We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Overview
Southern Kalahari Kuruman, Tswalu Kalahari Game Reserve 8460 South Africa See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
5 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveler rating
382
16
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
382
16
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the reserve game drives black rhino wild dogs safari experience tswalu kalahari south africa cape town top notch watering hole sabi sands water hole outdoor shower an amazing experience very special place private plane magical place
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Tswalu to celebrate a big birthday and a milestone anniversary and we couldn't have found a better place. From arrival at the Fireblade Hangar at Joburg airport and through our whole stay at Motse the welcome and service we received was excellent. Rudi...More

Date of stay: November 2018
1  Thank Tenaj01
Response from Carina-Tswalu, Sales & Marketing Administrator at Tswalu Kalahari ReserveResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the amazing review. We are absolutely delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that your birthday was definitely one for the books. We are honoured to have been able to play such a big role in not only the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Before we left Tswalu we were asked what our highlights were. I said the mongoose, horse riding, food, wine, cosy couches, swimming, red sand, tortoises and extraordinary sunsets. My partner said the lions, cheetah, horses, and the possibility of aardvark and pangolins. Tswalu is incredible,...More

Date of stay: November 2018
3  Thank Sandi C
Response from Carina-Tswalu, Sales & Marketing Administrator at Tswalu Kalahari ReserveResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your amazing words. We are absolutely delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your trip and all your highlights. I am sure we can agree that Tswalu is truly a magical place and worthy of being called a home away from home....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second visit to Tswalu and we were met by our old friend Juan - our guide from 3 years before The Lodge is about to undergo a refurb which I think it does indeed need but we were happy - although for...More

Date of stay: November 2018
2  Thank drtprees2018
Response from russel_binks, Director of Sales at Tswalu Kalahari ReserveResponded 1 week ago

Dear Trevor It was wonderful having you back in the southern Kalahari and delighted the safari experience was again a highlight. I agree that being involved with the wild dogs whilst they're hunting is something quite extraordinary. I would be equally disappointed being offered a...More

Reviewed November 6, 2018

When my wife and I visited this vast private wilderness-reserve on the southern edge of the Kalahari Desert for five days in early October, we were happily surprised at every turn by the fresh air, tranquility, sunny/starry skies, and, often only a few feet away...More

Date of stay: October 2018
3  Thank ChevyCh64
Response from Carina-Tswalu, Sales & Marketing Administrator at Tswalu Kalahari ReserveResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the beautiful words. I am absolutely delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us and that you were treated like the royalty you are. I am sure we can agree that we (Tswalu) are lucky to have such an...More

Reviewed November 6, 2018

We traveled from Florida to spend a few days at this camp - and, we are so glad that we did. From the minute that Moses, our guide, and David, our tracker, picked us up, we felt their enthusiasm for the adventure. Each morning and...More

Date of stay: August 2018
7  Thank Patricia W
Response from Carina-Tswalu, Sales & Marketing Administrator at Tswalu Kalahari ReserveResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for these amazing words. I am absolutely delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that we will have the privilege to welcome you back home in the not too distant future. I am sure we can...More

View more reviews
About
Description
In the luxury and beauty of this magnificent malaria free 100,000ha private game reserve, the focus is on flexibility and privacy, outstanding game viewing, gourmet cuisine, indulgent spa treatments, and getting More to do the things you've only ever dreamed about.The uniqueness of the safari experience begins with a flexible itinerary, which allows you to dictate your own programme of games drives, bush walks and horseback safaris; and continues with the interactive game experience. With a dedicated vehicle, tracker and guide, you can tailor your Tswalu safari to include whatever appeals to you.Bond with the meerkats before they go foraging or spend the morning tracking the desert black rhino. Witness the sheer size and power of the Kalahari black maned lion. Experience the magic of star gazing and the thrill of sleeping under the night sky. Indulge in boma feasts and bush dinners, sundowners, wine tastings and dune picnics. And whatever you do, make sure you have enough time to experience it all. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Room Service
Restaurant
Pool
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Air Conditioning
Airport Transportation
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Laundry Service
Minibar
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Beachfront
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
9
Price range
$2,513 - $4,474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
South Africa > Northern Cape > Tswalu Kalahari Game Reserve
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
9
Price range
$2,513 - $4,474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
South Africa > Northern Cape > Tswalu Kalahari Game Reserve
Photos
Traveler (389)
Room & Suite (73)
Dining (15)
Pool & Beach (10)
Family and Play Areas (5)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Eldorado Hotel
18 reviews
.66 miles away
Kuruman Inn by Country Hotels
52 reviews
.81 miles away
Kathu Inn by Country Hotels
179 reviews
27.98 miles away
aha Kathu Hotel
45 reviews
29.49 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
Die Geel Kombuis
12 reviews
1.62 miles away
Katexas steakhouse
66 reviews
28.61 miles away
Oasis Casino & Restaurant
22 reviews
.32 miles away
Albatross restaurant
49 reviews
27.81 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
The Eye of Kuruman
73 reviews
.65 miles away
The Truce Tree
1.93 miles away
Moffat Mission Station
22 reviews
2.68 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Shirley2810
June 18, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from IFM5 | Reviewed this property |
The folks from the private hanger provide transportation to/from the main international airport. We flew from Tswalu to the private hanger at Johannesburg, and they transferred us easily and comfortably to the main airport... More
1
Vote
Shirley2810
June 12, 2018|
Answer
Response from RC2277 | Reviewed this property |
No, they have a private hanger near the airport. It’s a great place to hang out for a little bit before your flight. Enjoy!
2
Votes
Shirley2810
April 17, 2018|
Answer
Response from nette08 | Reviewed this property |
There is some fresh fruit available, however if you ask them for specific foods they will usually be able to accommodate. Always worth a quick email upfront before your trip if there is anything specific you may require
1
Vote
Room Tips
"I always like having the furthest room."
sandic158
2 weeks ago
Read review
"My iPad is not registering my 5 star rating for service, location and cleanliness."
FluffyBoy66
Oct 8, 2018
Read review
"Room 7. Great view overlooking the water hole."
derekcarstens
Jul 1, 2018
Read review
"Ask for a room near to the lodge"
989AnneB
Mar 15, 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing