We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Sheba Guesthouse

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Sheba Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 19: English reviews
Free State, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Neat, clean, quiet ... just what we wanted. Real value for money. Breakfast ... very good! We will definitely recommend this venue ... in fact, we already made another booking! Nice and calm ambience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 243schalkv
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016 via mobile

The fact that this is branded luxury is a misnomer. We had the garage rooms which were tiny, grubby bathrooms, no shampoos etc. One minute towel per person. Luxury, I would expect a hair dryer and filter coffee at least. No communal place in cold weather to sit with friends. Not at all what we expected. We were disappointed to... More 

Helpful?
Thank donotwantascreenname
Dawn G, Owner at Royal Sheba Guesthouse, responded to this review

We do NOT have "garage rooms" at Royal Sheba. we do however have outside rooms witch is called Standard Rooms and not Luxury rooms. Normal size bath towels not sheets yes, but not minute...the smaller towels are called hand towels and is there for your hands not your body. We only supply soap as a welcome gift.. with a little... More 

Simeonovgrad, Bulgaria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016

We received good friendly service, the room was comfortable enough. The breakfast was good. On booking it wasn't made clear that drinks and evening meals were not available at weekends, we found this out when we arrived on a Saturday, fortunately there are a few eateries nearby.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank T6898ATpault
Dawn G, Owner at Royal Sheba Guesthouse, responded to this review

On our website it states clearly we do not offer Dinners over weekends and also no Halaal. We do not have a restaurant on site so meals are planned before the time when booking is made and guests ask for dinner. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2016

Spacious, comfortable and well-serviced double bedroom. Very friendly service. Nice breakfast.The security gate at the front door is out-dated and a bit difficult to operate. That should be replaced by something more comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Plaasjapie1
Dawn G, Owner at Royal Sheba Guesthouse, responded to this review

Very good news!!! We fixed the door and it is operating perfectly now. The door is part of the ambiance of the old house. Thanks for your review we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016 via mobile

Booked this guesthouse based on reviews posted by other guests. Not sure how this can be a 4star guest house based on the room that we stayed in, was really small and crowded with nothing special (other 4 star guest houses offer much more for the price we paid). Safe parking and good security. Breakfast was standard. Friendly staff and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anelle1110
Dawn G, Owner at Royal Sheba Guesthouse, responded to this review

Royal Sheba Guesthouse is NOT rated. We are not a 4 star Guesthouse and nowhere do we advertise that we are. The previous owner maybe did but the new owners of Royal Sheba and new website NOWHERE states that we are star rated. New ownership since March 2015 Kind regards More 

Pretoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2016

We attended an official function and our need was to stay near the venue. This venue was excellent in location and facilities. Chantal , the manager, gave excellent service and her recommendation where to Dine Saturday night was divine. We will recommend this venue to our friends and also use this as overnight stop to Mozambique.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Renaud B
DawnFG, Manager at Royal Sheba Guesthouse, responded to this review

It was a huge pleasure accommodating you. Hope to see you both soon again. Kind Regards Chantelle - Royal Sheba Guesthouse More 

nelpruit
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

I have recently stayed for a night and let me just say the place is awesome. Thank you for the warm treatment. It is clean and the breakfast is great. I urgently needed accommodation and I was able to get help.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 352adelaiden
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

the service was excelllent, warm welcome as well room where clean location is also nice comfortable bed you dont feel tiredness in the morning breakfast was nice and fresh excellent service for breakfast

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 281simon
Dawn G, Owner at Royal Sheba Guesthouse, responded to this review

Simon we really loved having you here...Thanks for testing out our new beds!!!! More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015

Coming to Barberton early one evening, we happened upon the Royal Sheba and were relieved to have found such a nice place to stay in the dark. We were very happy staying here and Chantalle was extremely helpful as she put us in touch with people to help us out on a personal research matter. The breakfasts were tasty and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve G M
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

A super B & B not far from the centre of town in a quiet leafy suburb which was easy to find. The service was excellent, the staff friendly and sincere and the room was clean comfortable and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was very modern with two basins. It had an outside door into a stunning tropical garden. Very well... More 

Helpful?
Thank R0gan
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberton
1.4 mi away
Bushwhacked
Bushwhacked
#1 of 10 in Barberton
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
20.3 mi away
Dawson's Game and Trout Lodge
0.0 mi away
Jathira Guesthouse
Jathira Guesthouse
#3 of 8 in Barberton
4.0 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Eco Eden Bush Lodge
Eco Eden Bush Lodge
#11 of 58 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
24.0 mi away
Maguga Lodge
Maguga Lodge
#2 of 2 in Piggs Peak
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come and experience our tranquil homely atmosphere at Royal Sheba Guest House, offering guest house accommodation in Barberton. We offer you a luxurious, peaceful and secure stay in the famous town of Barberton, the “Gem of the Lowveld”. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Sheba Guesthouse

Address: 23 Bok Street, Barberton 1300, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Barberton
Price Range: $53 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Sheba Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay