We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tamboti Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tamboti Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 62: English reviews
Roodepoort, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent a long weekend recently in the beautiful town of Tzaneen having booked in at Tamboti Lodge. Our unit was beautifully decorated, had adequate space with a modern bathroom. We had doors opening out a little balcony surrounded with beautiful gardens, ponds and water features. The tranquility created inside of the room continued outside. Lovely breakfasts are served in... More 

Helpful?
Thank VeeHopton
Nelspruit, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

Overall very good, staff friendly and helpful. Food were excellent, chef very friendly, likes to chat and find out if everything is okay. Did not like to sleep in the loft, but options not clear when booking online. Will use again in future.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 12petrusb
Polokwane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

We received personal attention from the chef and our food was prepared to perfection. The room was cosy and clean. The garden was beautiful, green and fell good on the eye. Tamboti Lodge is a stay over I will recommend and use again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank antoinettem115
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

I was expecting so much more, I cannot believe that this lodge has been given such a high star rating. The person who welcomed us was very unfriendly and cold. We were initially provided with a loft room with no windows and an aircon that was not working adequately. While the room itself was well decorated, we would have died... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tracyd762
Rene V, General Manager at Tamboti Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tracy Thank you for your review on Trip Adviser, your comments are noted and appreciated. We are truly saddened that you did not receive a welcoming arrival from the receptionist and have implemented vigorous training with both the reception staff. We also appologise that the 1st room was inadequate, as that was the “loft room” and it is the... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

We arrived at your "Lodge" only to find the room dank and dreary, the reception area down some stairs to be served by a person who looked like a cleaner. The airconditioner remote needed new batteries and the whole place looks run down. What a disappointment! This is certainly not a "Lodge" it seems to be a house with all... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 431mariannen
Rene V, General Manager at Tamboti Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marian Thank you for your review on Trip Adviser, sorry for replying at this late stage but your comments are noted and appreciated. Here at Tambotilodge Guesthouse, we have always prided ourselves that we offer a “home away from home” experience, we are truly saddened that you had such a bad experience and have taken all your points to... More 

Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016

Friendly stuff, the rooms are nice, the design of the whole facility is wonderful, it's a peaceful place I can recomment to stay! they prepare good breakfast outside and they have some good wines for the evening Pieter is an excellent Chef! He made my evenings with his food!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 950annikaj
Rene V, General Manager at Tamboti Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Annika. Thank you for your wonderful review of Tamboti Lodge Guesthouse! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you so much for taking the time to review us, as we appreciate all feedback. We do hope to see you again in the not too distant future.!! Warm Regards Tamboti lodge Team More 

The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

The room was spacious and comfortable. Overall the place looks a bit old and outdated. We stayed one night on our way to Kruger. We arrived a bit late and our dinner was waiting already. The chef kept asking how the food was. It was over cooked and tasted like a bad mashy home cooked meal. It is not bad... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nieske_zld
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2016

Very nice located place. The Garden is stunning. The top of the Location is Peter. He is a real Food Artist with a long experience recognised. Peter prepared our Dinners to perfection. Never have been hosted so individually like Peter did. Guests shall not miss this Dining Experience. Peter, Thank you for the great evenings. Best regards Bernhard Rühm

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bernhard R
Rene V, General Manager at Tamboti Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Bernard . Thank you for your wonderful review of Tamboti Lodge Guesthouse! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you so much for taking the time to review us, as we appreciate all feedback. We do hope to see you again in the not too distant future.!! Warm Regards Tamboti lodge Team More 

Hoffman Estates, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2016

I have been traveling to the Limpopo area of South Africa two to three times a year for the last few years, and there is not a question as to where I will stay-Tamboti Lodge. There may be more elegant places, but no better place to stay. The rooms are very comfortable, spotless, air conditioned and inviting. The gardens and... More 

Helpful?
Thank GM2015
Rene V, General Manager at Tamboti Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest . Thank you for your wonderful review of Tamboti Lodge Guesthouse! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you so much for taking the time to review us, as we appreciate all feedback. We do hope to see you again in the not too distant future.!! Warm Regards Tamboti lodge Team More 

Knysha
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2016

Very nice stay, host did make us a perfect diner, very nice rooms. The place was perfect, services from personel were excellent, very friendly. Drinks and breakfast were fine, perfect location and good reachable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 677marcelt
Rene V, General Manager at Tamboti Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marcell . Thank you for your wonderful review of Tamboti Lodge Guesthouse! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you so much for taking the time to review us, as we appreciate all feedback. We do hope to see you again in the not too distant future.!! Warm Regards Tamboti lodge Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (21)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tzaneen
10.0 mi away
Tzaneen Country Lodge
Tzaneen Country Lodge
#1 of 7 in Tzaneen
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Fairview Collection, Tzaneen
1.5 mi away
Hotel@Tzaneen
Hotel@Tzaneen
#3 of 7 in Tzaneen
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Coach House Hotel & Spa
Coach House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 7 in Tzaneen
3.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
10.0 mi away
Magoebaskloof Hotel
Magoebaskloof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Magoebaskloof
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Barune Guest House
La Barune Guest House
#2 of 15 in Tzaneen
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tamboti Lodge is situated in a quiet suburb in Tzaneen close to all amenities. Set against the magnificent Magoebaskloof mountains of Tzaneen, Tamboti Lodge is ideally situated and easily reached for a relaxing holiday or overnight stay. It has safe parking. Experience the big 5 at the Kruger National Park, an hours drive away or spend a night on the way there. Whether you are relaxing at the pool absorbing nature or enjoying generous breakfast, Tamboti Lodge will restore your soul...and you will feel right at home with our friendly and professional service and special attention to our guests and their needs. Accommodation: Each of our 20 beautiful, luxurious en-suite bedrooms have DSTV, a bar fridge, air-conditioning and own entrance. Only guests may use the pool set in a picturesque subtropical garden. Tamboti Lodge is graded with four stars by the South African Tourism Grading Council. Pickups from the airport can be arranged. Breakfast is supplied to our guests. Services include the following:* En-suite bathrooms* Fans* Air-Conditioning* Tea / Coffee making facilities* Safe parking with a security guard* Television sets with twelve DSTV channels. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tamboti Lodge

Address: 18 Tamboti street | Arbor Park, Tzaneen 0850, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Price Range: $77 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamboti Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Tamboti Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay