We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red River
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Black Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 43: English reviews
nacogdoches
Reviewed October 29, 2016 via mobile

This was our 3rd trip to Red River and we finally stayed at BML to enjoy ski in ski out and the benefits of having great food,beverages, and recreation as part of our rental. You can literally park your car and not drive again for days- Everything needed is right here! So relaxing! Can't wait to return this December. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikendonnao
Amarillo, Texas
Reviewed February 15, 2016

If you're looking for a sub-par room but a great location, this is it. We stayed one night during Mardi Gras weekend. The TV remote did not work, which isn't a big deal but pretty annoying. I had to pay a $20 "cleaning fee" on top of the nightly rate, which again, not a big deal, other than the sign...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TiRu16
Austin, Texas
Reviewed January 2, 2016

Loved the room and the location; we had an excellent vacation. Room was clean, comfortable, well heated, plenty of hot water, reasonably priced and in an excellent location really close to the ski area. The free fire wood added an extra nice touch and we enjoyed the cozy fire place every evening. The Grill had good food also reasonably priced....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank licorna
BMLRedRiver, Owner at Black Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We are glad you were pleased with your stay and appreciate you taking the time to share it with us and others! And, we will look forward to seeing you again this summer! The ropes course located on the Red River Ski Area, directly across from the lodge is GREAT fun (not to mention...

Wolfforth, Texas
Reviewed December 24, 2015

If you can, stay in another lodge or hotel. This one is not worth the price we paid. Walls are very thin you can hear everything in the rooms around yours, including the foul language from the wait staff in the kitchen. Every time we walked outside our door we were greeted by the Grill's staff smoking right on our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A C
BMLRedRiver, Owner at Black Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for making us aware of these issues. We currently lease the Black Diamond Grill, and do not manage it's employees. We have discussed these issues with the managers, and displayed our contact numbers in the room for guests to call if issues with noise control, language, smoking, or other problems occur in the future. We apologize this was...

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed December 1, 2015

We stayed at the Black Mountain Lodge (Unit 10) over Thanksgiving weekend 2015 and would like to offer a review based on our experience. Summary: We will not stay at this lodge again; we will spend a little extra money to have a few amenities like non-icy steps, a live person available, and prime features of the lodge available for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisa l
BMLRedRiver, Owner at Black Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you, Lisa, for your option. Our BUSY season is from Dec 10th - March 25th and once again from the first weekend in June until the close of Labor day. Had you asked when you booked, we would have gladly provided you such information-seeing how both of these amenities (Playhouse and Grill) were so very important to you. One...

Rociada, New Mexico
Reviewed October 28, 2015

We had relatives visiting from Wisconsin, and because Red River is one of our favorite places to go, we made reservations for overnight. The places we usually stay were full, so we reserved a room at Black Mountain. I don't worry about a place being old, most of them are in Red River, but I can't deal with dirty rooms!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dasher2004
BMLRedRiver, Owner at Black Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize your room was not cleaned to the upmost standard. Please know, we have recently completely changed our hired on cleaning staff and gone with another company. We charge a cleaning fee because that is the price our previous cleaning group charged us. Upon review at the end of this season (late October-early Nov) we inspected the rooms...

Reviewed August 14, 2015 via mobile

Not the nicest place but could be a lot worse. My husband and I stayed here 16 years ago and liked the location, so we thought we'd bring our young family back here. After booking, I read the reviews on here and Expedia and then got a little concerned. We came in with low expectations but they were pleasantly exceeded....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brandi L
BlackMountainLodge, Manager at Black Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hello I'm the new manager at the lodge and I'm sorry to hear that you and your family didn't enjoy your stay with us... We are working hard this off season to do some remodeling of the units.Most of the units upstairs are getting new floors and all of the units are currently being redecorated .. We hope you can...

Perryton, Texas
Reviewed August 12, 2015

First we took are grandkids up there to have fun the bathroom you had to step up to go, in the tub there was hair in and on the top of the tub .My room the bed was hard the closet had a big gap I had to put my suitcase right by the light that was coming in so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laura s
BlackMountainLodge, Manager at Black Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hello I'm the new manager at the lodge and I'm sorry to hear that you and your family didn't enjoy your stay with us... We are working hard this off season to do some remodeling of the units.Most of the units upstairs are getting new floors and all of the units are currently being redecorated .I understand your frustration and...

Reviewed August 7, 2015 via mobile

We stayed three nights while in Red River. The moment we walked in the room I was disappointed. The room I booked online showed two beds, only had one, it appeared similar rooms were the same. Shower was weak and the fan made a lot of noise. The price was great and the visit was very quiet and peaceful. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gilbert C
BlackMountainLodge, Manager at Black Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry you did not feel the pictures are up to date.. We are remodeling the units as soon as we are done we will be putting new pictures online and hope you will stay with us again.

Lubbock, Texas
Reviewed August 7, 2015 via mobile

We stayed three days within the Lodge. We weren't in the room much to worry about the accommodations. The room was pretty rough...they need to dust and deep clean! The fan was broken and made a horrible noise! The bed was terrible and too soft. The sheets looked like they were from 1970's and so did the furniture. Bathroom shower...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank scarter8471
BlackMountainLodge, Manager at Black Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hello I'm the new manager at the lodge and I'm sorry to hear that you and your family didn't enjoy your stay with us... We are working hard this off season to do some remodeling of the units.Most of the units upstairs are getting new floors and all of the units are currently being redecorated .. We hope you can...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#3 of 8 in Red River
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
487 reviews
8.0 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#1 of 1 in Taos Ski Valley
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
81 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
WorldMark Red River
#16 of 25 in Red River
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Concierge
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Units ranging from economical hotel style to large 5 BR, 3 BA units. Several 2BR/1BA and 1BR/1BA at base of Red River ski area. Great location in town! True Ski-in / Ski-out and the ONLY bunny slope / easy ski-in / ski-out Facility in Red River! Family oriented. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Mountain Lodge

Address: 305 Pioneer Road, Red River, NM 87558
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Price Range: $64 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Black Mountain Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“This hotel is in a nice spot, but I don't know if there are any nice rooms since I have only stayed in one of the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles dasher2004, Oct 28, 2015 | Read review
“Not to stay on the bottom floor there it was noisy!”
 of 5 bubbles laurasU2286SR, Aug 12, 2015 | Read review
“Don't choose Black Mountain Lodge”
 of 5 bubbles GranGo5, May 29, 2015 | Read review
“Go for a larger unit than you think you need. One of the smaller units with 2 bedrooms would be ideal for a couple with one bedroom for your ski clothes. The living area in Unit 2 was too small for the 4 of us with a couch that seats 3 at most and additional folding chairs available in the closet. Also, that unit comes only with a microwave and hot plate. We would prefer to have a unit with a full kitchen as we try to cook some of our meals on these trips to avoid eating at a restaurant for every meal.”
 of 5 bubbles darrenw895, Feb 4, 2015 | Read review
“Renter Beware, do not count on having a room until you get there. Better have a backup plan.”
 of 5 bubbles DRAM75, Nov 5, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question