We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa

Save
Share
Jalan Pangkung Sari 10X, Seminyak 80361 Indonesia
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
Agoda.com
FindHotel
Trip.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (316)
Room & Suite (180)
Pool & Beach (41)

About

#54 of 183 hotels in Seminyak
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa is a spectacular design-led villa resort in the heart of chic Seminyak, moments from Bali's best restaurants, boutiques and sunset beach bars. Cutting-edge contemporary architecture and ultrachic interiors characterise the 23 villas, which offer stunning living spaces sculpted by the planes of the architects signature sloping roofs. Each individual 1-, 2-, 3-, and 4-bedroom villa is set within a private landscaped tropical garden with large swimming pool, and from one to four spacious bedroom suites oriented for privacy. With its cool design, hot location, and five-star service provided by 150 staff, The Layar is designed for those with strong aesthetic principles seeking original experiences.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness classes
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Spa
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Shallow end in pool
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Car hire
Taxi service
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Butler service
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Walk-in shower
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Indonesian
337Reviews8Q+A50Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 215
  • 78
  • 30
  • 6
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
halimhus76 wrote a review Jul 2022
Medan, Indonesia3 contributions
I stayed 4 nights at 3 BR Villa (July 2022) . Rooms and bathrooms quite big with semi outdoor showers. AC too windy even already adjusted the fan level. Some section of the Wooden floor need maintenance, made noise when we walked. Pool is esthetic but too small for swimming and the depth is 1.6 to 2.2 mtr. Garden is nice and beautiful. Love the 2nd floor , big sofa and big TV. Living room is the best part, view pool and garden. Good Breakfast served at villa. Walking distance to some restaurants, mini market, laundry and massage.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anton Budiono, Guest Services / Front Office at The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Hello halimhus76 , Thank you for your comments. We are happy to have you stayed with us in July 2022. We recently renewing all air conditioners in the villa. We would suggest to adjust the air flow direction from the remote button if it is too windy. We take your feedback seriously and will do necessary actions. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Layar. Best Regards, Anton Budiono - FOM
Read more
Jenny D wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
What a beautiful tranquil stay at the The Layer.. Villa no 12 3 bedroom was away from busy streets beautifully furnished very comfy beds, pool perfect. Including breakfast in the restaurant which was best start to the day and staff absolutely beautiful people from front of house to Laura in the restaurant who was so kind and helpful her english perfect, and the barista’s we’re so accommodating for us fussy coffee drinkers. Bbq one night in Villa was amazing . Cooked by the chefs. Many great restaurant choices within walking distance. Thankyou The Layer x
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anton Budiono, Guest Services / Front Office at The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Jmaduncs66, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Layar. Also for your best breakfast experience at our well known restaurant Settimo Cielo. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Layar. Regards, Anton Budiono, FOM
Read more
Dennis V wrote a review Jun 2022
Middelburg, The Netherlands1 contribution
In April we have experienced an unforgettable holiday with friends in Villa 15 of The Layar. Villa 15 is a very beautiful and almost overwhelming design villa that forms part of a luxury resort, right in the heart of Seminyak. Bali's best-known restaurants are within walking distance, as are boutiques, galleries, gourmet shops and a broad choice of other stores. If we didn't want to eat outdoors, we could still enjoy great food all day long, with a breakfast menu that was available from 7 to 11am. We even had the option to hire a private chef who advised a specially tailored menu for us to enjoy 'at home' in our villa. Petitenget Beach is just a stone's throw away, where we had a good time chatting with friendly locals. It is clear to us why this beach is famous for its surf breaks and sunset bars. Because we are golf enthusiasts, we indulged ourself here. After all, the most beautiful golf courses can be found in Bali. We loved the courses; it is like playing golf in a botanical garden, especially at Bali Handara. The disadvantage of that course however, is that it is not as near as the other courses. Every time we entered our villa, we were impressed by the beautiful architecture and interior, combined with its open concept roofs. The villa is landscaped with a beautiful private garden, a large swimming pool, a kitchen and it has two spacious bedroom suites. Each bedroom has an en-suite bathroom with complete privacy and air conditioning. Our bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed very much the private garden shower that connects to the guest bedroom. The design, location and five-star service provided by the resort staff made sure we had a wonderful time. This villa offered all the luxury of privacy, personal space and experience away from the crowds we could expect. It was a safe and wonderful place for an unforgettable holiday for us.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anton Budiono, Guest Services / Front Office at The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa
Responded Jun 29, 2022
Dear D608KQdennisv, Thank you for the generous review for your stay in villa 15. We are pleased you enjoyed the design of the villa and our open concept architecture in particular. Very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Kind Regards, Anton Budiono, FOM
Read more
Ravinder kaur wrote a review Jun 2022
Singapore, Singapore7 contributions
Villas are at least 10++ years old and poor maintained. Spider webs everywhere and found a big one in our room. Showers are mostly outdoors and the wood on the floors are falling apart. Service staff are extremely slow which might be because they are short handed. Toilet bowl requires you to press for 5-6 seconds to flush. One of the rooms toilet bowl broke down two days in a row. There’s a lack of Aircon in the living room which causes you to run into the Aircon rooms instead of lounging with your family in the living area. WiFi is barely working and the room TV’s are just for show, not working. You’re better off picking a better maintained villa somewhere else. Location deserves a point but nothing more than that.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anton Budiono, Guest Services / Front Office at The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa
Responded Jun 23, 2022
Dear 941ravinderk Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor for your recent three days stay in villa 8 and 20. It seems you didn’t pay too much attention while booking with us on Agoda since you were surprised to find out that our living rooms are not airconditioned; I would not define this as a “lack of” since this is a characteristic feature from our awards winning Italian architects: our villas are design for the indoor/outdoor living Bali is famous for, and to have a natural ventilation thanks to flow-through breeze complimented by ceiling fans. This is clearly visible from many photos on Agoda. However, upon your complain, our staff showed you villa 20 that has an extra-large air-conditioned TV room also with view of garden and you happily accepted to move. We did not hear any more complain from you so we are quite surprised now to read this mind-blowing list of issues. While there is surely space for improvements ins some areas you mentioned, I will refrain to comment further in details as it seems your review is biased by your un-met expectations of an enclosed air-conditioned villa. However I would like to state that we are fully staffed, we are running at a very high occupancy and I witness daily guests leaving fully satisfied (TripAdvisor seems no more a favourite for reviews but many recent ratings are available on Google), we pride ourselves to invest considerable money in maintenance which we have increased in this post pandemic reopening. Kind Regards, Anton Budiono, FOM
Read more
Taffoolie wrote a review Jun 2021
Paris, France1534 contributions383 helpful votes
+1
These are amazing modern architectural villas , very beautiful and above that very comfortable, clean and practical. Been staying here for couple of months , the bedroom is very spacious, the bed very comfortable and the sheet extremely soft . Very clean bathroom. The pool I love it . I had great services , cleaning , garder and pool guy . All very friendly and clean . The front desk staff always so helpful. Veryyyy safe place and great location so close to everything . One if my best experiences in Bali in a Villa .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Leith, General Manager at The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa
Responded Jul 4, 2021
Dear Taffoolie, Thank you for the generous review. We are pleased you enjoyed your time here with us, and found the villa clean, comfortable, and the service very helpful. We are very happy to have provided you with a temporary home during this time.
Read more
melvin E wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Booked a 3 bedroom villa with another family. Whilst the villa is nice and strategically located, the service is appalling. The rooms were dusty when we first checked in, had to borrow a broom to sweep our rooms. The linen smells. They provide you with a whatsapp number for communication but any msges after 5pm every day will only be replied the following morning at 9am, what happens if there is an emergency late at night? The provide another number for you to call but that didn't help when something happened on our last night which I will explain later. Staff comes over for housekeeping after 12pm. Breakfast selection is limited and the food was mediocre at best. We requested for our breakfast to be served at 6.30am on our last morning because of an early checkout. Person in charge said it can't be done because the chef only starts at 7am and can only serve our breakfast at 7.45am. She even sent us a screenshot of their conversation to prove that the chef can't cook so early. Why is there even a need for validation? It was a simple request! On our last night, the air conditioner in my room died at 1am. I called the number provided by the management, hoping someone can attend to our emergency. Turns out that number connects us to the security guard. Told the guard what happened and he said "try turning it back on again with the remote control" I told him the problem is not with the remote but with the air conditioning and how are we suppose to sleep without one? He said he doesn't know anything and he will call someone from the management and he will call me back. Nope, that call never happened. I couldn't go back to sleep and we had to take the clothes off our young children because the heat was unbearable. 5 star villa indeed. Why is there no one from the front office who can help us in the middle of the night? Complained to the whatsapp number and i suggested to them to have someone on standby who can help when such problems arise. I don't expect someone to find the air conditioner late at night but at least someone who could provide solutions, like a standing fan? They said they have someone on standby and that is the security guard. Isn't that a given?? How is the security guard gonna help with such problems??? Again they said the front desk staff only work until 5pm because of the safety protocols during this pandemic. This only proves 1 thing. You are in our care till 5pm. Anything after that, you will have to soldier through the night and hopefully make it till 9am the following morning to whatsapp for help. Take your money elsewhere, we are clearly not their priority.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Leith, General Manager at The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa
Responded May 27, 2021
Dear 384melvine, We are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not to your expectations. Like most hospitality business's operating during this pandemic we have reduced some of our services to lower our costs in order to continue operating and ensure our staff have some income to survive on. Along with these limited services we have reduced our rates to match - approximately 75% off what we would charge during this time previously. As part of these reduced services at present, our reception only opens from 9am to 5pm, after this our security team handles the communication from guests, who then contacts the on-call maintenance or management team. Please do accept my apologies that this system didn't work during your emergency. On investigating your review we could find no log or record of your call regarding your air-conditioner, nor did we find any non-operational air-conditioner in your villa after you checked out. As part of our re-training effort during these quiet times I am personally inspecting all arrival villas with my executive Housekeeper and the housekeeping team that serviced the villa in order to ensure our standards of cleanliness are what they should be. I personally inspected the villa that you checked in, a little less than an hour before you arrived, and find it difficult to understand how the villa got so dusty, or the linen got so smelly, in this time. Whilst we continue to provide breakfasts for guests that want to check out early, we do require some time in which to arrange this, unfortunately we could not accommodate your last minute request. Our guests are our priority even with the reduction of some of our services or the time they are available.
Read more
Dmitry_Sniper3000 wrote a review Mar 2021
Moscow, Russia32 contributions54 helpful votes
We've been staying for 40 days in The Layar and it was unforgettable time. This villa complex one of the best in Bali. Very good location, modern design with open space, large pool, perfect service - we haven't any complaints. Thanks a lot to all staff for breathtaking memories.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Leith, General Manager at The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa
Responded Mar 7, 2021
Dear Dmitry, So pleased you had an unforgettable time with us. Thank you for staying with us, come back anytime. Andrew
Read more
sutanwen wrote a review Jan 2021
Jakarta, Indonesia241 contributions59 helpful votes
+1
The Layar is located very conveniently near Jalan Kayu Aya. A peaceful and short walk to the restaurants and shops indeed. We love the villa’s design, the cute mezzanine, integrated sound system around the villa, spacious and super big bathtub and the warm service from the staff. Areas of improvement is on the kitchen equipment. The villa was not equipped with pans and pots for cooking and we have to reserve to borrow the equipment (quantity is limited so we did not get ours during our stay). The complimentary breakfast was actually quite nice, many options to choose from, complete with bread, fruits, juices and most importantly served always on time as per our request. Kudos to the staff for the wonderful service at all times.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Leith, General Manager at The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa
Responded Mar 7, 2021
Dear Sutanwen, We appreciate your support of The Layar and are very pleased that you left us such a great review. Thanks for the feedback on the kitchen equipment, long stay guests have differing needs to our normal clientele and we are looking at investing in further equipment to cater to these. Thank you again for your visit and please come again any time. Andrew
Read more
Nicola G wrote a review Mar 2020
5 contributions
We were totally blown away by our stay at The Layar. The villa itself was magical. Totally spotless, thoughtfully designed and every detail was thought of and catered to by the utterly charming staff. Honestly could not sing higher praises for this complex of villas and cannot wait time come back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TheLayarGM, General Manager at The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa
Responded Mar 10, 2020
Dear Nicola, Such fabulous review thank you so much. Very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Kind regards, Andrew J Leith
Read more
Michaela R wrote a review Mar 2020
County Londonderry, United Kingdom2 contributions
We booked to stay at the Layar to celebrate a friend’s baby shower this month. Cannot recommend this property enough! Staff were incredibly friendly and went out of their way to meet our requests. The location is perfect - within walking distance to excellent eateries, yet far enough away from the main road to enjoy the peacefulness of the property. The aesthetics of the villa are stunning and we couldn’t of chosen a better location to celebrate such a special time! Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TheLayarGM, General Manager at The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Dear Michaela, Thank you very much for the kind review. Kind regards, Andrew J Leith
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$333 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliKuta DistrictSeminyak
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Mekar Tour And Driver (0.2 miles), Putu Wira - Bali Tour Driver (0.3 miles), and Tuana Bali Driver (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Si Jin Steakhouse, TEMPTED Restaurant & Lounge, and Sangsaka Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and fitness classes during their stay.
Does The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Indonesian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Pura Dalem Sakenan Serangan (3.6 miles).