We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
9601 3rd Ave, Stone Harbor, NJ 08247-1930
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (139)
Room & Suite (100)
Dining (18)

About

#2 of 6 in Stone Harbor
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.3
Value
3.9
Named a World's Best Hotel by Conde Nast Traveler 3 years in a row. The Reeds offers 58 distinctively designed guest rooms and suites naturally enhanced by fresh seaside breezes and breathtaking sunsets … a natural ambiance to rejuvenate and inspire you. All accommodations at The Reeds are rich in appointments, elegance and easy style with warm rustic tones and fine furnishings. Our Spa Side building offers 21 guestrooms and suites that are ideal for those seeking a restful & rejuvenating spa-centric escape. Enjoy all of the exclusive resort amenities that you’ve grown to love, plus, just a few steps away from your distinctively designed accommodations is South Jersey’s ultimate luxury spa experience. Salt Spa at The Reeds offers two levels of pure relaxation, featuring luxurious treatment rooms including a Brine Lounge and Turkish Bath; a blow-out bar and makeup application studio for weddings or a night out on the town; nail care with a manicure and pedicure studio; waxing & spray tanning services, and a fully-equipped fitness center. Whether you crave a full- wellness retreat or a restful massage treatment to jumpstart your relaxing getaway our Spa Side accommodations are sure to exceed your expectations.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Boating
Water sport equipment rentals
Highchairs available
Valet parking
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Heated pool
Restaurant
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Hammam
Head massage
Light therapy
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
iPod docking station
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Centrally Located
383Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 211
  • 83
  • 42
  • 20
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
ChinadollRVC wrote a review Apr 2022
New York City, New York360 contributions226 helpful votes
+1
With few travel opportunities due to the pandemic, please bear with me, as my reviewing skills are rusty and dusty. But I’m coming out of hibernation because The Reeds at Shelter Haven was that good. Having recently moved to northern NJ, my husband and I were looking for a nearby getaway. What a find this hotel was. From the decor, staff, wonderful daily Happy Hours to it its fine restaurant, we couldn’t have been more pleased with our stay. The rooms (we were in the Spa building) were spacious, very private and well appointed. Although we hit it on a week with frigid temps, we walked to the beach more than once. Not much was open in town at this time of year, but we took advantage of the beautiful Stone Harbor public library and convenient post office, and ducked into the dew shops that were available. Having never been to Cape May, we spent one day exploring the quaint seaside town. Without hesitation I recommend Reeds at Shelter Haven, and look forward to a return visit.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Spa Building is quiet and convenient
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily S, Marketing at The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello, thank you so much for the kind words in your review! It is greatly appreciated, and we sincerely take the time to read each and every one of these reviews to discuss as a team, so bright spots like this are something we value greatly and strive for when we receive feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your luxurious accommodations, our multiple delectable dining options, and convenient location to the heart of Stone Harbor as well as the beach! Thank you again, and we truly look forward to welcoming you back to the Reeds at Shelter Haven soon for more memorable experiences!
Read more
Michael T wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Was looking for a short getaway away from the city life to relax. Although it was the off season (beach town community), the food was amazing (many thanks to our host) and the spa was definitely the highlight of our stay. Sheri and Stephanie made this experience one to remember.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily S, Marketing at The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Responded Mar 8, 2022
Hello, thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy to see that you were able to have a relaxing getaway from the city. Stone Harbor is so peaceful in the off-season, thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Reeds at Shelter Haven! We are glad to see you enjoyed your dining experience with us as well as some spa services at Salt Spa for the ultimate staycation. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the future for more memorable visits!
Read more
Wander815729 wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
Dinner at Sax Saturday night was over crowded, hot, noisy and humid. It felt like a breeding ground for all viruses and I did get sick, obviously can’t say it was acquired there for certain and we could have chosen to walk out. Also, the “padded” chairs need a re-upholstering-I was sitting on a wooden slat. My step daughter was married at the Reeds 3 years ago and everything was excellent so I believe they could get It back together.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily S, Marketing at The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Responded Mar 8, 2022
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are disappointed to see that we missed the mark on your visit to the Reeds. We are committed to bringing impeccable service to our guests, and take concerns such as yours very seriously. Rest assured we will be sharing your feedback with our executive team and we hope to be able to provide you with a five-star experience in the near future.
Read more
Jen T wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
I had to write a review after reading so many negative ones. Our experience was fantastic. First of all, the room decor is beautiful, the wood floors show how clean they keep it and the natural light in the room felt so bright and beachy! The rooms floors are not carpets so that may be the reason for some added noise complaints but I would take the cleanliness over some foot traffic (that you expect when in a hotel anyway). The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathtub was huge! Breakfast included, was one of the best we’ve ever had on the island! Huge portions and quality, healthy options! The views are just incredible- from the outdoor deck areas at restaurants and even in our town view bedroom. You can hear people outside at night but you’re staying in the heart of town near lots of bars, that’s to be expected in a 3 story boutique hotel, right? I was also in bed at 8pm with a 2 year old and my the time I fell asleep, I never woke up from a noise outside. When you’re staying in a bustling town, you can appreciate hearing groups of people enjoying themselves outside. That does not bother me. Location location location! It’s the best and I’m glad I didn’t let the bad reviews stop me from staying here! Very impressed!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Bay view is less noisy than town view (town has a few bars nearby), request quiet room, they...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily S, Marketing at The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Responded Feb 20, 2022
Hi Jen, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this incredible review. We could not be happier to see that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Reeds! We take great pride in providing luxurious accommodations, unparalleled service, and exceptional event experiences and we're glad to hear that every aspect of your visit was reflective of our high standards. We hope you'll visit us again soon for a romantic weekend or spacation to experience some of the other wonderful amenities our guests have come to know and love!
Read more
Staci H wrote a review Feb 2022
Kimberton, Pennsylvania23 contributions14 helpful votes
The look of the hotel is nice. Great downtown location. Visited in February - the only parking available is street parking which is not very convenient. I understand there is a lot on the next block near the hotel that is open in the summer. The rooms are pleasant, clean, everything looks new and fresh. The big downside for me was the noise - you could here the person in the next room using the toilet - You could follow a conversation going on in the next room. My room was in the Spa building on the second floor, perhaps it is better in some of the other rooms. Overall, because of the parking situation and the thin walls and noise, I wouldn’t recommend the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Parking for checkin was not clearly marked; it is along the street away from the main entrance.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily S, Marketing at The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Responded Feb 20, 2022
Hi Staci, thank you for the review. We are sorry to hear that you were displeased with your experience at The Reeds. Feedback is so important to us, and we always encourage our guests to share their thoughts with us directly, as we continue to strive for excellence with every stay. While we do offer Valet Parking in addition to street parking, it seems we may have missed the mark during your visit. We can assure you that your experience is not reflective of our usual exceedingly high standards. If you would email us more specific details on your experience at info@reedsresort.com, we will be sharing your concerns with our executive management team, but we hope you will come see us again soon and give us an opportunity to provide a five-star experience for you in the future.
Read more
nybaron567 wrote a review Dec 2021
Washington DC, District of Columbia41 contributions12 helpful votes
Note this is for the coffee at the bar only. Had late afternoon espresso and was shocked by how bad it was. $8 for a double espresso that was over extracted, had zero crema whatsoever and wasn’t even hot. Typical overpriced hotel without delivering any notion of quality. Go to Cafe Noir for coffee.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily S, Marketing at The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Responded Jan 3, 2022
Hello, thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were displeased with your coffee experience at The Reeds. Feedback is so important to us, and we always encourage guests to share their thoughts with us directly, as we continue to strive for excellence with each and every visit. We have shared your concerns with our executive management team, but we hope you will come see us again soon and give us an opportunity to provide a five-star experience in the future.
Read more
J C wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
The hotel booked my husband and I into a room above their ball room in which a noisy wedding reception was taking place. They booked my elderly parents into the neighboring room. Our floor was literally vibrating from the bass. It was a nightmare. It's really amazing that a hotel that charges this much money would be this inconsiderate in their bookings.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily S, Marketing at The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Responded Nov 22, 2021
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are disappointed to see that we missed the mark on your visit to the Reeds. We are working to ensure that no events with entertainment end past 11pm in the evening. This has been a rule from the very beginning despite the many requests for later end times and we are committed to making sure that this is a consistent policy for all events. We are committed to bringing impeccable service to our guests, and take concerns such as yours very seriously. We will be sharing your feedback with our executive team and we hope to be able to provide you with a five-star experience in the near future.
Read more
Jess Dominiczak wrote a review Nov 2021
Boston, Massachusetts57 contributions150 helpful votes
We stayed at the spa section of the hotel and generally enjoyed our stay. There aren't a lot amenities over there. You need to walk across the street to the main resort for that. The room was nice but our room was by the elevator which made for some unwanted noise. All in all it's a nice place but it's a lot to pay for what you get.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily S, Marketing at The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Responded Nov 8, 2021
Hi Jessica, thank you so much for the great review and rating! We are so happy that you found your experience at The Reeds to be enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Reeds at Shelter Haven again soon!
Read more
d5678 wrote a review Sep 2021
34 contributions15 helpful votes
There where certainly staff shortage related issues, welcome to United States of Welfare.... With that said, the staff was 100% responsive to our needs, requests. And the staff was extremely pleasant to work with. We additionally greatly enjoyed complimentary transportation to the beach, and the hotel's on the Bay views & outdoor, on the bay, bar and dining experience. Our bathrooms (2 rooms) were a standard size and the room decor and furnishings was perfectly acceptable. Located in downtown and a few minutes walk or drive to the beach. Lastly, morning breakfast, multi menu items selected, was excellent. Cost around $300 per night (off season) for the standard room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily S, Marketing at The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Responded Oct 3, 2021
Hi d5678, thank you so much for taking the time to leave this amazing review! We appreciate your kind words and for sharing your Reeds experience with us, and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay full of delectable dining options, complimentary beach service, and relaxation in your luxurious accommodations!
Read more
Stu F wrote a review Sep 2021
Merrick, New York15 contributions6 helpful votes
Had a wonderful time with the family at the Reeds this past weekend. Sure it's pricey, but it's a beach resort. Hello. No issues with room or noise, as others have cited. Also, the staff is absolutely wonderful. Whether it be Zach at the valet, Valerie at the front desk, Sam at the beach, Diane at concierge, Mike and Mike in the restaurants, or Tommy at the bar, they just seem to pop up everywhere and ask if you need anything. We plan on making the Reeds at least an annual destination and can't wait to come back. Thank you to the entire staff.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily S, Marketing at The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Responded Sep 27, 2021
Hi Stu, thank you so much for the kind words in your review. It is greatly appreciated, and we truly take the time to read each and every one of these reviews to discuss as a team, so bright spots like this are something we value greatly and strive for when we receive feedback. We are so happy to hear that many of our team members took care of you during your visit, and love to hear that you will be back annually. Thank you again, and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the Reeds at Shelter Haven again soon for more memorable experiences!
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyJersey ShoreCape May CountyStone Harbor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
58
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Which popular attractions are close to The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Nearby attractions include The Well Dressed Olive (0.1 miles), Blue Eden (0.1 miles), and Downtown Stone Harbor (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Yes, paid public parking nearby, paid public parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Conveniently located restaurants include Springer's Homemade Ice Cream, Fred's Tavern, and Jay's on Third.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Yes, guests have access to a heated pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Is The Reeds at Shelter Haven located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Stone Harbor.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Reeds at Shelter Haven offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Historic Cold Spring Village (9.7 miles) and Veterans Park (7.9 miles).