We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

NH Cape Town The Lord Charles

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

After a very good experience at the restaurant, I went for a drink with friends. We ordered a very wellknown drink,waited for about half an hour and was then told that no one knew how to mix the drink. After asking for help at the reception desk,we were told by the reception clerke that he did not mix the drinks.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Krista L
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

To start with, our bookings were done seamlessly and booking in went like a well oiled machine. The friendliness of staff and always ready to assist is what really made our stay a pleasure. The room was splendid and a call for service was dealt with immediately as one would expect from such a venue. Again, I venture to say... More 

Helpful?
Thank frik2015
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Frik I am thrilled to have received your review with regards to your recent stay at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles. Thank you for your detailed mentions about our outstanding service and good quality of food, especially breakfast, as this is some of our best attributes which adds to a lasting memory. I will make sure, I let... More 

Durban
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel conveniently located. Room well resourced with small personal welcomely touches. Breakfast buffet really good and we were very well looked after despite a large group present. The front desk most welcoming and good with directions and admin.

Helpful?
Thank gpharrys
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am delighted to receive such encouraging comments on how great your stay was. From your warm welcome to a relaxing sleep and splendid food. I will pass on your gratitude to the rest of the staff, so they know their hard work paid off. We always strive to meet all our guests expectations, attend to every little... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I spent 2 days and 1 night at the hotel while attending the NAPTOSA CONFERENCE. I found ALL staff members to be very accomplished and accommodating, very friendly and efficient throughout our stay. The accommodation was also immaculate and I will visit them again Galeema

Helpful?
Thank Galeema
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Galeema I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your conference and stay with us, here at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles Hotel. Thank you mentioning some of our best qualities we are very proud of, such as our friendly and efficient staff, as well as our clean rooms. We look forward to welcome you back in... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thank you for the special and warm welcome to the Executive Club again. Thank you for the beautiful, updated room with the nice chocolates and sparkling wine. We are honoured and happy to be members again and happy to have spent the evening here. The service was exceptional, the food amazing and everything well organised. You are a star who... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emille R
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Emille As you know, our Executive Club Members are very important to us. Therefore I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay at our hotel and that you have been well taken care of. We go above and beyond to keep our guests happy and to make them feel at home. We look forward to... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The renovations are fantastic, although not all of the rooms have been finished as yet. The hotel has a wonderful ambience, the lovely modern design of the foyer/reception & the superb restaurant/breakfast area. The Lord Charles is very much an old favourite but what stood out the most was the wonderful attitude of the staff,... More 

Helpful?
Thank HorseyWindPump1
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for writing this positive review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our service. We strive to give the best service throughout the year for all of our guests. I will pass on your gratitude to the rest of the staff so they know their hard work paid off. We... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I found the room was definitely not of 4 star quality, furniture looked old and bed was not the best quality. on the positive, bathroom was of good quality, good breakfast, main entrance great feel...

Helpful?
Thank John O
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear John Thank you for your review with regards to your most recent visit to our establishment. We are extremely sorry to read that we could not meet your expectations. Your feedback is highly valued as we use this to maintain and improve, where necessary, our level of service ad facilities. I can assure you of our best intention always.... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location and amenities are very nice, but the rooms finishing touches were terrible, the plug was coming out when I wanted to connect my laptop, there were cracks in the tiles and walls, the remnants of old towel rails and the likes were evident. This was topped off by finding a long ladies hair on my bath towel. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank StevenMonty
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Steven Thank you very much for your comment regarding your recent stay. I sincerely apologise that we did not meet your expectations with regards to your overall experience at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles. I have address the mentioned challenges you had with the relevant departments, and I can assure that this is not our standard. We assure... More 

Midrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Conference Facilities at the Lord Charles are very good. The staff are extremely professional but warm and friendly and very willing. The food, for a conference venue, is outstanding. Plentiful and delicious. This was commented on by many of our delegates. The accommodation is comfortable and the rooms are a good size. Sometimes some of the rooms are very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Jenny I am thrilled to read you great review regarding you and you team's most recent stay with us, here a NH Cape Town The Lord Charles Hotel. Thank you for mentioning some of our best qualities to the hotel, that makes us stand out, such as our rooms, our great breakfast, our location, amazing food variety and our... More 

Roodepoort, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been using the Lord Charles over the past couple of years for all our conferences and it works ideal. As it is against most traffic it in the mornings and afternoons it is probably the easiest venue to get too. And for those who wish to stay in the hotel it is truly lovely. I have been given... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ronald K
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Ronald I am delighted to read your positive feedback. It is a pleasure to have you back each time. Thank you for mentioning some our best qualities such as our spacious rooms, our accessible location, our awesome breakfast and our amazing service delivery. I will pass on your gratitude to the rest of the staff so they know their... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

139 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (90)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
3.7 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
3.1 mi away
Willowbrook Country House
Willowbrook Country House
#3 of 6 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
6.9 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#3 of 15 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
21.8 mi away
African Pride Crystal Towers Hotel & Spa
7.1 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles hotel in Cape Town is nestled between the wine country of the Cape, the Helderberg Mountains and False Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about NH Cape Town The Lord Charles

Address: Corner of Main Road (M9) & Broadway Boulevard (R44), Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Price Range: $102 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Cape Town The Lord Charles 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your NH Cape Town The Lord Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh The Lord Charles Hotel Somerset West
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles Somerset West, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay