We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (5)
Room & Suite (4)

About

#31 of 43 Specialty lodging in Ruidoso
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Canyon Cabins is nestled in the tall cool pines of scenic Upper Canyon, yet just minutes from everything Ruidoso has to offer. 1-3 Bedroom cabins, each with kitchen, fireplace, and air conditioning.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Hot tub
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Fax / photocopying
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Internet
Show more
Room features
Bridal suite
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Seating area
Kitchenette
DVD / CD player
Hair dryer
Sofa
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
12Reviews
1Q+A
1Room tip
Traveler rating
  • 6
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I booked this cabin through booking.com and the website said that this property had FREE cancellation if it was before a certain date, about a month from when I booked the cabin. About a week after booking the reservation, I realized that I could not make the trip. First I asked to change the dates but the cabins refused because the new dates were over a 3-day holiday weekend and they required a certain number of days for holidays. Then I agreed to cancel the reservation. This is when things got ridiculous. This property gave me the run-around, told me to contact the booking agency. Then the booking agency told us that they did not have the same software as the cabins and only the cabin could cancel a reservation. I sent the booking agency's message to the cabins and the cabin rudely responded reiterating that we had to call the booking agency. At that point they did not even read the forwarded message. Finally the booking agency contacted the cabins and we eventually got a partial refund. The cabins charged $40 for "incidentals" even though we did not even stay there! I am still working with the booking agency to clear up the random fee. Canyon cabins has horrible management and I would not trust them with my credit card. Who knows what extras they will charge you for?
Read more
Response from WPCabins, Owner at Canyon Cabins
Responded May 28, 2019
We are so sorry that you had so much trouble. However, you did not book through us. When you use a booking service they are responsible for your payment. If you look at the cancellation policy you will also see that you are responsible for a minimum of one night for cancelled stays. The $40 is a cancellation fee that we obviously allowed instead of the full amount. We work very hard to accommodate every situation, and we offer trip insurance for just such instances. When you elected not to utilize this option and you signed the confirmation you accepted the standard cancellation policy. We could not have done any more than all of this, but would have if we could have.
Read more
A big reason why I picked to stay here is because it is family owned and operated. You can always expect to be cared for in a way that a chain place can't give you. The cabin was just what we needed for the time that we were there. It was very clean and everything worked just fine. The owner was so sweet and she was great from the moment I called to reserve to the day we left. They offer military discount too which is great :)
Read more
Response from WPCabins, Owner at Canyon Cabins
Responded Sep 16, 2016
So happy that you chose us. You certainly captured who we are and why so many people are now electing to stay in small, privately owned lodges and cabins like ours. It certainly is a wonderful way to vacation, surrounded by the forest in your private cabin with all the amenities and privacy you could ask for. And it is all about options. Cooking in or dining out become options. Streaming a video or sitting on your deck watching deer graze become options. Hitting the links or taking a nap in the cool mountain air become options. Walking down to the river or sitting in a hot tub become options. Photography, hiking, biking, skiing, zip-lining, gambling, dining, shopping or any of the other activities that you could want abound here and all within a short stroll or short drive. Please come again anytime and tell your friends. Thank you!
Read more
The moment we came the deers are all over the place....mama bear cabin is perfect for family with lil kids....very clean...views are fantastic..patio in the back is so amazing..u can hear the water and feed the deers and space for kids to play and run safely...so beautiful...staff are very friendly and the best deal in town...highly recommended....
Read more
Response from WPCabins, Owner at Canyon Cabins
Responded Feb 8, 2018
Awesome! Always wonderful when families like yours stay with us. That's what cabin living is all about. Come again very soon.
Read more
8 of us stayed in the Big Bear cabin. ..it was marvelous! Absolutely perfect cabin for a crowd. Clean and comfortable. The large bedrooms worth 4 beds is a perfect place for the kids to sleep. Its like camp. :) Will definitely stay with canyon cabins in the future. So should you!
Read more
Response from WPCabins, Owner at Canyon Cabins
Responded Feb 8, 2018
So happy when good folks like you find us. We look forward to hosting you and your family for many generations to come!
Read more
The Hummingbird cabin was compact and comfortable. The cabins are in close proximity of local attractions like Ski Apache and Winter Park. Shopping and dining are also a few minutes away by car. Overall the place was a pretty standard Ruidoso cabin adorned with vintage southwest furniture and decor. This place was very clean and cozy thanks to the easy to use heaters and fire place. There is an extra fee to use the fire place. The heaters are more than enough to keep the cabin warm and toasty. The night was very quiet and tranquil. The internet connection was weak but the television was equipped with a wide range of cable channels. The woman at the front desk was very kind and asked us not to hesitate to let her know if we needed anything. All in all Canyon Cabins provided a lovely weekend getaway.
Read more
Response from WPCabins, Owner at Canyon Cabins
Responded Feb 8, 2018
Nice review and thanks for the kind feedback. So happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our firewood policy is that each cabin gets an arm full of fire wood per night for free, but additional firewood is a small fee as firewood is extremely expensive here. We actually have a state of the art internet system that is professionally maintained. Streaming is not an issue, so there must have been a problem with the provider. Please come again soon!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$173 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew MexicoRuidoso
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing