We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Coach House Hotel & Spa

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Coach House Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 86: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Spent a wonderful long weekend at this wonderful hotel. Have wanted to stay here for a very long time, but just haven't gotten around to it. From the wonderful welcome from George in the car park, to the care and attention from Joyce, Isaac and Lucas to the very present but not intrusive GM Charles the service was exemplary. This... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
North-West Province, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The location is really beautiful. The rooms are spacious and have stunning views. A little bit on the old fashioned side and need a bit of a revamp,especially the bathrooms. The food served was great.

Helpful?
Thank DiplomaticTours
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Coach House is an older style but still very comfortable hotel. For me, the dated furniture and styling only added to the charm of the place. My room was huge, and included a sitting area complete with fireplace. I was a little disappointed that it wasn't cold enough for a fire, as it would have been delightful to curl up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenna G
Hote1Management, marketing coordinator at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jenna Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Coach House Hotel and Spa. We are so pleased to hear that you had the most enjoyable stay and we appreciate all your feedback given to us. Hopefully next time when you return it will be cold enough for that cozy fire. we value you... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

Sure it might need a little bit of TLC to be the 5 star hotel it once was but they are not pretending to be or charging you for that. What you get is all the old elegance and style of that history in its 3 star version. We had a lovely big room with big comfortable beds, beautiful wooden... More 

Helpful?
Thank GMFielder
Hote1Management, marketing coordinator at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the great review of Coach House Hotel. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and it is nice to hear positive feedback from our guests We do hope that you will return in the near future for another great stay. Warm Regards Staff and Management Coach... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

Was looking forward to a lovely overnight stay in one of the old heyday hotels.........sadly disappointed. Extremely lovely setting, fabulous views, well designed buildings, but the heydays seem to have gone - very few guests, bar empty. What a shame! The room interior seems be the same as a decade ago, sadly so. Bedspread dirty - unexcusable. Bathroom of a... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelJer48
Hote1Management, marketing coordinator at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jerrard Thank you for taking the time to review Coach House Hotel and Spa. We appreciate your feedback and take it very seriously as it helps us to improve our Services and customer experience. We do apologize for the experience that you had regarding your stay at our hotel. We understand that some of the things you brought up... More 

Travelers are raving about these Tzaneen hotels

Phalaborwa, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

I visited the hotel about ten years ago. During our stay in May I was shocked on how this place deteriorated. Upon enquiry on the dinner's menu there was 3 items they did not have and charged R250 per head. Breakfast was terrible where the chef burned the potato roti and the hollandaise sauce looked like scrambled eggs. The price... More 

Helpful?
Thank 547adelem
Hote1Management, marketing coordinator at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review Coach House Hotel. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve our services and customer experience. We would like to apologize for the experience you had with us as this is unacceptbale and should not happen. The chef has been informed on the quality food, as well as... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

I was heart sore to have experienced the decline from what was such a special hotel 10 years ago. As much as the staff were friendly, they were blatantly under-trained. The food was average at best; there was no wine list (just a choice of 3 presented by the barman). The rooms and public areas appear to have had no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hamish S
Hote1Management, marketing coordinator at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review Coach House Hotel and Spa. We appreciate your feedback very much and take it very seriously as it helps us to improve our services and customer experience. Please accept our apologies for the experience you may have had at our establishment. We do understand that there are a few maintenance... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
121 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

We stopped at the hotel for an afternoon drink and to look at the surrounding views. The service was excellent and the hotel restaurant inside is in great shape (the outside might need a bit of work). There is much history captured in this place and you could spend hours looking around this place filled with antiques. Great idea for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ansa B
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ansa Thank you for the wonderful review of Coach House Hotel and Spa. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your short visit with and do hope that you will return in the near future for a longer stay possibly. Warm Regards Staff and Management Coach House Hotel and Spa More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016

We travelled through magoebas and inspected some hotels there but felt that all were pricy for what you get and very neglected.. This Hotel was just perfect. .although 25 min from Magoebas, its on a quiet hill with the most beautiful views over the mountains.. the rooms have a fireplace and nice balcony to sit on.. stunning irish type bar,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doneb
Hote1Management, marketing coordinator at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Wow! What a wonderful review of Coach House Hotel and Spa! We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us! And we thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and write such lovely feedback. We do hope that you will return in the near future for another great visit! Warm Regards... More 

Johannesburg, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016

We had a room with an excellent view. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. We had a few cold days and nights and they lit a fire in the fireplace. Excellent room service and very delicious food. A large variety and a beautiful dinning room. The overall feeling of the hotel is that of a hotel set in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank mariamhvt
Hote1Management, marketing coordinator at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Maria Thank you for the wonderful review of Coach House Hotel and Spa. We are so thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time and it is a such a pleasure when one of our guests leave happy. we do hope that you will return for another wonderful visit with us in the near future. Warm Regards... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (65)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tzaneen
0.9 mi away
The Fairview Collection, Tzaneen
9.1 mi away
Tzaneen Country Lodge
Tzaneen Country Lodge
#1 of 7 in Tzaneen
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
11.1 mi away
Magoebaskloof Hotel
Magoebaskloof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Magoebaskloof
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel@Tzaneen
Hotel@Tzaneen
#3 of 7 in Tzaneen
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Barune Guest House
La Barune Guest House
#2 of 15 in Tzaneen
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
6.4 mi away
Kings Walden Garden Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Easily accessible from Gauteng, the Coach House Hotel & Spa offers world-class hospitality and luxurious comfort in one of South Africa’s most tranquil settings. Internationally known as one of Africa’s leading country hotels, this gracious estate is situated on 560 hectares in the lush sub-tropical Letaba district of Limpopo.Nestled atop a ridge, the retreat offers dramatic panoramic views of the Letsitele Valley, and Drakensberg Mountain Range. This historic country retreat offers guests old world service and charm, rejuvenating spa treatments, award winning cuisine, and its famed on-site nougat factory. Warm distinctive service and elegant upmarket colonial decor are the hallmarks of this heritage property. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Coach House Hotel & Spa

Address: Old Coach Road | Agatha, Tzaneen, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Price Range: $47 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coach House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Coach House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach Hotel Tzaneen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay