We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Mont Rochelle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mont Rochelle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 326: English reviews
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stopped just 1 night on our journey from Cape Town to a game reserve. It was all booked as part of our South African trip, through a travel company in the UK. I didn't know it was part of the Virgjn empire until I Googled the directions from Cape Town. The setting is beautiful with the mountains as a... More 

Helpful?
Thank jeskier
Wirral
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We recently spent 5 days in Mont Rochelle as part of a two week South African holiday. The hotel itself was beautiful and surrounded by stunning scenery. Our room ( a pinotage suite ) was huge and overlooked the gardens and mountains. The staff were all very friendly and helpful especially Elizma , Peter and Gys . We were treated... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark_n_Pip
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for two nights at this hotel. We were disappointed that our dietary needs were not altogether well catered for. We would love to stay again, but would need to do more research in the food on offer. Rooms were very comfortable and quiet.

Helpful?
Thank lorraine155
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here to celebrate a significant birthday of mine. The hotel were pretty unresponsive on email as I was planning the trip. I emailed to express my concerns and that I hoped the service would be better when we arrived - they assured us it would be unfortunately it wasn't. The staff were slow and did not seem to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hebarr
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Hebarr, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent visit to Mont Rochelle. Whilst it was wonderful to hear you chose to spend such a special birthday with us, I was disappointed to hear that we did not make the right first impression by e-mail and that sadly you felt... More 

West Midlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Brief visit for wine tasting. Restaurant like a modern open-plan cafe, didn't try the food. Although half way up a hill views restricted to two narrow windows. Tasted a few reds and whites: very average, nothing worthy of stowing in our luggage and taking with us...

Helpful?
Thank M-L0
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear M-L0, We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent wine tasting. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future where perhaps we can tempt you to stay for lunch and invite you to take in the views whilst you explore the grounds. If... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night as part of our garden route trip. We were blown away by this hotel as the views were spectacular and the accommodation was really gorgeous with modern tasteful decor. Plenty of wine in minibar which is free and is stocked up regularly. Lovely big spa bath. The vineyard was great. Would love to go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkihay84
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Nikkihay84, What a fabulous review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we’re thrilled to hear that you would love to come back as we would love to welcome you back! Until next time… Kind Regards, James Basson General Manager... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stunning views over the town and surrounding mountains make Mont Rochelle the perfect weekend place to stay. Richard Branson's charming wine lodge has been beautifully done up with stylish rooms and really lovely art on the walls. Nice touches include books left around to peruse, croquet and boules on the lawn and a smoking gazebo. Lovely breakfast on the terrace.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank skoolrunmum
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear Skoolrunmum, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We were delighted to hear about your weekend hideaway with us at Mont Rochelle. It was such a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we particularly loved hearing that your massage was so good you booked for another! Thank you for your valued feedback about the... More 

Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Where to start! This place was magnificent. The location and hotel itself was stunning, so pretty and picturesque. Service in the hotel was great, all staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were really impressive with lots of added extra including free wine! Cannot recommend this place enough

Helpful?
1 Thank fitzybear619
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear fitzybear619, Wow what an amazing review; thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re delighted to hear that you thought the setting was magnificent and that you found the team to be friendly and helpful. Thank you so much for recommending us; we hope that means we will get to see you... More 

Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights before going on to ulusaber. This is a wonderful hotel in a beautiful location with fabulous rooms. This is a great place to relax and unwind. The wine tasting on horseback was brilliant, catering for all levels of riding even within the same group. The food is excellent and the majority of the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoHarris628
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear JoHarris628, We love your style combining winelands with wildlife; we may be biased but there’s no better holiday in our opinion! It was such a pleasure to welcome you to Mont Rochelle and we were delighted to hear you enjoyed a relaxing few days with us before setting off on your adventure. Our Head Chef was thrilled to hear... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Arriving it didn't feel luxurious and until you climb the stairs to the dining area the farm seems a bit understated, but the red wines are amazing. The Graham Beck MCC is a bit pricey for a wine farm at almost R300 but the tastings are good value. Nice bathrooms! And the staff were friendly.

Helpful?
Thank John T
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review

Dear John T, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review of your stay at Mont Rochelle. We were delighted to hear that you found the red wines to be amazing and the team were so touched to hear how friendly you found them to be. We hope that you will be back to treat... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

234 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (229)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.6 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#4 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#8 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.8 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mont Rochelle is Sir Richard Branson's stunning 22-bedroom hotel and vineyard just under an hour's drive from Cape Town in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 22 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and two new restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: $235 - $876 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay