We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Dunkeld Country Estate

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dunkeld Country Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 187: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have here a few times and it always leaves a beautiful imprint on us. It has both a hotel and self-catering chalets. The chalets are clean, well-equipped and tastefully decorated. The chalets are cleaned daily . The place allows you to move away from the hustle and bustle of the city life allowing you to relax and unwind. Also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dhevlen B
ndadanet, Client Services and Admin Consultant at Dunkeld Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear Dhevlen B, Thank you for your review and for providing us with great feedback on Dunkeld resort. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Dunkeld Country and Equestrian Estate

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

The accommodation in the Holiday club unit was comfortable in a very spacious facility. General cleanliness however requires attention as do some smaller maintenance items such as a broken bedside lamp. Supervision of housekeeping can easily address this. The grounds and scenery is fantastic. It will satisfy most tastes from hikers to those who fish for trout. The on site...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leon V
ndadanet, Client Services and Admin Consultant at Dunkeld Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear Leon V, Thank you for your review. Your comments are highly are highly valuable and much appreciated. We apologise for the maintenance issues that you encountered with the allocated unit. Rest assured these issues have been addressed with the relevant departments and have definitely been addressed accordingly. Nonetheless, we are glad to see that these did not hinder your...

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My home away from home,we always come here for a week of family relaxation and fun.My wife and child love it.We love the weather and atmosphere.So for us its home.Love the hiking,the horses and food. 1883 is revamped and makes great food,the pork shank is to die for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tebogo167
ndadanet, Client Services and Admin Consultant at Dunkeld Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear Tebogo167, Thank you ever so much for your review. It is always a pleasure to learn that we once again hit the mark and have overjoyed guests. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Dunkeld in the near future. Kind regards Dunkeld Country and Equestrian Estate

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This were like manna from heaven, a delightful stay. The rooms were equipped with a fire place and it was the most beautiful sight at night. The bathrooms were so big and the clean. Although the Air-con did not work it was not to bad, would however loved a bit of heat early morning. We had a flat tire and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hester741
ndadanet, Client Services and Admin Consultant at Dunkeld Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear Hester 741, Many many thanks for reviewing our resort. We are so delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dunkeld in the near future. Kind regards, Dunkeld Country and Equestrian Estate

Johannesburg
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the estate between 11th and 14th November in RVI unit 28. We had a lovely stay. The unit was comfortable and had all the needed amenities. If any criticism could be made, it was that the shower was a tad small and leaked, and that we were unable to light the gas stove during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Vieira79
ndadanet, Client Services and Admin Consultant at Dunkeld Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear Mike_Viera79, Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Your comments are highly appreciated. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for the maintenance issues that you experienced with the allocated unit. Kindly be advised these issues will definitely be looked into as they have been taken up with the...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Always an absolute pleasure. We stayed at the main house this last visit. It was well equipped and clean with a beautiful patio! We did eat at the restaurant which was a buffet... very disappointing. Cheap and nasty to say the least. Other that the dinner we will continue to return with the family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
ndadanet, Client Services and Admin Consultant at Dunkeld Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear Lisa M, Thank you for your review. We are absolutely thrilled to learn that you had an amazing stay at Dunkeld. Please be advised that we have advised Mr Thipe, the Food and Beverage Manager on the food comments and he has assured us that he will look into this as well as find ways to improve on their...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived on Friday evening at 6, greeted with a glass of sherry and a smiley face. We then arrived at the unit only to find that it was being worked (building) on and was not made up. We waited for 30 mins to get the key to another unit. I would not suggest staying in holiday club units 1...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GregPalmer1
ndadanet, Client Services and Admin Consultant at Dunkeld Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear GregPalmer, Thank you for your review. We'd like to extend our sincere apologies regarding the inconvenience caused as a result of the unit that was allocated to you during your stay. At Dunkeld we always strive for customer satisfaction, and it with regret to read that this was not the case in this instance. We can advise that we...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My fiancee and I had a great stay at the Dunkeld, The staff is friendly and helpful. The food is great, there is plenty of free and paid entertainment at the lodge. There's wildlife and antelope right on the doorstep of your room. Really worth the trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poroza1
ndadanet, Client Services and Admin Consultant at Dunkeld Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear Poroza1, Thank you for your extremely positive review of your recent visit to Dunkeld. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. but even more so when it is clear that you had a genuinely great time. At Dunkeld we strive to provide excellent service and it is refreshing to hear when we hit the mark. Thank you,...

