We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Karoo Art Hotel

Save
Share
30 Van Riebeeck Street, Barrydale 6750 South Africa
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (209)
Dining (36)
Room & Suite (33)

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Barrydale
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
This is the best 4 star country hotel in the whole of the Klein Karoo! An ideal stop-over between Cape Town and the Garden Route, a must-stay for any visitor! Best food and most comprehensive wine list in the whole of the Klein Karoo! Restaurant has just won the Klein Karoo Gourmand Award ! We have a few signature dishes, reflecting the ethos of the Chaîne des Rộtisseurs, the international gastronomical guild dedicated to the camaradie of the table. Some of these dishes are unique to the Karoo. Loads of historic character. Most friendly staff. Rooms with balconies and views available. Character bar and great restaurant. Huge swimming pool for hot summer days. Many open fireplaces for the winter nights! Karoo hospitality. The hotel is an art gallery with many paintings by local artists on display and for sale. Some rooms with cable TV available. Staff are keen to share local things to do and to see with guests. We even have a private 40 seater private cinema for use by our guests!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
425Reviews1Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 216
  • 161
  • 34
  • 13
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jpvn78 wrote a review Sep 2020
Cape Town, South Africa35 contributions10 helpful votes
The Hotel was officially closed at the time but opened especially for the stay of our group of 17. The prior arrangements and the reception on our arrival were professional and friendly. We were notified that the restaurant and bar could not be opened but were referred to the Bistro Blues across the way, where we had a good meal. The hotel provided a delightful breakfast the following morning. We thoroughly enjoyed the warm fire in the lounge, the quirky art throughout and especially the friendly service. Help was readily available to help with our luggage, although being elderly, we are active and usually like managing on our own. Here is the only criticism - the stairs are quite tough to manage with luggage and a lift would have made a big difference. I have had meals meals there previously and was sorry that we could not have done so on this occasion. We wish the hotel a rapid and successful reopening and would highly recommend a stay to our friends an others.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Theo Nel, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel
Responded Sep 10, 2020
Thanks for the great feedback- our very first guests after the long lock-down! The hotel is not open full-time as yet,but we gladly open for groups taking 5 rooms or more. we expect an announcement soon from Government about the opening of international flights. spring has started- then follows glorious summer and sunshine! The Klein Karoo with its warm arid climate in summer and the wide open spaces must be one of the d safest spots on earth to escape the aftermath of COVID-19 - we look forward to receive our guests back! Kind regards Theo Owner
Read more
cliverichards13 wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
The Karoo Art Hotel is unfortunately really tired, from the point of view that no investment has been put into the hotel for many years. The staff try really hard, but they are up against a really “old lady” needing some maintenance in and out. Apparently the hotel has been for sale for quiet some time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Theo Nel, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel
Responded Mar 19, 2020
Oh my.. Sadly we disagree with your overhasty and unfounded labeling. our hotel is a Karoo small town hotel- not a glitzy city hotel. We certainly are not "tired"! Where do you get your "information" from that " no investment had been put into the hotel for many years"? That is completely unfounded and bad reviewing,not base don facts. Yes,the Karoo sun bakes the paint and flags far mote harshly here in the Karoo than most other places- hence we close in May every year,after our main tourist season is over, and in that month our maintenance team will re-paint and refresh everything. so : although we think your words are unduly harsh, annual upgrading is around the corner. But we invite all readers to read the other reviews on TripAdvisor- we get an average of 85% strong approval rate from our guests. On yer bike,mate!.
Read more
dillydo wrote a review Jan 2020
Winterton-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom137 contributions46 helpful votes
As you might expect, art is everywhere in this bohemian hotel, although nothing particularly appealed to us to buy. This is an old hotel with eccentric charm that could do with a little tlc in the public areas. However, our room (3) was very well kept and clean. There is a lovely garden to sit in plus a pool with loungers around the edge. The chef, Derek, is excellent and we had a wonderful meal in the evening. Our breakfast was presented to us rather than us being able to choose (apart from the cooked options) and, for me, the quantity was too much and not all of it to my taste. It concerns me to waste food. If you want a quirky place to stay with a great chef, give this hotel a go.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Room 3 has a lovely balcony over the Main Street to the mountains
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel
Responded Jan 25, 2020
Thanks for your feedback- all appreciated! Regards Theo Owner
Read more
Josh008 wrote a review Jan 2020
Dublin, Ireland41 contributions23 helpful votes
Stayed here with my family en route back to Cape Town. The area is a little intimidating to European travelers with the local bottle bank across the road. However the longer we were there the more we realized that we may have found our first real S. African old world hotel. Friendly staff, beautiful food and an overall great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel
Responded Jan 8, 2020
We are very happy to read your great complimentary review- thank you! It always warms our hearts when our guests "flow" with what we try to achieve at the hotel- an authentic platteland South African hotel experience, with genuine country-style hospitality- and throw in great service and hospitality from the heart, excellent food and an award-winning wine list! Please stay 2 or 3 nights next time- olny then can one really experience all our hotel,village and surrounding Klein Karoo area have to offer- and still also enjoy peace,calm and rest. Kind regards Theo Owner
Read more
Simone_Dreps wrote a review Jan 2020
Cape Town, South Africa18 contributions2 helpful votes
We booked an overnight stay on the way home to Cape Town! I was so pleasantly surprised, this hotel is a real gem! The decor and art throughout the hotel give it a quirky but warm and homely feel, the staff are friendly and the facilities at the hotel are great! Rooms are very neat and clean, the breakfasts are superb and our dinner at the restaurant was fantastic! All in all a great overall stay!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel
Responded Jan 8, 2020
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and our hotel so much - that is what we aim for! Next time,please stay for two or three nights- only then can one really properly experience what Barrydale and the surrounding Klein Karoo /Route 62 offer. Our hotel is an excellent base camp from which to explore the surrounding areas. Kind regards Theo Owner
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$77 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Barrydale Karoo Hotel
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeOverberg DistrictBarrydale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Karoo Art Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Karoo Art Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Hardys Memories of Africa African Art and Curios (0.2 miles), Magpie Gallery (0.02 miles), and House of Books (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Karoo Art Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Karoo Art Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Karoo Art Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Karoo Art Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mez Karoo Kitchen, The Blue Cow, and Diesel & Creme.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Karoo Art Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Karoo Art Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Barrydale.
Does Karoo Art Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.