We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River

GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1402 Boulevard, One block from the Beach / Boardwalk, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751 (Formerly Hotel Charlee)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights \/ Toms River
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 54: English reviews
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Check-in process was a breeze. Tayna was working the front in during both the check in and check out process. She was very helpful and pleasant. Free parking on site and a short 2-block walk to the boardwalk. No elevators, request 1st floor, if handicapped or unable to climb stairs. We stayed in 205 (2 double beds), which was near... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kat S
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Let me start off by saying its SEASIDE HEIGHTS. If you're expecting a Sheraton...don't stay over night at seaside. With that being said, we started at a different motel and it was absolutely horrifying. After fighting an hour to get our money back we switched to the econo lodge to be presently surprised! The rooms were wayyyyy more up to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael N
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a 2 bedroom, room 301, so the size was nice. Had one double bed in each bedroom plus a double in the main room you walked into (instead of a couch or chair). The main room had no vent, fan or air so nothing circulates in there. We had to keep the bedroom doors open overnight so that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather K

Travelers are raving about these Seaside Heights hotels

PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015

Room needs a lot of work. Bath tub dirty, light bulbs missing, drapes to long, get sucked into A/C vent, dirty pillowcase, vent falling out of the wall behind the entertainment center, brackets still up for a blind in the bathroom but no blind, cable wires running up the wall thru the ceiling, refrigerator frozen up, burn holes in bedspread.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TrippyPa
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We understand you were not able to stay due to a major event in the area. Our rooms do remain quiet, even during such events. We have already had maintenance address all the issues you listed as we do listen to our guest feedback. We want to invite you for a fully... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015 via mobile

This was the most disgusting place I have ever stayed in my entire life. We booked this place based on website's reviews....our bad. First, walked in to lobby/breakfast counter, smell of cigarettes and beer overwhelming. We did not even bother eating "complimentary" breakfast. Literally, counter was a corner with a garbage can, loaf of bread, apples, open packaged muffins, coffee... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Babs A
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for details of your stay. We sincerely apologize for the issue with cleaning during your visit and hope to learn more about what happened. Our usual cleaning staff are excellent with many guests finding our hotel clean and comfortable. We will immediately investigate what occurred during your visit and want to invite you back for a... More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

I don’t expect much from hotels down the shore, but this one was awful. We had the 3 bedroom room suite and it was quite dirty (bugs and hair in the beds), the bathtub didn’t work and most of the fixtures were falling apart / broken. The manager on duty was also rather rude. When we expressed our dissatisfaction with... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank cantaynollores27
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the details of your stay. We understand your room was clean and comfortable but there was a drainage issue. Our maintenance team is glad they were able to speed up the drain to prevent the inch of water that built up during a shower. We are unsure as to what your other comments refer to... More 

Port Jervis, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015 via mobile

The room was clean with fresh towels but furniture was old and missing hardware. Bathroom was very small and the room was run down. The free breakfast included apples, muffins and coffee. The TV was small but the wifi was good. The beach was one block away and a very nice location. The employees all seemed very friendly.

Helpful?
2 Thank 8cate
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your good experience with us. We understand the room was clean and comfortable, save for the furniture issues. We will have maintenance review this so your stay will be even more enjoyable in the future! Best Regards, Guest Relations More 

New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Stay away. I have pretty much given up on all Choice Hotels because of this place. I contacted them three weeks in advance about changing my reservation. I heard back from them late afternoon on the day of my check-in. Dozens of phone calls and emails later and I still can't get any response beyond a generic "sorry", "we can't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SocialChairman
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are unsure as to what occurred during your communications with Choice Hotels corporate. Our hotel is obliged to honor all reservations confirmed by the Brand's system. We understand the issue with your reservation has been resolved. Best Regards, Guest Relations More 

Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

Nice little Hotel. staff was very nice and helpful. only 1 block from beach and boardwalk. needs a little updating, but it looks like they are working on it.pool was small but very clean.I would stay again

Helpful?
2 Thank divade1
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your great experience with us. We are happy to hear your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to having you visit us again for another great stay, just 1 block away from the beach and boardwalk! Best Regards, Guest Relations More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015 via mobile

It's clean and a little small but perfect for a cheap beach side hotel for a couple. Service was phenomenal. All of the staff was super nice and friendly. It's only a couple minute walk to the beach so easy to get around. Great for any first time couples looking to get away.

Helpful?
2 Thank joe l
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Woo Hoo! We are so happy to hear your stay was very enjoyable with clean and comfortable rooms with a friendly staff. Our team look forward to having you stay with us again soon! Best Regards, Guest Relations More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms River
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms Ri...
#22 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Seaside Heights- Toms River
Motel 6 Seaside Heights- Toms Ri...
#13 of 41 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
0.5 mi away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#3 of 41 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anchor Motel
Anchor Motel
#5 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Palace Inn
Sea Palace Inn
#23 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmont Motel
Belmont Motel
#4 of 41 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, is supported by a staff of people interested in one objective: a great experience. The hotel's guest-rooms are designed to feel modern, comfortable, and functional. Simply Easy to Relax. The Jersey Shore can be enjoyed in many ways. Whether you decide to stroll a short block to the boardwalk and beach, or use the hotel's pool and iCenter, you will enjoy your relaxing time. Parking on-site or nearby? Yep, limited amount. Wi-Fi? Of course! Restaurants and Stores nearby? Gotcha covered. Nightlife? Closeby, but won't disturb your sleep. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River

Address: 1402 Boulevard, One block from the Beach / Boardwalk, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751 (Formerly Hotel Charlee)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Price Range: $78 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seaside Heights
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay