We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Elephant Safaris

Save
Share
Farm Leeuwspoor, Pongola Game Reserve South, Pongola 3170 South Africa
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
travelup.com
Booking.com
CheapTickets
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (184)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (6)

About

#4 of 12 Specialty lodging in Pongola
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The White Elephant is situated at the foot of the majestic Lebombo Mountains next to the shimmering blue waters of Lake Jozini in the Pongola Game Reserve, Northern Kwazulu Natal. The White Elephant is the most diverse and unique safari destination in South Africa offering true water and land based safari options as well as conservation and research programs. The White Elephant consists of various self catering options including The Bush Camp which is an exclusive use, self catering camp suited for a group of up 16 guests and The Cottage which is great for small families of up to 4 guests. We are passionate about conservation and offer a superb Black Rhino conservation experience, as well as a fascinating Elephant research activity. We also offer the conventional activities such as game drives, educational bush walks and incredible boat cruises on Lake Jozini. These varied activities as well as the chance of catching tiger fish and superb bird watching possibilities; make us a truly unique South African Safari experience.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Canoeing
Hiking
Airport transportation
Gift shop
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Fishing
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Afrikaans, German and 1 more

Location

Full view
Contact
Farm Leeuwspoor, Pongola Game Reserve South, Pongola 3170 South Africa
Getting there
King Shaka Intl Airport157 miSee all flights
Zulu Inyala Airport38 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
138Reviews4Q+A26Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 115
  • 17
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
TrickIsToEnjoyLife wrote a review Oct 21
Richards Bay, South Africa39 contributions23 helpful votes
We stayed in tent #6 and being familiar with Africamps, we knew what to expect. The tents have everything you need, and what is great is that you could buy ice, wood and a few bits on site by means of an honesty system. Our host, Lorraine, was lovely and friendly. All the staff are great and very friendly in fact. We enjoyed a river cruise one morning with ranger Eric. We saw a variety of wild animals and birds from the boat. It is a GREAT way to explore the park. The monkeys are little terrorists and quite hungry, so listen to the host's instructions and ensure you really close your tent properly before leaving. In fact, I suggest you ask the staff to close it on your behalf as they really have a few clever tricks to ensure the monkeys won't be able to sneak in. We had Nyala and Impala buck grazing around us - really lovely. We can really recommend Africamps White Elephant!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Meerkat Portfolio wrote a review Oct 10
Durban, South Africa100 contributions14 helpful votes
What a top spot bordering the beautiful and legendary tiger fishing destination, Jozini dam. 5 star self catering safari tents with a built in braai area on your own deck with a "donkey" hot tub outside too! All this while inside the Pongola reserve, with Girafffes and plains game in your view! The tents are spaced nicely which is a huge bonus so that you can enjoy your privacy. Friendly staff welcome you to this fantastic travel destination and unique experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Get there for sunset on day one. Spectacular!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Loots, General Manager at White Elephant Safaris
Responded 1 week ago
Dear AntWillo, Thank you so much for the kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope you took lots of photos to remember your trip by. We hope to see you return soon. Warm Regards Stephanie
Read more
Iaine M wrote a review Jan 2020
Howick, South Africa16 contributions4 helpful votes
My wife and i spent an incredible extended weekend here. the facilities are amazing and the although very hot all the time the rooms have fans and air conditioners.The game viewing is incredible.The fishing is great.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Get up early before the heat of the day to enjoy game viewing.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Loots, General Manager at White Elephant Safaris
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Iainemeyer, Thank you for your review. We are so happy when guests are happy. Tip: Autumn is the best time of the year to come! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Stephanie
Read more
Culture631095 wrote a review Jul 2019
5 contributions
Myself and my buddy took the Umkaya lodge for 4 days. We were made welcome the moment we set foot in the place. We were offered advice when we needed it and left to do our own thing otherwise. There is a lot of experience to be had between the game and the fishing and we tried the lot. Great laughs and good people.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: All accommodation differs and you must choose to suit your circumstances. But you do have choice
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from WhiteElephan, Marketing Manager at White Elephant Safaris
Responded Jul 31, 2019
Good Day, Thank you very much for the review. Umkhaya Cottage is a great option for guests that want to be left to do their thing like you said. Its great that you did all the activities. We hope you will return in the future. Warm White Elephant Regards Stephanie Loots
Read more
SueHux wrote a review Jul 2019
London, United Kingdom12 contributions10 helpful votes
We absolutely loved this place (me, hubby and kids of 18&16) and would quite happily have stayed for longer. The setting was beautiful, the accommodation was stunning, food great, service even better and activities fantastic - made more so by our guide Adriaan. We had 3 6.30am starts that the kids didn't even complain about!! We saw so much (unfortunately not the leopard!) and learnt so much from Adriaan, who was a mountain of information. We loved the safari drives and even more so the boat trips to see the hippos, crocs and white rhinos up close, but the highlight has to be the boat trip to find the elephants - which we did - all 43 of them!!! This was magical - thanks also go to Suzette for this trip. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this wonderful place, and intend to revisit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from WhiteElephan, Marketing Manager at White Elephant Safaris
Responded Jul 29, 2019
Dear Susan, Wow what a fabulous review, we appreciate so much that you took the time to tell others about your experience at White Elephant. We are so happy that you had such a great time and make a bucket load of family memories. We hope to see you again in the future. Warm White Elephant Regards Stephanie Loots Marketing Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$71 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalZululandPongola
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about White Elephant Safaris
What are some of the property amenities at White Elephant Safaris?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at White Elephant Safaris?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at White Elephant Safaris?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at White Elephant Safaris?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does White Elephant Safaris have an airport shuttle?
Yes, White Elephant Safaris offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at White Elephant Safaris?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Afrikaans, and Zulu.