We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Baluleni Safari Lodge

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Baluleni Safari Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 41: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent two nights in mid June. Accommodation comfortable but the bar fridge could be better stocked. Good balcony view of river bank in distance. Food was good and varied. Hospitality good. We were very disappointed with the evening river boat trip which was a total rip-off at R1900 per couple. Dinner was appalling - no snacks, starters, no complementary... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank paulz174
BaluleniHoedspruit, Owner at Baluleni Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for rating us 4 stars in your review. You gave a low score for sleep quality, while sleeping on a 2m long queen size bed with a three month old Restassured hotel mattress, which is rated 5 stars by the hotel industry. We stock bar fridges with basics and ask guests to tell us if they... More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in the luxury tent and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was so spacious and we loved sitting on the large patio I front. Elke and Evert eat outside every night around a fire in the boma and it is really fun. The food was wonderful and we felt very welcome there. Our game drive was a bit disappointing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Summer115
BaluleniHoedspruit, Owner at Baluleni Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Summer115, Thank you for visiting Baluleni, we enjoyed your company and hope to meet you one day again. Evert and Elke More 

Boksburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016

Hospitality great; quarters neat and clean; food outstanding; environment peaceful and tranquil and i don't know what else to say to make up the 200 minimum words. im not someone for long stories. let try again and see if it is enough words.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 550adelinet
BaluleniHoedspruit, Owner at Baluleni Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Adeline, Thank you for visiting Baluleni Safari Lodge, we enjoyed your company. Thank you also for your review and we hope to see you again at Baluleni Evert and Elke More 

Maseru, Lesotho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

We had a great time, the staff went out of there way for us and we had a superb three days, the food was great and the peace was what one needs to recharge, the game viewing was great we will definitely be back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 987garthd
BaluleniHoedspruit, Owner at Baluleni Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Garth, Thank you for visiting Baluleni Safari Lodge, and a big thank you also to your whole family who came to celebrate the birthday of your mother. We appreciate your kind words and we are glad that they could enjoy their stay here. We are already looking forward to your next stay More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile

It was my first trip to South Africa and I decided to stay in the Baluleni Safari Lodge. I will never forget that amazing experience with the owners Elke and Evert. You will not only feel like a guest, you will feel like in a family in the bush. The two owners and the other staff are so nice and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Traveller0493
BaluleniHoedspruit, Owner at Baluleni Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Traveller0493, We also had an amazing time with you! We appreciate your review - thank you so much! We have to tell you that 5 ellies arrived at the camp the afternoon after your departure, but only 3 came into the camp and the others stay just outside. We wish you a great time back home and looking forward to... More 

Munich
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016

We really enjoyed our four night stay at Baluleni. The owner Elke and Evert are great hosts and always there to assist. The Chalets have a beautiful view right next to the river, only by siting on the balcony you can see so many animals - warthogs, impalas, baboons. Also the food was exceptional good! The gathering around the fire... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gela64
BaluleniHoedspruit, Owner at Baluleni Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Gela64, Thank you for staying with Baluleni Safari Lodge, we enjoyed your company indeed. We are proud to mention that another chalet has received a new built-in base and new 2m queen size matress. Now it is only 2 to go and as soon as we have no guests in these 2 chalets we will finish them also! This will... More 

Hankensbuettel, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016

A holiday at Baluleni is simply unforgettable. We stayed for a week and at the end of our seven days were very sad to leave. We were treated with professionalism, but at the same time felt like we were part of the family. Elke and Evert went out of their way every day to make our stay the most enjoyable... More 

Helpful?
Thank markodeing
BaluleniHoedspruit, Owner at Baluleni Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Marcodeing, We have to thank you for a wonderful time we could experience with you. Thank you for the great review. We know that when our guests have really enjoyed their stay with us, then we have done what we love in a successful way. We wish you all the best for a wonderful year ahead and hope to see... More 

Hannover, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2016

Elke, Evert, Mark and the rest of the cree gave me a fatastic time. Food was really good. I enjoyed every moment. Driving to the lodge is quite tempting. Take all insurance extra possible. Coming back

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank fritzis2016
BaluleniHoedspruit, Owner at Baluleni Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Fritzis2016, We enjoyed your company, thanks for the kind words. We are looking forward to see you again! Evert, Elke and Mark and the rest of the crew More 

Koblenz, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2016

We had a chalet with view at the river and the animals passing. Everything was very proper and clean. Service and hospitality were the best. We did 2 drives with Marc who can explain everything so well because of his experience and knowledge.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank susannes551
BaluleniHoedspruit, Owner at Baluleni Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Susannes551, Thank you for staying at Baluleni, we enjoyed your company and appreciate your kind words. We'd love to see you again next time! Evert and Elke More 

Toronto, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2016

Elke and Evert were very such gracious hosts. I arrived by air and Evert met me at the Phalaborwa Airport to escort me back to Baluleni. I was the only guest on my first night, and dined with the two of them and field guide Mark. I took three game drives with Mark and found him to be incredibly knowledgeable... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank brendan681
BaluleniHoedspruit, Owner at Baluleni Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Brendan681, Your kind words are appreciated. We loved your company and hope to see you one day again! Evert and Elke More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (61)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Private Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
10.7 mi away
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
#1 of 2 in Balule Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
21.6 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ku Sungula Safari Lodge
Ku Sungula Safari Lodge
#10 of 17 in Balule Private Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
10.9 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#1 of 17 in Balule Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 925 reviews
11.1 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#2 of 17 in Balule Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Baluleni Safari Lodge. Our tranquil and peaceful owner managed Safari Lodge is situated on the shores of the Olifants River, in the 40 000 ha Balule Nature Reserve inside the greater Kruger National Park; and offer the splendour of the natural African bush with breathtaking sunsets, wildlife which includes the Big 5, bird watching, safaris and bush walks, and guma dinners under the stars. It is often referred to by guests as "Paradise" or "Heaven on Earth". Welcome at Baluleni "where the river always flows", far away from man-made world - Here I am man, here I dare to be. (Johann Wolfgang von Goethe) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Baluleni Safari Lodge

Address: Plot 13 Balule/Grietjie inside the greater Kruger National Park | Balule Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Private Game Reserve
Price Range: $168 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baluleni Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Baluleni Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baluleni Safari Lodge South Africa/Balule Private Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay