We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

A Lodge on the Desert

5353 Spirit Ridge Rd, Las Cruces, NM 88007-4993
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (22)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (1)


#2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Las Cruces
Romantic, private and secluded. Elegant suites, with private entrance, bath, kitchen and patio/balcony. Luxurious linens. Antiques, lavish tile, fountains and gardens. We sit on 26 acres, high on a hill, mountain vistas in all directions, Mesilla Valley farmland, Rio Grande river, and sparkly Las Cruces night lights at your feet. Stonewalls, adobe walls and wrought iron enclose the Lodge. Dawn to dusk lighting for security and nighttime enjoyment of the patios and garden.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Mountain View
102Reviews2Q+A16Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 76
  • 12
  • 5
  • 2
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Liz wrote a review Oct 2019
Rio Rancho, New Mexico4 contributions1 helpful vote
Beautiful, comfortable Bed and Breakfast! I've stayed many times! Large rooms, with fully stocked kitchens, big bathrooms, beautiful views, several patios and balconies. The beds and linens are supremely comfortable!! Egyptian cotton, silk, down, ... I don't even know, but so cozy! The lodge is like an elaborate, artful mansion. You could get lost, but I love that! It's beautiful, creatively designed, and so comfortable. It's a very large place (compared to a regular house), so even if there are other guests there, you don't really know. It's very quiet. Giant picture windows and patios perfectly facing the mountains, great for watching the sunsets from inside or outside. Huge patio/event space in the front of the lodge with a large outdoor kitchen, bathrooms, and a big pretty fountain that I've always seen on, all right in front of a spectacular view of the mountains and city lights. A great place to hang out on warm summer nights. The lodge is all solar-powered which is really cool. Southwestern elements throughout the lodge, like a beautiful turquoise spiral staircase in the atrium, a really cool looking lava-rock pond in the atrium with giant plants all around it, gorgeous talavera tile everywhere plus talavera sinks, vases etc (I love talavera work), sunken tubs tiled with beautiful mosaics, rock walls with wrought iron gates, saltillo tile floors,... all sorts of beautiful Southwestern design elements. Overall, a very beautiful and comfortable place!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: My fav rooms: Kokopelli Suite, Zia Suite, Executive Suite, Angel Suite
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Response from Laverne T, Owner at A Lodge on the Desert
Responded Oct 29, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for the beautiful review! It is very rewarding to me to know that you loved your visit so much. My staff and I thank you for letting us know that you were so pleased. Please come back soon! LaVerne
Read more
Ken B wrote a review Sep 2018
1 contribution
What a comfortable lodge! So quite and beautiful , LaVerne treats my wife and I like family. This lodge has so many antique furnishings that I could spend hours enjoying the decor! The views are stunning! We love it here and hope to return soon!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from Laverne T, Owner at A Lodge on the Desert
Responded Sep 6, 2018
Dear Guest, Thank you for writing this beautiful review. You and your wife are wonderful, caring and genuine people. If we can't be real family, we are happy that you and your wife are a part of our Lodge family. I love to watch our Lodge family grow. Such a remarkable, loving group we are! Thank you for letting me know how much you enjoy our furnishings - I have devoted a lot of time to choosing them. We all hope the two of you return soon, very soon! LaVerne and Calvin
Read more
Sheldon J wrote a review Aug 2018
Colorado Springs, Colorado13 contributions2 helpful votes
This is a pleasant and inexpensive place to stay when visiting Las Cruces (or Mesilla) for a few days, a week, a month or longer. Each room is unique and beautifully decorated, and there is a spectacular view of the mountains from a shared balcony that is easily reached from all the rooms. It's an informal operation. They only accept checks or PayPal, there is no daily maid service and there may be not one around when you arrive. You ignore the dogs--they make a lot of noise, but they're very sweet when you meet them in person--and find your room with the key left for you on the table. That's it. You come and go as you please or just sit and look at the mountains.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Response from Laverne T, Owner at A Lodge on the Desert
Responded Aug 22, 2018
Dear Guest, We are very happy that you had a good time, even though I was very busy building a new house. All my workers enjoyed showing you around the new house, and I enjoyed your comments. We all love our day and night views, and find it very relaxing. Blue, my shepherd loved both of you. I hope you and your wife come back soon. Thank you for this beautiful review. LaVerne Tromble, Owner
Read more
liszarose wrote a review Jun 2018
Bayard, New Mexico1 contribution
Making the reservation was the best part of the stay. The gentleman I spoke to was friendly & understood we were bringing 2 children. When we arrived his wife was unaware & proceeded to treat us life vermon. She even slammed the door on us after she saw the kids. The room is dusty and obviously not cleaned before our stay. If that wasn't bad enough, the event we were there for had several vendors who had to drop off items. One of them was attacked by the owners dog. The dog was not on a leash and the owner didnt do anything to stop the attack & actually stood there & watched. The worst of it is that there was no air conditioner with 100+ degree days & 90 degree night time temperatures. A little tip on hosting a party- you need to throw all of trash off property.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
Response from Laverne T, Owner at A Lodge on the Desert
Responded Jun 7, 2018
You spoke to me, not my husband, when making your reservation. You wanted to reserve a room with one queen bed, saying the children wouldn't take up much room. I told you I was adamant about not overcrowding in any of my rooms. You agreed, saying you really wanted the room and your children would stay with relatives.. We came to a friendly agreement. Late morning, I heard someone coming in, opened the door, looked out, and saw that you brought your children in defiance of what you had agreed to. You were near the top of the stairs with luggage and the children. Rather than stop you, I just waved to you and the children and went back inside. Our rooms are always cleaned before anyone comes in. Had you walked in and the room had not been cleaned, the bed had not been changed, and there was no cooling, why would you have stayed? Certainly, why would you have stayed the second night. It is my opinion that absolutely no one would sleep in dirty sheets. A few people, I assume the vendor, walked right in, did not ring the bell, nothing. It is dangerous to a dog to leave a leash on them when they are inside or inside a fenced enclosure; so, yes, my dog is seldom ever off leash inside. She barked, approached them with tail wagging, sniffed a bit, and immediately came back to me. You were not there at the time, and saw nothing that you speak of. The vendor said she was to meet someone there. I informed her that no one had left a message for me to give her, so there was no way that I could help her. The group walked back out the door and left. I assure you, none of those people were attacked, even though they walked right in my door with no warning. Your children continually ran up and down a short rock wall,damaging it to the point it has to be replaced. The details of your comments left me with no choice but to factually detail my response. We adhere to room occupancy restrictions at A Lodge on the Desert, including those relating to children. I am sorry if you misunderstood our policies and felt a negative review was warranted. As you know, most B&B's have rules and regulations relating to safety, privacy, occupancy, smoking, pets, and children. LaVerne Tromble, Owner
Read more
Gerald2145 wrote a review Dec 2017
Denver, Colorado7 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed at A Lodge on the Desert for just over 2 months and it had most everything we needed to feel like home while our newly purchased home was being remodeled. Most everything we own was in storage so we needed some place to stay that had a kitchen and laundry facilities. A Lodge in the Desert fit the bill very nicely for us. LaVerne was very helpful whenever we had a question and we had some nice chats. -- I will always remember the night my husband and I sat out on the upper east facing patio, overlooking the city and the beautiful Organ Mountains, eating dinner with the sun setting behind us and then the moon rising over the Organ Mountains with the city lights sparkling below. What a sight!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from Laverne T, Owner at A Lodge on the Desert
Responded Dec 14, 2017
Dear Guest, We appreciate the time you spent writing this review and letting us know how much you enjoyed your time here. The two of you were a joy to have with us for this extended time. I hope your newly remodeled home turned into everything and more than you expected. You should have been here to see the December super moon come up over the Organ Mountains. Simply splendid! Thank you for staying with US! I hope to see you at our open house. LaVerne and Calvin
Read more
United StatesNew MexicoLas Cruces
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about A Lodge on the Desert
Which popular attractions are close to A Lodge on the Desert?
Nearby attractions include Farmers & Crafts Market of Las Cruces (4.9 miles), Old Mesilla Village (3.7 miles), and San Albino Church (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at A Lodge on the Desert?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness center, and free parking.
Is parking available at A Lodge on the Desert?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to A Lodge on the Desert?
Conveniently located restaurants include OMPC The Shed, A Bite of Belgium, and D.H. Lescombes Winery & Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at A Lodge on the Desert?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at A Lodge on the Desert?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at A Lodge on the Desert?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to A Lodge on the Desert?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Old Mesilla Village (3.7 miles) and San Albino Church (3.6 miles).
Does A Lodge on the Desert have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.