We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ravineside Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 52: English reviews
Start your review of Ravineside Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were fortunate to spend two incredible nights in Entabeni Ravenside lodge. Our driver Royale was fantastic on all fronts, Anton the GM gave us a warm welcome and was a good sport all around. Bianca was great at tending to our little one and Eugene did a great job helping us when we need. The food was good and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morgan C
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Ravineside Lodge at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Morgan C Thank you for sharing your experience at Ravineside Lodge with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the friendly service and food. We will pass on your message to the Ravineside Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Leuven, Belgium
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First of all: the Waterberg area is beautiful! Entabeni means 'place of the mountain' and the Private Game Reserve has different lodges in this marvellous landscape. Extra's are: this is a malaria free safari area, and close to Johannesburg. Attention: in local winter season it can be cold here! In 2008 I stayed with my family at the Entabeni Wildsite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SielVdD
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Ravineside Lodge at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Good day SielVdD, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are heartened to read that your overall Entabeni experience was a positive one, and that your main concerns lay with the lodge itself. Ravineside is, as you say, different to our other camps due to its layout and more isolated feel. We apologise that your room’s...

Lephalale, South Africa
Reviewed January 9, 2017

We received warm welcome when we arrived. The room is comfortable, spacious and peaceful, I love the fact that there is no TV, I was just enjoying hearing the sound of birds and amazing view. Our Ranger Mashudu is very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the game drives and there are lot of animals compare to other game reserves.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank phillism2017
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Ravineside Lodge at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Phillism2017 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Ravineside Lodge. We are heartened to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the wildlife and excellent service. We will be sure to pass on your comments to Mashudu and the rest of the Ravineside Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Mokopane
Reviewed January 2, 2017

Ravineside Lodge at Entabeni is highly overpriced and very disappointing. The facilities are old, unkept and dirty. The food and service is less than average. There are many other lodges in the area that offer a lot more value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yolandie K
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Yolandie K, We are disheartened to read that you did not enjoy your time with us at Ravineside Lodge. Whilst Ravineside is one of the older lodges on the property, it has recently undergone an upgrade to its facilities and interiors and has received a number of positive reviews since. We have however escalated your comments to Executive Management...

Randburg, South Africa
Reviewed December 30, 2016

The public roads to the area up to about 20 Km from the gate are fine but from there on they are gravel and in very poor condition with a number of dangerous holes in darainage pipes crossing the road. It is also poorly signposted to both the upper and lower camps and a number of foreign gusts we met...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimhA891ZR
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear kimhA891ZR Thank you for taking the time to review our lodges. We thank you for your positive comments and have passed those on to Management to share with their teams. We welcome constructive comments as we feel they can only assist us in bettering our service delivery, and thank you for taking your time to send us yours. The...

Reviewed December 28, 2016

What an entrance, in the middle of the wild. Very nice cottages next to a ravine, we saw elephants and giraffes when we woke up on the other side. Excellent service from ranger Eugene and the other staff!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luco O
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Luco O Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Ravineside Lodge. We are heartened to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the wildlife and excellent service. We will be sure to pass on your comments to Eugene and the rest of the Ravineside Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed November 27, 2016

We enjoyed our stay very much and even saw a leopard! Our main comment is that the layout of the Ravineside guests area and restaurant to our opinion is totally wrong: none of these areas offer a view over Entabeni's main asset: the plain with the animals (dubbed the Serengeti). All the rooms that overlook the plain are currently occupied...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dick H
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Dick H Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Ravineside Lodge. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, especially the Leopard sighting. We have passed on your comments to Management and would like to thank you for your constructive feedback. We hope to welcome you back again in the...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed November 21, 2016

On our arrival nobody assisted us with our luggage. Then just before 14:00 we proceed to the restaurant and the food was already packed away except for the salads which remained. Once returned the food was a meagre compilation with the two meat dishes being pork and beef short ribs. Both dry and untasteful and the firs time ever that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hendrikferreira
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day Mr Ferreira, Thank you for your review. We understand from our booking system that you in fact stayed at Lakeside and not Ravineside Lodge. Having investigated the matter we would like to provide you with some feedback. Our apologies for the delay in coming back to you on this matter. The lack of assistance with your luggage has...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed November 15, 2016

The arrival was good . Food in general is not good. The high tea is dismal and I understand there are flies but it is not ok that there is no deterrent for them. The staff are ok not amazingly friendly. The game drive was so fast it felt like a roller coaster ride and the only reason we found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharna D
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sharna D, Having read your review we are most dismayed to see that your time with us was not the Legendary experience we strive to create for all our guests. We apologise that this was the case for you. We can however assure you this is not the norm and that corrective action is being taken against the team...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed November 8, 2016

Ravineside is well run yet laid back, that made our stay very relaxing. There is no fence around the camp so animals may come inside the camp - which made it quite exciting. The rooms share a communal living room with a fridge/freeze. They offer 2 lengthy game drives per day. The swimming pool offers welcome relief on the hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank devilliers
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear devilliers Thank you for sharing your 'peaceful bush retreat' with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, especially the safaris, accommodations and welcoming pool. We will be sure to pass on your great compliments to Gibson and the rest of the Ravineside Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entabeni Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
42 reviews
7.5 mi away
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
#1 of 1 in Entabeni Game Reserve
229 reviews
9.8 mi away
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
#1 of 16 in Mookgophong
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ranger Camp
Ranger Camp
#6 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
8 reviews
20.2 mi away
Jembisa Bush Home
Jembisa Bush Home
#3 of 36 in Vaalwater
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Matingwe Lodge
Matingwe Lodge
#13 of 36 in Vaalwater
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ravineside Lodge comprises tranquil thatched wooden lodges on stilts with magnificent views. Each lodge has 3 or 4 luxury en-suite bedrooms with an African ethnic theme. A private open-plan lounge and bar area extends to the open sundecks. From here guests may indulge in bird and game watching and experience the beauty of the ravine with the rippling sound of water far down in the valley. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ravineside Lodge

Address: Sterkrivier Rd | Upper Escarpment, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Entabeni Game Reserve
Price Range: $120 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravineside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Ravineside Hotel Entabeni Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Ravineside Lodge staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Los Angeles, California
7 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ravineside Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The mattresses need to be replaced. The showerhead (which is in the bath) should be replaced. The fan should be replaced. The wood needs to be maintained (sanded down and varnished).”
 of 5 bubbles y0landiek, Jan 2, 2017 | Read review
“A TV set in the room would be nice, especially because there is not much to do between the early morning and late afternoon game drives. For a 4-star game reserve it is remarkable that there are no TV's (except for 1 TV in the main bar).”
 of 5 bubbles dickh856, Nov 27, 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room closest to the reception area because a lot of rooms are situated a distance from the amenities.”
 of 5 bubbles hendrikferreira, Nov 21, 2016 | Read review
“Enjoy the view!!”
 of 5 bubbles MarykevdWalt, Sep 26, 2016 | Read review
“Our room was on the end which seemed a little bigger than the average room”
 of 5 bubbles vivetm2017, Sep 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question