We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hewitt Wellington

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hewitt Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

604 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hewitt Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 601: English reviews
Madison, New Jersey
Reviewed September 6, 2015

We stayed here recently for 3 nights with 2 kids in room 28, and overall we had a wonderful time! Kathy, the GM, is amazing... I screwed up our dates on a peak weekend and she somehow, magically, managed to move things around and make it work for us even though they were completely full. Throughout our stay, the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheCummings2013
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. It was really fun having you all and hearing the boys fishing stories at breakfast. Looking forward to your next visit with us! Thank you

New Jersey
Reviewed September 3, 2015

We arrived at the hotel at 11:00 am expecting to stow our stuff and maybe go to the beach, but the room was ready and we were promptly checked in. We chose room 6 with a porch overlooking the lake. The room was spacious and nicely appointed. The bathroom could use some updating as other reviewers stated. We made use...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LL28
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We certainly hope that you will visit with us again soon. The fall and winter are equally as beautiful in the area. Thank you

Randolph, nJ
Reviewed September 3, 2015

The hotel had a great location, with walking distance to both the shopping area of Spring Lake as well as the ocean beaches. Our room ( #6 ) was large with a private deck on the second floor with a view of Spring Lake.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HGLivingston
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

We appreciate you reviewing you stay with us. Room 6 is a favorite of our customers both frequent stayers and our new friends, though there isn't a bad room in the house. We certainly hope to see you again soon. Thank you

Lincoln Park, NJ
Reviewed September 1, 2015

Hewitt Wellington's location is prime (only minutes from the beach) and overlooks Spring Lake which has a walking and bike path, fishing and a club that races remote toy sailboats on the weekends. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. There was a complimentary breakfast with light fare which was a good way to start the day. We enjoyed having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JLTLincolnPark_NJ
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I'm so glad that you had such a wonderful time here in Spring Lake and at the Hewitt Wellington. It is truly a wonderful town with fantastic history and a quiet charm that is hard to find these days. We are open year round, including January, and would love...

Branchburg, New Jersey
Reviewed August 30, 2015

Stayed in Room 25 and for the nightly price with summer rates the cleanliness of the room was completely unsatisfactory. Furniture had stains all over it, rugs were dirty with stains and the shower curtain liner had what appeared to be mold at the bottom of the liner. Rooms definitely need a renovation and thorough cleaning. Sofa bed mattress had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisa s
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I'm sorry that we did not deliver the kind of experience we would want. We do take our guest reviews and comments seriously and work during the off season to remedy concerns. I do hope that you will visit with us again to see updates that are being made. Thank you

New York City, New York
Reviewed August 24, 2015

Great location a walk to the beach, close to town , and Whispers fine dining on site. Great Service by all staff, and a nice assortment for breakfast.(continental) We have stayed here many times in the past and will be back. The General Manager Kathy makes a very Special effort to make all her guests feel at home. Thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grbaskin
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

It is always a pleasure having you stay with us and I look forward to your return visits. It is the relationships that we have built over the years with our guests that make our jobs here so amazing. Can't wait to see you again soon!! Thank you

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed August 21, 2015

Quite enjoyed staying in this little gem in Spring Lake! Will definitely stay here again in the future. Clean, quiet, reasonably priced, close to the beach and the center of town and the train station. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JosephGiacona
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay. I'm so glad that you have come to enjoy the Hewitt Wellington. As always, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you

Middle Village, New York
Reviewed August 20, 2015

As others have stated, the location is excellent. Walking distance to the beach, and very close to the town. Our suite (#8) overlooked the lake. The room is showing a bit of wear. The bathroom could use some attention. There was quite a bit of mildew between tiles in the shower. Some paint pealing on the wall (not significant). A...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MidVilMom
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm glad that overall our hotel and service were to your liking. I do apologize that some areas were not up to our standards and that should not have happened. We want all of our guests to have a 5 star stay with us and we did not...

New York City, New York
Reviewed August 18, 2015

Although the building's location and view to the lake are excellent, I was not satisfied with the service: the hotel does not seem to have the willingness to provide guests with very basic requests. The breakfast is also poor for the price of the hotel. For instance they provide frozen sandwiches (gas station style) instead of the real product. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank n7719
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay. I would like to address your concerns of course. Unfortunately, we do not have a kitchen (Whispers restaurant is not ours to use) and therefore cannot offer you a traditional hot breakfast. This is why we list it as a light continental breakfast. We did start ordering Special K Flatbread breakfast sandwiches as a...

Reviewed August 16, 2015

Great location but rooms need a lot of attention. The Bathroom had significant shower mold. The comforter was ripped at the bottom with the cotton coming out. This is unacceptable at over $300.00 per night. The staff was friendly. We stayed in room number 14 which had a balcony overlooking the lake. The balcony wast the best part of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rwallace23
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay. I'm sorry that we did not give you a room that is up to our standards and there is no excuse for that. It is the little things that can make or break a stay with us and we did not deliver those to you. I can assure you that when...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

183 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (115)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Other (68)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
48 reviews
4.7 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#5 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
130 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Price Range: $118 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hewitt Wellington staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Livingston Manor, New York
8 months ago
Santiago, Chile
11 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hewitt Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“This suite is right inside one of the main doors, and the front porch is right outside your windows. View of Spring Lake is excellent.”
susiemarie71, 1 week ago | Read review
“We went off-season, so it was quiet, but not desolate.”
643ednad, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Our room had a balcony at the front of the hotel. Beautiful lake view!”
DawnR738, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms with private porch would be great especially in lovely weather.”
cmcnichol501, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“The rooms with views out to Spring Lake are nice...although the "Lake" is really more of an...old reservoir, perhaps?”
Entiat, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question