We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

983 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Empire Hotel & Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Showing 818: English reviews
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel after a week at Rasa Rai in Borneo where we'd been wowed. (Brunei Airlines travel so took opportunity to see Brunei although main destination was Borneo and Orangutans). We fully expected the same here after all we'd read and the pictures we'd viewed. For all it's supposed 7 star-ness, we had to queue to check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zestylime
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank for your feedback on your recent experience at The Empire and I am very concerned to read that your experience did not live up to your expectations. I would, therefore, invite you to discuss your experience in more detail and would ask that you kindly make contact with me directly, at your convenience. Sincerely, Nigel Badminton

Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Empire Hotel boasts itself of its grandeur and excellent service and we expected that with paying for the Empire Select membership. My husband and I have decided to stay in the hotel to celebrate our 5th year wedding anniversary. After my email to the sales department was left unanswered after a few days, we decided to just make a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anna21385
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and I apologise for your disappointing experience. I believe we have subsequently been in contact and I hope that this has been resolved to your satisfaction. Sincerely, Nigel Badminton

Reviewed October 15, 2013

It's big. It's opulent. It's relaxing. But it's getting tired and it's the little things that weren't there that made a difference. No hand towels. Bathroom lights that don't turn off. An hour and a phone call before your luggage is delivered to your room even though you didn't want them to deliver it in the first place. Rooms that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank drumrach
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your constructive feedback and I apologise for the disappointing service you experienced. I wish to assure you that your comments have been taken seriously and the consistency of our service is being addressed. I do hope you will return to stay with us in the future, when we hope to make amends, and please do...

Boracay, Aklan, Philippines
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Huge! I was impressed with the interiors showcasing how grand the hotel is. My family stayed at 2 Deluxe Rooms which offers a stunning view of the sea, splendid it was! Rooms are quite big enough for the entire family. Beds are really comfy and the bathrooms are really nice. One thing i like about it is that it's beachfront.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alsoknownas_tj
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review and I look forward to welcome you and your family back. Sincerely, Nigel Badminton

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed there for two nights. The service was very good. The rooms were huge and very clean and overlooking the ocean. We enjoyed our stay there. Nothing much to complain for the price you pay. We were treated very well. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leisure93
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am delighted you were impressed with your visit and look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire in the future. Sincerely, Nigel Badminton

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I recently attended a conference that was held at this hotel and stayed here as well. It's a huge property with some very opulent touches. Rooms were a bit dated but large and clean with nice bathrooms. I also found the bed comfortable. I ate most of my meals through conference events and I found the food to be quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rajithavinnakota
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate you taking your time to write a review in TripAdvisor and I look forward to welcome you back at sometime in the future. Sincerely, Nigel Badminton

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Despite the other reviews which rave about this place, we found the experience extremely disappointing. The internet images do not live up to reality - the large pool was slimey and the edges caked with algae, the advertised "watersports" not operating (can't get contractors apparently), all food/drink and services non existent from 12-2pm on Fridays (our main day there) and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Karen M
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was with regret that I read your report on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at The Empire. I have taken note of all the concerns you have raised, and should you wish to elaborate further on your experience, I would be pleased to correspond with you. I am so sorry your visit fell short of your expectations...

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We checked out from our hotel in BSB and proceeded to Empire with our luggage before a past-midnight flight out. Upon arrival, we left our luggage at the concierge then went on to have afternoon tea at the Lobby Lounge. 2 of us had the tea buffet, while the other 2 ordered a la carte. The afternoon tea buffet spread...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RezC_12
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and will consider returning in the future. Sincerely, Nigel Badminton

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Recently spent a week at the Empire with my wife. Just a sensational place to stay. No real need to leave there. Accommodation is 6 star, great restaurants, a superb golf course and Country Club and a 3 Cinema Complex showing new releases well ahead of Australia. All this while enjoying the magnificent Brunei weather looking out over the South...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rod D
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate your positive TripAdvisor report and thank you for finding the time to write. Sincerely, Nigel Badminton

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel is a destination itself. We had booked one night and arrived already in the morning and enjoyed a full day on the hotel grounds and pool/beach area. The architecture and details are amazing (see my photos). Room was nice and clean. Bathroom was large and very nice. The air-conditioning was mal-functioning and even the staff had hard time...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kauris
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear kauris, Thank you for your feedback and we take note of the comments made on the sun beds and the unacceptable services you had encountered. I will ensure these matters are shared with the relevant departments. Nevertheless, we do hope that you will still consider staying with us again in the near future. Thank you again for choosing to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,260 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1218)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (381)
Viewed
Dining (71)
Viewed
View from Room (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (105)
Viewed
Room/Suite (114)
Viewed
Bathroom (45)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (18)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (422)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampong Jerudong
8.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,034 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#3 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
354 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Rizqun International Hotel
Rizqun International Hotel
#8 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
154 reviews
2.3 mi away
StarLodge
StarLodge
#2 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
29 reviews
6.6 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#6 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the north eastern tip of Borneo on the doorstep of one of Asia's oldest rainforests, The Empire Hotel & Country Club is Brunei’s most prestigious beach resort offering unsurpassed 5-star luxury.This palatial resort hotel, which astounds visitors with its spectacular 12 storey marble and gold lobby, is set in its own private 180-hectare (445 acres) estate of manicured gardens and an 18-hole, floodlit Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and Country Club. Each of the hotel’s 522 opulently appointed guest rooms, suites and private villas has a view of the ocean, lagoon, gardens or golf course, while standard throughout the hotel are Imperial king-sized beds made with the finest linens, and over-sized marble bathrooms with walk-in shower, deep soaking tub with gold taps and luxury amenities. The Empire Hotel & Country Club also extends the kingdom’s regal hospitality with an impressive range of international restaurants, spa, world-class golf and sporting activities, and international meeting facilities for top level MICE gatherings, making it a resort ideal for family, romantic or business vacations. The Empire Hotel & Country Club is a member of WORLDHOTELS and recipient of numerous prestigious international awards. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Address: Kampong Jerudong BG3122, Brunei Darussalam
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Kampong Jerudong
Price Range: $197 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Empire Hotel & Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 518
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Empire Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Empire Hotel And Country Club
Empire Hotel Brunei
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Empire Hotel & Country Club staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Empire Hotel & Country Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Higher floors are better”
  • Ocean view room
  • Ocean view room
 of 5 bubbles RickMIusa, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Choose a room with a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles MCSC2014, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ocean view room well worth the sunset view over the South China Sea”
 of 5 bubbles AnnaGLondon, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Try to snag a 5th floor ocean-view room in the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles JimKitch, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Worth going for rooms with garden view which are not only cheaper but offer a nice and quiet view of the garden and lake.”
 of 5 bubbles CletusL_12, Feb 11, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question