We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveler (661)
Room & Suite (86)
Dining (30)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent88%
  • Very good9%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travelers talk about
“makubela suites”(22 reviews)
“sabi sands”(45 reviews)
“off road”(18 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveler rating
279
24
7
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
279
24
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmakubela suitessabi sandsoff roadoutdoor showervervet monkeyswild dogsanimals wanderingthree nightssafari experienceprivate dinnerour honeymoonbush walktracking skillssmall poolamazing experiencewelcome drinkhis enthusiasm
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 312 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Thoroughly enjoyed Idube Safari Lodge through my travels as a Southern Africa Travel Destinations Specialist visiting lodges to to build confidence and educate onesself. Without a doubt Value for Money considering lodge rates in all the other lodges within the Sabi Sands. A friendly and...More

Thank AfricanSafariGuru
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family had been planning our safari for over a year. We chose Idube because we wanted to be around the Sabi Sands area. We looked at other lodges in the area, and selected Idube because we thought it was well priced. We clearly had...More

1  Thank Karim J
Response from Idube_Manager, General Manager at Idube Game Reserve LodgeResponded 6 days ago

Dear Karim J Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback, the entire team at Idube makes it all possible as we strive to make our guests stay as comfortable as humanly possible, we are truly blessed to be able to share this wonderful reserve...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Do not waste your vacation and money at Idube!! I cannot believe Idube is under the same owners as Lukimbi. We had a great time at Lukimbi (see separate review) and a terrible time at Idube. I gave two stars because we did have some...More

4  Thank TravelFever
Response from Idube_Manager, Manager at Idube Game Reserve LodgeResponded 1 week ago

I am terribly sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing stay here at Idube, the staff here at Idube always go out of their way to make the guest stay memorable and as comfortable as possible, yes we did encounter issues with our...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This private lodge in Sabi Sands offers one of the best game viewing experiences we have encountered in all the many years we have travelled in Africa. The vehicles have the ability to safely go off-road to track animals and the knowledge of the rangers...More

1  Thank salsamagic
Response from Idube_Manager, General Manager at Idube Game Reserve LodgeResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the lovely review, it was lovely to meet you Rob and Roma. The Idube team is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you get a chance to visit us again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having visited nearly countless safari lodges around South Africa, I came to Idube with very high expectations, having built up the Sabi Sand experience so much in my mind over the course of numerous years of research. Idube exceeded those expectations. The lodge is stylish...More

Thank IwanHattingh
Response from Idube_Manager, Manager at Idube Game Reserve LodgeResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Iwan for such a wonderful review, the staff here at Idube are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. Brogan and Culture have a wonderful bond and really love going the extra mile and really love what they do. We...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Pool
Free Internet
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
$832 - $958 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
$832 - $958 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (661)
Room & Suite (86)
Dining (30)
Pool & Beach (18)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lee1023
December 17, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from G3inLondon | Reviewed this property |
We flew from JHB to Kruger Mpumalanga airport and then had a van take us directly to Idube. It is a good two hours plus from Mpumalanga and for most of the way, the roads are paved and easily navigable. It's when you leave... More
1
Vote
suziQueensland
July 20, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from DanMcCormack | Reviewed this property |
I think the renovations are done. Certainly the areas we stayed in just last week were great, and RhinoAfrica said that they had just finished an upgrade of the resort, so unless there is more planned...
2
Votes
marybanilow
April 27, 2016|
Answer
Response from Idube_Manager | Property representative |
That is correct our rates include accommodation, all meals and two game drives daily. Drinks, laundry, gratuities and items from the gift shop are not included. Drinks prices are similar to other establishments in South... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Love the Makubela Suites with the plunge pool for the summer days however Safari Chalets are just as good..."
Read review
"All rooms are great. Tranquility and natural setting."
Read review
"If you can afford the suites, then go for it, but you aren't missing out if you can't afford it."
Read review
"Suite have plunge pools which were an added highlight to our trip :)"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing