We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (396)
Room & Suite (73)
Dining (15)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
In the luxury and beauty of this magnificent malaria free 100,000ha private game reserve, the focus is on flexibility and privacy, outstanding game viewing, gourmet cuisine, indulgent spa treatments, and getting to do the things you've only ever dreamed about.The uniqueness of the safari experience begins with a flexible itinerary, which allows you to dictate your own programme of games drives, bush walks and horseback safaris; and continues with the interactive game experience. With a dedicated vehicle, tracker and guide, you can tailor your Tswalu safari to include whatever appeals to you.Bond with the meerkats before they go foraging or spend the morning tracking the desert black rhino. Witness the sheer size and power of the Kalahari black maned lion. Experience the magic of star gazing and the thrill of sleeping under the night sky. Indulge in boma feasts and bush dinners, sundowners, wine tastings and dune picnics. And whatever you do, make sure you have enough time to experience it all.
Read more
Property amenities
Room Service
Restaurant
Pool
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Airport Transportation
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
454Reviews
416Photos
14Q+A
96Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 429
  • 18
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+3
Safari: The Tswalu property is magical. Incredibly well preserved and in its most beautiful natural state, my breath was taken away on each drive. Because the property houses so few guests, I often felt like I was in the desert alone - an exhilerating feeling. The safari alone
Read more
Response from russel_binks, Director of Sales at Tswalu Kalahari Reserve
Responded Dec 19, 2018
It certainly does help, and we're extremely grateful to you for your constructive feedback. It affords us the opportunity to understand the highlights, and where we should be paying more attention to ensure consistency in our guest experience. Whilst we're looking forward to the renovations, we cannot excuse poor maintenance as all rooms and public areas require daily attention. Even with the renovations, the standard is only maintained through a vigilant pro-active maintenance programme - an issue that will certainly be addressed. The purpose of the renovations at Motse is to focus on the needs ensure we operate within our manifest of luxury and exclusivity - a change in which intimate spaces and rarefied privacy be the objective. The focus on the refreshment to both architecture and interior ensures we maintain the sense of barefoot luxury, with specific reference to openness, space, freedom, light, and privacy. Lack of communication within the front of house team does lead to frustration, as the service delivery tends to move away from that unobtrusive style of service we are known for. Our hospitality manager has taken cognizance of your comments and will emphasise this point in our detailed development workshops happening prior to our re-opening. Ernest is an absolute centurion when it comes to the guest experience and we are tasked with making sure his passion and commitment is carried through the whole team. We are currently in the process of recruiting a profile executive chef to take the culinary journey to a completely new level. Whilst the current menus are varied and well received, we would like every guest's meal experience to be extraordinary! This includes a fully fledged pastry / baking section with the design and build of our new kitchen. I'm bitterly disappointed to read of your spa experience and will address this with the urgency it deserves. Our therapist has all the required qualifications and has been at Tswalu for many years, and again it comes down to consistency in our service delivery - each and every day! Please be assured that we will address each and every concern to guarantee an exceptional guest experience, and apologise for our inconsistencies. We've spent many years building a wonderful reputation and therefore appreciate the time taken to advise us of your comments, as it reminds us where our focus needs to be. With kid regards Russel
Read more
We visited Tswalu to celebrate a big birthday and a milestone anniversary and we couldn't have found a better place. From arrival at the Fireblade Hangar at Joburg airport and through our whole stay at Motse the welcome and service we received was excellent. Rudi our guide
Read more
Response from Carina-Tswalu, Sales & Marketing Administrator at Tswalu Kalahari Reserve
Responded Dec 2, 2018
Thank you for the amazing review. We are absolutely delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that your birthday was definitely one for the books. We are honoured to have been able to play such a big role in not only the celebration of your birthday, but your anniversary as well. I hope that for the rest of your trip you were treated like the royalty you are. Looking forward to welcoming you back home in the not too distant future.
Read more
Before we left Tswalu we were asked what our highlights were. I said the mongoose, horse riding, food, wine, cosy couches, swimming, red sand, tortoises and extraordinary sunsets. My partner said the lions, cheetah, horses, and the possibility of aardvark and pangolins.
Read more
Response from Carina-Tswalu, Sales & Marketing Administrator at Tswalu Kalahari Reserve
Responded Dec 2, 2018
Thank you for your amazing words. We are absolutely delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your trip and all your highlights. I am sure we can agree that Tswalu is truly a magical place and worthy of being called a home away from home. I do hope that for the rest of the trip you were treated like the royalty you are. Looking forward to welcoming you back home in the not too distant future.
Read more
This was our second visit to Tswalu and we were met by our old friend Juan - our guide from 3 years before The Lodge is about to undergo a refurb which I think it does indeed need but we were happy - although for the money I think a refurb is necessary The main attraction to
Read more
Response from russel_binks, Director of Sales at Tswalu Kalahari Reserve
Responded Dec 4, 2018
Dear Trevor It was wonderful having you back in the southern Kalahari and delighted the safari experience was again a highlight. I agree that being involved with the wild dogs whilst they're hunting is something quite extraordinary. I would be equally disappointed being offered a menu not catering to dietary needs, and do apologise for our complete oversight. We are currently in the process of recruiting a culinary wizard (!!) to take us to a new level of dining at Tswalu - to ensure each and every aspect of the guest experience supersedes expectation. With this in mind we are also all very excited about The Motse renovation and look forward to opening our doors mid June 2019. We look forward to showcasing Tswalu's next chapter on your next visit, with Emmanulle and his team ready to delight. With kind regards Russel
Read more
When my wife and I visited this vast private wilderness-reserve on the southern edge of the Kalahari Desert for five days in early October, we were happily surprised at every turn by the fresh air, tranquility, sunny/starry skies, and, often only a few feet away during
Read more
Response from Carina-Tswalu, Sales & Marketing Administrator at Tswalu Kalahari Reserve
Responded Nov 16, 2018
Thank you for the beautiful words. I am absolutely delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us and that you were treated like the royalty you are. I am sure we can agree that we (Tswalu) are lucky to have such an amazing team of guides and trackers who has a great love and perfect touch when it comes to finding checklist species and having our guests experience the magic that the Kalahari has to offer. Looking forward to welcoming you back home in the not too distant future.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
our Villa
Bedroom
giraffes at sunset
PreviousNext
12345615
I don't think you can go into Tswalu for a private visit. It's private land. But you could check out the Kalahari National Park for day visits.
2 votes
Good morning. We offer a private vehicle, guide and tracker for all bookings. Please email our reservations team or me via the website (unfortunately we cannot load an email address or a website on this forum, so look under contacts) for all the relevant information and packages available, and look forward to seeing you at Tswalu. Regards Russel
0 votes
Show all answers
The folks from the private hanger provide transportation to/from the main international airport. We flew from Tswalu to the private hanger at Johannesburg, and they transferred us easily and comfortably to the main airport for our international flight. Absolutely no problem!
1 vote
Show all answers
No, they have a private hanger near the airport. It’s a great place to hang out for a little bit before your flight. Enjoy!
2 votes
There is some fresh fruit available, however if you ask them for specific foods they will usually be able to accommodate. Always worth a quick email upfront before your trip if there is anything specific you may require
1 vote
PreviousNext
123
"I always like having the furthest room."
"My iPad is not registering my 5 star rating for service, location and cleanliness."
"Room 7. Great view overlooking the water hole."
"Ask for a room near to the lodge"
"All the rooms seem good (The whole camp undergoing a complete Re-furb in 2019!)"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
$2,888 - $4,783 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaNorthern CapeTswalu Kalahari Game Reserve
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing