We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Damchen Riverfront Resort

Khuruthang, Punakha 13001 Bhutan
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Booking.com
$53
View Deal
Orbitz.com
$50
View Deal
Trip.com
$53
$33
View Deal
SAVE $20
Travelocity$50
Agoda.com$53
Hotels.com$50
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (244)
Room & Suite (67)
Dining (15)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Public wifi
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Meeting rooms
Laundry service
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Room service
Flatscreen TV
273Reviews4Q+A93Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 54
  • 82
  • 82
  • 29
  • 26
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
location is beautiful, literally by the river. Went there for a coffee..staff is too lethargic and least interested. Went inside and told the staff that we need some coffee and were told someone will come to take the order. we waited for almost 45 min..nobody turned up. the staff there was busy fooling around amongst themselves. When we were leaving, the staff was standing there but did not even bother to greet or ask. if they cant come to take an order for a coffee...i wonder what will be the standard of service there...
Read more
It was my second time stay at damchen. This time we were party of 9 people with a 2 yo kid. We stayed there for two nights and booked 4semi deluxe river facing rooms on first floor. it costed us 2500/- per room per night. For the oval rooms they charge 3300/-. go for it if you can afford it. Hear is my observation. Location---One just cant find better located property in punakha. just beside river, you can sit all day and cherish the view. not outside the city, grocery shops and taxi stand nearby. ample of parking space is available. Rooms-- the rooms were comfortable but very small.with all modern amenities and good washroom it was fine. one could see and hear river by lying in bed both in day and night ( provided its full moon night ). i would still suggest oval rooms. they were three times in size with better view. Food-- we had dinner in there restaurant once found the food fine and a bit expansive. do not forget to order at least 2 hours before ( rule applies for whole of bhutan ) As there is not many options in tiny town of punakha, better you eat at hotel itself. Staff-- Like other places in bhutan, staff hear also as good, polite and eager to help. they changed and upgraded our room immediately when we complaint about showers in two rooms. check in and check out was smooth. wifi was fine. this is quite a busy property, do not forget to book in advance. happy travels
Read more
+1
This hotel has a scenic setting. It's right on the river bank. And the approach is also easy. Rooms are spacious, you get an amazing view. The staff is courteous, service is really good. The only bad thing is that food taste is bad. We tried out a few things and none was good. I could even find threads in morning breakfast puri. If they can improve on their food, this will be a really amazing place to be
Read more
Damchen punakha is located right on the bank of punakha river with many rooms having River view. This is a beautiful property, as far as possible opt for a deluxe room in order to have a river view. Staff is courteous, breakfast was decent though options were few. Rooms were good and comfortable, only the food in the restaurant is kinda priced on the higer side. Apart from this the property is good and highly recommended!
Read more
Response from DawaDema, General Manager at Damchen Riverfront Resort
Responded Jun 13, 2019
Hi Pallavi, Thankyou so much for your review about our property. Each and every review is important to us since we strive to improve with every stay and review. We are very pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. With much appreciation, Damchen Resorts
Read more
Very bad experience in this resorrt. Only location was good but food quality very bad,room cleanness poor,service very poor.In river side not maintained .Garbage spread all over river side area.In breakfast limited option is their.
Read more
Response from DawaDema, General Manager at Damchen Riverfront Resort
Responded Jun 13, 2019
Hello Jitendra, Thankyou so much for your review about our property and pointing out things that needs serious attention.I would also like to apologise for not being up to your mark but definitely we are going to improvise on all the aspects that you have mentioned here. Our property is undergoing some major upgrade and in a few months time we will have better and improvised property. Hopefully we can turn your experience around the next time you visit. Please accept our sincere apologies, Damchen resorts.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$46 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
damchen hotel punakha
LOCATION
BhutanPunakha DistrictPunakha
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing