and make your stay an unforgettable and enjoyable experience. The modern and spacious design of the lodge provides breathtaking sea views. The African arts blend in perfectly with the modern design and create a unique luxury atmosphere ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sea Star Lodge

Address: 19 Ingang Straat | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Price Range: $102 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea Star Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Sea Star Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Star Hotel Gansbaai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sea Star Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“First floor rooms at front of hotel have good views. Even better are rooms on 3rd floor above breakfast room with absolutely stunning views”
 of 5 bubbles A371QLpeterd, 1 week ago | Read review
“Any of the rooms facing the sea will give you a great view.”
 of 5 bubbles colin007liebenberg, Nov 22, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with large balcony to get great sea views”
 of 5 bubbles 421JennyB, Jul 28, 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you are there at Sunset”
 of 5 bubbles 352ferdiem, May 24, 2016 | Read review
“Rooftop Room with a huge private terrace”
 of 5 bubbles Amaani84, May 14, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question