We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Thakadu River Camp

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Thakadu River Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 208: English reviews
Heidelberg/ Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our two days at Thakadu River Camp were very exciting:we saw alot of game (the big five), the food was outstanding and the staff qulified,, nice and very helpful.The stting of the camp is astonishing, the tents equipment of very high standard. The game drives were very interesting with qualified rangers.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hannelorevolkerbende
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was not our first stay in Madikwe. We have done various stays those past 2 years in different lodges. The place is very nice, quiet and the road to get there puts you in a good atmosphere (although you need a SUV). The food was good also, the proposed wines could be of a better level on the suggested... More 

Helpful?
Thank Citlali76
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 4 nights and all I can say is "fantastic" the lodge was very well run and all the staff were lovely. Great food, probably too much and nothing too much trouble. The accommodation was very clean, comfortable, with all the little extras you appreciate and electric blanket was a nice touch as it was rather chilly at... More 

Helpful?
Thank markbarge
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Markbarge Thank you for your positive review. It is always a bonus to hear our guests expectations were met. We hope to host you again as returning guests to Thakadu River Camp. More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As a family of four it is often a challenge to find the best private lodge that caters well for children and is professional yet casual. Thakadu certainly excels at achieving this balance. We had an amazing stay with great game viewing with our terrific and incredibly knowledgable guide, Gerry. Great food. Thanks to Precious, Boytumelo and the rest of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sportshortt
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Mr Sportshortt and family. It was a pleasure hosting your family. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and your game drives with Gerry. We would gladly receive your friends and hope to welcome you back as returning guests to Thakadu River Camp in the future. More 

Pretoria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A beautiful piece of heaven in the bush. The tents are lovely and comfortable, and the food for our whole stay there was excellent. The chef tries to cater for all dietary requirements, for those who have allergies or intolerance to certain foods. The staff, especially Precious, are friendly and welcoming, and nothing that I asked of them was too... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer W
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer W It was a pleasure hosting you and we are excited to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Thakadu River Camp. More 

Velddrif, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

had a really pleasant stay. Needed some special time off and that's what we had. Good accommodation, good food and friendly staff. Very friendly and nothing was too much. Duncan the driver / guide was very good and went out of his way to make our stay an experience.

Helpful?
Thank frank328
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Frank It was a pleasure hosting the two of you. We are glad that you did relaxed ands enjoyed the stay with us. We are looking forward to receive you back as returning guests to Thakadu River Camp. More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

The rooms and the general area need some maintenance. DO NOT drive to this facility if you down have a 4x4. The roads to the gate entrance is bad...which as public rod most of the way. However from the turnoff to the Ricercamp the road condition deteriorates. But wait until you get to the gate. It is horrendous and I... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank christo v
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear Christo v It was a pleasure hosting the three of you. Please except our apologies for the condition of the road. The road was badly damaged during the flood in March 2016. We in the process of negotiating with contractors and hope that road works will start soon. We did start with maintenance and repair work to rooms and... More 

Johannesburg
Level Contributor
137 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

Very nice tented luxury camp, 3.5 hour drive from Johannesburg (via Sun City, 50 km sand roads, no 4x4 needed). The service is very good, staff and manager very friendly. Tents specious with veranda. 2 game drives / day, Highly recommended

Helpful?
1 Thank NikiAustria
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear NikiAustria It was a pleasure hosting you. Great to see that you enjoyed your stay at Thakadu River Camp. We are looking forward to receive you back as returning guests. More 

Alblasserdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016

We went to Thakadu River Camp in March and had an amazing time. Everything was perfect!! Verry nice, friendly and relaxt staff, verry good food and plenty of gamedrives with an amazing guide. I would give Thakadu a 10 out of 10.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank pieterd355
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear pieterd355 Thank you for your review. We are delighted to see that you have enjoyed your safari experience with us. We are looking forward to host you as returning guests at Thakadu River Camp. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016

Staff not suitably qualified to manage a 4 Star Bush Lodge. Very disappointing service considering the money that was spent. Bad attitude towards South African guests. Very little sightings of wildlife.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jochen S
Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review

Dear jst933 Thank you for your review. Please except my apologies that your expectation were not met. We value all our guests regardless of nationality. Kind Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

253 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (253)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (168)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
11.2 mi away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
12.5 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
3.1 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#2 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
2.5 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
3.2 mi away
Jamala Madikwe
Jamala Madikwe
#1 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Thakadu River Camp

Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: $272 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Thakadu River Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Thakadu River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thakadu River Camp Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay