We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Basse Provence

Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Basse Provence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 111: English reviews
Start your review of Basse Provence
 Click to rate
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Reviewed April 10, 2017

We enjoyed a peaceful and relaxing stay at Basse Provence, it is indeed a magical place with cozy bedrooms and a wonderful breakfast. Friendly country hospitality at its best in a very beautiful surrounding.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moonshineafrica
CassieJR, Manager at Basse Provence, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you for the lovely review of Basse Provence. I am delighted you enjoyed your time here. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards Cassie

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed April 8, 2017

We had a pleasant stay and the guest house is very conveniently located, with easy access to all of Franschhoek's attractions. The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed the complimentary wine tasting at the sister property, Rickety Bridge

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank elizabethbV1210KB
CassieJR, Manager at Basse Provence, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Regards Cassie

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 22, 2017

We spent one night at Basse Provence. We were a bit underwhelmed at first but decided that the simplicity had its own charm. If you want peace and quiet and to be left alone this is the place for you.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vaneast8888
CassieJR, Manager at Basse Provence, responded to this review

Good Morning We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Basse Provence. The charm and peace are certainly what Basse is all about. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Cassie

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed February 18, 2017

We stayed at many small hotels/ B&Bs while in South Africa, and this one was our favorite! Our room was beautiful and the surroundings were stunningly picturesque. It's close to so many wineries and the staff was very friendly... our only regret is that we did not stay longer!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 628nirith
CassieJR, Manager at Basse Provence, responded to this review

Good Morning I am delighted that you enjoyed Basse Provence so much! Thank you for taking the time to review us and let others know about us. we do hope to see you again in the near future. Regards Cassie

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed February 15, 2017

We stayed at the Basse Provence and were very satisfied! The Cottage was very spacious, nice interior and quiet. We had a wonderful breakfast outside with a beautiful view. The pool area is also very nice WIFI available and good. Also, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We booked the wrong date but they accomodated us anyways in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mirjam8610
CassieJR, Manager at Basse Provence, responded to this review

Thank you for your high recommendations of Basse Provence. I am delighted you had a good stay with us! We hope to see you again in the near future. Regrads Cassie

Stockholm
Reviewed January 29, 2017

We spent one night at Basse Provence Guesthouse after a one month long Journey in Southafrica and we did not like After we had got our room all staff disappered and we badkultur a phonenummer The hairdryer was there but no connectin to the electricity Breakfast was just cold OR hot everywhere we have got both yoghurt fruit And hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank britab2015
Hertfordshire
Reviewed January 25, 2017

Very relaxing, we stayed for 3 nights whilst visiting for a wedding. The room was ample and had everything you could ask for. Huge enough with a powerful shower and bath. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, yes it isn't close to town but a 2 minute drive and you smack in the centre of town. I'd say the only thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
Sao Paulo
Reviewed January 18, 2017

People Friendly but the Guest House is old, doesn't smell very good needs to be updated and deep clean in all areas! Good vineyard s around the place an easy to go around from the hotel. Better price and rates website hotel instead od OTAS.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlejandroGeis
United Kingdom
Reviewed January 14, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights in January. It's out of town and right beside Rickety Bridge vineyard. The accommodation is nice, parts need some attention in refurb, and electrics need a look at. On the whole it's nice and breakfast is good, it's in a remote location with nice views and a lovely team.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JandANixon
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed January 13, 2017

We have just returned from our honeymoon where we stayed at basse provance for one night 5th January in the Elizabeth suite. We were very disappointed as when we woke up there was no water for 3 hours. We found this out by going to the bathroom and then not having it flush for 3 hours. As you can imagine,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annamarjori
CassieJR, Owner at Basse Provence, responded to this review

Good afternoon I am so sorry that you were here at such an unfortunate time. The Municipality of Franschhoek had a burst pipe in the town centre and the outlying areas were all without water. It is one of those awful acts of God that happens from time to time. We only found out when one of the guests told...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.8 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House
2.3 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#17 of 63 in Franschhoek
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
#27 of 63 in Franschhoek
192 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fransvliet Guest House
Fransvliet Guest House
#1 of 40 in Franschhoek
336 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maison d'Ail Guest House
Maison d'Ail Guest House
#19 of 63 in Franschhoek
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Basse Provence

Address: P.O.Box 455, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: $72 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Basse Provence 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Basse Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Basse Provence staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Lutterworth, England, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Basse Provence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Jacob Suite was large and spacious”
85jasonh, Jan 25, 2017 | Read review
“Elizabeth in main house was lovely”
Rubybirkenhead, Dec 26, 2016 | Read review
“Don't face the road if its a weekend night.”
mightymousemdsm, Sep 18, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the Manor house”
ChantelleLR, Jan 25, 2016 | Read review
“Jacob Suite was spacious with a bath in the room! Very Romantic!”
Monica-Dart, Dec 11, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor$84
Expedia.com$84
Orbitz.com$84
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates