We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Woodlands on the River

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red River
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 37: English reviews
Start your review of Woodlands on the River
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

A very nice, clean and affordable get away!! The residence are so friendly and helpful!! Definitely will go back!! My family and I went this past weekend and truly enjoyed our stay!! Well worth the money!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susie F
Houston, Texas
Reviewed January 6, 2017

Chic and Denise run a lovely place. We stayed at Woodlands for 6 days, and we had a lovely time. The condo was well stocked, there was plenty of firewood, and Chic and Denise were always helpful and friendly, and the shuttle service made it easy to get around town and to ski area without worrying about parking or the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank am132713271327
Management response:

Thank you for your review! Chic and I sincerely want everyone that stays at The Woodlands to have a wonderful time. The shuttle service does an awesome job and the drivers work non stop to get everyone where they want to go. See you again for next ski season if not sooner! Chic & Denise

Amarillo, Texas
Reviewed January 5, 2017

Just to get away for a couple of days, so a friend of mine and I decided to visit Red River. Someone recommended the Woodlands. Our short stay was very accommodating due to the managers, (Chic and Denise). We plan to return in the near future!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hansencraig
Management response:

Thanks Craig! There is nothing more relaxing then sitting in one of our condos looking out at the snow covered mountains and river. We got about a foot of snow last night! See you next time... Chic & Denise

Reviewed December 31, 2016 via mobile

We had a great time in Redriver! The Condos were super cozy and cute. Woodlands on the River was perfect! You can see wildlife right there on the river in the back of condos. Super close to the ski area. Management was great and very helpful. Will definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CRUIZ78
Management response:

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Woodlands. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! Chic & Denise

Reviewed December 30, 2016

We went for our 2nd anniversary and were more than pleased! We come here every year and always exceeds our expectations. If we ever need anything or have questions Chic and Denise are so helpful and go above and beyond to make our stay more than pleasant! My favorite place is sitting by the river, so relaxing! We like to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amber D
Management response:

Amber, Thank you so much for the awesome review of The Woodlands. We always enjoy seeing you when you are here and look forward to many more visits in the future! Chic & Denise

Reviewed December 30, 2016

My husband and I have been to the woodlands multiple times. It is truly that good! The condos are perfect and roomy. The location is so relaxing next to the river. The property is very well taken care of. The couple that run the condos are so sweet and will do what they can to go above and beyond during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robbie D
Management response:

Thank you so much for the review and for detailing all the great things The Woodlands has to offer. We love our s'more nights sitting under the stars and getting to know our guests and seeing the smiles of kids catching trout in our pond makes a wonderful memory. See you soon! Chic & Denise

Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile

We have stayed at the Woodlands before and under new management, it's really gone downhill and is sad to me! When we arrived, it was clearly not cleaned before we got there. The bathroom floors had hairs on it and the sink was still dirty, but it was Christmas Eve and they had let the worker go early, so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CourtneyDT
Management response:

Courtney, I am so sorry that you did not have a good experience at The Woodlands. After speaking with you on the phone I immediately inspected the condo and also spoke with the housekeeping staff about your concerns. I did find scotch tape placed by a previous guest on the top corner of one of the recliners and it has...

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile

We have stated at Woodlands on the River many times over the last several years and this will definitely be our last! The man running the place now us so rude! We had to beg for for toilet paper, paper towels, and clean towels. The furniture was held together with actual duct tape! The second night we were there it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at The Woodlands and that you were inconvenienced by noise from another guest. In the future, I will remind guests with late check in to be mindful of other guests. I also inspected the condo and did not find any furniture being held together by duct tape, however, I did...

Arlington, Texas
Reviewed December 27, 2016 via mobile

Can't say enough good about the managers Chic and Denise, they are fantastic. The snow is fabulous and overall our family is having fun. Our unit 2-3 is substandard for the price we are paying. There are many other units at the Woodlands that are well kept and nice. 2-3 costs the same as the nice ones. The decor is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesse S
Management response:

Jesse, Thank you for your review and we appreciate your business. As a previous owner at The Woodlands you know that each condo is decorated to fit the owner's taste. I did speak with the owner of 2-3 to let her know your concerns. I am glad your family had a great holiday! Chic & Denise

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed August 31, 2016

We stayed in unit 5-2 and it was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The view from the windows in the breakfast room are spectacular. The mountains, the river, and the wildlife are all right there!! If you like being in the mountains but still want the conveniences of home, this is the place to stay. We plan on making it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kandy B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.6 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#6 of 8 in Red River
215 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
502 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
84 reviews
0.9 mi away
WorldMark Red River
WorldMark Red River
#22 of 25 in Red River
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Woodlands on the River

Address: 1301 Main Street West, Red River, NM 87558
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Number of rooms: 24
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Woodlands on the River staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If available our favorite room has a window facing the river!”
 of 5 bubbles robbied146, Dec 30, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a river view room.”
  • Fun watching these guys every morning
  • Beautiful mountain and river view from kitchen table.
 of 5 bubbles kandyb2013, Aug 31, 2016 | Read review
“Any unit facing the river is best, but all have easy access only steps away.”
 of 5 bubbles 886vickis, Aug 22, 2016 | Read review
“There are many different choices in units. Suitable for any group or family. We were on the second floor with a great view of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles 546jimmya, Feb 15, 2015 | Read review
“Stayed in Bldg 4 room 2 - GREAT SUITE! On the river, which is more like a stream. Suite is ground level with patio and electric grille. Wood burning fireplace and plenty of wood furnished by Woodlands.”
 of 5 bubbles 354joea, Feb 6, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question