We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Basse Provence

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Basse Provence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 99: English reviews
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Elizabeth room that was really amazing, great comfortable bed, with a big and nice bathtub. It was just fabolous. The service was great and for our next visit to Franschhoek we will definitely stay here.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Natalita84
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just a 5 minute drive from the centre of Franschhoek Basse Provence is actually part of the Rickety Bridge winery which is just a short walk from your room. We stayed 2 nights and were the only guests so had the place to ourselves. The only problem we experienced was that when we arrived it took 15 minutes for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
Dullstroom, South Africa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

The setting is pretty and typically wine-farm. The rooms are well appointed and neat, but ours wasn't properly clean. There were stains on the blanket, which gave the impression of no proper supervision. The walls are paper thin, so we heard every word the couple next door uttered. The proximity to the main road also adds to the noise level.... More 

Helpful?
Thank bestofspirits
CassieJR, Manager at Basse Provence, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you for submitting your review of Basse Provence. My sincere apologies that the breakfast was not up to its usual standard. We do not do a buffet as the majority of our guests prefer the varied menu. Many of the euopeans like to have a choice of traditional cooked breakfasts. The continental selection has fresh fruits, double... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2016

We had booked to stay one night as we were doing the tram wine route and didn't want to drive back to Cape Town. Unfortunately due to the wine route we could only get to the place after 6pm and although we had picked up keys early we all battled to find our rooms as no one had really shown... More 

Helpful?
Thank mightymousemdsm
Sydney
Level Contributor
116 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2016

Loved this place from the moment I saw it. Staff were welcoming and the room was truly spacious and luxurious and the accessories high quality. The thatched roof made it special to us coming from a place where they are non-existent. Breakfast was good and wi-fi speed was pretty quick. The winery was also very nice to visit and get... More 

Helpful?
Thank tholland55
CassieJR, Manager at Basse Provence, responded to this review

What a wonderful review to read! Thank you from all of the staff at Basse Provence. I do hope you will be visiting us again in the near future My kind Regards Cassie More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2016

We were a little disappointed with our welcome as we were shown to our room without much conversation or enthusiasm. The room was relatively nice but not exceptional, the same with breakfast and the communal areas

Helpful?
Thank Steven G
CassieJR, Manager at Basse Provence, responded to this review

Good morning Thank you for taking your time to review our property I do apologize that your welcome was not up to our usual standard. We take all guest comments on board and will be making sure that your future welcome experience is a good one. I do hope to see you again at Basse Provence Kind regards Cassie More 

Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately our stay was a little tainted by the end-of-season service we received, slow to respond, closed at lunchtime and nobody around in the evenings - even the security looked half-interested. Room was fine, breakfast good, and nice to go for the 5km jog around the vineyard

Helpful?
1 Thank Hislopworldtour
CassieJR, Manager at Basse Provence, responded to this review

Good Morning I am very happy to hear your room and breakfast was good! its a shame you felt our presence was a little lacking! Very unusual for Basse! However, we do not have staff on after five as this is when the reception closes, we are on call at anytime. The new five km trail is part of the... More 

Johannesburg
Level Contributor
138 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2016

This wine estate is approx. 2km from Franshoek center. it gives a very nice flavour or the wine land. Rooms clean and spacious, wine tastiing a sepcial experience. We had dinner in Franshoek town. All in all a good stay over. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank NikiAustria
CassieJR, Manager at Basse Provence, responded to this review

Good morning Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! The team here wish you all the best and safe travels further My kind regards Cassie More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2016

Basse Provance was stunning, such lovely staff, relaxed atmosphere . Authentic decor, breakfast had plenty of choices . The view from bedroom window was amazing. Thank you once again😎 Louise Waller and friends

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 148louisew
CassieJR, Manager at Basse Provence, responded to this review

HI Louise Fantastic to hear from you with such a lovely review. The team at Basse wish you well and thank you for your lovely words. Keep well, safe travels Kind regards Cassie More 

Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2016

Although the rooms are nicely furnished and the two main buildings are ok, the rest of the estate is in need of some TLC. Our room was spacious and everything worked as intended, although the electrical water kettle blew the fuse of the power strip. The common space in the hall way is very basic with seasoned and uninviting furniture... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ulrich M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.2 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#15 of 65 in Franschhoek
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
#24 of 65 in Franschhoek
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#11 of 65 in Franschhoek
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House
2.3 mi away
Maison d'Ail Guest House
Maison d'Ail Guest House
#14 of 65 in Franschhoek
247 reviews
2.0 mi away
Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek
Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek
#30 of 65 in Franschhoek
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Basse Provence

Address: P.O.Box 455, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: $103 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Basse Provence 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Basse Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Basse Provence staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Lutterworth, England, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Basse Provence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't face the road if its a weekend night.”
 of 5 bubbles mightymousemdsm, Sep 18, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the Manor house”
 of 5 bubbles ChantelleLR, Jan 25, 2016 | Read review
“Jacob Suite was spacious with a bath in the room! Very Romantic!”
 of 5 bubbles Monica-Dart, Dec 11, 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in the main house, where all three rooms available are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles wellses, Aug 1, 2015 | Read review
“There's one room that isn't en-suite, the bathroom is at the end of the hall.”
 of 5 bubbles StacyRen, Jul 31, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay