We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690 South Africa
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$343
View Deal
Hotels.com
$343
View Deal
Orbitz.com
$343
View Deal
Travelocity$343
CheapTickets$343
Tripadvisor$343
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (678)
Dining (69)
Room & Suite (10)

About

#11 of 17 hotels in Franschhoek
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Mont Rochelle is Sir Richard Branson's stunning hotel and vineyard just under an hour's drive from Cape Town in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Situated in an area internationally renowned for its winelands and stunning scenery, Mont Rochelle boasts a unique hilltop setting with views over the Klein Dassenberg mountain range and private vineyard encompassing 39 hectares. The hotel comprises of 26 rooms and suites including a stunning Manor House; a private four-bedroom villa available for exclusive use year-round. There are five room types and all rooms can be made up with twin beds on request. Children are very welcome to stay at Mont Rochelle year-round and some rooms can accommodate children on single beds. There are two restaurants at Mont Rochelle: Miko and the Country Kitchen. Miko is the main restaurant and is the setting for some fantastic gourmet meals including those for special occasions. Adjacent to the winery is the Country Kitchen, an ideal spot for a light lunch or a take-away picnic. All our room rates include breakfast which is served in Miko. Both restaurants are open for non-resident guests but we do recommend you call in advance to book a table. At Mont Rochelle wine tasting isn’t just a special event – it’s an everyday occurrence. Both hotel guests and day visitors can enjoy wine tastings in a variety of locations and our Mont Rochelle wines are available to purchase. When you're not enjoying the wine, why not take a dip in the main outdoor heated swimming pool or relax at the Mont Rochelle Spa with a spa treatment or Hammam. We use the eco-friendly Africology ‘Authentic’ range of spa products which are made from 100% essential oils using natural plant extracts.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Kids stay free
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Shallow end in pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Bicycle tours
Patio
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Video game console
Books, DVDs, music for children
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, French, Afrikaans
828Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 619
  • 137
  • 40
  • 24
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Annaliza M wrote a review Nov 1
63 contributions2 helpful votes
My family and I enjoyed a delicious picnic at the dam at Mont Rochelle. The staff were very helpful and were able to amend the basket menu to cater for a vegetarian. Upon arrival we were welcomed by friendly staff who had our baskets packed with delicious treats and meals. The picturesque view and delicious basket, made the perfect picnic! The venue was neat and complied with all covid precautions.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mont Rochelle
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear AnnalizaM4, It was such a pleasure to welcome you and your family to Mont Rochelle recently and so we were thrilled to see your delightful review. Your kind words mean such a great deal and we can’t thank you enough for sharing them with us. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, James Basson General Manager james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com
Read more
Melisa H wrote a review Sep 2020
Cape Town, South Africa2 contributions
I recently stayed at Mont Rochelle and it was incredible! I stayed downstairs in the vineyard rooms, and it was gorgeous. The view from my bed was breathtaking, every amenity provided and the guest service was brilliant. The staff remembered our names and were so happy to receive us, welcoming us like old friends. Since COVID travelling has been a fear for many of us, but Mont Rochelle quickly puts you at ease. All hygiene protocols are carefully followed and incorporated by the team and guests. Overall a much-needed break away from the "new normal" was needed, and I found a little slice of heaven in Mont Rochelle.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mont Rochelle
Responded Oct 6, 2020
Dear MelisaHarveyZA, Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a wonderful review with us. It was an absolute pleasure welcoming you to Mont Rochelle, and we couldn’t be happier to hear that you felt so at home; that’s exactly what we strive for. It meant so much to hear that you felt at ease during your stay, and we loved hearing that you enjoyed a much needed break away. I very much hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon; our little slice of heaven is always here for you when you need it! Kind regards, James Basson General Manager james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com
Read more
7clifton wrote a review Aug 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom122 contributions51 helpful votes
We stayed two nights in a Cabernet room with lovely views. The staff were welcoming and helpful. It's a very comfortable and relaxing hotel. The breakfasts were very good and we enjoyed a good dinner on the Saturday night. Wines in South Africa are very good and the cellar here is excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Mont Rochelle
Responded Sep 14, 2020
Dear 7clifton, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your lovely review. Whilst I’m sure it feels like a distant memory now and with so much having changed in the world since your visit in March, now more than ever we appreciate receiving such wonderful feedback, so please accept a very heartfelt thank you on behalf of the entire Mont Rochelle team. We don’t take for granted the beautiful views we’re so blessed with here and it’s always fantastic to hear when our guests appreciate the scenery too. We hope that as the world starts to get back on its feet we will have the pleasure of your company again in the future. Kind regards, James Basson General Manager james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com
Read more
westcoastcat wrote a review Mar 2020
Vancouver, Canada455 contributions94 helpful votes
+1
Mont Rochelle is owned by Richard Branson and like all his properties it is subtly superb. It has magnificent views of the surrounding Franschhoek mountains, a grass tennis court and a swimming pool. We had really good wine tasting on the patio adjacent to their restaurant “The Country Kitchen “.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle
Responded Apr 2, 2020
Dear westcoastcat, Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback of your visit to Mont Rochelle. We’re very fortunate to be part of the Virgin Limited Edition collection and I couldn’t agree more that our sister properties are very special indeed. We don’t take for granted the beautiful views we’re so blessed with here and it’s always wonderful to hear when our guests appreciate the scenery too. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your wine tasting and hope you’ll come back to visit us again. Kind regards, James Basson General Manager james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com
Read more
keithamara wrote a review Mar 2020
St Ives, United Kingdom392 contributions137 helpful votes
Mont Rochelle was a very pleasant place to stop for a wine tasting and cheese and charcuterie platter for lunch. It was really enjoyable to sit outside with a view of the distant mountains. Great service.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle
Responded Mar 18, 2020
Dear Keithamara, Thank you for taking the time to come visit us and I’m so pleased to hear you enjoyed your wine tasting session and platter for lunch. We have a wonderful selection of award-winning wines, so I do hope you were able to sample a few of those during your visit. Kind regards, James Basson General Manager james.basson@montrochelle.virgin.com
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$270 - $852 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mont rochelle franschhoek, hotel mont rochelle
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
La Couronne Hotel
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeFranschhoek
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mont Rochelle
Which popular attractions are close to Mont Rochelle?
Nearby attractions include First South African Perfume Museum (0.9 miles), Franschhoek Pass (0.9 miles), and Mont Rochelle Nature Reserve (1.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mont Rochelle?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Mont Rochelle?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mont Rochelle?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Mont Rochelle?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mont Rochelle?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Petite Colombe, Orangerie at Le Lude, and Le Coin Francais.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mont Rochelle?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Mont Rochelle have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Mont Rochelle offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Mont Rochelle located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Franschhoek.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mont Rochelle?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mont Rochelle offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.