We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Summit Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Preferred Hotels.. to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Grand Summit Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

408 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 401: English reviews
New Jersey
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful hotel, rustic, traditional - availability to plug in Tesla. Breakfast buffet was the highlight, delicious and food had not been sitting for extended periods of time. Nice diverse spread. Could use a few upgrades but I think we are all so caught up in 'modernization' that appreciating the traditional is difficult to attain. Right across from the Short Hills... More 

Helpful?
Thank leslieschmiedeskamp
NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I paid cash upfront for 2 nights with my husband and didn't fight the rates quoted by the front desk even though Expedia was $15 cheaper per night. My jaw dropped when the clerk told me there was a nightly parking fee of about $9.50. But he told me he would include it in the rate. Upon check-out I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank JuliaChilds
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Family stayed for one night. Despite low occupancy, our room was not a good one - view of HVAC on front roof, near elevator and overlooking outdoor a/c compressor. We should have asked to move but it was late and we didn't expect how noisy the a/c would be. Interior room was very small for a double - two full... More 

Helpful?
Thank CM06870
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When first looking up this hotel online, I was a little nervous of how tired it was looking. I was happy to see that pictures online do not do this charming place justice. I almost felt like I was in Ireland again. Starting with the shuttle pick up EWR, driver was very nice. Checking in, front desk staff very friendly.... More 

Helpful?
Thank hacrie
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

We were in town to take my son for a surgical procedure at Overlook Hospital. I needed a room with 2 double beds, but I did not understand the room would be in the very furthest point in the hotel from the only entrance my son could use with a walker. In order to get to the room, we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016

Front desk staff was very pleasant during check in process.I ate at The Hat Tavern ( I hope that's the name) . Staff was OK but appeared unorganized and untrained. The room was small ( I mean small), which is expected for the age of the hotel. Overall , not bad for the one guy on a business trip but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Boris G
Tolland, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

First of all, I have to give this hotel full marks for having two Tesla chargers available, and for having great vegetarian choices available on the menu. The carpet and bedding in the room were new and very clean, but the furnishings and bathroom were a little dated (albeit very clean). The food was better than I expected with good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin E
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your recent stay with us. We just added the Tesla chargers, so we are excited to hear that you were able to enjoy their complimentary use. Tesla cars are all over the town of Summit, so wanted to be sure to be ahead of the... More 

St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

We stayed at the Grand Summit over the weekend for a family wedding. I would not have booked this hotel based on reviews I read but sadly it is the only hotel in Summit and was logistically close to everywhere we needed to be over the weekend. The lobby is old school stodgy and not very welcoming. We booked a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caritrous
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caritrous, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your stay with us. We are very disappointed to hear of your experience with us, and I welcome the opportunity to speak with you to apologize personally. The experience you describe is not typical of the level of service we strive to deliver to all... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

We were here for a wedding and ran into a problem with our room. The Staff was extremely accommodating and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting. They have a gym and a business center and amazing food. Excellent service and a quality experience!

Helpful?
Thank Erin M
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Erin, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review of your stay with us. You can be sure that your comments about our staff and service will be shared with the team. We work very hard to provide the type of experience you have described, and we thank you very much for taking... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

I spent two nights at the Grand Summit Hotel in April and it was just lovely. The hotel has a certain historic charm to it that the big box hotels just can't provide. We had a large party so we requested a large room and they provided us with an awesome two room suite with 1.5 bathrooms and ample room... More 

Helpful?
Thank dreinfeld
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dreinfeld, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review of your stay with us. It was an absolute pleasure hosting your family and friends, and we are so happy to hear about how much you enjoyed the hotel and service. We are always so excited to serve guests who enjoy historic hotels and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summit
1.9 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 825 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
4.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
5.8 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Grand Summit Hotel

Address: 570 Springfield Avenue, Summit, NJ 07901-4599
Location: United States > New Jersey > Summit
Price Range: $155 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Summit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Summit
Summit Grand Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay