We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
501 McAdoo St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901-2716
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$240
Booking.com$240
Priceline$240
Travelocity$240
Vio.com$240
Orbitz.com$240
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (379)
Dining (39)
Room & Suite (39)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 13 hotels in Truth or Consequences
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.9
Value
4.6
Travelers' Choice
Featured in National Geographic Traveler as one of '150 Hotels You'll Love' Sierra Grande offers visitors delightful accommodations in a luxurious atmosphere. A full-service spa designed to maximize the healing and relaxation benefits of the naturally healing hot spring waters that the property rests atop. All overnight stays and spa treatments include complimentary private hot spring soaks. A complimentary deluxe hot breakfast in The Restaurant is included with every night stay. Visitors of Sierra Grande are encouraged to explore nearby Ted Turner Reserves, Ladder and Armendaris, which feature unlimited opportunities to connect with nature through hiking, mountain biking and touring these vast preserves. See the American bison, pronghorn, oryx, javelina and more. Learn about conservation efforts on these lands to restore the Mexican gray wolf, Bolson tortoise, Chiricahua leopard frog and bighorn sheep. May through September offers the opportunity to experience Armendaris' awe-inspiring nightly bat flight from the Jornada Lava Field Bat Caves. Sierra Grande welcomes you to connect with nature in Southern New Mexico.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Boating
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Hiking
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Walking tours
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Massage
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quiet
995Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 785
  • 158
  • 35
  • 12
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
The Jolly R wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
My husband and I visited Sierra Grande the day after Christmas. It was sunny and warm in TNC. The spa was heavenly. The staff were accommodating and kind. Hot coffee and tea were at the ready for us. Breakfast on the veranda was so beautiful watching the birds play in the trees. Sitting in the sun on the grounds talking and relaxing was just what we needed after a busy holiday. We can't wait to get back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lindsay Curry, Marketing at Sierra Grande
Responded Jan 2, 2023
You have painted such a wonderful picture of Sierra Grande. We are thrilled you were able to enjoy some relaxation at our Southern New Mexico wellness gem, and would love to welcome you back in the New Year.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Guanyu wrote a review Dec 2022
Bellevue, Washington57 contributions39 helpful votes
We spent 1 night in the hotel and enjoyed it. There're several improvement that could be made, and it's on the pricier side among other options, but in general it's still one of the best hotels in ToC. Pros: 1. We love the outside hot spring. Personally l think it's better than the in room ones. 2. Near to everything, but honestly ToC is a small town and it's just easy to walk from anywhere to anywhere. 3. Room is clean and lovely with balcony and a bathtub. Cons: 1. Restaurant not opened yet. Probably due to that, the breakfast is really mediocre. It's not bad but the choice are so limited. 2. I hope the room can be brighter, and the aromatherapy smell can be lighter.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lindsay Curry, Marketing at Sierra Grande
Responded Jan 2, 2023
We are so happy to have had you to our wellness retreat - thank you for your review! You are correct - our restaurant officially reopens fully this month, and we are excited to again be offering dinner service to travelers and locals alike. We hope to see you again in 2023.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne C wrote a review Dec 2022
The stay was nice. Rooms are very comfy and open. Little disappointed with the continental breakfast, it was boring. Spa area was very nice and the hot soak was awesome outside. Overall was very enjoyable!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: All rooms are upstairs.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lindsay Curry, Marketing at Sierra Grande
Responded Jan 2, 2023
We are happy you enjoyed a relaxing time at Sierra Grande - the soaks are wonderfully healing and we are glad you were able to enjoy them. We are sorry you did not find the complimentary breakfast to your liking - we try to have a few hot items (oatmeal/eggs) in addition to the standard continental offerings of coffee/tea, pastries, yogurt/granola, but would value any thoughts on items we could improve to make it more enjoyable. Have a beautiful New Year - we hope to see you again in 2023!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Luis L wrote a review Nov 2022
Kinda of a rustic experience. It was very nice. I hope to make another trip there but probably try the full spa treatment.. I would really recommend anyone looking for a hot springs experience to try Sierra Grande out. My spouse really enjoyed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lindsay Curry, Marketing at Sierra Grande
Responded Nov 4, 2022
Thank you, Luis - we are so glad you had the opportunity to experience Sierra Grande's hot springs, and do hope you return for a full spa experience in the future - our therapists are amazing! It really is such a wonderful couples retreat.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rose H wrote a review Oct 2022
If you are not familiar with this area, Truth or Consequences is a small town west of Alamogordo, New Mexico and an hour drive South of Las Cruces. We visited a Ted Turner hotel, Sierra Grande Lodge, enjoyed Hot Springs and SPA Treatments with Liz. Liz is an amazing therapist, listens to your needs and knows exactly how to help you relax with her techniques and make the knots go away.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lindsay Curry, Marketing at Sierra Grande
Responded Nov 5, 2022
We are so happy you enjoyed your spa time! There is truly something special about the healing waters of Truth or Consequences' hot springs and we are fortunate to be able to provide this opportunity to allow visitors to connect with nature in such a wonderful, rejuvenating way. We have shared your feedback with Liz - always nice to receive positive feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BT105 wrote a review Oct 2022
Grand Rapids, Michigan251 contributions130 helpful votes
+1
We stayed in the casita, and it had pros and cons. The pros, it is large. The main bedroom has a king bed, private bath with a mineral soaking tub or a shower, The second bedroom on the opposite side of the house, has a quuen bed with private bath of a walk in shower, but poor shower head for a shower of that size. In between there is a large living room with a sleep sofa, a love seat desk, fireplace and TV. There is also a TV in each bedroom. The kitchen has everything you need a full size fridge, stove, microwave, coffe pot, toaster and blender, along with dishes, pots, pans silverware and the dining room has a small round table with seating for 4. You have your own parking, and gated yard so all private. The yard is large with an outdoor mineral bath that will seat 4, a porch with furniture, firepit and another area for sitting. The spa was delighful, the private bathing rooms are so nice, as are those that work there. It is a treat and relaxing. Make sure to walk behind the main building and take the stairs tothe top, the views are wonderful and the area well manicured, The cons, as far as the casita, the quirkiness of having to walk up hill (the house settled on one side quite a bit since building in the 1940's) to the kitchen is just that a quirk, so not bothersome. But it does not appear to be truely clean. The shelves that hold the dishes and glasses were very dusty, the bowl on top of the fridge, which could be used for mixing or salad, was dusty and greasy. As was some furniture, the tops get dusted but not the legs of furniture which with build up over time shows. I would not use any dish, glass etc unless washed first as one relies that the prior visitor did a good job (there is no dishwasher) and like I said lots of dust. The counter in the kitchen needs updating. Although it is suppose to go with the time era, it has seen better days. The bathrooms need painting, lots of chipped paint on the cabinet and walls. Although it does not make it dirty, when paying that much money, the areas should be kept up to date and the exhaust fans have not been cleaned in months. There are 3 airconditioners in the casita, which is nice on hot days, but at night the noise level is high, perhaps central air would be better. As the restaurant is closed they are offering a buffett in the morning, but the same thing everyday, scrambled eggs, with bacon bits, cheese and a flour tortilla, along with a muffin, I belive blueberry, apple or orange. coffee, tea and oatmeal. For those spending some time if the egg dish was varied to a omelet or frittata and as opposed to an apple or orange some mixed cut fruit. Then there is recycling, they only recycle cardboard, we asked about cans, bottles and they do not recycle them. Being a Ted Turner property who is about conservation, one would think they would recycle. Then the sitting area outdoors that has the netting, the netting is not useful when there are two holes so large a person could walk through them. Since the bugs are so bad at night the netting would be useful but with holes of that size it was wasted. Some of this maybe considered nitpicking, but they consider themselves a 4 star property, with dirt, holes, noisy a/c, large paint chips and the same daily breakfast, it is not 4 star.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lindsay Curry, Marketing at Sierra Grande
Responded Nov 5, 2022
We are truly happy to hear you enjoyed your time at our spa, and are appreciative of your feedback on the Casita, which we will use to review processes and opportunities with our servicing and engineering teams. We are also appreciative of your passion for recycling. While unfortunately there are limitations to recycling within our city, at Sierra Grande, we do haul a considerable amount of recyclables to facilities outside the area to ensure we are doing our part to Save Everything. We hope you will visit us again on your next trip south - we would love to welcome you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kat S wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions
The lodge is beautiful, peaceful and healing. The soaks are amazing. The spa treatments were absolutely miraculous. This is the most healing and just astounding place I heave ever had the pleasure to find. It has become our family’s favorite spot yo return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lori B wrote a review May 2022
Grand Rapids, Michigan18 contributions1 helpful vote
The nicest hotel in T and C. Comfortable beds, big bathtub in the room if you wanted to soak even more. I loved the lavender bath products. Great customer service. No elevator but they will help you bring up your bags. Cute outdoor area for sitting and watching the sunset. The hot spring bath is so blissful. Staff gives you iced water to drink while relaxing.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Our room was quiet and at the top of the stairs
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tim M wrote a review Apr 2022
Phoenix, Arizona46 contributions8 helpful votes
We were unsure in booking this place because there seemed to be other similar resorts in Truth or Consequences with hot springs near the river. I've not visited those but never had a second thought once we arrived. The room was gorgeous, location was a beautiful oasis, friendly staff, overall a wonderful experience and surprisingly high value for the money. I usually avoid paying more than ~$120/night but more experiences like this could change my mind. The level of comfort made it worthwhile. We were disappointed that the restaurant is not open and were worried about breakfast, but breakfast exceeded expectations and was probably our best meal during our holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mike M wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Everything was perfect. Easy reservations, accessible and friendly staff, clean room and beautiful area and views! The rock garden was a nice place to relax at sunset. Would definitely like to visit again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$181 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sierra grande hotel truth or consequences, sierra grande lodge and spa
LOCATION
United StatesNew MexicoSierra CountyTruth or Consequences
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SIERRA GRANDE $158 ($̶2̶2̶2̶) - Prices & Hotel Reviews - Truth or Consequences, NM

Frequently Asked Questions about Sierra Grande
Which popular attractions are close to Sierra Grande?
Nearby attractions include Geronimo Springs Museum (0.2 miles), Truth or Consequences Brewing Co. (0.1 miles), and Hot Springs Bathhouse Historic and Commercial District (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sierra Grande?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Sierra Grande?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sierra Grande?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sierra Grande?
Conveniently located restaurants include Passion Pie Cafe, The Grapevine Bistro, and The Restaurant at Sierra Grande.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sierra Grande?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does Sierra Grande offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Does Sierra Grande have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Sierra Grande accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.