We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Kurhula Wildlife Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 121: English reviews
Mol, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The place to be when you want to visit Kruger. Nice Lodge with free game rides and walks on the property. Food was very good, the braai was a little poor. It was to cold to swim in our private pool bur in summer it would be a pleasure.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jos0707
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

After a bit challenging but still interesting 30 min off road drive to the lodge we found the drive was totally worth it. A bigger SUV car is recommended but any normal car can make it. Just take it slow and make the drive part of the experience and look out for animals, you will very likely see some. Kim... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Britta70
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

Sander and Kim were excellent hosts and we spent a wonderful few days. The setting was beautiful with great accommodation, food and wildlife wandering through the gardens. We met some like minded guests with whom we chatted over dinner and drinks and our days were spent relaxing or out on local trips to see game.

Helpful?
Thank clairehR8129NZ
Brits, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

we were disatisfied on arrival. No welcoming drinks after a terrible 36km gravel road.Nobody to assist with the laguge . We are both pensionares. We were booked for three days and left on the second day.Food that were dished up was return by all people present during our stay. Two candian girls cancelled their booking in JULY 2016 as a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank j0hanl00ts
KimVM, Owner at Kurhula Wildlife Lodge, responded to this review

Normally we do not respond to reviews, because everybody has a right to an opinion, but in this case we do feel the urge to respond. It is not 36 km, but a 12 km dirt road and it is mentioned everywhere (on our website, booking sites and all our e-mails with our guests) that it is a difficult road... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

What a wonderful few days. Beautiful setting. So laid back and easy to relax. We slept on the outside bed by the river for two hours late one morning! Had a wonderful bush walk. Mixed so well with the other guests. We were truly sad to leave.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank 880sandyt
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2016

Dear Kim and Sander, we are looking back with a big smile on our face. Your place is great and the service was excellent. We would recommend it to everyone. And once again, thanks for your support to plan the best option to pick up our daughter at JB :-)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank moniquev339
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016 via mobile

In short, our trip was excellent - Kim, Sander and their team made us feel so at home. It was a great, relaxing stay and I'm glad we chose this lodge. Trip in is a little bumpy...this is to be expected, you are in a wildlife reserve after all! Rooms were simple, clean and comfortable and there was always hot... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley M
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016

Our thanks to Sanders,Kim and the rest of the Staff for making this one of the Best places we have stayed in 16 years of coming to South Africa. The Reason why were Everyone there was polite and could not do enough to make sure your was memorable.The drive to Kurhula in my view needed to be done in a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank John C
Maisons-Laffitte, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2016

Close means, close to nature and hosts, nature was at our doorstep and our hosts did everything to make us feel comfortable and "at home". When we arrived we were welcomed by a Girafe on the road, and while we unpacked an Elephant was looking through our window.

Helpful?
Thank troscompliquee
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I visited Kurhula with a with another couple for a six night stay in mid March. We have stayed at other bush camps on the nearby Thornybush reserve over the last ten years and wanted to try a camp on the river. We drove our hire car the 40 minutes from Hoedspruit airport and then took the... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank SimonRHalifax
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Private Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 1,277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge
#1 of 2 in Balule Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#7 of 14 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy our unique intimate lodge on the banks of the Olifants river. Unique in its way because you can walk freely in an area of 80 by 50 near the river. Situated in the Balule Reserve we offer you excellent personal service. We have four double rooms, accessible via its own entrance and from the porch you have an exquisite view of the river. All accommodation is on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kurhula Wildlife Lodge

Address: Parsons Nature Reserve, plot no. 25 | PO Box 1929, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Private Game Reserve
Price Range: $157 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kurhula Wildlife Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Kurhula Wildlife Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge South Africa/Balule Private Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay