We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Reeds at Shelter Haven

Save
Share
9601 3rd Ave, Stone Harbor, NJ 08247-1930
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (120)
Room & Suite (41)
Dining (15)

About

#2 of 6 hotels in Stone Harbor
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Named a World's Best Hotel by Conde Nast Traveler 3 years in a row. The Reeds offers 58 distinctively designed guest rooms and suites naturally enhanced by fresh seaside breezes and breathtaking sunsets … a natural ambiance to rejuvenate and inspire you. All accommodations at The Reeds are rich in appointments, elegance and easy style with warm rustic tones and fine furnishings. Our Spa Side building offers 21 guestrooms and suites that are ideal for those seeking a restful & rejuvenating spa-centric escape. Enjoy all of the exclusive resort amenities that you’ve grown to love, plus, just a few steps away from your distinctively designed accommodations is South Jersey’s ultimate luxury spa experience. Salt Spa at The Reeds offers two levels of pure relaxation, featuring luxurious treatment rooms including a Brine Lounge and Turkish Bath; a blow-out bar and makeup application studio for weddings or a night out on the town; nail care with a manicure and pedicure studio; waxing & spray tanning services, and a fully-equipped fitness center. Whether you crave a full- wellness retreat or a restful massage treatment to jumpstart your relaxing getaway our Spa Side accommodations are sure to exceed your expectations.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Boating
Water sport equipment rentals
Highchairs available
Valet parking
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Heated pool
Restaurant
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Hammam
Head massage
Light therapy
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
iPod docking station
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
358Reviews4Q+A97Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 202
  • 80
  • 40
  • 16
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
cwatkins88 wrote a review Oct 2020
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania20 contributions17 helpful votes
My husband and I wanted to get away for our anniversary, but had reservations about staying at a hotel given the pandemic. I chose the Reeds because it seemed clean and was proactively taking precautions. We were not disappointed. The hotel was clean, the room was beautiful and spacious with a decent view. We got a dessert called the Terrarium delivered to our room and it was delicious. Staff was attentive but not annoyingly so. It was a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 320 had a partial view of harbor, but also looks out onto pool so could get noisy.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Seltzer, Marketing at The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Responded Oct 18, 2020
Hi CWatkins, thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review! We are very happy you felt safe with us during your stay, and proud to say that we are following CDC guidelines and doing all that we can to keep our guests and team members safe during these unusual times. The new Terrarium dessert is also one of our favorites and we're glad you were able to experience it with room service! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Reeds at Shelter Haven for a comfortable and luxurious stay soon!
Read more
Jilly A wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
Came in for a drink at the bar with friends and sat in the lobby where we were greeted by a women at the front desk, Caroline. She told us about the rooms and costs (as we inquired) and proceeded to tell us about another area to sit where there was a fireplace (more quaint. SHe cleaned off the table prior to us sitting down. It was a very plesant experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Seltzer, Marketing at The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Responded Oct 11, 2020
Hi Jill, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so happy to hear that Caroline took great care of you and made your experience all the better! The fireplace area for drinks in the fall is the best seat in the house and we're glad you enjoyed your evening with friends. We hope to welcome you back to The Reeds soon!
Read more
Mary Ann wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
Get ready to be treated like you're at a Hampton Inn -- wait -- actually Hampton Inn treats their customers better than I was treated at the Reeds. Because they CLAIM to be a 4-star hotel, I thought there'd be valet car service -- no. I was somewhat rudely instructed to park my car about a block and a half away from the hotel, at their off-site parking. I got no help getting my luggage into the hotel (and there are stairs leading up to the hotel's entrance). The room was so-so, definitely not worth $459 per night (in September, after "the season" is over). The outside restaurant was closed to us, as was the upstairs pool -- because the hotel had booked 3 weddings (one each night) while I was there. If I'd been told of this, when I booked directly with the hotel, I would've changed the dates of my visit. There was a hassle at check-out (and I left one day early because I was so disappointed with this hotel), and again, no help with my luggage (this time, going down their stairs). The staff was not helpful nor friendly, especially the manager, Tami. Very disappointing and very expensive. One example: when I asked the staff where I could go at the hotel to sit outside, enjoy a glass of wine, and relax -- I was told to go across the street to a liquor store, buy myself a bottle of wine, and sit outside on my balcony. I explained that I DIDN'T HAVE A BALCONY to sit on. (The rooms to my right and left DID have balconies, but I didn't. ) Guess $459 per night doesn't buy a balcony at the Reeds. Never going back there!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Find out if there are weddings scheduled during your stay -- if yes, get a room far away from the...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Seltzer, Marketing at The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Responded Oct 4, 2020
Hello, thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. Due to the current climate, we have taken increased safety measures and precautions to protect our guests as well as our staff from contracting COVID-19, which is why valet is directing guests to our nearby, offsite lot-- we apologize for the inconvenience. We are highly committed to providing an unparalleled luxury experience to each and every one of our guests and shall be exploring your concerns with our team directly.
Read more
jpvestal wrote a review Sep 2020
Vestal, New York8 contributions3 helpful votes
This is a highly overrated hotel. As a “4 star” hotel with an out-of-season room rate of $459 per night, I was sorely disappointed in the staff, lack of amenities, and indifference. There was no one to help us carry our luggage up the front steps, no valet parking, dismissive Manager Tami and unfriendly concierge. The biggest disappointment came in finding out The Reeds had booked three weddings which meant the pool, waterside restaurant and other areas of the hotel were not available to “ordinary paying guests”. I told the Manager that we should have been told that there were weddings and limited amenities when we booked so we could change our dates. Or at the very least we should have been given discounted room rates. She did not seem to care. Very unfortunate and a highly disappointing stay in lovely Stone Harbor. Caroline a new front desk employee was the only helpful, friendly staff I encountered.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Seltzer, Marketing at The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Responded Oct 4, 2020
Hello jpvestal, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We are highly committed to providing an unparalleled luxury experience to all of our guests, including the guests that are not visiting due to weddings and other special events. We are glad to know that Caroline was able to help you to the best of her ability, and we will be exploring your concerns with our team directly so that we can better understand your experience.
Read more
FEAlf wrote a review Sep 2020
Old Bridge, New Jersey12 contributions9 helpful votes
Checked in on Friday to find our Anniversary dinner reservations for Saturday on their outside deck overlooking the water made at the time of booking several weeks ago would not be possible due to a wedding. Disappointing to be sure! However, the concierge, Diane, assisted and made us reservations for Friday night instead and booked us another reservation for Saturday in town at Luciano's. Off to a rocky start, but we were determined not to let anything spoil our weekend getaway. Beautiful suites/rooms. My husband arranged flowers and champagne upon arrival in our suite-both amazing! Social distancing at the outside bar Friday, almost non existent and no masks at the indoor bar area on Saturday night if it matters to you- it did not to us. No valet parking checking in or out and no assistance with our bags upon check out - definitely negatives to what is supposed to be a luxury experience. Mattress in the suite overlooking the water was terrible, however, the mattress in our room overlooking the town on Saturday was great. This room was right at the elevator which was noisy with loud guests into the late night likely due to the wedding. When making reservations, a guest should be told there is wedding on premise since this may inhibit the use of the restaurant(s) and bar as well as a potential for loud partying guests. "The devil is in the details" .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Corner Suite was beautiful, large with awesome views from the balcony. Town view room was lovely...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Seltzer, Marketing at The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Responded Sep 20, 2020
Hello, thank you so much for taking the time to give honest feedback! While our seasonal amenities do change, our team at the Front Desk is always happy to help you with your luggage and valet your car in one of our private lots for your convenience. With our restaurants, bars, private events & weddings held within our Basin Side building, we recommend requesting a Spa Side room when seeking a quiet escape, since it is nestled away from the excitement while still providing convenient access to all of our luxurious amenities. Please give us a call directly the next time you're looking to book a room at The Reeds so that our reservation specialists can assess your needs & recommend the best guest room for your style of escape. We're so glad you still were able to enjoy your getaway weekend, and hope to welcome you back in the future!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$144 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyJersey ShoreCape May CountyStone Harbor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
58
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Which popular attractions are close to The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Nearby attractions include The Well Dressed Olive (0.1 miles), Blue Eden (0.1 miles), and Downtown Stone Harbor (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Yes, paid public parking nearby, paid public parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Conveniently located restaurants include Springer's Homemade Ice Cream, Fred's Tavern, and Jay's on Third.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Yes, guests have access to a heated pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Is The Reeds at Shelter Haven located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Stone Harbor.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Reeds at Shelter Haven offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Historic Cold Spring Village (9.7 miles) and Veterans Park (7.9 miles).