We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tydon Bush Camp

Hotel website
Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Tydon Bush Camp
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Portland Dorset
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment we were picked up from our hotel until we're were dropped back we had the most amazing time. Gavin and Vangie are very professional and run the camp very well. The tents we very comfortable and clean. The food was plentiful and very tasty .Our ranger Steven was so knowledgable and we were so lucky to see... More 

Helpful?
Thank HelenDorset507
Plymouth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

What a wonderful way to spend Christmas far away from the noise and bustle of the shops, the TVs adverts, the grey skies. Tydon far surpassed our expectations and gave us an experience that will remain forever. All communications worked well and we we were picked up from the airport and driven smoothly to the camp. We were in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Evie128
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015

Tyson Bush Camp provided the safari experience I dreamed of for visiting South Africa. I stayed 6 days and 5 nights and enjoyed every moment of the trip with my buddy. The camp provided great meals all throughout the day and night, and was located pretty deep into the wild to get a real safari experience. The beds and bathrooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank eric h
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

I have only one complaint about this trip: I had never really considered Africa as one of my preferred destinations, and this has opened up a whole new, wonderful continent for me. And we only stayed three nights. OK, that's two complaints. Bush Camp is just that, camping/glamping in the bush. The wonders of hearing pitter-patter of feet outside your... More 

Helpful?
Thank heritagekitty
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2015

First off, I am a budget travel and this was my first time to Africa. I was traveling with my wife and daughter. The whole experience was wonderful. Clean tent room, with air conditioning, bed, dresser, sink, flush toilet and shower. Service was top notch, way beyond what you might consider budget service. Our game drives were in the morning... More 

Helpful?
Thank rdemy
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

We spent three nights at the bush camp and three nights at the main Tydon camp. Both were great experiences but being inside the reserve allowed us to hop into the jeep and witness three lionesses hunting warthog. Although our guide radioed the main camp, by the time the base camp vacationers got inside the park, the spectacular experience was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hedgewriter
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015

Earlier this month, we enjoyed the unique experience of staying at both of Tydon's camps, 4 nights at Tydon's Bush Camp and 2 nights at Tydon's Safari Camp. We stayed in canvas air-conditioned tents on raised wooden platforms with en suite bathrooms complete with toilet, sink, and shower. Though basic, our lodging was comfortable and clean. Each morning while we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth S
Perth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015

We stayed at the bush camp for 3 nights and four days two weeks ago with our son and daughter in law. This small intimate camp meant we were the only four guests there for the first two nights. The food was different every night, helpings substantial and absolutely delicious. The ladies in the kitchen were delightful and very accommodating.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank glaushouse
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015 via mobile

We were quite disappointed with our recent 4 night stay at Tydon bush camp.I thought that we would have access to the Sabi sands reserve where in fact we were allowed only a smaller plot of land to drive on (700 hectares). After 6 game drives We saw no lions, leopards or any other cats. We understand that it is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Adele N
Gavintgf, Owner at Tydon Bush Camp, responded to this review

Hi Adelle Thank you very much for your time taken to review the camp; we always appreciate positive or negative comments so that we can improve what we are doing. I would like to just clarify a few mistakes in your review so that it is clear to others. We do not charge $600 but more around $170 so a... More 

San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

I have had the good fortune to travel to many places throughout the world, and hands down my experience with Tydon Bush Camp was the best. Deb was our guide and she was amazing. She really took good care of us. Gavin, the owner, also went above and beyond accommodating us and he and his son personally picked us up... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tiabbb
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

139 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (138)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (115)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#22 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp
#8 of 16 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Notten's Bush Camp
Notten's Bush Camp
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#31 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reserve
Chitwa Chitwa Private Game Reser...
#2 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

#