We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Coach House Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Coach House Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 90: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

we stayed two nights . The reception was soo warm, their service averall was excellent. we had the most amazing spa pampering treatments and enoyed breathtaking view while having late lunch. Its definitely value for money!!

Helpful?
Thank Mologadi M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Had lunch there and it was not worth it AT all... Meat was so tough you could barely chew it. The pudding was raw. The chicken nuggets the starter was out a packet and there was literally 2 on a plate... There was no Yorkshire pudding as on the menu. The soup was tasteless. All round very expensive very disappointing... More 

Helpful?
Thank BIM1983

Travelers are raving about these Tzaneen hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean and beautiful room. Excellent room and restaurant views. Lovely staff, always a pleasure coming and staying over here. It was our anniversary so the room was beautifully set up. Thank you, will come back again.

Helpful?
Thank Lavish M
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to honestly review Coach House Hotel. We are thrilled at your kind words and satisfaction with our hotel. Excellence in customer care has always been our top priority. Thank you once again for letting us know of your appreciation. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future at the... More 

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Coach House Hotel at Agatha, Tzaneen owes a lot to the manner in which the general manager, Mr Charles Lamb, conducts the business. A class act who combines friendliness, helpfulness and business-like service in a most professional way. I liked this man, he's one of the good ones. Criticisms, Evening menu a bit restricted but cant complain about either... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike13448TA
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mike Thank you for taking the time to honestly review Coach House Hotel. We are glad to learn of your satisfaction with the service provided by our General Manager Mr Charles Lamb. Excellence in customer care has always been our top priority. You can be rest assured that your feedback will be reviewed by Senior Management. Thank you once... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

Spent a wonderful long weekend at this wonderful hotel. Have wanted to stay here for a very long time, but just haven't gotten around to it. From the wonderful welcome from George in the car park, to the care and attention from Joyce, Isaac and Lucas to the very present but not intrusive GM Charles the service was exemplary. This... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Coach House Hotel and Spa. We are so pleased to hear that you had the most enjoyable stay and we appreciate all your feedback given to us. Customer care is off prime importance. Valuable feedback like yours helps us to know that we are... More 

North-West Province, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

The location is really beautiful. The rooms are spacious and have stunning views. A little bit on the old fashioned side and need a bit of a revamp,especially the bathrooms. The food served was great.

Helpful?
Thank DiplomaticTours
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Coach House Hotel and Spa. We are so pleased to hear that you had the most enjoyable stay and we appreciate all your feedback given to us. Customer care is off prime importance. Valuable feedback like yours helps us to know that we are... More 

Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

Coach House is an older style but still very comfortable hotel. For me, the dated furniture and styling only added to the charm of the place. My room was huge, and included a sitting area complete with fireplace. I was a little disappointed that it wasn't cold enough for a fire, as it would have been delightful to curl up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenna G
Hote1Management, marketing coordinator at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jenna Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Coach House Hotel and Spa. We are so pleased to hear that you had the most enjoyable stay and we appreciate all your feedback given to us. Hopefully next time when you return it will be cold enough for that cozy fire. we value you... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

Sure it might need a little bit of TLC to be the 5 star hotel it once was but they are not pretending to be or charging you for that. What you get is all the old elegance and style of that history in its 3 star version. We had a lovely big room with big comfortable beds, beautiful wooden... More 

Helpful?
Thank GMFielder
Hote1Management, marketing coordinator at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the great review of Coach House Hotel. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and it is nice to hear positive feedback from our guests We do hope that you will return in the near future for another great stay. Warm Regards Staff and Management Coach... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

Was looking forward to a lovely overnight stay in one of the old heyday hotels.........sadly disappointed. Extremely lovely setting, fabulous views, well designed buildings, but the heydays seem to have gone - very few guests, bar empty. What a shame! The room interior seems be the same as a decade ago, sadly so. Bedspread dirty - unexcusable. Bathroom of a... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelJer48
Hote1Management, marketing coordinator at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jerrard Thank you for taking the time to review Coach House Hotel and Spa. We appreciate your feedback and take it very seriously as it helps us to improve our Services and customer experience. We do apologize for the experience that you had regarding your stay at our hotel. We understand that some of the things you brought up... More 

Phalaborwa, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

I visited the hotel about ten years ago. During our stay in May I was shocked on how this place deteriorated. Upon enquiry on the dinner's menu there was 3 items they did not have and charged R250 per head. Breakfast was terrible where the chef burned the potato roti and the hollandaise sauce looked like scrambled eggs. The price... More 

Helpful?
Thank 547adelem
Hote1Management, marketing coordinator at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review Coach House Hotel. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve our services and customer experience. We would like to apologize for the experience you had with us as this is unacceptbale and should not happen. The chef has been informed on the quality food, as well as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (69)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tzaneen
8.4 mi away
The Fairview Collection, Tzaneen
12.7 mi away
Tzaneen Country Lodge
Tzaneen Country Lodge
#1 of 7 in Tzaneen
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
10.5 mi away
Magoebaskloof Hotel
Magoebaskloof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Magoebaskloof
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hotel@Tzaneen
Hotel@Tzaneen
#3 of 7 in Tzaneen
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
8.4 mi away
La Barune Guest House
La Barune Guest House
#2 of 15 in Tzaneen
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kings Walden Garden Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Easily accessible from Gauteng, the Coach House Hotel & Spa offers world-class hospitality and luxurious comfort in one of South Africa’s most tranquil settings. Internationally known as one of Africa’s leading country hotels, this gracious estate is situated on 560 hectares in the lush sub-tropical Letaba district of Limpopo.Nestled atop a ridge, the retreat offers dramatic panoramic views of the Letsitele Valley, and Drakensberg Mountain Range. This historic country retreat offers guests old world service and charm, rejuvenating spa treatments, award winning cuisine, and its famed on-site nougat factory. Warm distinctive service and elegant upmarket colonial decor are the hallmarks of this heritage property. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Coach House Hotel & Spa

Address: Old Coach Road | Agatha, Tzaneen 0850, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Price Range: $49 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coach House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Coach House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach Hotel Tzaneen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay