We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Monte Sagrado

Save
Share
317 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571-6405
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$359
Hotels.com$359
Tripadvisor$359
travelup.com
Priceline$359
Trip.com$384
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (975)
360
Panoramas (3)
Room & Suite (283)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 12 hotels in Taos
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Just three blocks from Taos Plaza, El Monte Sagrado Living Resort and Spa offers a secluded yet indulgent sanctuary. In harmonious coexistence with its natural setting, El Monte Sagrado is surrounded by towering mountains and rustic high desert, sunlit, fish-filled streams, tropical flora and the sounds of calming waterfalls. Guests are inspired by the nurturing ambiance and mystique of the resort.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Center with Internet Access
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
1582Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 920
  • 319
  • 177
  • 100
  • 66
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
SuzyQu15 wrote a review Oct 2021
Brooklyn, New York1374 contributions421 helpful votes
This is a beautiful property and grounds, but there were definitely some issues which we were told were due to staffing shortages after the pandemic. Our room was clean and lovely, with its fireplace and balcony and very large bathroom. Daily housekeeping was provided, perhaps you had to request it, which we did. Ample towels and amenities were provided. The beautiful pool area was open during our stay; again, this may be erratic. It’s about a 10 minute walk into the town with shops and restaurants. They do provide a shuttle service to and from, which we found very convenient. We simply called and within minutes were taken or picked up in town. With adequate staffing and management, this would again be a top notch property.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Harney, Other at El Monte Sagrado
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds, clean rooms, and amenities. We apologize for the lack of staff at the moment, but please known that we are working diligently to rebuild our team. We appreciate your support and honesty and we would love another chance to impress you in the future.
Read more
Greg B wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Although the grounds of this premier hotel are beautiful, and the southwestern decor of the rooms is attractive, the management of this pricey inn leaves a lot to be desired. Like other travelers have mentioned, there is no daily housekeeping service. This fact is not disclosed when booking or when checking into your room. We were also not told about a large wedding party in the green space 25 feet from our room. The noise from the wedding party went on unabated until past midnight. Because of the wedding and lack of parking space, all guests must use valet parking. In the morning when we needed our car, there was no valet to unblock our car. It took management a half hour to find a maintenance person to unblock our valet-parked car. Too many needless problems for a hotel room costing more than $450 per night.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask about any planned special events that may be staged in areas outside your room.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Harney, Other at El Monte Sagrado
Responded Oct 24, 2021
We are deeply sorry that your experience with us was not a positive one. We apologize for the lack of housekeeping and the noise issue with the wedding. We never desire for a guest to be disturbed by another guest and we make every effort to provide the best care that we can for all reservations. We also are very sorry for the issue with parking. We understand your frustration and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We understand that this stay was not one to remember, but we truly appreciate your honest feedback as this will help us to become our very best. We will share your concerns with our staff and we hope you will give us another chance to impress you in the future with our improvements.
Read more
arowe53 wrote a review Oct 2021
Portland, Oregon42 contributions15 helpful votes
This is a beautiful hotel and property, with nice grounds, a beautiful restaurant and bar. Unfortunately the restaurant and bar were closed during our visit as well as the spa. This should have been pointed out on the website when we booked. We had a king suite which was high priced but somewhat of a disappointment. Overall, the hotel rooms are in need of some improvements and maintenance.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Harney, Other at El Monte Sagrado
Responded Oct 23, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed our property and grounds, but we apologize that the restaurant and spa were closed during your stay and that this was not better communicated before your arrival. We appreciate your honest feedback about improvements and maintenance as this will help us to become our very best! We will share your review with our staff and we would love another shot to impress you in the future.
Read more
Nicole R wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Was looking forward to our first get away since Covid. Upon check in we were informed that the restaurant, bar, and spa were all closed. These closures are not listed on the website or included in their pre check in email sent about 3 days before arrive. Limited spa hours are listed on the website but even those aren't accurate. I'm trying to be understanding with covid and lack of workers but these closures should have been communicated before arrival so that we could have packed additional food, snacks, beverages, plates, cutlery etc. Especially since all the marketing materials (even the magazine sitting in the room) focus on the amazing food and spa. Showing up to everything closed felt very much like a "gotcha". On top of that, the pool was drained the first day we were there, didn't know that until we showed up in our bathing suites. The grounds were nice and potentially could be a nice place, just unfortunately we didn't get to experience the whole package but we paid for it. I'm not sure why we had to pay a resort fee when only the gym was available.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Harney, Other at El Monte Sagrado
Responded Oct 22, 2021
We are extremely sorry that your experience with us was not a positive one. We sincerely apologize for the lack of some amenities at the moment and that these closures were not communicated to you before your arrival. We understand your frustration and we really are deeply sorry for the disappointment and inconvenience. We appreciate your understanding about the impact of covid, but please know that we are working diligently to rebuild our staff and get back to the care and accommodations that we are known and loved for. We, again, are very sorry that this experience with us was not one to remember, but we would love another opportunity to impress you in the future with our improvements.
Read more
Philip wrote a review Oct 2021
Las Cruces, New Mexico1 contribution
I saw they had availability on their website mid-week at $247/night so I called the front desk and it’s $309. They failed to mention the “resort fee” so 2 nights was $750.00 total even though spa, restaurant, bar were closed at the hotel. I provided feedback to the text I got about the customer service and got the usual response- “we hope you come back”Beautiful property as others have mentioned.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Harney, Other at El Monte Sagrado
Responded Oct 16, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very sorry to hear that your experience with us did not provide the service and value that you had hoped for, but we are working diligently to rebuild our staff and get back to the care and accommodations we are known for. We appreciate your honest feedback and we would love another opportunity to impress you in the future with our improvements.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$154 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
el monte sagrado hotel taos, el monte sagrado taos
LOCATION
United StatesNew MexicoTaos CountyTaos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
84
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about El Monte Sagrado
Which popular attractions are close to El Monte Sagrado?
Nearby attractions include Taos Art Museum (0.6 miles), Twirl (0.6 miles), and Kit Carson Home & Museum (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at El Monte Sagrado?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at El Monte Sagrado?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at El Monte Sagrado?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at El Monte Sagrado?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to El Monte Sagrado?
Conveniently located restaurants include Aji Restaurant, La Cueva Cafe, and Lambert's of Taos.
Are there opportunities to exercise at El Monte Sagrado?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does El Monte Sagrado have an airport shuttle?
Yes, El Monte Sagrado offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is El Monte Sagrado located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Taos.
Are any cleaning services offered at El Monte Sagrado?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at El Monte Sagrado?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.