We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mont Rochelle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mont Rochelle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

357 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 317: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Arriving it didn't feel luxurious and until you climb the stairs to the dining area the farm seems a bit understated, but the red wines are amazing. The Graham Beck MCC is a bit pricey for a wine farm at almost R300 but the tastings are good value. Nice bathrooms! And the staff were friendly.

Helpful?
Thank John T
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had heard good things about this hotel and it didn't disappoint. My husband and I spent the weekend here for our anniversary. The hotel was beautiful, we had great service and the staff were very welcoming. Our room was huge and beautifully decorated with spectacular views over the valley. We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Chantel B
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Chantel B, What a pleasure it was to read that we lived up to all the good things that you had heard about Mont Rochelle! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences from your recent visit, as well as for choosing to share your anniversary with us. It was wonderful to hear that you... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were seeking a special solace while visiting the winelands of South Africa and our research lead us to this wonderful property. Given that this was a Sir Richard Branson property we were confident in our selection. We were not disappointed. Our reservation was made several months earlier with consistent follow up from the Management. The property is essentially a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David H
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear David H, Thank you so much for taking the time to share this very special review of your stay at Mont Rochelle. The entire team was so pleased to hear that Mont Rochelle provided the solace that you had been searching for. We loved reading about your wine tasting experience and hearing that you enjoyed the food so much,... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were blown away by our experience at Mont Rochelle. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so special by the staff. Checking in was such a relaxing and easy experience as we sat and enjoyed the scenery and welcome drinks. The facilities were incredible (gym, spa, pool, living space), our room unbelievable and the surroundings breathtaking.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank philwylie
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear philwylie, Wow, we were blown away reading these lovely words about your stay at Mont Rochelle! It was such an honour for us that you chose to spend your honeymoon at Mont Rochelle, so it was the very least we could do to make you feel special with a few little treats. Thank you for your lovely comments about... More 

Leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called in as part of our garden route tour and stopped the night. That was our only down side! Just a beautiful setting, very relaxed staff, very courteous and couldn't do enough but not in an in your face/repetitive offering kind of a way! Just a lovely, lovely experience.

Helpful?
Thank Chris W
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Chris W, It was such an honour for us to welcome you as part of your garden route tour, even if it was just for one night so thank you for choosing to stay with us. Our entire team were blown away by your wonderful words about the service; we always want our guests to feel comfortable so we... More 

Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
108 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We started our stay with lunch at the Country Kitchen. A meat and cheese sharing platter and a glass of Chardonnay, whilst soaking up the view in the sunshine. The hotel is a little out of town but they do provide transfers at certain times of the day. We had a Shiraz room with a great view down the valley.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lucyleopard
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Lucyleopard, Thank you so much for taking the time to share this fabulous review of your ‘home away from home’ stay at Mont Rochelle. It was such a delight to read about your first lunch at Country Kitchen; we think nothing says “welcome home” like sharing some delicious snacks and a glass of wine in the sunshine! The entire... More 

Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went for lunch today. We Ordered food from the bar menu. The food was so little that we had to go to another restaurant afterwards. Beautiful location for drinks but definitely won't recommend this venue as a restaurant. The food we had was ok. No taste sensation.

Helpful?
Thank PiicachuSmith
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear PiicachuSmith, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us following your recent visit to Mont Rochelle. Whilst it was lovely to hear that you thought the location was beautiful, I was saddened to hear that the food was not quite what you were expecting and I would like to assure you that your valued feedback... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

We initially booked the Merlot room a few months prior but when we arrived, the hotel was closed for renovations. We were reaccommodated to the Manor, which was a really pleasant surprise for us. We were in the loft, a BEAUTIFUL room with the most luxurious amenities. It was spacious, extremely clean and very comfortable. It also has a large... More 

Helpful?
Thank caroltolenlaui
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear caroltolenlaui, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review of your stay at Mont Rochelle. We were so pleased that you found the Manor House to be a pleasant surprise; we must say the loft room is definitely one of our favourites! The team were delighted to hear that you found them to be... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Great rooms,very modern and stylish and extraordinary views. Great staff, very pleasant and helpfull. Could hardly be better Restaurant not as good as franchoek best in terms of taste,but there are so many good restaurants only 2 mins away

Helpful?
1 Thank michel e
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Michel e, Thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review with us of your stay at Mont Rochelle. It was wonderful to read your kind comments about your room and the team and we loved hearing the views referred to as extraordinary. It was a shame to hear that the restaurant did not quite live... More 

Reeuwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

My TomTom had difficulty finding the resort and so it should be! Once we were cleared by the guard at the gate and drove up the driveway, we knew this was going to be special. The staff was lined up at the entrance to greet us. Everything about this place exhumes luxury and elegance. The staff is top notch and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ericv58
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Ericv58, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review of your stay at Mont Rochelle. We loved reading about the welcome you received, it’s always such a pleasure to say hello to new friends so waiting for you at the entrance is the very least we can do. You certainly know how to make... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

234 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (229)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.6 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.3 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
0.8 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mont Rochelle is Sir Richard Branson's stunning 22-bedroom hotel and vineyard just under an hour's drive from Cape Town in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 22 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and two new restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: $225 - $853 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay