We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
9/3/2017 9/4/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Simbavati Hilltop Lodge

    Mbali Farm, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
    Hotel website
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    9/3/2017 9/4/2017
    Traveler (381)
    Room & Suite (60)
    Dining (18)
    Overview
    • Excellent82%
    • Very good14%
    • Average2%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible1%
    Travelers talk about
    “the river” (20 reviews)
    “day bed” (6 reviews)
    “guide nelson” (4 reviews)
    Free Internet
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Airport Transportation
    Family Rooms
    Bar/Lounge
    Multilingual Staff
    Laundry Service
    5.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
    Special Offer: BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST DEAL
    Deals (5)
    Sep 3Sep 4
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Kapama Buffalo Camp
    399 reviews
    #2 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
     
    Kapama River Lodge
    1,720 reviews
    #4 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
     
    Kapama Southern Camp
    597 reviews
    #3 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
     
    Kapama Karula
    437 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (205)
    Traveler rating
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    1 - 5 of 169 reviews

    Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

    Planning a Safari in Africa can be a little intimidating if you have never been. We were hoping for a Luxury Tented experience, Good Game viewing and hospitality. We received so much more than ever expected at Simbavati. Our server, Andrew, was amazing on memorizing...More

    Thank robynpanderson
    Reviewed 4 days ago

    Amazing lodge with stunning views. Very luxurious tented property, attentive staff and wonderful food. Our guide Shaddy and tracker Daniel were wonderful, they worked very hard to spot the big 5 which we managed and even found us a family of wild dogs with 9...More

    1  Thank Danelle221
    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    Simbavati Hilltop is our 3rd stop on our 11 stop Safari for 2017. This is a great Lodge. Super modern, great design of luxury tents overlooking a pond with noisy but happy Hippos! Service from our personal butler, Velly was fantastic! The management team led...More

    1  Thank ShanghaiArnie
    Response from Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati Hilltop LodgeResponded 6 days ago

    Dear ShanghaiArnie Thank you for the lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed our lodge and our hospitality. It is a pity that the wild life experience on our game drives were not the best during your stay. There are no fences between the Timbavati...More

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    Beautiful lodge, great lodge staff. Unfortunately good accommodation does not make up for under average game viewing. Game vehicles are not allowed to drive on most of the reserve & queue at sightingsMore

    Thank Joppel
    Response from Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati Hilltop LodgeResponded 2 weeks ago

    Dear Joppel Thank you for the review, we value all feedback. We are sorry that you did not get to experience the best of the wildlife. There are no fences between the Timbavati and the Kruger National Park allowing the animals to roam freely and...More

    Reviewed 5 weeks ago

    We stayed in the Hilltop Lodge for three nights and could not have wanted for anything while we were there. The staff and service was excellent and the tracker and guide were knowledgeable and enthusiastic about showing us the wildlife of South Africa. In between...More

    Thank Aisling122
    Response from Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati Hilltop LodgeResponded 2 weeks ago

    Dear Aisling122 Thank you for the kind words in your review. It was our pleasure to treat you to a memorable safari. We are glad you enjoyed our lodge and all it had to offer and we hope you will come back and visit us...More

    Kapama Buffalo Camp
    399 reviews
    #2 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
     
    Kapama River Lodge
    1,720 reviews
    #4 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
     
    Kapama Southern Camp
    597 reviews
    #3 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
     
    Kapama Karula
    437 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Internet
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Airport Transportation
    • Breakfast included
    • Laundry Service
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • $1,023 - $1,166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 8
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Simbavati Hilltop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • Kruger National Park >
    • Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
    • Also Known As
    • Simbavati Hilltop Lodge South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveler (381)
    Room & Suite (60)
    Dining (18)
    Pool & Beach (15)
    Hotel & Grounds (287)
    Bathroom (16)
    Family and Play Areas (5)
    Business Center & Event Rooms (1)
    Nearby
    Sponsored by:
    Kapama River Lodge
    1,720 reviews
    25.03 miles away
     
    Kapama Buffalo Camp
    399 reviews
    25.50 miles away
     
    Kapama Southern Camp
    597 reviews
    23.50 miles away
     
    Kapama Karula
    437 reviews
    22.61 miles away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Buffalo Pub & Grill
    222 reviews
    23.86 miles away
    The Hat & Creek - Hoedspruit
    410 reviews
    27.34 miles away
    Bushveld Terrace Hotel - Restaurant
    53 reviews
    22.86 miles away
    Cala la Pasta Italian Restaurant and Pizzeria
    285 reviews
    27.36 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Camp Jabulani Elephant Experience
    74 reviews
    20.19 miles away
    Bushbaby Adventures
    13 reviews
    20.64 miles away
    Game drives at Phalaborwa Gate in Kruger National Park
    211 reviews
    23.69 miles away
    Amarula Lapa
    70 reviews
    25.08 miles away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    johnniebdover
    August 15, 2017|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from Simbavati | Property representative |
    Hi Johnniebd We are in a Malaria Free Area. We do however supply our guests with a moisture lotion in the tents to help protect you from the mosquitoes and we recommend that you put this on during game drives and at night... More
    1
    Vote
    gramma-Jill-S
    July 23, 2017|
    Answer
    Response from Anya778 | Reviewed this property |
    Yes. There is a small pool.
    1
    Vote
    johnniebdover
    June 21, 2017|
    Answer
    Response from Simbavati | Property representative |
    They are only a couple of km away, however they are not walking distance away and you are not able to see one lodge from the other because of the trees, grass and bushes. On your game drive your guide might take you past... More
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "rooms 4-7 give you an unobstructed view of the Hippos!"
    Read review
    "Excellent Views in all rooms-beware of the loud hippos!"
    Read review
    "We had room 1. A lot of the game that traveled through the camp walks in front of this tent."
    Read review
    "All rooms offer great luxury and views"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing