We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Reeds at Shelter Haven

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (148)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (20)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 6 hotels in Stone Harbor
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.3
Value
3.9
Named a World's Best Hotel by Conde Nast Traveler 3 years in a row. The Reeds offers 58 distinctively designed guest rooms and suites naturally enhanced by fresh seaside breezes and breathtaking sunsets … a natural ambiance to rejuvenate and inspire you. All accommodations at The Reeds are rich in appointments, elegance and easy style with warm rustic tones and fine furnishings. Our Spa Side building offers 21 guestrooms and suites that are ideal for those seeking a restful & rejuvenating spa-centric escape. Enjoy all of the exclusive resort amenities that you’ve grown to love, plus, just a few steps away from your distinctively designed accommodations is South Jersey’s ultimate luxury spa experience. Salt Spa at The Reeds offers two levels of pure relaxation, featuring luxurious treatment rooms including a Brine Lounge and Turkish Bath; a blow-out bar and makeup application studio for weddings or a night out on the town; nail care with a manicure and pedicure studio; waxing & spray tanning services, and a fully-equipped fitness center. Whether you crave a full- wellness retreat or a restful massage treatment to jumpstart your relaxing getaway our Spa Side accommodations are sure to exceed your expectations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Boating
Water sport equipment rentals
Highchairs available
Valet parking
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Heated pool
Restaurant
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Hammam
Head massage
Light therapy
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
iPod docking station
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Centrally Located
417Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 222
  • 87
  • 46
  • 27
  • 35
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
michekara wrote a review Apr 6
Bridgewater, New Jersey139 contributions136 helpful votes
Have stayed at the Reeds in the summer before but never in the off season and January is definitely the off season! Was not disappointed. The shore in the winter is a peaceful journey and visiting without the summer crowds was so enjoyable. The room was perfect. Exactly what we have experienced in the past. Little fridge and coffee bar in the room. Every coffee in the lobby. Restaurant and lobby bar were open as was Nemo’s next door, Fred’s across the street and a handful of other restaurants. And you cannot beat the free street parking. Stone Harbor has a different vibe in the winter. And the rate was so affordable! Would not hesitate to stay again in the winter.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
fieldingv wrote a review Dec 2023
16 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed 12/23-12/25. Stayed in upgraded 2 bed/2 bath suite. Nice but seating uncomfortable. Beds very comfortable. Very clean. Restaurant and room service good good, fast service. Employees at front desk and with food service friendly and gracious.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: They have “soft” water that makes it challenging to remove soap and shampoo.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Deborah F wrote a review Oct 2023
Hershey, Pennsylvania2 contributions1 helpful vote
My sister and I took our first visit to The Reeds and to Stone Harbor recently. We had a wonderful stay. All staff that we came into contact with…even passing in the lobby or hallway..were very friendly and helpful. George and Diane especially! The accommodations were lovely, clean and very comfortable. We highly recommend The Reeds and we look forward to our next visit!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Erin S, Marketing at The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Responded Oct 30, 2023
Hi Deborah, Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate you giving a shoutout to our amazing staff. They put in so much hard work to make sure that your stay is above and beyond. We really hope that we see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
cheryl L wrote a review Sep 2023
1 contribution
The upper management of this establishment was beyond unreasonable to me. I purchased a non refundable package to celebrate a special occasion for my 79 year old sister and myself . I had major issues that would hold me up a day or two. It was before the season started so I am sure they had availability. The would not bend the rules. I lost over $400 I refused to pay them that amount on top of my original purchase. Never went. Never will.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erin S, Marketing at The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Responded Oct 4, 2023
Hi Cheryl, thanks for this feedback. Unfortunately, a non-refundable package is non-refundable unless canceled or changed after 24 hours of when booked, regardless if you wanted to change the dates of your stay outside of that window. We apologize for this inconvenience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andy K wrote a review Sep 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
The bartenders at the outside bar are outright rude. They refuse to make eye contact and we couldn’t get their attention for an overpriced drink. I think that they have their favorites and the rest of us are ignored. I’ve been going there since they opened and it’s always been terrible service. The only reason we go back is for the sunsets. I could possibly understand the situation if they make craft cocktails but sadly that’s not the case.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: The outside bar is very buggy with gnats in the early summer.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erin S, Marketing at The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Responded Sep 18, 2023
Hi Andy, thank you for sharing this with us. We take concerns as these seriously and are bringing this to our executive team for further review. We are very apologetic that you did not enjoy your experience with us as we strive for excellent service. We hope that we can cater to you in the future with the utmost respect.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jsmith8787 wrote a review Aug 2023
New Oxford, Pennsylvania13 contributions22 helpful votes
First class property and staff. Scott, Diane, George, Monique always make it special! Keep up the great experience guys! We visit the Reeds multiple times a year and you should as well. They don't disappoint!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erin S, Marketing at The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Responded Sep 18, 2023
Hi there, thanks so much for the review. Thanks for giving a shoutout to Scott, Diane, George, and Monique! They work so hard to help everyone and curate perfect stays. We can’t wait to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lori P wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
We stayed at The Reeds for three nights. It was my husband and I and our three children, and we booked two rooms. I had high expectations paying over $4k for our stay and knowing the Reeds’ reputation- it’s a beautiful place! Our two rooms were on two separate floors, which was fine. They said we were the last to check in at 2pm (of all new arrivals) so there were no more rooms near each other. The rooms were very nice and pretty clean. The pillows were plush, but the beds were extremely soft and the head area just squished down so much that we felt like our head was always below our feet. We had two queen beds in our room and my husband and sons had two queens in their room, all the beds were the same. The second morning of our stay, we woke up to water dripping down from the bathroom ceiling. We reported the problem and asked to be moved (it was not immediately offered). The kind front desk attendant told us we were “in luck” and she would put us in a room next to my husband’s room for our final night. That was nice because now we would have adjoining rooms. Once we moved into the new room, we soon discovered that the air conditioning was not working on our floor. That was a minor inconvenience that lasted about two hours, maybe longer. We had a king size bed in the new room, and my daughter and I shared that bed. This bed had the same problem as all the others. I slept with my head at the opposite end of the headboard for the night. On our final morning, we woke up and had to get out. There was no running water for the second time during our stay. Maybe a minor inconvenience but just one of many. We used at least three of our own water bottles to wash our hands and brush our teeth. You could say it was fun- like camping- with some of these little inconveniences. But not for the rates they charge per night. The staff was very nice overall, but they are understaffed. Diane Wade is the hardest worker I’ve seen in a long time and Eddie on the beach plus the other gent who is headed to the Navy were 5 stars! The location was perfect and many things about this hotel were great, but the negatives left a lasting impression when we think about value for the price. Clearly the hotel needs some maintenance work.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erin S, Marketing at The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Responded Aug 30, 2023
Hi Lori, thank you so much for leaving this review. We are so sorry that your stay was anything less than exceptional and filled with situations that are sometimes outside of our control. We hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future, so we can show you what we are all about.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
trvlbugg11 wrote a review Jul 2023
NY, NY47 contributions12 helpful votes
Do not stay here. Poorly run establishment lacking in customer service. Definitely book elsewhere as this truly is an overpriced glorified motel. Management does not return phone calls or emails and it’s nearly impossible to actually speak to a live person.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Brittany B wrote a review Jul 2023
New York City, New York3 contributions6 helpful votes
This was my favorite hotel at the Jersey Shore, but unfortunately it has gone down hill. I originally booked a town view room with a balcony with a king bed. I called and asked if the same level room had a double bed option. I said I would only make the switch if the room had a balcony. They said it would and I made the switch. When I arrived, the room didn’t have a balcony. They also told me I owed money and had a balance with the switch, even though I was told I was in an equal level room and the person on the phone never alerted me to any price change. The front desk said there was nothing they could do. I had to speak to the manager just to get the original rate honored, even though I was totally mislead on the phone about the balcony. The room itself isn’t very clean. It has ants. I’m not even going to call the front desk about it because they made me feel uncomfortable for even complaining initially. We went to the pool area and it was a complete mess. No clean towels and old dirty towels and drinks everywhere. It looked like it hasn’t been cleaned all day. This is so disappointing because I don’t want to not like this place. I love it and still want to love it, but this visit is making it so hard to feel that way. I don’t think I will ever come back to stay or have a meal.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Traveler1006_10 wrote a review Jul 2023
New York City, New York40 contributions3 helpful votes
I grew up on 7-mile island with family owning The Avalon Hotel, The Princeton Bar and Grill/Rock Room/Circle Tavern, Sam’s Market among other establishments. I’ve worked in the hospitality industry all my life starting at my family-owned businesses at The Shore, The Golden Inn, The Lobster House and even WAWA. I am aware of the different categories of rooms and experiences … not all of them being equal. I’ve unfortunately had to not so stellar experiences at the reeds at shelter Haven. The first one was in February 2023. I was in town from Florida after my father suddenly passed away. SH was incredibly gracious and put me up in a room last minute and even offered an upgrade. That was very much appreciated. The problem I had was when I asked to stay an extra night. The room was booked, but that morning I Informed the front desk that I was instead heading home. I never checked into the room. When I called and left a message with the manager (as instructed) to explain the situation and request a refund (if possible) my phone calls were not returned. I spoke to the front desk this July when booking a room live for one night …. Again, finding myself in town unexpectedly. After again explaining the situation, hoping that maybe I would receive some compensation, I was instead informed that there were charges to the room … the day I didn’t stay in Feb. How could the recharges to her room when I didn’t check in? I wasn’t happy, but I figured why argue. The room had a pretty decent price and I know why - I was assigned room 306 which I would never recommend to anyone. It is located directly across from a maintenance or housekeeping room. There was a very annoying, whistling sound that continues around the clock. When I called down to the front desk, I was told it was part of the Internet system at the hotel and I was offered earplugs. I never took them up on their offer because who the heck wants to sleep with plugs? I did hear the noise as I have a very acute hearing. I slept in the bed by the window. While I did fall asleep, i’m just annoyed that the solution to the issue was to offer me earplugs. There was no other compensation. I thought I’d try again that morning when I checked out with different staff. They asked me if anything was done and I said I was only offered earplugs. The woman at the front desk did not seem happy about that, but did not offer, anything else in return. I am the one that had to ask again for the manager’s contact information. The woman at the front desk told me that she was making a note and the manager would contact me. It is now one week later and I have not heard from anyone. I’m not sure that I will. Next time I’m in town I will look at the ICONA Windrift, ICONA Golden Inn, or stay in North Wildwood.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Avoid Room 306
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Stone Harbor area.
PRICE RANGE
$165 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyJersey ShoreCape May CountyStone Harbor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
58
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE REEDS AT SHELTER HAVEN - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Stone Harbor, NJ)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Which popular attractions are close to The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Nearby attractions include The Well Dressed Olive (0.1 miles), Blue Eden (0.1 miles), and Downtown Stone Harbor (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Yes, paid public parking nearby, paid public parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Conveniently located restaurants include Springer's Homemade Ice Cream, Fred's Tavern, and Uncle Bill's Pancake House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Yes, guests have access to a heated pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Is The Reeds at Shelter Haven located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Stone Harbor.
Does The Reeds at Shelter Haven offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Reeds at Shelter Haven?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Historic Cold Spring Village (9.7 miles) and Veterans Park (7.9 miles).
Does The Reeds at Shelter Haven have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.