We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hewitt Wellington

Save
Share
200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Lowest prices for your stay
$149
View Deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (166)
Room & Suite (52)
Pool & Beach (10)

About

#2 of 7 hotels in Spring Lake
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic boutique hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bowling offsite
Patio
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Separate living room
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Tile / marble floor
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
790Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 424
  • 230
  • 83
  • 34
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mike wrote a review Sep 8
Milford Square, Pennsylvania1 contribution
We stayed in unit 5 from August 27, thru August 30, 2020. The rooms are old and worn. The sofa bed should be thrown out, the carpet was stained, the furniture dented. The bedspreads stained. The 2 room unit contained only 1 tiny closet. There was no maid service, no continental breakfast, the pool was closed, very limited off street parking. The staff blamed all the lack of services on Covid 2019. After checking out we went a few blocks to another Hotel where all the above services were provided. The staff/ management is using the Covid excuse to save money at the expense of the paying customers. This Hotel is tremendously over price and under serviced. It should be avoided. Your vacation money would be better spent elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Avoid this Hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
henry r wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
Over the past ten years my wife and daughter have stayed at the Hewitt Wellington at least a dozen times. Then this past year new management took over. Virtual management, you might say, since they weren't there. We called the number posted in the lobby, waited 90 minutes and when they did show up it only made us sorry we had bothered. To start with, our rooms weren't ready when promised. Under the guise of Covid precautions, no services are provided: no pool, no dining, no housekeeping. Breakfast vouchers to be used at a local restaurant were promised instead but when we asked for ours an argument from the desk clerk resulted. Opening the door to our room at last, the doorknob came off in our hands. Showing it to the manager resulted in a tirade on his part. Drug-addled or not, neither he nor the desk clerk seemed aware of what is required when it comes to running an inn. Rather than stay even one night, we went four blocks west to the Ocean House where we had a wonderful three days. Henry R.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Johnson, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington
Responded 3 weeks ago
Henry, Thank you for the review and your view on the events that occurred. We are working with a limited staff and respond to all calls as soon as possible. Unfortunately when you called, the front desk staff member was with another guests and responded as soon as she was available. There is always a staff member onsite at the hotel and willing to assist with questions or concerns. The breakfast vouchers (which were provided to you) were based on the special promotion we were running on our website. The promotion clearly stated 2 vouchers per room. While we are now aware you had a third person in your party, the promotion clearly stated 2. Regarding the door knob. This was a maintenance issue that was almost immediately addressed. The Hewitt Wellington is an older building and we put a lot of time and effort into maintaining it. Unfortunately things do happen during a guests stay and we attempt to address and resolve any issues as soon as possible. Regarding the hotel amenities- We have taken great precautions to ensure that we provide a safe environment for our guests this year. Our website has been updated continuously to provide the most up-to-date information available along with the cleaning/sanitization procedures we are doing throughout the hotel. We have implemented the no contact check in procedure to help reduce the person to person interaction. We do hope that we are able to get back to somewhat normal operations as it is our nature to want to interact with our guests as we are in the hospitality business. We do understand that part of the experience of staying at the Hewitt Wellington is the access to the pool. In the interests of health and safety and due to the restrictions put in place by the State of NJ we had to make the hard decision to keep the pool closed for the season. What you have failed to note in your review is how you were yelling and belittling the front desk agent. While we understand you may have been having a bad bad or were frustrated due to having to wait for someone to respond to you, we do not tolerate anyone treating our staff as you did. This is why you were asked to check out of the hotel and were fully refunded your stay. We are however happy that you were able enjoy your time in Spring Lake.
Read more
David W wrote a review Feb 2020
Warminster, United States5 contributions1 helpful vote
Place could be a movie set. Comfortable rooms. Great location. Rocking chairs on the front porch. Lake across the street. It's a very visually pleasing place. On the down side, parking is a bit of challenge. There are no elevators so you have to climb stairs. Kind of expected a stepped up breakfast but nothing exceptional was included. Well the coffee was better then average. It is in a great location, the lake is peaceful the ocean a few blocks one way, center of town a few blocks the other. Would certainly visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew J, Manager at Hewitt Wellington
Responded Feb 14, 2020
David, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. We do have parking in the back of the hotel when the front spaces are taken. Yes, unfortunately we do not have an elevator due to the age of the building. Our breakfast is a continental breakfast. We do not have access to a full kitchen to provide a bigger breakfast. We do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again.
Read more
Glenn S wrote a review Jan 2020
Media, Pennsylvania14 contributions11 helpful votes
We stayed at the Hewitt Wellington with three other couples on December 31st. This was the second year that our group stayed there. The first stay was very nice. This time was another story. Our friend called the Hewitt Wellington in October to make reservations for all of us to stay over on New Years Eve. He was quoted a price of $129.00 per room and was told to have each couple call to hold the rooms on a credit card. When we called the next day to reserve our room, the rate was now $159.00 When we questioned the person who answered the phone about the rate increase, we were told that the rates change every minute / every hour. We explained that our friends told us the the rate would be $129.00. He said that there was nothing that he could do. Do I want the room? Wanting to be with our friends on New Years Eve, we had no choice but to give the deposit. When we arrived at the hotel, we asked the front desk clerk if there was anything she could do to adjust the rate since everyone in our party was charged a different amount even though we made the reservations around the same time. She said that she could not do anything but we could speak to the Manager. The Manager was not at the hotel but the desk clerk said the Manager would be back shortly and would contact us. We were not contacted by the Manager so we inquired again at the front desk several hours later. The Manager appeared a few minutes later. We explained the situation and was told by the Manager that nothing could be done and that this is the policy. He stated that he already told us this on the phone. We asked why our friend wasn't told that we had to call immediately to get the $129.00 rate? The Manager became nasty, abusive, rude and condescending and said that "this conversation is over." We have never been treated with such disrespect ever from anyone in the hotel industry. If we didn't inquire again at the front desk about the Manager's availability, he never would have contacted us. He did nothing to even attempt to solve the problem and make his guests feel welcome. He came out with a nasty attitude and it got worse from there. No one in our group could believe the treatment that we received. There were any number of things that someone in his position could have done to make it right even if the rate could not have been adjusted. Here are some examples: - Could have said sorry that I can't do anything about the rate, but next time you are here I will be sure that you all will get the same rate... - Could have offered to bring us some appetizers from the restaurant to show concern for the situation... He did absolutely nothing to attempt to make his guests happy, in fact, he seemed to not care at all whether we would ever return to the hotel again. The Manager's name is Matthew ( -- ) . If the owners read this review, I would hope that they would train him in customer service or find someone else who would represent the hotel in a more professional manner. Our group will never stay there again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
MLGibb wrote a review Dec 2019
Staten Island, New York25 contributions3 helpful votes
Just spent 2 nights at the Hewitt Wellington. The hotel is beautiful. It was all decorated for the holiday. it was very warm and inviting. also enjoyed dinner at Whispers. Dinners were delicious. We would visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew J, Manager at Hewitt Wellington
Responded Dec 15, 2019
Thank you for such a great review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us. We do hope that you visit us again soon.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$149 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hewitt wellington hotel spring lake, hewitt wellington spring lake
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyJersey ShoreSpring Lake
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hewitt Wellington
Which popular attractions are close to Hewitt Wellington?
Nearby attractions include St. Catharine Catholic Church (0.1 miles), Spring Lake Boardwalk (0.5 miles), and Sea Girt Lighthouse (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hewitt Wellington?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hewitt Wellington?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hewitt Wellington?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Hewitt Wellington?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hewitt Wellington?
Conveniently located restaurants include Whispers Restaurant, The Breakers on the Ocean Restaurant, and The Scone Pony.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hewitt Wellington?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Hewitt Wellington located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Spring Lake.
Are there any historical sites close to Hewitt Wellington?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Squan Beach Life-Saving Station #9 (2.1 miles).
Does Hewitt Wellington have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.