Pretoria
Reviewed November 2, 2016

Took a group of 23 golfers to Highland gate. Golfers and their spouses stayed at Dunkeld Country Estate only 2,5 hours from Pretoria & Johannesburg. The reception for such a big group was excellent and hustle free. They made special arrangement for earlier breakfast for the golfers, and we were able to tee-off at Highland gate at 07:00 on Saturday....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexZ1335DL
ndadanet, Client Services and Admin Consultant at Dunkeld Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear alexZ1335DL, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and your lovely comments on the resort staff and as well as accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay with us. Kind regards Dunkeld Country & Equestrian Estate

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed October 24, 2016

Great venue and facilities just the restaurants require attention and staff require training. Restaurants are not up to standard. Fine dining restaurant serving buffet just because a wedding is taking place. Staff require training on menu items and what is available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 745ozanar
ndadanet, Client Services and Admin Consultant at Dunkeld Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear 745ozanar, Thank you for your review. We are appreciate you taking the time to provide us with valuable and constructive feedback on your recent stay at Dunkeld. Your comments have been noted and handed over to the Food and Beverage Manager to look at ways on improving the restaurant service. We look forward to welcoming you back again in...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

190 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (168)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dullstroom hotels
7.2 mi away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
332 reviews
2.3 mi away
Critchley Hackle Hotel
Critchley Hackle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dullstroom
181 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Highlander Country Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
#3 of 27 in Dullstroom
70 reviews
9.0 mi away
Valley of the Rainbow
Valley of the Rainbow
#8 of 27 in Dullstroom
22 reviews
2.1 mi away
Peace Corner
Peace Corner
#1 of 11 in Dullstroom
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dunkeld Country Estate is a beautiful trout-and-game resort situated on over 1000 hectares only 3.7Kms from the popular village of Dullstroom. The area, renowned for its sub-alpine climate, high altitude and fly fishing waters, is favoured by city dwellers wanting to relax in the country and enjoy fresh air and panoramic views only 2.5 Hours from Johannesburg. The Resort consists of a central Lodge which offers 13 spacious Hotel rooms dotted around a fishing dam and near the main restaurant/ reception area. Our self-catering accommodation consists of 4 private self contained family suites and an additional 20 self-contained one bedroom chalets. Most of our rooms have an open fireplace to keep warm on those cold, and most popular, misty days. The heritage of the estate has been preserved with the conversion of the old farmhouse into a restaurant, which is more than a hundred years old. Our new reception, lounge and jazz bar was opened in August 2014 and compliments our banqueting facilities which cater to weddings, functions and conferences. We have a stone chapel, tea garden and can cater to your every need. Dunkeld is well known for its forest weddings. The resort boasts many well-stocked dams filled with Brown, Rainbow and Golden Trout, offering fly-fishing enthusiasts from novice to experienced the enjoyment of quality angling time in pursuit of that perfect catch. We are also passionate about introducing children to the art of fly fishing and one of our on-site guides holds a demo and teaching session every weekend. The estate also offers a host of family and child orientated activities. Our horse out rides are very popular as is our kiddies activity program. We are introducing new and fun activities every week. The Estate is located on the famous Panorama Route which takes visitors from Dullstroom all the way through remarkable landscapes to the Blyde River Canyon, Echo Caves and Pilgrims Rest. Dunkeld is also the perfect rest stop on the way to the Kruger National Park and the private reserves located in the Timbavati and Sabi Sands Reserves. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dunkeld Country Estate

Address: 80 Tonteldoos Road, Dullstroom 1110, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Dullstroom
Price Range: $116 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkeld Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Dunkeld Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkeld Country Estate Hotel Dullstroom
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Dunkeld Country Estate staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Kliprivier, Gauteng, South Africa

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Dunkeld Country Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The units very in size and visitors can choose between dam or bush views”
 of 5 bubbles LeonV762, 1 week ago | Read review
“Any room is nice”
 of 5 bubbles Hester741, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“I wish they could improve the noise-proofing in the rooms that are close together.”
 of 5 bubbles Poroza1, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“The 2 bedroom lodges is very private, and built over the forel dams. Very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles alexZ1335DL, Nov 2, 2016 | Read review
“Room requires some R&M . ”
 of 5 bubbles 745ozanar, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay