We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Amala

Save
Share
Jl. Kunti 108, Seminyak 80361 Indonesia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
eDreams
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
$380
$185
View Deal
SAVE $195
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com$380
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1028)
Room & Suite (462)
Dining (165)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 08/03/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Amala
Updated 08/03/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#18 of 179 hotels in Seminyak
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an adult only oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an adult only exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence and additional 3 units Deluxe Rooms.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Free airport transportation
Spa
Concierge
Butler service
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Hot tub
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
879Reviews31Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 691
  • 146
  • 30
  • 7
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
shania_thompson wrote a review Mar 2020
Epsom, United Kingdom14 contributions
I stayed here with my mum for 2 nights 13th - 15th March. We were treated like absolute queens. Absolute best hotel we’ve stayed in to date, if recommend the queen to stay here. *Room* We got upgraded by reception to a Spa Villa (I think it’s called that?) where we had the entire Villa to ourselves. It had a huge double bed with a mosquito net around it, loads of amenities such as bath salts, bags, toothbrushes, hygiene sets and many more. We had an outside lounge area with a kitchen, sofa, TV, private pool, deck chairs & sun beds. The room was beautiful. Not only was there cleaning throughout the day, there was also a “close down service” where they came to put the mosquito nets down, spray mosquito repellent and have a last clean. The room was beautifully cleaned and always smelt incredible with all the incense around. I’ve attached photos below. *Service* Stupidly we completely forgot to get everyone’s names, however the entire team deserve a mention. Every single person who worked there made our stay special. The lady in reception was so kind and really tried to help us as much as she possibly could, this ranged from sorting my SIM card out to upgrading us to reminding us to book the complementary massage. The cleaners did an amazing job cleaning our room making it spotless and always adding the little touches, like different fruit to our table. The waiters in the restaurant were always kind and helpful and delivered our food pretty much immediately. The relaxation team including the masseurs and the lady doing the Tibetan singing bowl meditation were all lovely and very professional in their roles. The security guard was always there to help us and would say hello and make conversation whenever we saw him. We honestly felt like we were being treated like royalty, it was amazing. Please thank them all so much from us. *Food* We only had breakfast here, but the menu selection was enormous, and we could choose so much of the menu! There was a selection of Balinese, Western and various Asian foods to choose from. Everything was delicious. We were left with little food baby’s, but that’s okay, it was delicious. (We’d recommend the breakfast smoothie bowls). *Relaxation* We decided to go to the free Tibetan Singing Bowl meditation one evening which was so relaxing I think I dozed off a few times 🙈. It left us feeling like we were floating. It was only us 2 in the class, which made it even better. We had a conversation with the lady afterwards about current affairs which was really lovely too to hear from the Balinese perspective. Would recommend! We also took up the 15 mins complementary massage (however couldn’t extend to an hour because we ran out of time). They ended up giving us a nearly 25 min massage which was the best we’ve ever received. They seemed to know all the spots that needed massaging and applied the perfect pressure. Really really good. *Location* This is located a road out of Seminyak town so is very tranquil, and a 5 min walk away from all the shops and restaurants. Seminyak itself, we found, was pretty boring. Other then shops, restaurants and a beach (20 mins away, that you have to pay for sun beds on), there’s not much else to do unless you take a trip up to Ubud. If you’re just here for the hotel, then stay here!! But if you want to see more of Bali, only stay here for a couple days, then go to Ubud. *Overall* Sorry for the long review, this hotel was absolutely incredible and we could not recommend it enough. Please thank every team member for it :).
