We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kruger National Park 1363 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
View Deal
View all 9 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (607)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (28)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 07/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#18 of 40 Specialty lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Travelers' Choice
Simbambili Game Lodge is a highly individualised destination for the discerning traveller located in the Sabi Sand Game Reserve, which is part of the Greater Kruger National Park. Set in magnificent trees along the meandering Manyeleti River, with views over an extensive savannah grassland, that teems with wildlife visiting an ever popular water hole. Sophisticated yet simple, each suite has spectacular views whether from the unique en-suite bathrooms, outside salas or individual private plunge pools. Guests are encouraged to enjoy the extraordinary and unique wildlife of Africa, whether it is your choice to linger at a close encounter with lion, leopard, elephant, rhino and buffalo or to be amazed by the extensive array of birds and insects, or simply relax in the Sanctuary Spa. Your ranger and tracker team will astound you with their ability to track big five game, either on foot or from an open safari vehicle. The amazing safari experience is complimented by elegant cuisine, a selection of fine wines andthe warmth of true African hospitality.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Gift shop
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Breakfast buffet
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Seating area
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
Great View


Full view
Kruger National Park 1363 South Africa
Getting there
Arathusa Safari Lodge Airport3 miSee all flights
Londolozi Aerodrome6 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
436Reviews31Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 396
  • 29
  • 6
  • 4
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Murray7920 wrote a review Dec 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa5 contributions
My wife and I have just returned from 5 nights at Simbambili. We had a fantastic time and can really recommend the lodge. The accommodation, the food and the service were all outstanding but what really stood out was the game viewing experience. I’m just 9 drives, our field guide (Sabre) and tracker (Mr T ) located no fewer than 11 different Leopards for us to enjoy! This was in addition to Lion, Buffalo, Rhino, Elephant and many others. Thank you to the Simbambili team for a great stay
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from Shara Burger, Owner at Simbambili Game Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
WOW! that is really amazing, 11 leopards! you were so lucky, but also how wonderful to be able to spend 5 nights there! Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback!
Read more
crocodile100 wrote a review Dec 2020
26 contributions6 helpful votes
Thank you for two great nights at Simbambili, can't fault the service, food or accommodation but getting there is a mission. Roads are not in great condition and very poorly signposted. Likewise as I suspect a number of visitors could be doing what we did given the SA freindly rates and that is spend a few nights at various lodges in the Sabi Sands. If you book in the south (either through Shortens or Newington Gates) you will be forced to do the round trip to the North in at Gowrie Gate (a 3 hour round trip) which is crazy given the fact that most Lodges are no more then 15km apart. Besides the stress and waste of time you are also forced to repay your conservation levy which is crazy. I would propose that Lodges arrange transfers for guest (which they would be happy to pay for) as I do understand you can't have private vehicles driving around the Sabi Sands. Our overall experience was soured by the travel experience
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Response from Shara Burger, Owner at Simbambili Game Lodge
Responded Dec 3, 2020
Hello Crocodile100. Thank you very much for your review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Simbambili Game Lodge. However, we are sorry that you had a complicated time getting to us and a frustration at the Gowrie Gate. The lodge did try to call and message you before your arrival to double check that you knew how to get there and that the directions were clear, but unfortunately had no response so were unable to help you. They would have also informed you of the gate fee then. Sadly, we have no control over the Sabi Sand's rules regarding gate payments for the reserve, these fees go directly to conservation of the private reserves and the protection of wildlife. But we understand your frustration at having to pay twice. Due to the fact that the reserve is made up of private farms not all of which are commercial, guests cannot move from one section of the Sabi Sands to another through the reserve because they would ultimately be trespassing. Again, we apologise for the inconvenience you had.
Read more
Marina C wrote a review Nov 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa7 contributions3 helpful votes
I was lucky enough to be a guest recently for a friend's special birthday. From the moment we arrived to when we left - the experience was faultless. The rooms amazing with everything that opens and shuts. The main area just fabulous in front of the water hole kept delivering wonderful sightings throughout the weekend. The game viewing - just wow! Leopards on every drive, ellie herds, lion, buffalo, great birds, beautiful sunsets and sunrises. But the most special thing for me was the incredible staff. Mike and Tania are the perfect hosts, Nomsa, Glory, Morne and Rich kind caring and full of fun. Mike, Sean & Tendai great rangers with their eagle-eyed trackers. The food was absolutely delicious at every meal. I think our whole party was completely blown away by it all and will go down in many of our books as the best weekend ever! Thank you to the whole team - I can't wait to come back and experience the Simbambili magic again!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Sleep Quality
Response from Shara Burger, Owner at Simbambili Game Lodge
Responded Nov 23, 2020
Hi Marina. Thank you for this wonderful feedback, it is so good for us to hear what a special and magical time you all had at this very special birthday celebration. There is a great team there and to hear from you what an impression they all made means a lot - we will be sure to pass on your thanks and praise! We hope to see you back there again soon!
Read more
51kaho wrote a review Nov 2020
Nairobi, Kenya6 contributions
What a special stay we had here! Our room was gorgeous with a huge bed. It was so nice not to have to cling to the edge of an ungenerous bed! The bathroom shower and bath felt luxurious, but the best part was our very private veranda with our own little dipping pool. The staff at Simbambili could not be more helpful and no request seemed too much trouble to accommodate. People were just so nice! - friendly, informative and helpful. The game drives were incredible. Our experiences on each game drive were different - exciting and utterly memorable. Mike and Conrite's passion for, and knowledge of the bush is endless and compelling, night and day! Tanya and Mike are just the nicest hosts ever and we would go back again in a hearbeat!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Response from Shara Burger, Owner at Simbambili Game Lodge
Responded Nov 23, 2020
What an amazing review, thank you so much. We are over the moon to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of this lodge and how well you were looked after by Mike, Tanya and the team . Hope to see you back again soon
Read more
Lisa D wrote a review Oct 2020
177 contributions40 helpful votes
This was one of those once in a lifetime experiences... From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very special. The setting is beautiful, the rooms exquisite and the staff were so friendly and welcoming. We loved the privacy of our own plunge pool and a beautiful shady day bed to relax on. We were hoping to see leopard and WOW did we see leopard. 8 sightings to be exact. Mike was our guide and he is a born natural. Without a doubt the best guide we have ever had. He is so knowledgeable, funny, passionate about his animals and an increadible driver. This has to be the best game viewing in South Africa. The food at Simbambili is divine, made with lots of passion by a very talented young chef (with the most awesome laugh). The team put together a beautiful romantic in room dining experience for us and we loved the "bedtime story" on our pillow every night. Attention to detail and absolute perfection. Well done to all the amazing staff... we will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Response from Shara Burger, Owner at Simbambili Game Lodge
Responded Nov 23, 2020
Thank you so much Lisa for this fabulous review. We absolutely love knowing you had such an amazing time and that you loved every aspect of your stay! The leopard viewings at Simbambili really are incredible and you were clearly spoilt! We hope to have you back again soon.
Read more
$1,430 - $1,841 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
simbambili game hotel sabi sand game reserve, hotel simbambili game
South AfricaKruger National ParkSabi Sand Game Reserve
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Simbambili Game Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Simbambili Game Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Simbambili Game Lodge?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a mosquito net.
What food & drink options are available at Simbambili Game Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Simbambili Game Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Simbambili Game Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Simbambili Game Lodge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Simbambili Game Lodge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Simbambili Game Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.