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Roy Suer, General Manager at The Amala
Responded Mar 28, 2020
Dear shania_thompson, Thank you so much for choosing The Amala for your recent stay in Bali, and for taking the time to share your feedback here on TripAdvisor. I am very humbled reading your review and I am thrilled to know that you and your mother had an amazing time. Especially now, where the world and our industry face huge challenges, your review is very much rewarding. Thank you for your detailed review on the experiences throughout your stay, and for your generous compliments towards the team. I will share your review with pleasure with every team member of The Amala Family. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at bliss@theamala.com or bliss@theamalaestate.com for any assistance with your future booking at The Amala or The Amala Estate. Again, thank you very much, stay safe and healthy, With PassionForLife, Roy Suer and The Amala & The Amala Estate Family Cluster General Manager
Read more
dickiedavis2018 wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom15 contributions5 helpful votes
Who would believe that in the hustle and bustle of Seminyak is this gem of a hotel. The hotel is beautifully set out and amazingly quiet, a wonderful peaceful setting for anybody wishing to get away from it all. The hotel staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. There are renovations going on, but this didn't disturb us at all. We had a pool villa, so private and the pool was absolutely heavenly to dip into after a hot day. Great hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Roy Suer, General Manager at The Amala
Responded Mar 7, 2020
Dear dickiedavis2018, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was a real pleasure having you with us at The Amala and I am very pleased to know you had such a memorable time. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed our tranquil retreat, which is - as you point out - indeed conveniently located in Seminyak and tucked away to create a tranquil space. As part of our ongoing maintenance efforts we currently carry our renovations but as you mention we always ensure that the daily works are carried out in a manner that our in-guests are not impacted. Thank you very much for your praises about our team. Feedback like yours provide great motivation and are a much appreciated acknowledgement of the hard work that the team is putting in every day to deliver only the best experiences. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at bliss@theamala.com or bliss@theamalaestate.com for any assistance with your future bookings at The Amala or The Amala Estate. Once again, on behalf of the team, thank you so much for your kind patronage. With PassionForLife, Roy Suer and The Amala & The Amala Estate Family Cluster General Manager
Read more
adiduff wrote a review Mar 2020
Rugby, United Kingdom6 contributions
Absolutely stunning place to stay, staff are the friendliest I’ve ever met, rooms are beautiful. Loved all the extra touches, the hotel car, the complimentary mini bar and lots more. Food was excellent and very well presented with a great selection. Loved the cooking class. Would definitely recommend and return. Terima Kasih Amala
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The Spa room was amazing
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Roy Suer, General Manager at The Amala
Responded Mar 7, 2020
Dear adiduff, Thank you very much for choosing The Amala for your recent stay in Bali, and for taking the time to share your feedback here on TripAdvisor. We are more than humbled reading your review and thrilled to know that you had an amazing time and I am very glad to read that you have enjoyed your villa, the location and the service we provided. Thank you as well for your recommendation of our infamous Balinese Cooking Class at The Amala! As you point out, our location is indeed very convenient, near to the happening places, close to the beach as well as shops and restaurants in Seminyak - and our resort vehicles are available for drop-off service within Seminyak & Kuta complimentary for all our in-house guests and whenever available. What I am most happy about is to read that the team's efforts could make your stay so enjoyable and memorable. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at bliss@theamala.com or bliss@theamalaestate.com for any assistance with your future booking at The Amala or The Amala Estate. With PassionForLife, Roy Suer and The Amala & The Amala Estate Family Cluster General Manager
Read more
KB2710 wrote a review Mar 2020
8 contributions
We were very warmly greeted on arrival and upgraded to a spa room, what a wonderful start to our stay in Bali!! Spotlessly clean and breakfast was good too, beautifully prepared food to order with a huge selection to suit all tastes. We can highly recommend the cookery class on site with the hotels wonderful experienced chef. Will definitely be trying to recreate the dishes when we get home. While the hotel is a half walk to the beach, the hotel chauffeur will gladly take you anywhere you want to go in Seminyak. We went to the beach a few times and found our way back which gave us the opportunity to explore areas we otherwise wouldn’t have. So many shops and restaurants within a stones throw of the hotel, it’s easy to find whatever you want or need. Would highly recommend, thank you Amala team for taking such good care of us.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Roy Suer, General Manager at The Amala
Responded Mar 7, 2020
Dear K8VGC, Sunny greetings from The Amala! Reading your review is very rewarding for us and I would like to Thank you very much for such wonderful words. It was a real pleasure having you with us at The Amala and I am very pleased to read you had such a memorable time with us, enjoying the resort, the pool villa and the surroundings to the fullest. It is also really joyful to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed the various activities present within The Amala, such as the Balinese Cooking Class, which indeed is very famous and we are excited that you are taking back the recipes to create Balinese dishes at home! As you well point out, our location is indeed very convenient, near to the happening places, the beach as well as plenty of interesting shops and restaurants to discover. What I am most happy about is to read that the team's efforts could make your stay so enjoyable and memorable. As we are one big family, providing service from the heart, we especially appreciate your Kudos to the team as well as your appreciation of our attention to details. Rest assured that I will personally forward your motivating words. Please feel free to contact us directly at bliss@theamala.com or bliss@theamalaestate.com for any assistance with your future bookings at The Amala or The Amala Estate. Once again, on behalf of the team, thank you so much. With PassionForLife, Roy Suer and The Amala & The Amala Estate Family Cluster General Manager
Read more
JFC291219 wrote a review Feb 2020
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom14 contributions16 helpful votes
My husband and I visited the Amala on our Honeymoon; spending 4 nights here. The resort is modern, fresh and constantly being maintained. On arrival they were just finishing off a new wellness suite! We had a spa villa during our stay and it was wonderful! (There were some light touch ups that needed to be done i.e. decking a little broken, shower a little wobbly and so on... general room maintenance) BUT it was a gorgeous room. The bed was very comfortable and the room extremely spacious. The added touch of a different fresh fruit each day was lovely. With the addition of the turn down service (which we didn’t know was offered!) we had a wonderful 4 nights sleep! On our first night we enjoyed the couples candle lit dinner for two in our village and we cannot fault a thing. The decoration was beautiful and the dinner was delicious! We were also fortunate enough to book a couple cooking class and WOW! The chef (teacher) and food were outstanding. It was a wonderful experience and such a great way to spend the afternoon. The spa at the Amala was sensational! I opted for the Golden Spoon facial and couldn’t have chosen better. With drinks provided and a relaxing, calming atmosphere it was a lovely way to spend our first day in Seminyak. If you are looking for somewhere to escape the outside world and be with the person you are travelling with this resort is the one for you. You can go out or simply spend the day relaxing by your own private pool! The resort is a 15 min walk from Seminyak beach and we found it quite easily. You can get a taxi (blue bird only!) but the walk is just fine. The staff are kind, easy to talk to and go the extra mile!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from cgmamala, General Manager at The Amala
Responded Feb 6, 2020
Dear JFC291219 Thank you so much for such a lovely feedback on your experience at The Amala. Your portrayal of your experience at The Amala from the moment of arrival is truly an inspirational read not only for our team members but also for future guest and we are so thankful for that. It is also really joyful to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed the various activities present within The Amala, such as the Bamboo Restaurant, our Balinese Cooking Class at The Workshop as well as our Spa. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at bliss@theamala.com or at bliss@theamalaestate.com for any assistance with your future bookings at The Amala or The Amala Estate - we would be delighted to be able to welcome you back to your Bali island home! Once again, on behalf of all of us, thank you so much. With PassionForLife, Roy Suer and The Amala & The Amala Estate Family Cluster General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$190 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the amala hotel seminyak
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliKuta DistrictSeminyak
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Amala
Which popular attractions are close to The Amala?
Nearby attractions include Bali Driver Private Tour - Day Tours (0.2 miles), The Cheapest Travel Bali - Day Tours (0.07 miles), and Krakakoa Chocolate Factory & Store (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Amala?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Amala?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at The Amala?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and complimentary tea during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Amala?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rev Bistro, Balkan BBQ & Cocktail Bar, and Makao Bali.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Amala?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Amala have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Amala offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Amala?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Amala?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Pura Dalem Sakenan Serangan (2.9 miles).